CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 1997–98 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Wednesday, January 22, 1997

SECOND SESSION DAY

NINTH CALENDAR DAY

AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Wednesday, January 22, 1997

The Assembly met at 7 a.m.

Hon. Jim Morrissey, Assembly Member, 69th District, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

ROLL CALL

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—79:

Ackerman Aguiar	Ducheny Escutia	Leonard Machado	Pringle Richter
Alby	Figueroa	Margett	Runner
Alquist	Firestone	Martinez	Scott
Aroner	Floyd	Mazzoni	Shelley
Ashburn	Frusetta	McClintock	Strom-Martin
Baca	Gallegos	Migden	Sweeney
Baldwin	Goldsmith	Miller	Takasugi
Battin	Granlund	Morrissey	Thompson
Baugh	Havice	Morrow	Thomson
Bordonaro	Hertzberg	Murray	Torlakson
Bowen	Honda	Napolitano	Villaraigosa
Bowler	House	Olberg	Vincent
Brewer	Kaloogian	Oller	Washington
Brown	Keeley	Ortiz	Wayne
Campbell	Knox	Pacheco	Wildman
Cardenas	Kuehl	Papan	Woods
Cardoza	Kuykendall	Perata	Wright
Cunneen	Leach	Poochigian	Mr. Speaker
Davis	Lempert	Prenter	•

Ouorum present.

At 12:15 p.m., Hon. Jim Cunneen, 24th District, presiding REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Member was granted leave of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Member Caldera.

(NOTE: For letter explaining the absence of Assembly Member Caldera on this day on legislative business pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for Friday, January 17, 1997.)

COMMUNICATIONS

The following communication was presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

January 21, 1997

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that following vice chairs of standing committees are appointed in the 1997–98 First Extraordinary Session:

Agriculture—Assemblymember George House

Appropriations—Assemblymember Charles Poochigian

Banking & Finance—Assemblymember Howard Kaloogian

Budget—Assemblymember Gary G. Miller

Consumer Protection, Government Efficiency &

Economic Development—Assemblymember Bill Campbell

Education—Assemblymember Rod Pacheco

Elections, Reapportionment & Constitutional Amendments—

Assemblymember Peter Frusetta

Environmental Safety & Toxic Materials—

Assemblymember Jim Cunneen

Governmental Organization—Assemblymember Tom Bordonaro, Jr.

Health—Assemblymember Brett Granlund

Higher Education—Assemblymember Brooks Firestone

Housing and Community Development—

Assemblymember Tom McClintock

Human Services—Assemblymember Roy Ashburn

Insurance—Assemblymember Barbara Alby

International Trade & Development—

Assemblymember Bernie Richter

Judiciary—Assemblymember Bill Morrow

Labor & Employment—Assemblymember Steven T. Kuykendall

Local Government—Assemblymember Steve Baldwin

Natural Resources—Assemblymember Tom Woods

Public Employees, Retirement & Social Security—

Assemblymember Larry Bowler

Public Safety—Assemblymember Jan Goldsmith

Revenue and Taxation—Assemblymember Nao Takasugi

Televising the Assembly & Information Technology—

Assemblymember Jim Morrissey

Transportation—Assemblymember Scott Baugh

Utilities & Commerce—Assemblymember Bill Leonard

Water, Parks & Wildlife—Assemblymember Bob Margett

Sincerely,

CRUZ M. BUSTAMANTE Speaker of the Assembly

ADJOURNMENT

At 5:37 p.m., the Assembly adjourned until 9 a.m., Thursday, January 23, 1997.

CRUZ M. BUSTAMANTE, Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk