### CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 1997-98 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

# ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Friday, February 14, 1997 **EIGHTH SESSION DAY** THIRTY-SECOND CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



#### PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

#### IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Friday, February 14, 1997

The Assembly met at 9:35 a.m.

Hon. Sheila James Kuehl, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly,

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

#### **ROLL CALL**

The roll was called, and the following answered to their names—73:

Aguiar Escutia Leonard Scott Figueroa Machado Shelley Alby Alquist Firestone Strom-Martin Margett Aroner Floyd Martinez Sweeney Ashburn Frusetta Mazzoni Takasugi Baca Gallegos McClintock Thompson Battin Goldsmith Migden Thomson Baugh Granlund Morrissey Torlakson Villaraigosa Bordonaro Havice Morrow Murray Bowen Hertzberg Vincent Bowler Honda Napolitano Washington Brown House Oller Wayne Kaloogian Caldera Pacheco Wildman Campbell Keeley Papan Woods Cardenas Knox Poochigian Wright Kuehl Mr. Speaker Cardoza Prenter Cunneen Kuykendall Pringle Leach Richter Davis Lempert Runner Ducheny

Quorum present.

#### **PRAYER**

Upon invitation of Speaker pro Tempore Kuehl, the following prayer was offered by Rev. Constantine C. Pappademos, Pastor of Saint Katherine Greek Orthodox Church:

O Father in Heaven, To You we commit this day, for You know all things and Your will is our peace. Deliver us from the false choices that come from self-interest, cowardice and lack of faith in You, and give us vision and strength to do Your will.—AMEN.

#### PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

Upon request of Speaker pro Tempore Kuehl, Assembly Member Bowler then led the Assembly in the pledge of allegiance to the Flag.

#### MOTION TO DISPENSE WITH READING OF THE JOURNAL

Further reading of the Journal of the previous legislative day was dispensed with on motion of Assembly Member Havice, seconded by Assembly Member Granlund.

#### LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Ackerman, Baldwin, Brewer, Miller, Olberg, and Perata.

On legislative business, per diem waived for the 1997–98 Session (See Assembly Journal, page 121): Assembly Member Ortiz.

(NOTE: For letter explaining the absence of Assembly Member Baldwin on this day on legislative business pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for Thursday, February 6, 1997; for letter explaining the absence of Assembly Member Miller see Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for Thursday, February 13, 1997; for explanations of absences of Assembly Members Ackerman, Brewer, Olberg, Ortiz, and Perata, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

#### ENGROSSMENT AND ENROLLMENT REPORTS

Assembly Chamber, February 14, 1997

Mr. Speaker: Pursuant to your instructions, the Chief Clerk has examined:

Assembly Joint Resolution No. 1

And reports the same correctly engrossed.

E. DOTSON WILSON, Chief Clerk

Above resolution ordered to third reading.

#### CONSIDERATION OF DAILY FILE THIRD READING OF ASSEMBLY BILLS

**HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2** (Cardoza)—Relative to flood damage. Resolution read.

#### Members Made Coauthors of House Resolution No. 2

Assembly Member Cardoza was granted unanimous consent to open the roll to permit Members to add as coauthors on House Resolution No. 2.

#### Roll Call

The following Assembly Members indicated a desire to become coauthors:

Aguiar, Alby, Alquist, Baugh, Bordonaro, Bowen, Bowler, Bustamante, Caldera, Cardenas, Cunneen, Davis, Escutia, Firestone, Floyd, Frusetta, Goldsmith, Granlund, Havice, Hertzberg, Honda, Kaloogian, Kuykendall, Leach, Margett, McClintock, Migden, Morrissey, Napolitano, Oller, Poochigian, Pringle, Richter, Runner, Scott, Shelley, Sweeney, Takasugi, Torlakson, Villaraigosa, Vincent, and Wildman.

#### **Request for Unanimous Consent**

Assembly Member Cardoza was granted unanimous consent to take up House Resolution No. 2, as amended, without reference to print or file.

## Consideration of House Resolution No. 2, as Amended HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2—Relative to flood damage.

Resolution read, as amended, and adopted by the following vote:

#### AYES-68

Aguiar Alby Alquist Aroner Baca Battin Baugh Bordonaro Bowen Bowler Brown Caldera Cardenas Cardoza Cunneen Davis	Escutia Figueroa Firgueroa Firestone Floyd Frusetta Gallegos Goldsmith Granlund Havice Hertzberg Honda House Kaloogian Keeley Knox	Leach Lempert Leonard Machado Margett Martinez Mazzoni McClintock Migden Morrissey Murray Napolitano Oller Papan Poochigian Prenter	Richter Runner Scott Shelley Strom-Martin Sweeney Takasugi Thompson Torlakson Villaraigosa Vincent Wayne Wildman Woods
Cunneen Davis Ducheny	Knox Kuehl Kuykendall	Prenter Pringle	Woods Wright Mr. Speaker
Ducheny	Ruykendan	Timgle	wii. Speaker

#### **NOES—None**

**ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 1 (Oller)**—Relative to federal flood relief. Resolution read.

#### Members Made Coauthors of Assembly Joint Resolution No. 1

Assembly Member Oller was granted unanimous consent to open the roll to permit Members to add as coauthors on Assembly Joint Resolution No. 1.

#### **Roll Call**

The following Assembly Members indicated a desire to become coauthors:

Aguiar, Alby, Alquist, Aroner, Baca, Battin, Baugh, Bordonaro, Bowen, Bowler, Brown, Bustamante, Caldera, Cardenas, Cardoza, Cunneen, Davis, Ducheny, Escutia, Figueroa, Firestone, Floyd, Frusetta, Gallegos, Goldsmith, Granlund, Havice, Hertzberg, Honda, House, Kaloogian, Keeley, Knox, Kuehl, Kuykendall, Leach, Lempert, Leonard, Machado, Margett, Martinez, Mazzoni, McClintock, Migden, Morrissey, Murray, Napolitano, Papan, Poochigian, Prenter, Pringle, Richter, Runner, Scott, Shelley, Strom-Martin, Sweeney, Takasugi, Thompson, Thomson, Torlakson, Villaraigosa, Vincent, Washington, Wayne, Wildman, Woods, and Wright.

#### **Request for Unanimous Consent**

Assembly Member Oller was granted unanimous consent to take up Assembly Joint Resolution No. 1, as amended, without reference to print or file, and that the same be considered engrossed.

## Consideration of Assembly Joint Resolution No. 1, as Amended ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 1—Relative to federal flood relief.

Resolution read, as amended, and adopted by the following vote:

#### AYES-67

Aguiar	Figueroa	Lempert	Scott
Alby	Firestone	Leonard	Shelley
Alquist	Floyd	Machado	Strom-Martin
Baca	Frusetta	Margett	Sweeney
Battin	Gallegos	Martinez	Takasugi
Baugh	Goldsmith	Mazzoni	Thompson
Bordonaro	Granlund	McClintock	Thomson
Bowen	Havice	Migden	Torlakson
Bowler	Hertzberg	Morrissey	Villaraigosa
Brown	Honda	Murray	Vincent
Caldera	House	Napolitano	Washington
Cardenas	Kaloogian	Papan	Wayne
Cardoza	Keeley	Poochigian	Wildman
Cunneen	Knox	Prenter	Woods
Davis	Kuehl	Pringle	Wright
Ducheny	Kuykendall	Richter	Mr. Speaker
Escutia	Leach	Runner	*

#### **NOES—None**

Resolution ordered printed, and transmitted to the Senate.

#### MOTION TO ADJOURN

At 9:38 a.m., Assembly Member Washington moved that the Assembly do now adjourn.

Assembly Member Prenter seconded the motion.

Motion carried.

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., pursuant to the motion by Assembly Member Washington, the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

CRUZ M. BUSTAMANTE, Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk