CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 1997–98 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Monday, August 11, 1997

THIRTY-NINTH SESSION DAY

TWO HUNDRED TENTH CALENDAR DAY

AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Monday, August 11, 1997

The Assembly met at 9:56 p.m.

Hon. Sheila James Kuehl, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly,

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

ROLL CALL

The roll was called, and the following answered to their names—79:

Ackerman	Davis	Leonard	Pringle
Aguiar	Ducheny	Machado	Richter
Alby	Escutia	Margett	Runner
Alquist	Figueroa	Martinez	Scott
Aroner	Firestone	Mazzoni	Shelley
Ashburn	Floyd	McClintock	Strom-Martin
Baca	Frusetta	Migden	Sweeney
Baldwin	Gallegos	Miller	Takasugi
Battin	Goldsmith	Morrissey	Thompson
Baugh	Granlund	Morrow	Thomson
Bordonaro	Havice	Murray	Torlakson
Bowen	Hertzberg	Napolitano	Villaraigosa
Bowler	Honda	Olberg	Vincent
Brewer	House	Oller	Washington
Brown	Keeley	Ortiz	Wayne
Caldera	Knox	Pacheco	Wildman
Campbell	Kuehl	Papan	Woods
Cardenas	Kuykendall	Perata	Wright
Cardoza	Leach	Poochigian	Mr. Speaker
Cunneen	Lempert	Prenter	•

Quorum present.

PRAYER

Upon invitation of Speaker pro Tempore Kuehl, the following prayer was offered by Rev. Constantine C. Pappademos, Pastor of Saint Katherine Greek Orthodox Church:

O Lord, Yours is the day and Yours is the night; You have made all the good things of the earth. We ask You this morning, Heavenly Father, to let Your mercies rise upon us together with the daylight. Free us from the darkness and the shadow of death and from every evil thought. For Yours it is to have mercy and to save us, O God, and to You we send up glory, forever.—AMEN.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

Upon request of Speaker pro Tempore Kuehl Assembly Member Pacheco then led the Assembly in the pledge of allegiance to the Flag.

MOTION TO DISPENSE WITH READING OF THE JOURNAL

Further reading of the Journal of the previous legislative day was dispensed with on motion of Assembly Member Brown, seconded by Assembly Member Margett.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Member was granted leave of absence for the day:

The following Assembly Member was excused for the day, and his per diem was waived: Kaloogian.

CONSIDERATION OF DAILY FILE UNFINISHED BUSINESS CONSIDERATION OF SENATE AMENDMENTS

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 1 (Cardoza)—An act to amend Sections 17207 and 24347.5 of, and to add Sections 195.77, 195.78, and 195.79 to, the Revenue and Taxation Code, relating to disaster relief, making an appropriation therefor, and declaring the urgency thereof, to take effect immediately.

The question being: Shall the Assembly concur in the Senate amendments to the above bill?

(NOTE: Text of Senate amendments on file with the Secretary of the Senate.)

The roll was opened, and the Assembly concurred in Senate amendments by the following vote:

AYES-77

Ackerman	Ducheny	Margett	Runner
Aguiar	Escutia	Martinez	Scott
Alquist	Figueroa	Mazzoni	Shelley
Aroner	Firestone	McClintock	Strom-Martin
Ashburn	Frusetta	Migden	Sweeney
Baca	Gallegos	Miller	Takasugi
Baldwin	Goldsmith	Morrissey	Thompson
Battin	Granlund	Morrow	Thomson
Baugh	Havice	Murray	Torlakson
Bordonaro	Hertzberg	Napolitano	Villaraigosa
Bowen	Honda	Olberg	Vincent
Bowler	House	Oller	Washington
Brewer	Keeley	Ortiz	Wayne
Brown	Knox	Pacheco	Wildman
Caldera	Kuehl	Papan	Woods
Campbell	Kuykendall	Perata	Wright
Cardenas	Leach	Poochigian	Mr. Speaker
Cardoza	Lempert	Prenter	•
Cunneen	Leonard	Pringle	
Davis	Machado	Richter	

NOES-None

Above bill ordered enrolled.

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 2 (Strom-Martin)—An act to amend Section 8686 of the Government Code, relating to disaster relief, and declaring the urgency thereof, to take effect immediately.

The question being: Shall the Assembly concur in the Senate amendments to the above bill?

(NOTE: Text of Senate amendments on file with the Secretary of the Senate.)

The roll was opened, and the Assembly concurred in Senate amendments by the following vote:

AYES-71

Ackerman	Ducheny	Lempert	Prenter
Aguiar	Escutia	Macĥado	Richter
Alquist	Figueroa	Margett	Scott
Aroner	Firestone	Martinez	Shelley
Ashburn	Floyd	Mazzoni	Strom-Martin
Baca	Frusetta	Migden	Sweeney
Battin	Gallegos	Miller	Takasugi
Bordonaro	Goldsmith	Morrissey	Thomson
Bowen	Granlund	Morrow	Torlakson
Bowler	Havice	Murray	Villaraigosa
Brewer	Hertzberg	Napolitano	Vincent
Brown	Honda	Olberg	Washington
Caldera	House	Oller	Wayne
Campbell	Keeley	Ortiz	Wildman
Cardenas	Knox	Pacheco	Woods
Cardoza	Kuehl	Papan	Wright
Cunneen	Kuykendall	Perata	Mr. Speaker
Davis	Leach	Poochigian	=

NOES-4

Baldwin Leonard McClintock Thompson

Above bill ordered enrolled.

VOTE ADDS

The following Assembly Member was granted unanimous consent to record his vote on the following item:

Assembly Bill No. 2, Concurrence: Papan—Aye.

RECESS

By unanimous consent, at 9:59 p.m., Speaker pro Tempore Kuehl declared the Assembly recessed.

ADJOURNMENT

At 2:22 a.m., pursuant to the provisions of Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 1 and Joint Resolution 51, the 1997–98 First Extraordinary Session was adjourned for the 1997 Summer Recess for the same period when the 1997–98 Regular Session is in recess.

CRUZ M. BUSTAMANTE, Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk