## CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 1997-98 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

# ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Wednesday, March 25, 1998 SIXTY-FIRST SESSION DAY FOUR HUNDRED THIRTY-SIXTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



### PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

#### IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Wednesday, March 25, 1998

The Assembly met at 7 a.m.

Hon. Dick Ackerman, Assembly Member, 72nd District, presiding. Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

#### **ROLL CALL**

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—74:

Ackerman	Davis	Leach	Richter
Aguiar	Ducheny	Lempert	Runner
Alquist	Escutia	Leonard	Scott
Aroner	Figueroa	Machado	Shelley
Ashburn	Firestone	Margett	Strom-Martin
Baca	Floyd	Martinez	Sweeney
Baldwin	Frusetta	McClintock	Takasugi
Battin	Gallegos	Migden	Thompson
Baugh	Goldsmith	Morrissey	Thomson
Bordonaro	Granlund	Morrow	Torlakson
Bowen	Havice	Murray	Vincent
Bowler	Hertzberg	Olberg	Washington
Brewer	Honda	Oller	Wayne
Brown	House	Ortiz	Wildman
Bustamante	Kaloogian	Pacheco	Woods
Cardenas	Keeley	Papan	Wright
Cardoza	Knox	Perata	Mr. Speaker
Cedillo	Kuehl	Poochigian	_
Cunneen	Kuykendall	Prenter	

Quorum present.

#### At 2:13 p.m., Hon. Bill Morrow, 73rd District, presiding

#### **REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH**

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

#### LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Mazzoni, Miller, and Napolitano.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Members Alby, Campbell, and Pringle.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Miller and Napolitano on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Rules, see the Assembly Journal for the Regular Session for this day; for explanation of absence of Assembly Member Mazzoni on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Rules, see the Assembly Journal for March 23. 1998.)

#### REPUBLICAN CAUCUS LEADERSHIP CHANGES ANNOUNCED

Republican Leader Bill Leonard announced that the Republican Caucus leadership is as follows:

Bruce Thompson, Assistant Republican Leader;

Dick Ackerman, Assistant Republican Leader;

Howard Kaloogian, Assistant Republican Leader;

Lynne Leach, Caucus Chair;

Brett Granlund, Caucus Vice-Chair;

Tom Woods, Whip;

Steve Baldwin, Whip.

#### **COMMUNICATIONS**

The following communications were presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

March 18, 1998

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: Please be advised that I am temporarily appointing Assembly Member Hertzberg to the Assembly Committee on Rules for March 19, 1998 only.

Sincerely,

ANTONIO R. VILLARAIGOSA Speaker of the Assembly

March 19, 1998

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: Pursuant to the Assembly Rules, I am appointing Assembly Member Kevin Shelley as Majority Floor Leader and Assembly Member Robert Hertzberg as Chair of the Rules Committee.

In addition, the Assembly Democratic Caucus met on March 19, 1998 and selected Assembly Member Don Perata as Majority Leader and Assembly Member Fred Keeley as Caucus Chair.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

ANTONIO R. VILLARAIGOSA Speaker of the Assembly

March 19, 1998

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: Please be advised that I am removing Assembly Member Diane Martinez from the Committee on International Trade and Development, per her request.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Sincerely,

ANTONIO R. VILLARAIGOSA Speaker of the Assembly

March 23, 1998

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk

State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: Please be advised that I have appointed Assembly Member Roy Ashburn as Vice Chair of Appropriations Committee in place of Assemblymember Charles Poochigian. Also, I have appointed Assemblymember George Runner as Vice Chair of Budget Committee.

Sincerely,

ANTONIO R. VILLARAIGOSA Speaker of the Assembly

March 24, 1998

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk

State Capitol

Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: Please be advised that I am appointing Assemblymember Bob Margett to the Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials Committee in place of Assemblymember Bernie Richter for today's hearing only.

Sincerely,

ANTONIO R. VILLARAIGOSA Speaker of the Assembly

March 24, 1998

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk

State Capitol

Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: Please be advised that pursuant to Assembly Rule 13 I am removing Assemblymember Bob Hertzberg as chairman of the Public Safety Committee.

Sincerely,

ANTONIO R. VILLARAIGOSA Speaker of the Assembly

March 25, 1998

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento. California

Dear Dotson: Please be advised that I am temporarily appointing Assembly Member Don Perata as Acting Chair of the Committee on Public Safety until such time as a permanent chair is appointed.

Sincerely,

ANTONIO R. VILLARAIGOSA Speaker of the Assembly

March 25, 1998

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: Please be advised that I have appointed Assemblymember Louis J. Papan to the Local Government Committee in place of Assemblymember Grace F. Napolitano for today's hearing only.

Sincerely,

ANTONIO R. VILLARAIGOSA Speaker of the Assembly

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

ANTONIO R. VILLARAIGOSA, Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk