# CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 1997–98 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

# ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

## Wednesday, February 25, 1998

# FIFTY-SEVENTH SESSION DAY FOUR HUNDRED EIGHTH CALENDAR DAY

# AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



(Please Direct Any Inquiries and Report Any Omissions or Errors to Minute Clerk: Phone 319-2360) 1

### PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

#### IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Wednesday, February 25, 1998

The Assembly met at 7 a.m.

Hon. Dick Ackerman, Assembly Member, 72nd District, presiding. Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk. Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

#### **ROLL CALL**

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—73:

Ackerman	Ducheny	Machado	Runner
Aguiar	Escutia	Margett	Scott
Alby	Figueroa	Martinez	Shelley
Alquist	Firestone	Mazzoni	Strom-Martin
Aroner	Floyd	McClintock	Sweeney
Baca	Frusetta	Miller	Takasugi
Baldwin	Gallegos	Morrissey	Thompson
Battin	Goldsmith	Morrow	Thomson
Baugh	Granlund	Murray	Torlakson
Bowen	Havice	Napolitano	Villaraigosa
Bowler	Hertzberg	Olberg	Vincent
Brewer	Honda	Oller	Washington
Brown	House	Ortiz	Wayne
Campbell	Kaloogian	Pacheco	Wildman
Cardenas	Keeley	Papan	Woods
Cardoza	Kuehl	Perata	Mr. Speaker
Cedillo	Leach	Poochigian	-
Cunneen	Lempert	Prenter	
Davis	Leonard	Richter	

Quorum present.

#### At 12:55 p.m., Hon. Helen Thomson, 8th District, presiding

#### **REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH**

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

#### LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Ashburn, Knox, Kuykendall, Migden, and Wright.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Members Bordonaro and Pringle.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Ashburn, Knox, Kuykendall, Migden, and Wright on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Rules, see the Assembly Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

\_\_\_\_\_

CRUZ M. BUSTAMANTE, Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk