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CHAPTER 1621

An act to add and repeal Part 3.8 (commencing with Section
13899) of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code, relating to
federal expenditures, and making an appropriation therefor.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. The Legislature finds and declares the following:

(a) Federal programs in such areas as transportation, housing,
space, and defense generate a major portion of the state’s
employment and are vital to those areas of our economy.

(b) California received $103 billion in federal expenditures in
1988, over $40 billion more than the second place state of New York.

(c) After increasing dramatically between 1979 and 1985, new
authority for defense portions of federal spending has fallen in
inflation-adjusted terms for five consecutive years. The Commission
on State Finance projects that defense expenditures entering
California during 1990 will be down for the second consecutive year,
with an anticipated inflation adjusted loss of 5 percent. Shifts in
United States Department of Defense policies may further
accelerate that loss. Continued slowing in defense spending will
adversely affect firms in California’s high-technology and aerospace
industries, including aircraft manufacturing, space, electronics, and
communications equipment.

(d) The impacts of these changing expenditure patterns will be
felt particularly in the state’s educational establishments. According
to recent estimates by the Commission on State Finance, the
University of California was the sixth largest recipient of
Department of Defense contracts in 1988, receiving $1.3 billion in
prime awards.

(e) The development of statewide policies mitigating the need for
major economic adjustment and conversion efforts will require close
private and public sector cooperation. To assist local governments,
educational institutions, businesses, and individuals to understand
and evaluate the impact of these shifting patterns on their budgeting,
training needs, competitive possibilities, and job prospects, there is
need to reauthorize in a modified form the current responsibility of
the Commission on State Finance to develop and maintain an
economic model capable of estimating the impact of federal
expenditures on the state’s economy and employment. The
commission should continue to report semiannually to the
Legislature and the Governor regarding fluctuations and related
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economic effects of federal expenditures on regions and industries
within the state and should:

(1) Develop strategies to maximize dissemination of Commission
on State Finance federal expenditure data for the benefit of local and
regional planners, state and local job training agencies, and economic
development groups.

(2) Modify the content and format of the Commission on State
Finance report, “Impact of Federal Expenditures on the Economy,”
to provide macro economic data as well as microanalysis of specific
topics of governmental finance where federal spending plays a
significant role, such as in infrastructure finance, transportation,
education, and health and welfare.

SEC. 2. Part 3.8 (commencing with Section 13899) is added to
Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code, to read:

PART 3.8. INFORMATION ON FEDERAL EXPENDITURES

13899. It is the intent of the Legislature that:

(a) The executive and legislative branches have access to timely
and objective information on the impact of federal expenditures on
the state’s economy and employment.

(b) The Commission on State Finance be responsible for
collecting information and analyzing the impact of changing federal
expenditures on California’s economy, employment, and tax
revenues, as provided pursuant to this part and that this information
be utilized to the maximum extent to direct state and local job
training and economic development resources to areas of the state
experiencing expansions or reductions in federal expenditures.

(c) The efforts of the commission encourage public-private sector
collaboration and input to the maximumn extent possible.

13899.1. For the purposes of this part the following terms have
the following meanings:

(a) “Federal expenditures” means federal contract awards,
including defense and space procurement, research and
development, construction contract awards, and expenditures
affecting military bases and personnel.

(b) “Economic adjustment” means community-based activities
intended to strengthen local competitiveness in attracting and
sustaining expanding firms and new market activity.

(¢) “Committee” means Federal Spending Advisory Committee
established as an advisory body to the Commission on State Finance.

(d) “Commission” means the Commission on State Finance.

13899.2. The commission shall maintain an economic model
capable of estimating the impact of federal expenditures on the
state’s economy and employment.

13899.3. On a semiannual basis, the commission shall report to the
Legislature and the Governor on the impact of federal expenditures
on the state’s economy and employment. The commission’s report
shall address all of the following:
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(a) Projections of federal expenditures coming into the state and
changes in these expenditures.

(b) The impact of these expenditures on the state’s economic
growth, employment, tax revenues, and other variables determined
to be significant by the commission, for the next year compared with
the previous three years. Federal spending data shall include, but not
be limited to:

(1) Selected data on defense prime contract awards, including
information on programs, major contractors, and distribution of
awards by county.

(2) Cumulative effects of defense spending on industry output
and employment.

(3) Total federal expenditures received by all states, along with
state rankings.

(4) State-by-state comparisons of federal tax collections.

(5) A summary of significant federal expenditure increases or
decreases affecting California military bases, installations, and active
duty and retired military personnel located within the state as well
as the impact of changes in these expenditures.

(c) Reporting on specific topics of governmental finance where
federal spending plays a significant role. Such topics may include, but
not be limited to, federal, state, and local responsibilities for funding
infrastructure or education spending; a regional outlook on impacts
of defense spending in light of the elimination of specific major
programs; and federal, state, and local funding sources for California
counties.

13899.4. The Executive Director of the Commission on State
Finance shall convene a working group on federal expenditures. The
purposes of the working group shall be to do all of the following:

(a) Advise the commission on priority study areas in the
comimission’s semiannual report.

(b) Recommend strategies to maximize dissemination of
Commission on State Finance study data for the benefit of state, local
and regional planners, state and local job training agencies, private
sector entities, and economic development groups.

(c) Recommend methods to utilize federal expenditure data
generated by the commission to improve state, local, and regional
economic development planning.

(d) Identify a menu of needs for the state which may be used as
a data base for directing economic adjustment or diversification
efforts which may become appropriate as a result of significant
reductions in defense expenditures in California.

(e) Assist the commission in making recommendations, as
appropriate, to the Governor and the Legislature.

13899.5. The working group shall be composed of not more than
15 members, of which one shall be the Director of Commerce or
designee. The working group shall be broadly representative of the
geographic, gender, and cultural diversity of the state, and shall
include, but not be limited to, representatives of the following
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groups:

(a) Local elected officials representing regions significantly
affected by federal spending.

(b) Businesses significantly affected by federal spending.

(¢) Local economic development associations.

(d) Private and public sector economists.

(e) Institutions of higher education engaged in federally
supported research.

(f) Public employment training programs.

(g) Public interest groups.

(h) Labor unions.

Of the members of the working group, at least three shall be from
among a list of names submitted by the Chairman of the Assembly
Committee on Local Government and at least three from a list of
names submitted by the Chairman of the Senate Rules Committee.

The working group shall be voluntary, and the commission shall
expend no state funds for per diem, including travel expenses, for the
members of the working group.

13899.6. In order to carry out the duties under this part, the
commission may do all of the following:

(a) Conduct seminars and other public meetings at such times
and places as the executive director deems appropriate.

(b) Accept contributions, grants, and bequests and set reasonable
fees for publications, studies, or reports. The executive director may
also accept federal funds as may be available to develop specialized
information systems and data bases on federal expenditures in this
state.

13899.7. This part shall become inoperative on July 1, 1994, and,
as of January 1, 1995, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1995, deletes or extends the
dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed.

SEC. 3. The sum of forty-seven thousand five hundred dollars
($47,500) is hereby appropriated from the General Fund to the
Commission on State Finance for expenditure to carry out the
purposes of this act from January 1, 1991, to June 30, 1991.

CHAPTER 1622

An act relating to pest control, making an appropriation therefor,
and declaring the urgency thereof, to take effect immediately.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. The sum of six hundred thousand dollars ($600,000)
is hereby appropriated from the General Fund to the Department
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of Food and Agriculture to fund the department’s laboratory in
Hawaii for the production of sterile Mediterranean fruit flies.

SEC. 2. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety within
the meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into
immediate effect. The facts constituting the necessity are:

In order for the funds appropriated by this act to be available for
current pest control operations, it is necessary that it take effect
immediately.

CHAPTER 1623

An act to amend Section 56734 of, and to add and repeal Section
567289 of, the Education Code, relating to special education, and
making an appropriation therefor.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 56734 of the Education Code is amended to
read:

56734. The support services amounts to each district and county
office for the 1980-81 fiscal year shall be the amount computed
pursuant to Section 56727 multiplied by the quotient computed
pursuant to Section 56733, except as otherwise provided in Section
56728.9.

SEC. 2. Section 56728.9 is added to the Education Code, to read:

56728.9. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this article,
any special education local plan area which is a single district and
which is severely impacted by pupils who reside in licensed
children’s institutions, as defined in Section 56155.5, shall be entitled
to a support services amount calculated pursuant to Section 56734,
except that the quotient computed pursuant to Section 56733 shall be
multiplied by 150 percent for classes in which a majority of the pupils
enrolled reside in licensed children’s institutions, if the special
education local plan area meets all of the requirements of this
section.

(b) A special education local plan area is severely impacted, for
purposes of this section, if all of the following requirements are
satisfied:

(1) Pupils who reside in licensed children’s institutions represent
more than 15 percent of the special education enrollment of the
special education local plan area.

(2) Special education enrollment of pupils who reside in licensed

children’s institutions has increased by more than 50 percent since
1985.
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(3) The special education local plan area does not enroll more
than 10 percent of its pupils who do not reside in licensed children’s
institutions in special education programs.

(c) Any special education local plan area that is severely impacted
pursuant to subdivision (b) may make the calculation adjustments
provided by subdivision (a) only for those classes in which a majority
of the pupils enrolled during the 1989-90 school year resided in
licensed children’s institutions.

(d) The calculation provided by this section is a base year
calculation, based on the enrollment in classes in the 1989-90 school
year, creating a limit on funding adjustments provided by this
section. Special education local plan areas shall not be required to
maintain the 1989-90 level of eligible classes in order to be eligible
for the calculation in future years. Special education local plan areas
are encouraged to place pupils who reside in licensed children’s
institutions in the educational environment which best meets the
pupil’s needs in keeping with the least restrictive environment
requirements of Public Law 94-142 and the Master Plan for Special
Education.

(e) The state shall not allocate any funds for the purposes of this
section that are in excess of the amount expressly appropriated for
the purposes of this section.

(f) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1996,
and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
is enacted before January 1, 1996, deletes or extends that date.

SEC. 4. The sum of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) is
hereby appropriated from the General Fund to Section A of the State
School Fund for allocation by the Superintendent of Public
Instruction for the purposes of Section 567289 of the Education
Code.

CHAPTER 1624

An act to add Section 25334.7 to the Health and Safety Code, and
to amend Section 3 of Chapter 1428 of the Statutes of 1985, relating
to hazardous substances, making an appropriation therefor, and
declaring the urgency thereof, to take effect immediately.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 25334.7 is added to the Health and Safety
Code, to read:

25334.7. The State Department of Health Services shall report to
the Governor and the Legislature on the progress of the cleanup of
the San Gabriel Valley groundwater sites in Los Angeles County, and
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on the progress of enforcement actions relating to those sites, by
January 1, 1992, and annually thereafter. The report shall include, but
not be limited to, all of the following:

(1) State expenditures and planned expenditures.

(2) Actions accomplished at the sites.

(3) Actions planned, including a time schedule for the
accomplishment of planned actions.

The report may be prepared in cooperation with other state and
federal agencies involved with the sites, and shall include a summary
of the activities of those additional agencies.

SEC. 2. Section 3 of Chapter 1428 of the Statutes of 1985 is
amended to read:

Sec. 3. The sum of twenty-one million four hundred thousand
dollars ($21,400,000) is hereby appropriated from the contingency
reserve for economic uncertainties in the General Fund, as provided
in Section 12.30 of the Budget Act of 1985 (Chapter 111, Statutes of
1985), as follows:

(a) Sixteen million dollars ($16,000,000) to State Department of
Health Services for expenditure at the Stringfellow Acid Pits without
regard to fiscal years in accordance with the following schedule:

Schedule:

(1) To provide a permanent alterna-
tive water supply to residents in
Glen Avon who now receive bot-
tled water from the state .............. $ 1,600,000

(2) To conduct a comprehensive
health study of former and cur-
rent residents near the Stringfel-
low Acid Pits to identify and assess
both acute and chronic health
problems that may be linked to
contaminants from the Stringfel-

(3) To establish a Special Stringfellow
Reserve Account to be used by the
department to fund special inves-
tigations and remedial or emer-
gency actions that are necessary to
fully protect the health of the resi-
dents near Stringfellow if the de-
partment determines that funds
are not available from other
sources including the federal En-
vironmental Protection Agency,
the responsible parties, the Haz-
ardous Substance Account, and
the Hazardous Substance Cleanup
Fund......eeereecneneereeneans $13,600,000
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(b) Three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) to the State De-
partment of Health Services for expenditure without regard to fiscal
years for the design, purchase, and installation of activated carbon
adsorption water treatment systems for the Rurban Homes and Rich-
wood Mutual Water Companies and the expansion of the existing
carbon treatment system for the Hemlock Mutual Water Company.
The department shall maximize the use of federal funds and shall
enter into a written agreement with the Environmental Protection
Agency in which the department agrees to reimburse the agency for
expenditures which exceed the agency’s portion of design, purchase,
and installation costs pursuant to the Comprehensive Environmental
Response, Compensation, and Liability Act of 1980 (42 U.S.C. Sec.
9601 et seq.).

Any funds remaining following the installation of water treatment
systems pursuant to this subdivision shall be deposited in the subac-
count for site operation and maintenance established pursuant to
Section 4 of Chapter 1428 of the Statutes of 1985.

(¢) One million one hundred thousand dollars ($1,100,000) to the
State Department of Health Services for expenditure without regard
to fiscal years for the design, purchase, and installation of a water
treatment system for the Valley County Water District in Baldwin
Park.

Pursuant to Section 25358.3 of the Health and Safety Code, in
expending funds pursuant to this subdivision, the department shall
contract with the Valley County Water District or other appropriate
public agency for the design, purchase, and installation of a treat-
ment facility to address volatile organic compound (VOC) contami-
nation affecting the Valley County Water District’s wells. The
location of this treatment facility shall be consistent with the recom-
mendations of the Environmental Protection Agency Basinwide
Technical Plan for the San Gabriel Basin regarding the placement of
potential operable units, and with the overall goal of minimizing the
spread of the plume of contaminated groundwater which underlies
the Baldwin Park area into uncontaminated areas.

Expenditures made pursuant to this subdivision shall not affect any
subsequent recovery actions pursuant to Section 25360 of the Health
and Safety Code.

Any funds remaining following the installation of a water treat-
ment system at the Valley County Water District pursuant to this
subdivision shall be deposited in a special account designated for
subsequent actions determined to be necessary to contain and
reduce groundwater contamination within the San Gabriel Basin,
including costs associated with the design, purchase, and installation
of treatment facilities, and operation and maintenance costs associat-
ed with those treatment facilities.

All expenditures of funds pursuant to this subdivision shall be for
actions which are determined by the department to be consistent
with the objectives, as defined by the Environmental Protection
Agency Basinwide Technical Plan for the San Gabriel Basin, for the
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containment of the plumes of contamination and the reduction of
volatile organic compound (VOC) contamination in the San Gabriel
Basin.

(d) Four million dollars ($4,000,000) to be transferred by the Con-
troller to the Emergency Clean Water Grant Fund. This amount is
available to the State Department of Health Services without regard
to fiscal years, pursuant to Section 4030.9 of the Health and Safety
Code, to take remedial action to ensure safe water supplies at public
water systems where there is an imminent threat to public health
due to contamination of the public water supply and for which the
department determines that the situation would not otherwise be
adequately addressed through an action funded by any other private,
local, state, or federal agency or funding source, including the Haz-
ardous Substance Account and the Hazardous Substance Cleanup
Fund. Four hundred thousand dollars ($400,000) shall be used to
design, purchase, and install water filtration systems for nitrate re-
moval for the McFarland Mutual Water Company.

SEC. 3. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the immedi-
ate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety within the
meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into immediate
effect. The facts constituting the necessity are:

In order that grave threats to public health and safety and the
environment caused by spreading groundwater contamination can
be alleviated without further delay, it is necessary that this act take
effect immediately.

CHAPTER 1625

An act to amend Section 13826.6 of, to add Section 13826.11 to, and
to add and repeal Section 13826.12 of, the Penal Code, relating to
gang violence.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 13826.11 is added to the Penal Code, to read:

13826.11. (a) The Legislature hereby finds and declares the
following:

(1) There is a greater threat to public safety resulting from gang-
and drug-related activity in and near California’s inner cities.

(2) Young people, especially at-risk youth, are more vulnerable to
gang- and drug-related activity during the potentially unsupervised
hours between the end of school and the time their parents or
guardians return home from work.

(3) Without local prevention and treatment efforts, hard drugs
will continue to threaten and destroy families and communities in
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and near the inner cities. Drug-related violence may then escalate
dramatically in every community, and thereby burden the criminal
justice system to the point that it cannot function effectively.

(4) Los Angeles currently leads the nation in the number of gang
members and gang sites, the consumption of drugs, the amount of
drugs confiscated, drug-related violent crimes, and has the greatest
number of young people between 6 and 18 years of age who are “at
risk.”

(5) It is the intent of the Legislature that a pilot program, the
“After School Alternative Program” (ASAP), be established and
implemented within a specified Los Angeles community. This
community program would utilize the public schools, businesses, and
comrnunity facilities to provide supportive programs and activities to
young people during the time between the end of school and the
return home of their parents or guardians (from approximately 3
pm. to 7 pm.).

SEC. 2. Section 13826.12 is added to the Penal Code, to read:

13826.12. (a) There is hereby created within the Office of
Criminal Justice Planning, a pilot program known as “After School
Alternative Program” (ASAP). The establishment of the pilot
program pursuant to this section shall be contingent upon the
availability and receipt of federal funding for this purpose. The goal
of the pilot program shall be to reduce gang activity and drug-related
crime in and near the targeted schools, businesses, and community
sites. This shall be accomplished by coordinating the efforts of
community-based organizations, public schools, law enforcement
officials, parents, and business leaders in participating communities
to prevent the illicit activities of current and potential gang
members and drug users by making alternative activities available.
These activities may be provided at school or community sites, and
may include:

(1) Recreational, arts, crafts, or academic tutorial programs.

(2) Job counseling and training, with the participation of
community business representatives.

(3) Presentations by law enforcement officials, and informal
get-togethers.

(4) Group and individual (as needed) drug and/or gang
counseling.

(5) Community awareness presentations.

(b) A Los Angeles community may elect to participate in the pilot
project established pursuant to subdivision (a) by establishing and
operating an ASAP program. The community may be any designated
area that contains up to two public high schools and feeder schools,
as well as having actve business enterprises and a viable local
community-based organization. The project shall operate for a
two-year period commencing on July 1, 1991. The project shall
implement a program model to be developed by the Office of
Criminal Justice Planning, in cooperation with local
community-based organizations, school districts, and law
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enforcement agencies.

(c) Each city, or city and county, that participates in the ASAP
pilot project shall submit a report to the Legislature regarding the
operation of its pilot program in the 1991-92 fiscal year no later than
June 30, 1992, and in the 1992-93 fiscal year no later than June 30,
1993.

(d) This section shall remain operative only until June 30, 1993,
and as of that date is repealed unless a later enacted statute, which
is enacted before June 30, 1993, deletes or extends that date.

SEC. 3. Section 13826.6 of the Penal Code is amended to read:

13826.6. For purposes of this chapter, a “community-based”
organization is defined as a nonprofit operation established to serve
gang members, their families, schools, and the community with
programs of community supervision and service which maintain
community participation in the planning, operation and evaluation
of their programs.

(a) Unless funded pursuant to subdivision (c¢), community-based
organizations supported under the Gang Vioclence Suppression
Program shall implement the following activities:

(1) Providing information to law enforcement agencies
concerning gang related activities in the community.

(2) Providing information to school administrators and staff
concerning gang related activities in the community.

(3) Provide conflict resolution by means of intervention or
mediation to prevent and limit gang crisis situations.

(4) Increase witness cooperation through coordination with local
law enforcement and prosecutors and by education of the
community about the roles of these government agencies and the
availability of witness protection services.

(b) Community-based organizations funded pursuant to
subdivision (a) shall also implement at least one of the following
activities:

(1) Maintaining a 24-hour public telephone message center for
the receipt of information and to assist individuals seeking services
from the organization.

(2) Maintaining a “rumor control” public telephone service to
provide accurate and reliable information to concerned citizens.

(3) Providing technical assistance and training concerning gang
related activities to school staff members, law enforcement
personnel, and community members including parental groups. This
training and assistance shall include coverage of how to prevent and
minimize intergang confrontations.

(4) Providing recreational activities for gang members or
potential gang members.

(5) Providing job training and placement services for youth.

(6) Referring gang members, as needed, to appropriate agencies
for the treatment of health, psychological, and drug-related
problems.

(7) Administration of the Urban Corps Program pursuant to
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Section 13826.62.

(8) Mobilizing the community to share joint responsibility with
local criminal justice personnel to prevent and suppress gang
violence.

(c) Community-based organizations funded under the Gang
Violence Suppression Program for specialized school prevention and
intervention activities shall only be required to implement activities
in the schools which are designed to discourage students from joining
gangs and which offer or encourage students to participate in
alternative programs.

CHAPTER 1626

An act to amend Section 17705.5 of the Education Code, relating
to school facilities, and declaring the urgency thereof, to take effect
immediately.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990 Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 17705.5 of the Education Code is amended
to read:

17705.5. (a) The total building cost portion of any state funding
for any project approved under this chapter for the construction of
one or more school facilities shall be reduced by the amount of the
local matching share requirement computed under subdivision (b).

(b) Each school district to which funds are allocated pursuant to
this chapter for the construction or reconstruction of one or more
school facilities shall provide, as its share of the cost of the project,
an amount equal to the product of the applicable maximum fee
authorized under Section 53080 of the Government Code, or
Chapter 4.7 (commencing with Section 65970) of Division 1 of Title
7 of the Government Code, or both, times the number of square feet
of new residential, commercial, and industrial construction, as
appropriate, for which building permits are issued within the
boundaries of the school district from the date on which the board
approves the district’s application for project funding under this
chapter to the date upon which the notice of completion for the
project is issued. Notwithstanding any other provision of this
subdivision, as to any construction for which the payment of a fee,
charge, or dedication is required under a contract as described in
paragraph (1) of subdivision (c) of Section 65995 of the Government
Code, the matching share required under this subdivision shall be
deemed to be the maximum payment that may be required under
that contract as a condition of the approval of that construction. The
amount calculated in this subdivision is reduced by the sum of the
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following:

(1) Any amounts expended by the district during the described
period of time for the acquisition of interim classroom facilities
pursuant to Chapter 4.7 (commencing with Section 65970) of
Division 1 of Title 7 of the Government Code from the proceeds of
the fee levied by the district during that period. This amount is
limited to the acquisition of interim classroom facilities necessary to
temporarily house that number of pupils calculated, under state
pupil loading standards, by subtracting the average daily attendance
of the district based on a three-year enrollment projection from the
average daily attendance of the district based on a five-year
enrollment projection. Notwithstanding that limit, the board may
authorize the acquisition of additional interim classroom facilities for
the purposes of this paragraph to the extent it determines that
acquisition to be necessary to alleviate severe classroom
overcrowding. Enrollment projections for this purpose shall be made
in accordance with this chapter.

(2) Any amounts expended by the district during the described
period of time for the local matching share of any project funded
under this chapter from the proceeds of the fee levied by the district
during that period.

(3) An amount reflecting the extent to which the district is
precluded from collecting those fees by reason of the levy and
collection of developer fees by another school district having
common territorial jurisdiction.

(4) An amount reflecting the reasonable administrative expenses
incurred by the school district in calculating and collecting the fees
or other requirements levied by the school district during that
period. If the school district has entered into an agreement pursuant
to subdivision (a) of Section 53080 of the Government Code whereby
the fees or other requirements imposed are collected in whole or in
part by a city or county, the amount of administrative expenses
calculated under this paragraph shall include any amount paid by the
school district to the city or county as reimbursement for that service.
In no event shall the total amount of the administrative expenses
calculated under this paragraph exceed 3 percent of the fees
collected during that period.

(5) The fees, charges, dedications, or any other requirements
imposed pursuant to Section 53080 of the Government Code that are
waived in an agreement between a school district and a property
owner, if the school district receives land in lieu of the fees and other
requirements. The land shall be used for the future construction of
a school on the property and the credit allowed shall not exceed the
lesser of the amount of fees offset by the district or the fair market
value of the property as determined by two appraisals. The value of
the property shall be determined by the board on the date that the
school district defers the collection of fees based on the transfer of
property for the project or projects for which the match is required.
The property shall have received all approvals required by law for
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use as a schoolsite by the State Department of Education before or
concurrent with the acquisition of the property. The school district
shall demonstrate a need for and eligibility for construction on the
land received in lieu of fees and other requirements within five years
of acquiring the land. If the land received in lieu of fees is not
approved by the State Allocation Board for a school project within
10 years from the date the school district acquires the property, the
school district shall repay the full amount of the match offset and 50
percent of the amount of appreciation of the property which
occurred during the 10-year period since the date of acquisition.

(c) Where part or all of the local matching share is funded from
the proceeds of a special tax or other charge, rather than from the
imposition of a school facilities fee or other requirement, the
applicant district shall not be required to pay that amount of the local
matching share until those proceeds become available to the district.

(d) For purposes of establishing an estimate of the state project
costs pursuant to subdivision (a), the board may estimate the local
matching share by using the product of the annual average of the
amount that would have resulted from the application of the
maximum fee to the square footage of all new construction within
the district over the three calendar years preceding the district’s
project application times the number of years over which the board
estimates the fee will be collected by the district pursuant to the
project to be funded.

(e) Only those project applications for which, prior to January 1,
1987, the board had made the apportionment for site acquisition and
working drawings or the final apportionment for construction of the
project shall be subject to the provisions of this chapter in effect prior
to that date.

(f) The board may provide a loan to any applicant district in an
amount equal to all or a part of the district’s obligation under
subdivision (b), subject to the requirement that the district pay each
month to the board, as reimbursement, an amount equal to the
proceeds that would be received by the district from the imposition
of the fee described under subdivision (b) until the total amount of
the loan has been repaid, together with interest computed pursuant
to Section 16065.

(g) The board may make the loan specified in subdivision (f) from
any funds available from any source, including, but not limited to,
those amounts made available pursuant to Section 16065.

(h) Allloan and interest amounts paid to the state pursuant to this
section shall be available for the use of the board in the funding of
projects as otherwise provided under this chapter, including, but not
limited to, additional loans.

(i) The board is authorized to accept from applicant school
districts, as a method of compliance with all or part of the local
matching share requirement calculated under this section, land that
will be part of the project for which the matching share is to be paid,
in which event title to the land shall be conveyed to the state. The
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board shall determine the value of the land to be used for this
purpose, and shall adopt rules and regulations as necessary to
otherwise implement this subdivision.

(j) This section shall remain in effect only until such date as any
state general obligation bond measure submitted to the voters of this
state for their ratification, which measure includes within its
purposes the funding of school facilities construction, fails to receive
that ratification, and as of that date is repealed.

SEC. 2. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety within
the meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into
immediate effect. The facts constituting the necessity are:

In order to permit school districts to fund urgently needed school
facilities projects, it is necessary that this act take effect immediately.

CHAPTER 1627

An act to amend Sections 61601.10 and 61621.8 of the Government
Code, relating to local government.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990 Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990 ]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 61601.10 of the Government Code is
amended to read:

61601.10. (a) Notwithstanding the provisions of Section 61600,
whenever the board of directors of a district listed in subdivision (b)
determines by resolution that it is feasible, economically sound, and
in the public interest, and if a majority of the voters voting on the
proposition vote in favor of the additional purpose pursuant to
Section 61601, the district may enforce the covenants, conditions, and
restrictions adopted for each tract within the district and to assume
the duties of the architectural control committee for each tract
within the district for the purposes of maintaining uniform standards
of development within each tract as adopted in the covenants,
conditions, and restrictions. The district shall exercise the duties of
an architectural control committee for any tract only to the extent
that an architectural control committee is authorized by the
covenants, conditions, and restrictions which apply to the tract. For
the purposes of this subdivision, “tract” means any parcel of land for
which the county or the city has authorized development. The
district may divest itself of the power in the same manner as the
power was acquired.

(b) This section shall apply only to the following districts:

(1) Bel Marin Keys Community Services District.

(2) Big River Community Services District.
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(3) Brooktrails Community Services District.

(4) Cameron Estates Community Services District.

(5) Cameron Park Community Services District.

(6) El Dorado Hills Community Services District.

(7) Golden West Community Services District.

(8) Lake Shastina Community Services District.

(9) Rancho Murieta Community Services District.

(10) Salton Community Services District.

(11) Sea Oasis Community Services District.

(12) Stallion Springs Community Services District.

(13) Tenaja Community Services District.

(14) Springfield Meadows Community Services District.

SEC. 2. Section 61621.8 of the Government Code is amended to
read:

61621.8. (a) This section shall apply only to the Bell Canyon
Community Services District, and the Lake Sherwood Community
Services District, and subdivisions (b) and (d) to the Cameron
Estates Community Services District.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, in the case of
roads which a district owns and which are not formally dedicated to
or kept open for use by the public for the purpose of vehicular travel,
the district may by ordinance adopt regulations which limit access to
and the use of those roads to landowners and residents of the district.

(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a district, other
than the Cameron Estates Community Services District, may by
ordinance adopt regulations that limit access to or the use of its park
and recreational facilities and property to landowners and residents
of the district.

(d) The Cameron Estates Community Services District may
accept special district augmentation funds from the county but may
not expend them for construction, maintenance, or improvement of
roads on which the district has limited access to landowners and
residents of the district.

(e) Violation of any regulation adopted pursuant to this section is
a misdemeanor.

SEC. 3. The Legislature finds and declares that a special act is
necessary and that a general statute cannot be made applicable
within the meaning of Section 16 of Article IV of the California
Constitution because of unique circumstances applicable to the
Cameron Estates Community Services District. These circumstances
are that the Cameron Estates Communily Services District owns the
roads which have traditionally been used for the exclusive benefit of
the landowners and residents of the districts, and therefore need the
authority conferred by this act.

SEC. 4. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to
Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution because the
only costs which may be incurred by a local agency or school district
will be incurred because this act creates a new crime or infraction,
changes the definition of a crime or infraction, changes the penalty
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for a crime or infraction, or eliminates a crime or infraction.
Notwithstanding Section 17580 of the Government Code, unless
otherwise specified in this act, the provisions of this act shall become
operative on the same date that the act takes effect pursuant to the
California Constitution.

CHAPTER 1628

An act relating to postsecondary education.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.)

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. (a) In 1984, the California Legislature enacted
Assembly Concurrent Resolution 83 as Resolution Chapter 68 of the
1983-84 Regular Session, which established three specific goals to be
achieved by 1990, for enhancing the participation and success in
postsecondary education of California students from economic,
racial, and ethnic backgrounds historically underrepresented in
higher education.

(b) In 1990, it is clear that the goals of Assembly Concurrent
Resolution 83 have not been achieved, as Latino, Black, and Native
American students continue to be underrepresented among the
baccalaureate degree recipients of California’s public universities.

(c) Despite the gloomy picture of the extent of movement over
the last 20 years in achieving educational equity, some of the specific
programs developed and implemented by the educational
institutions during these two decades have contributed significantly
to the progress that has been made to date and without which the
situation would undoubtedly be worse. The Mathematics,
Engineering, and Science Achievement Program, the California
Student Opportunity and Access Program, and the Minority
Engineering Program, among others, have demonstrated that
students who participate in these carefully planned interventions
succeed educationally in proportions that are impressive and that
evidence progress in achieving educational equity goals.

(d) In 1987-88, an estimated 825,000 Native American, Black, and
Latino students were enrolled in California public schools in grades
7 to 12, inclusive. Approximately 68,000 of them participated in 10
intersegmental student preparation programs that year. This
indicates that less than 8 percent of all Native American, Black, and
Latino students in grades 7 to 12, inclusive, throughout the state
benefited from these programs.

(e) Through Section 8600 of the Education Code, the Legislature
has recognized that the connections made between the public and
private sectors through the Mathematics, Engineering, and Science
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Achievement Program have resulted in better preparation of
underrepresented students for college in mathematics and
science-based fields.

(fy Through the 1989-90 Budget Act, the Governor and the
Legislature directed the California Postsecondary Education
Commission to assess the impact of intersegmental programs
designed to improve the preparation of secondary school students for
college and university study. The commission’s final report should be
prepared prior to October 1, 1991, with a preliminary report due by
October 1, 1990.

(g) Itis the intention of the Legislature that after the full costs of
the program are determined, and if the necessary funding is
available, these successful programs be expanded to serve all eligible
students in all regions of the state, so that students historically
underrepresented in postsecondary education will have the full
opportunity to complete a baccalaureate program. It is the intention
of the Legislature that the intersegmental programs undergo
periodic evaluations and any needed modifications designed to
promote maximum program effectiveness and a strong coordinated
statewide effort to prepare students from all economic, cultural, and
racial backgrounds for college level study.

SEC. 2. To achieve the objectives stated in Section 1, it is the
intention of the Legislature that:

(a) The California Student Aid Commission, in consultation with
the other appropriate educational institutions, shall develop a
proposed strategy for the phased expansion of the California Student
Opportunity and Access Program, moving it from a pilot program at
six sites to a statewide program. This proposed strategy shall involve
a five-year plan, with specific recommendations for needed funding
levels each year. The commission shall report on this proposed
strategy, as provided in subdivision (d).

(b) The Mathematics, Engineering, and Science Achievement
Program should be administered as a public service program
through a cooperative effort involving the Superintendent of Public
Instruction, the Regents of the University of California, the Trustees
of the California State University, the Board of Governors of the
California Community Colleges, private industry, engineering
societies, and professional organizations. Subject to the approval of
the Regents of the University of California, the University of
California, working cooperatively with other appropriate
educational institutions, shall develop a proposed strategy for the
phased expansion of the Mathematics, Engineering, and Science
Achievement Program from its current operations at 180 schoolsites
to all secondary schools with at least 40 percent enrollments of
low-income and Latino, Black, and Native American students, and
report on the proposed strategy, as specified in subdivision (d).

(c) The statewide offices of the public and independent colleges
and universities and the Superintendent of Public Instruction shall
each develop a strategy to expand other intersegmental programs for
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which they have administrative responsibilities and for which there
is evidence of success in improving college preparation, including
course completion and university eligibility, and college and
university enrollment of students historically underrepresented in
postsecondary education. Each strategy should identify the current
levels of effort, the total numbers of students to be served, an
explanation of how the various programs will be coordinated to
effectively and efficiently serve students, a proposed strategy for the
phased expansion of the programs, and annual cost estimates. The
statewide offices of the postsecondary institutions and the
superintendent shall each work cooperatively with the other
appropriate educational institutions and report on the proposed
strategy as specified in subdivision (d).

(d) Each of the three reports required pursuant to subdivisions
(a), (b), and (c) shall be submitted to the legislative budget
committees and the California Postsecondary Education
Comumission, prior to March 15, 1992. Prior to May 1, 1992, the
Postsecondary Education Commission shall submit to the legislative
budget committees its comments and recommendations on these
three reports.

CHAPTER 1629

An act to amend Item 1390-046-758 of Section 2.00 of the Budget
Act of 1990, relating to the Medical Board of California, and making
an appropriation therefor, and declaring the urgency thereof, to take
effect immediately.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990 Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990 ]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Item 1390-046-758 of Section 2.00 of the Budget Act
of 1990, Chapter 467 of the Statutes of 1990, is amended to read:

1390-046-758—For support of the Medical Board of Cali-

fornia, payable from the Contingent Fund of the
Medical Board of California .........cccceevvvrcvncccnnnnnnn 14,253,000
Schedule:
(a) 63.10.010—Medical Board of Cali-

07w 1) - RSO 15,110,250
(ax) 63.10.015-—Executive Director’s

SAlATY .oovveverieieree e 56,250
(b) 63.15—Registered Dispensing Op-

15 (o1 F:1 o 1 SOOI 145,500
(c) 63.10.020—Distributed  Medical

Board of California..........ccccevruenee. —776,250

211400



7820 STATUTES OF 1990 [ Ch. 1629

(d) Reimbursements ...........ccceererrrivnrenne —137,250
(e) Amount payable from the Dis-
pensing Optician’s Fund (Item
1390-047-175) ..cccvrrrrrercencnrrrreresnrnenns —145,500

Provisions:

1. The board shall prepare three reports and sub-
mit these reports to the members of the Joint
Legislative Budget Committee, the fiscal com-
mittees of the Legislature, and the Department
of Finance by July 15, 1990 (first report), No-
vember 30, 1990 (second report), and February
28, 1991 (third report). These reports must
clearly indicate that the unassigned investiga-
tive case backlog has been reduced by 15 per-
cent during the period July 1990 through
November 1990. The first and second reports
shall include the number of unassigned inves-
tigative cases by date received, by priority cate-
gory, and by physician and surgeon and allied
health categories. The second and third reports
shall also include the number of complaints re-
ceived and the status of all unresolved com-
plaints by age, investigative category, priority
category, physician and surgeon and allied
health categories. The board shall eliminate the
unassigned investigative caseload by December
31, 1990, by assigning these cases to investigative
staff. The board shall confirm this action in the
third report.

2. The Department of Finance, pursuant to the
provisions of Section 27.00 of this act, shall sub-
mit a request for deficiency authorization from
the Contingent Fund of the Medical Board of
California for the purpose of paying the salary of
the executive director and the board’s costs
through June 30, 1991. The approval of the re-
quested deficiency authorization shall be con-
tingent upon a 15 percent reduction in the
board’s unassigned investigative case backlog
during the period July 1990 through November
1990, inclusive.

SEC.2. The Medical Board of California shall submit to the Legis-
lature, on or before January 1, 1992, a variety of options which would
achieve the goal of increasing the postgraduate training require-
ments for physician and surgeon licensure, as outlined in a report
submitted to the Legislature in March 1989.

SEC. 3. The Legislature finds that the Medical Board of Califor-
nia submitted a report to the Legislature in March 1989, which,
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among other things, recommended an increase in the postgraduate
training for an applicant for licensure as a physician and surgeon.
Considering the impact on medical students and applicants seeking
licensure, the Legislature desires to be informed of the variety of
options that may be considered prior to the adoption of any increased
postgraduate training requirements.

SEC. 4. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the immedi-
ate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety within the
meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into immediate
effect. The facts constituting the necessity are:

In order that the appropriations made and the reports required by
this act may take effect at the earliest possible time, it is necessary
that this act go into immediate effect.

CHAPTER 1630

An act to repeal and add Chapter 4 (commencing with Section
4351) of Division 2 of the Public Utilities Code, relating to gas
distribution systems.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 4351) of
Division 2 of the Public Utilities Code is repealed.

SEC. 2. Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 4351) is added to
Division 2 of the Public Utilities Code, to read:

CHAPTER 4. ENFORCEMENT OF FEDERAL PIPELINE SAFETY
STANDARDS FOR MOBILEHOME PARK OPERATORS

4351. As used in this chapter:

(a) “Gas” means natural or manufactured gas, except propane,
used for light, heat, or power.

(b) “Distribution system” means a system of pipes within a
mobilehome park operated by a person or corporation, other than a
public utility, which is connected to a meter or other measuring
device under the control of a privately owned or publicly owned
public utility, for purposes of distribution of gas by the operator of
a mobilehome park to the tenants of the mobilehome park who are
the actual users of the gas furnished through the meter or device to
the operator by the public utility.

(¢) “Operator” is a mobilehome park owner or operator who
maintains and operates a master-metered natural gas distribution
system.

(d) “Department” means the Department of Housing and
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Community Development.

(e) “Local enforcement agency” means the city, county, or city
and county which has assumed the responsibility for the
enforcement of Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 18300) of Part
2.1 of Division 13 of the Health and Safety Code.

(f) “Federal law” or “federal pipeline standards” means the
federal Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act of 1968 (49 U.S.C. Sec. 1671
et seq.) and the regulations contained in Parts 190, 191, and 192 of
Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations.

4354. (a) Every operator shall prepare and submit to the
commission annually a report on the distribution system.

(b) The report shall be submitted to the commission at the same
time the annual application for a permit to operate the mobilehome
park is submitted to the department or the local enforcement
agency.

(c) The report shall be prepared using a form required by the
commission and shall contain the information the commission finds
necessary to carry out the intent of this chapter. In developing the
form, the commission shall consult with interested parties to ensure
that the form contains no more than the necessary and appropriate
information to carry out the intent of this chapter.

(d) Upon receipt of the report, the commission shall examine the
report for violations of (1) applicable federal pipeline safety laws or
regulations or (2) any applicable commission rules or orders. The
commission may inspect the operator’s distribution system for the
purpose of verifying whether or not a violation of federal or state
pipeline safety laws or regulations has occurred or is occurring.

4357. (a) Any operator who fails to file the report required by
Section 4354 or to comply with a directive of the department or the
local enforcement agency pursuant to Section 4356 is subject to a civil
penalty of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each day
that the failure to file the report or respond to the directive
continues, but not to exceed two hundred thousand dollars
($200,000) for a single violation or related series of violations. The
commission shall enforce this subdivision.

(b) Nothing in this chapter affects the tort liability of the operator
of a distribution system.

4360. Nothing in this chapter affects the requirement that
operators of liquefied petroleum gas (propane) master-meter
systems supplying 10 or more customers from a single source comply
with the applicable provisions of the federal law.

SEC. 3. (a) This act shall become operative on July 1, 1991,
except subdivision (¢) of Section 4354 of the Public Utilities Code,
which shall become operative on January 1, 1991.

(b) It is the intent of the Legislature if this bill and SB 2647 are
both chaptered and become effective on or before January 1, 1991,
and this bill is chaptered after SB 2647, that the provisions of Chapter
4 (commencing with Section 4351), as added to Division 2 of the
Public Utilities Code by this bill, and Chapter 4 (commencing with
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Section 4351), as added to Division 2 of the Public Utilities Code by
SB 2647, form a single, unified Chapter 4 (commencing with Section
4351) of Division 2 of the Public Utilities Code.

Therefore, if both this bill and SB 2647 are chaptered and this bill
is chaptered last, this bill does not prevail over SB 2647, and the
provisions of both bills shall become operative in a single, unified
Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 4351) of Division 2 of the
Public Utilities Code.

SEC. 4. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to
Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution because the
only costs which may be incurred by a local agency or school district
will be incurred because this act creates a new crime or infraction,
changes the definition of a crime or infraction, changes the penalty
for a crime or infraction, or eliminates a crime or infraction.
Notwithstanding Section 17580 of the Government Code, unless
otherwise specified in this act, the provisions of this act shall become
operative on the same date that the act takes effect pursuant to the
California Constitution.

CHAPTER 1631

An act to add Division 12.2 (commencing with Section 15000) to
the Public Resources Code, relating to batteries, and making an
appropriation therefor.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Division 12.2 (commencing with Section 15000) is
added to the Public Resources Code, to read:

DIVISION 12.2. HOUSEHOLD BATTERIES
CHAPTER 1. DEFINITIONS

15000. “Board” means the California Integrated Waste
Management Board.

15001. “Consumer” means every person who, for his or her use,
purchases a household battery from a dealer.

15002. *“Dealer” means a person in this state who sells or offers for
sale household batteries to consumers.

15003. “Distributor” means every person who sells or offers for
sale household batteries to a dealer in this state, including any
manufacturer who engages in these sales. “Distributor” includes, but
is not limited to, any person who imports household batteries from
outside this state for sale to dealers or consumers in this state.
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15005. “Household battery” means primary or secondary
batteries, including nickel-cadmium, alkaline, carbon-zinc, mercury,
and other batteries generated as non-RCRA hazardous waste similar
in size to those typically generated as household waste. “Household
battery” does not include lead-acid batteries. For purposes of this
section, “non-RCRA hazardous waste” has the meaning as defined in
Section 25117.9 of the Health and Safety Code.

15007. “Manufacturer” means any person who produces or
manufactures household batteries.

15009. “Recycling center” means an operation which is certified
by the department pursuant to Section 14538,

CHAPTER 2. STUDY ON HOUSEHOLD BATTERIES

15010. The board shall conduct a study on the disposal and
potential recyclability of household batteries. In conducting the
study, the board shall consult with other appropriate agencies and
shall take into account any studies that have already been conducted
on those batteries and their relation to solid waste.

15011. The study shall include, but is not limited to, all of the
following:

(a) The effects of used household batteries on municipal solid
waste landfills and incinerators, including any threats to human
health or the environment.

(b) The potential recyclability of used household batteries,
including, but not limited to, the following:

(1) Recycling technologies that could be used.

(2) The potential effectiveness of those technologies in
recovering reusable materials from household batteries.

(3) Existing and potential collection systems for household
batteries, including all of the following:

(A) Voluntary collection systems, using existing recycling centers
and other mechanisms.

(B) Inclusion in the California Beverage Container Recycling and
Litter Reduction Act.

(C) A deposit system which requires distributors to pay to the
manufacturer a refundable deposit on purchase, dealers to pay to the
distributor a refundable deposit on purchase, consumers to pay to the
dealer a refundable deposit on purchase, and each deposit to be
refunded on return of the household battery.

(D) The collection systems described in subparagraphs (A) to
(C), inclusive, in conjunction with collection of other household
hazardous wastes.

(4) The potential adverse effects on human health or the
environment resulting from exposure to household batteries at all
phases of the recycling process, including collection, storage,
transportation, and reclamation of reusable materials.

(5) The costs of recycling household batteries, including avoided
disposal costs.
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15012. On or before March 1, 1992, the board shall submit to the
Legislature a report describing the results of the study conducted
under this chapter, together with recommendations on whether
there is a need for legislation, regulation, or further study relating to
the disposal or recyclability of used household batteries. The board
shall also include a section on these subjects in the report submitted
pursuant to Section 42950 on March 31, 1993.

SEC.2. The sum of one hundred fifty thousand dollars ($150,000)
is hereby appropriated from the Integrated Waste Management
Account to the California Integrated Waste Management Board for
the purposes of conducting the study and making the report
required by Section 1.

CHAPTER 1632

An act to add Part 7.5 (commencing with Section 7850) to Division
5 of the Labor Code, relating to occupational safety and health.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990 Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990 ]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Part 7.5 (commencing with Section 7850) is added
to Division 5 of the Labor Code, to read:

PART 7.5. REFINERY AND CHEMICAL PLANTS
CHAPTER 1. GENERAL

7850. This part shall be known and cited as the California
Refinery and Chemical Plant Worker Safety Act of 1990.

7851. The Legislature finds and declares that because of the
potentially hazardous nature of handling large quantities of
chemicals and recent disasters involving chemical handling in other
states, a greater state effort is required to assure worker safety. The
Legislature also recognizes that a key element for assuring
workplace safety is adequate employee training. The potential
consequences of explosions, fires, and releases of dangerous
chemicals may be catastrophic; thus immediate and comprehensive
government action must be taken to ensure that workers in
petroleum refineries, chemical plants, and other related facilities are
thoroughly trained and that adequate process safety management
practices are implemented.

7852. (a) It is the intent of the Legislature, in enacting this part,
that the Occupational Safety and Health Standards Board and the
Division of Occupational Health and Safety (OSHA) promote
worker safety through implementation of training and process safety
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management practices in petroleum refineries and chemical plants
and other facilities deemed appropriate.

(b) To the maximum extent practicable, the board and the
division shall minimize duplications with other state statutory
programs and business reporting requirements when developing
standards pursuant to Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 7855).

(c) Itisfurther the intent of the Legislature, in enacting this part,
that in the interest of promoting worker safety, standards be adopted
at the earliest reasonably possible date, but in no case later than July
1, 1992.

7853. For the purposes of this part, “process safety management”
means the application of management programs, which are not
limited to engineering guidelines, when dealing with the risks
associated with handling or working near hazardous chemicals.
Process safety management is intended to prevent or minimize the
consequences of catastrophic releases of acutely hazardous,
flammable, or explosive chemicals.

CHAPTER 2. PROCESS SAFETY MANAGEMENT STANDARDS

7855. The purpose of this chapter is to prevent or minimize the
consequences of catastrophic releases of toxic, flammable, or
explosive chemicals. The establishment of process safety
management standards are intended to eliminate, to a substantial
degree, the risks to which workers are exposed in petroleum
refineries, chemical plants, and other related manufacturing
facilities.

7856. No later than July 1, 1992, the board shall adopt process
safety management standards for refineries, chemical plants, and
other manufacturing facilities, as specified in Codes 28 (Chemical
and Allied Products) and 29 (Petroleum Refining and Related
Industries) of the Manual of Standard Industrial Classification Codes,
published by the United States Office of Management and Budget,
1987 Edition, that handle acutely hazardous material as defined in
subdivision (a) of Section 25532 and subdivision (a) of Section 25536
of the Health and Safety Code and pose a significant likelihood of
accident risk, as determined by the board. Alternately, upon making
a finding that there is a significant likelihood of risk to employees at
a facility not included in Codes 28 and 29 resulting from the presence
of acutely hazardous materials or explosives as identified in Part 172
(commencing with Section 172.1) of Title 49 of the Code of Federal
Regulations, the board may require that these facilities be subject to
the jurisdiction of the standards provided for in this section. When
adopting these standards, the board shall give priority to facilities
and areas of facilities where the potential is greatest for preventing
severe or catastrophic accidents because of the size or nature of the
process or business. The standards adopted pursuant to this section
shall require that injury prevention programs of employers subject
to this part and implemented pursuant to Section 6401.7 include the

214500



Ch. 1632 ] STATUTES OF 1990 7827

requirements of this part.

7857. The process safety management standards shall include
provisions dealing with the items prescribed by Sections 7858 to 7868,
inclusive, of this chapter.

7858. The employer shall develop and maintain a compilation of
written safety information to enable the employer and the
employees operating the process to identify and understand the
hazards posed by processes involving acutely hazardous and
flammable material. The employer shall provide for employee
participation in this process. This safety information shall be
communicated to employees involved in the processes, and shall
include information pertaining to hazards of acutely hazardous and
flammable materials used in the process, information pertaining to
the technology of the process, and information pertaining to the
equipment in the process. A copy of this information and
communication shall be accessible to all workers who perform any
duties in or near the process area.

7859. The employer shall perform a hazard analysis for
identifying, evaluating, and controlling hazards involved in the
process. The employer shall provide for the participation of
knowledgeable operating employees in these analyses. The final
report containing the results of the hazardous analysis for each
process shall be available, in the respective work area, for review by
any person working in that area. Upon request of any worker or any
labor union representative of any worker in the area, the employer
shall provide or make available a copy of any risk management
prevention program prepared for that facility pursuant to Article 2
(commencing with Section 25531) of Chapter 6.95 of Division 20 of
the Health and Safety Code. The board, when adopting a standard
or standards pertaining to this section, may authorize employers to
submit risk management prevention programs prepared pursuant to
Article 2 (commencing with Section 25531) of Chapter 6.95 of
Division 20 of the Health and Safety Code to satisfy related
requirements in whole or in part.

7860. (a) The employer shall develop and implement written
operating procedures that provide clear instructions for safely
conducting activities involved in each process consistent with the
process safety information.

(b) A copy of the operating procedures shall be readily accessible
to employees or to any other person who works in or near the process
area.

(¢) The operating procedures shall be reviewed as often as
necessary to assure that they reflect current operating practice,
including changes that result from changes in process chemicals,
technology, and equipment, and changes to facilities.

7861. (a) Each employee whose primary duties include the
operating or maintenance of a process, and each employee prior to
assuming operations and maintenance duties in a newly assigned
process, shall be trained in an overview of the process and in the

214800



7828 STATUTES OF 1990 [ Ch. 1632

operating procedures as specified in Section 7860. The training shall
include emphasis on the specific safety and health hazards,
procedures, and safe practices applicable to the employee’s job tasks.

(b) Refresher and supplemental training shall be provided to
each operating or maintenance employee, or both, and other worker
necessary to ensure safe operation of the facility and on a recurring
regular schedule as determined adequate by the board.

(c) The employer shall ensure that each worker necessary to
ensure safe operation of the facility has received and successfully
completed training as specified by this section. The employer, after
the initial or refresher training shall prepare a certification record
which contains the identity of the employee, the date of training, and
the signature of the person conducting the training. Testing
procedures shall be established by each employer to ensure
competency in job skill levels and safe and healthy work practices.

7862. (a) The employer shall inform contractors performing
work on, or near, a process of the known potential fire, explosion, or
toxic release hazards related to the contractor’s work and the
process, and require that contractors have trained their employees
to a level adequate to safely perform their job. The employer shall
also inform contractors of any applicable safety rules of the facility,
and assure that the contractors have so informed their employees.

(b) The employer shall explain to contractors the applicable
provisions of the emergency action plan required by Section 7868.

(c) Contractors shall assure that their employees have received
training to safely perform their jobs and that these employees will
adhere to all applicable work practices and safety rules of the facility.

7863. The employer shall perform a prestartup safety review for
new facilities and for modified facilities for which the modification
necessitates a change in the process safety information. These
reviews shall include knowledgeable operating employees.

7864. The employer shall establish and implement written
procedures and inspection and testing programs to maintain the
ongoing integrity of process equipment. These programs shall
include a process for allowing employees to identify and report
potentially faulty or unsafe equipment, and to record their
observations and suggestions in writing. The employer shall respond
regarding the disposition of the employee’s concerns contained in
the reports in a timely manner.

7865. The employer shall develop and implement a written
procedure governing the issuance of “hot work” permits. “Hot
work” 1acludes electric or gas welding, cutting, brazing, or similar
flame- or spark-producing operations.

7866. The employer shall establish and implement written
procedures to manage changes, except for replacements in kind, to
process chemicals, technology, and equipment, and to make changes
to facilities.

7867. The employer shall establish a written procedure for
investigating every incident which results in, or, as determined by
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board criteria, could reasonably have resulted in, a major accident in
the workplace. The procedure shall, at a minimum, require that a
written report be prepared and be provided to all employees whose
work assignments are within the facility where the incident occurred
at the time the incident occurred and shall also include establishing
a method for dealing with findings and recommendations.

7868. The employer shall establish and implement an emergency
action plan. The employer may use the business plan for emergency
response submitted pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 25503.5
and subdivision (b) of Section 25505 of the Health and Safety Code
if it meets the standards adopted by the board.

7870. Notwithstanding the availability of federal funds to carry
out the purposes of this part, the division may fix and collect
reasonable fees for consultation, inspection, adoption of standards,
and other duties conducted pursuant to this part. The expenditure
of these funds shall be subject to appropriation by the Legislature in
the annual Budget Act.

CHAPTER 1633

An act to amend Sections 7856, 8232.5, 8664.8, 9029, 12002.1, 12002.2,
16500, 16511, 16514, and 16530 of the Fish and Game Code, relating
to fish, and making an appropriation therefor.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990 ]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 7856 of the Fish and Game Code is amended
to read:

7856. Notwithstanding any other provision of this division, except
as provided in subdivision (f) and except when prohibited by federal
law, fish may be prepared for human consumption aboard a
commercial fishing vessel only under the following conditions:

(a) The fish are taken under all existing commercial fishing laws
and regulations and, except as provided in subdivision (f), the fish is
of a species and size that can be lawfully taken under sportfishing
regulations in the area where taken and are taken incidental to
normal commerecial fishing operations.

{b) The fish is separated from other fish and stored with other
foods{:uff for consumption by the crew and passengers aboard the
vessel.

(c) The fish, or parts thereof, shall not be bought, sold, offered for
sale, transferred to any other person, landed, brought ashore, or used
for any purpose except for consumption by the crew and passengers.

(d) (1) All fish shall be maintained in such a condition that the
species can be determined, and the size or weight can be determined
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if a size or weight limit applies, until the fish is prepared for
immediate consumption.

(2) If the fish is filleted, a patch of skin shall be retained on each
fillet as prescribed by the commission in the sportfishing regulations
until the fish is prepared for immediate consumption.

(3) Fillets from fish possessed under sportfishing regulations shall
be of the minimum length prescribed by commission regulations.

(e) No fish which may be possessed under sportfishing regulations
may be possessed in excess of the sport bag limit for each crew
member and passenger on board the vessel.

(f) Notwithstanding other provisions of this section, kelp bass,
sand bass, spotted bass, yellowfin croaker, spotfin croaker, California
corbina, and marlin, shall not be possessed aboard a commercial
fishing vessel while that vessel is on a commercial fishing trip.
Lobster, salmon, or abalone shall not be possessed aboard a
commercial fishing vessel while that vessel is on a commercial fishing
trip for preparation for human consumption pursuant to this section
unless that lobster, salmon, or abalone is taken and possessed in
compliance with all applicable laws pertaining to commercial fishing
methods of take, licenses, permits, and size limits. Sturgeon or
striped bass shall not be possessed aboard a commercial fishing
vessel. No person shall take or possess any fish on a commercial
fishing vessel under a sportfishing license while that vessel is
engaged in a commercial fishing activity, including going to or from
an area where fish are taken for commercial purposes.

SEC. 2. Section 8232.5 of the Fish and Game Code, as amended
by Chapter 120 of the Statutes of 1990, is amended to read:

8232.5. (a) Except as provided in this section, it is unlawful to
take salmon for sport purposes on a permitted vessel.

(b) Subdivision (a) does not prohibit taking salmon for sport
purposes under a sportfishing or a sport ocean fishing license, which
is issued pursuant to Article 3 (commencing with Section 7145) of
Chapter 1, on a vessel licensed as a commercial passenger fishing
boat pursuant to Section 7920 and engaged in that business on any
day when salmon are not being taken for commercial purposes on
that vessel.

(¢) Subdivision (a) does not prohibit taking salmon for sport
purposes under a sportfishing or a sport ocean fishing license, which
is issued pursuant to Article 3 (commencing with Section 7145) of
Chapter 1, on a permitted vessel in the Klamath Management Zone,
as designated by the federal Pacific Fisheries Management Council,
when the commercial salmon season is closed and after 24 hours qftef
the time when salmon taken during the commercial salmon season
are required to be landed. )

(d) The use of a vessel pursuant to subdivision (c) shall be
considered as being engaged or employed exclusively in the taking
and possession of fish or other living resource of the sea for
commercial purposes for purposes of subdivision (a) of Section 227
of the Revenue and Taxation Code.
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SEC. 3. Section 8664.8 of the Fish and Game Code is amended to
read:

8664.8. (a) Notwithstanding Sections 8685, 8687, 8696, and 8724,
set or drift gill or trammel nets shall not be used on or after April 1,
1987, in the following ocean waters, except as provided in subdivision
(d):

(1) Between a line extending 245° magnetic from the most
westerly point of the west point of the Point Reyes headlands in
Marin County and the westerly extension of the California-Oregon
boundary.

(2) In waters which are 40 fathoms or less in depth at mean lower
low water between a line extending 245° magnetic from the most
westerly point of the west point of the Point Reyes headlands in
Marin County and a line extending due east and west magnetic from
Duxbury buoy in Marin County.

(b) Notwithstanding Sections 8687, 8696, and 8724, set or drift gill
or trammel nets shall not be used in the following ocean waters from
April 1, 1987, to March 31, 1988, except as provided in subdivision (d):

(1) In waters which are 20 fathoms or less in depth at mean lower
low water between a line extending due east and west magnetic from
Duxbury buoy in Marin County and a line extending 225° magnetic
from Franklin Point in San Mateo County.

(2) In waters within five nautical miles of the most westerly point
of Point San Pedro.

(e¢) (1) Notwithstanding Sections 8664.5, 8687, 8696, and 8724, set
or drift gill or trammel nets shall not be used on and after April 1,
1988, in waters which are 40 fathoms or less in depth at mean lower
low water between a line extending 245° magnetic from the most
westerly point of the west point of the Point Reyes headlands in
Marin County and a line extending 220° magnetic from the mouth of
Waddell Creek in Santa Cruz County.

(2) Notwithstanding Sections 8664.5, 8687, 8696, and 8724, set or
drift gill or trammmel nets shall not be used on or after April 1, 1990,
in ocean waters which are 60 fathoms or less in depth at mean lower
low water between a line extending 225° magnetic from Pillar Point
at Half Moon Bay in San Mateo County to a line extending 220°
magnetic from the mouth of Waddell Creek in Santa Cruz County.

(d) Subdivisions (a), (b), and (¢) do not apply to the use of drift
gill nets operated under a permit issued by the department in that
part of Arcata Bay in Humboldt County lying northeast of the Samoa
Bridge during the period from April 1 to September 30, inclusive.
The department may issue not more than six permits pursuant to this
subdivision. Each permit shall specify the amount and type of gear
which may be used under the permit.

(e) Subdivisions (a), (b), and (c¢) do not apply to the use of set gill
nets used pursuant to Article 15 (commencing with Section 8550) of
Chapter 2 of Part 3 of Division 6 or regulations adopted under that
article or to the use of drift gill nets with a mesh size of 14 inches or
more.
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() (1) Notwithstanding subdivision (b) and Sections 8687, 8696,
and 8724, gill or trammel nets shall not be used within three nautical
miles of the Farallon Islands in San Francisco County, and within
three nautical miles of Noonday Rock buoy located approximately
3% miles 276° magnetic from North Farallon Island.

(2) If the director determines that the use of set or drift gill or
trammel nets is having an adverse impact on any population of any
species of sea bird, marine mammal, or fish, the director shall issue
an order prohibiting the use of those nets between three nautical
miles and five nautical miles of the Farallon Islands and Noonday
Rock buoy or any portion of that area. The order shall take effect no
later than 48 hours after its issuance. The director shall hold a
properly noticed public hearing in a place convenient to the affected
area within one week of the effective date of the order to describe
the action taken and shall take testimony as to the effect of the order
and determine whether any modification of the order is necessary.
Gill and trammel nets used to take fish in District 10 shall be marked
at each end with a buoy displaying above its waterline in Arabic
numerals at least two inches high, the certificate of vessel
registration number issued by the department under Section 7881 for
the vessel from which the net is being used. Nets shall be marked at
both ends and at least every 250 fathoms between the ends with flags
of the same color and at least 144 square inches in size, acceptable
to the department.

SEC. 4. Section 9029 of the Fish and Game Code is amended to
read:

9029. (a) Notwithstanding Section 9028, a fishing line which is
anchored to the ocean bottom at one end and attached at the surface
to a fishing vessel or a buoy may be used in Districts 6, 7, 10, 17, 18,
and 19.

(b) A fishing line otherwise permitted pursuant to subdivision
(a), may not be used under any of the following circumstances:

(1) To take shortfin mako (bonito) sharks, thresher sharks,
swordfish, or marlin.

(2) If the fishing line exceeds 3,000 feet in length from the anchor
to the surface vessel or buoy.

(3) If any hoods are attached to the upper one-third of the line.

(c) A buoy attached to the surface end of a fishing line used
pursuant to subdivision (a) shall display above its waterline, in
numerals at least two inches high, the fisherman’s identification
number. For purposes of this section and Section 8601.5, “fisherman’s
identification number” means the number of the person’s
commercial fishing license issued pursuant to Section 7850.

SEC. 5. Section 12002.1 of the Fish and Game Code is amended
to read:

12002.1. (a) Notwithstanding Section 12002, the punishment for
taking a mammal or bird for which a hunting license issued pursuant
to Section 3031 is required or a license tag or license stamp is
required, without having in one’s possession the required, valid
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license, or without having in one’s possession any required license tag
or license stamp, or when the taking of that mammal or bird is
prohibited by allowable season, limit, time, or area, is punishable by
a fine of not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250) nor more than
two thousand dollars ($2,000), or imprisonment in the county jail for
not more than one year, or both that fine and imprisonment, or by
any greater punishment prescribed by this code.

(b) If a person is convicted of an offense described in subdivision
(a) and produces in court a license, license tag, or license stamp,
issued to the person and valid at the time of the person’s arrest and
if the taking was otherwise lawful with respect to season, limit, time,
and area, the court may reduce the fine imposed for the violation to
fifty dollars ($50).

SEC. 6. Section 12002.2 of the Fish and Game Code is amended
to read:

12002.2. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a
violation of Section 7145 is an infraction and not a misdemeanor,
punishable by a fine of not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250)
nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for a first offense. If a
person is convicted of a violation of Section 7145 within five years of
a separate offense resulting in a conviction of a violation of Section
7145, that person shall be punished by a fine of not less than five
hundred dollars ($500) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000).
If a person convicted of a violation of Section 7145 is granted
probation, the court shall impose as a term or condition of probation,
in addition to any other term or condition of probation, that the
person pay at least the minimum fine prescribed in this subdivision.

(b) If a person is convicted of a violation of Section 7145 and
produces in court a license issued pursuant to Section 7146 and valid
at the time of the person’s arrest, and if the taking was otherwise
lawful with respect to season, limit, time, and area, the court may
reduce the fine imposed for the violation of Section 7145 to fifty
dollars ($50).

Sg]C. 7. Section 16500 of the Fish and Game Code is amended to
read:

16500. The Legislature finds:

(a) Jurisdiction over the protection and development of natural
resources, especially the fish resource, is of great importance to both
the State of California and California Indian tribes.

(b) To California Indian tribes, control over their minerals, lands,
water, wildlife, and other resources within Indian country is crucial
to their economic self-sufficiency and the preservation of their
heritage. On the other hand, the State of California is concerned
about protecting and developing its resources; protecting, restoring,
and developing its commercial and recreational salmon fisheries;
ensuring public access to its waterways; and protecting the
environment within its borders.

(c) More than any other issue confronting the State of California
and California Indian tribes, the regulation of natural resources,
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especially fish, transcends political boundaries.

(d) In many cases, the State of California and California Indian
tribes have differed in their respective views of the nature and
extent of state versus tribal jurisdiction in areas where Indians have
historically fished. Despite these frequent and often bitter disputes,
both the state and the tribes seek, as their mutual goal, the protection
and preservation of the fish resource. This division is an attempt to
provide a legal mechanism, other than protracted and expensive
litigation over unresolved legal issues, for achieving that mutual goal
on the Klamath River.

(e) That the Department of Fish and Game has exercised
jurisdiction over the Klamath River from the mouth of the river
through the Yurok Reservation and the Hoopa Valley Reservation,
but that the Bureau of Indian Affairs and the Indian tribes thereon
have also asserted jurisdiction over that river. The river itself lies
within a disputed area and proper management of the resource
presents, therefore, unique and difficult problems in the exercise of
fishing practices by all users groups.

(f) Although commercial fishing may not be a traditional practice
of the tribes existing along the Klamath River within the boundaries
of the land of the Yurok Reservation and the Hoopa Valley
Reservation, nevertheless, the Department of Fish and Game has
historically supported the concept of tribal fishing, including a tribal
commercial fishing industry where the industry is consistent with the
need to preserve the species, sound management, and where such
usage would not adversely effect other user groups, including
sportfishing and the ocean commercial fishery.

(g) That a commercial fishery existed on the Klamath River in the
late 19th century and early 20th century, in which the Indian tribes
existing along the river participated, but that the commercial fishing
was abolished in 1933 with the passage of the predecessor to Section
8434, and, further, that salmon resources have declined historically
due to past water developmental policies and timber harvesting
practices. With a reduced number of fish available, special laws are
needed to protect those resources and allocate them fairly among the
various user groups.

(h) This division is not only enacted to provide the legal
mechanism described above, but is also intended to encourage
cooperative agreements to allow protection of the resource among
all of the user groups. In so doing, the Legislature recognizes the
unique status of the Klamath River and the fishing therein.

SEC. 8. Section 16511 of the Fish and Game Code is amended to
read:

16511. “Klamath River Indian Tribes” means those tribes existing
within the boundaries of the Yurok Reservation and the Hoopa
Valley Reservation, located in Humboldt and Del Norte Counties in
California, which tribes are recognized as Indian tribes by the
Secretary of the Interior.

SEC. 9. Section 16514 of the Fish and Game Code is amended to
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read:

16514. “Yurok Reservation” means the land extending one mile
in width on each side of the Klamath River from the mouth of the
Klamath River to the confluence of the Trinity and Klamath Rivers.
“Hoopa Valley Reservations” means those lands lying within the
Hoopa Square.

S(Ei}C. 10. Section 16530 of Fish and Game Code is amended to
read:

16530. The director may enter into a mutual agreement or
compact with the Hoopa Valley Business Council regarding the
taking of fish from the Trinity River within the exterior boundaries
of the Hoopa Valley Reservation or with the Yurok Tribe, or the
Bureau of Indian Affairs acting as trustee for the Yurok Indians,
regarding the taking of fish from the Klamath River within the
exterior boundaries of the Yurok Reservation.

SEC. 11. Notwithstanding Section 2229 of the Revenue and
Taxation Code, the requirements of that section relating to any
exemption of property for more than five years or for more than 75
percent of the value thereof, shall not apply to any exemption made
by this act. In addition, no appropriation is made by this act and the
state shall not reimburse any local agency for any property tax
revenues lost by it pursuant to this act.

SEC. 12. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to
Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution because the
only costs which may be incurred by a local agency or school district
will be incurred because this act creates a new crime or infraction,
changes the definition of a crime or infraction, changes the penalty
for a crime or infraction, or eliminates a crime or infraction.
Notwithstanding Section 17580 of the Government Code, unless
otherwise specified in this act, the provisions of this act shall become
operative on the same date that the act takes effect pursuant to the
California Constitution.

CHAPTER 1634

An act to add Section 41825 to the Public Resources Code, relating
to solid waste, and declaring the urgency thereof, to take effect
immediately.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 41825 is added to the Public Resources
Code, to read:

41825. On or before July 1, 1991, the board shall complete a study
on recycling and source reduction in rural areas and report the
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results of the study to the Legislature. The study shall include, but
is not limited to, all of the following

(a) Areview and assessment of existing recycling and composting
programs, approaches, and infrastructure in rural areas.

(b) An analysis of the economic impact, fiscal constraints,
geographic and demographic factors, and other impediments to
recycling and source reduction activities in rural areas.

(c) An analysis of market development options, including, but not
limited to, regional or multijurisdictional strategies for the collection,
transporting, processing, and procurement of recyclable materials.

(d) An identification of methods and strategies which rural
localities may use to achieve the recycling goals specified in Section
41780.

SEC. 2. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety within
the meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into
immediate effect. The facts constituting the necessity are:

Because rural counties are unable to comply with the statutory
deadlines imposed by Chapter 1095 of the Statutes of 1989, as
amended by Chapter 145 of the Statutes of 1990, and in order for the
Legislature to first receive the findings and recommendations from
the study provided in this act in order to formulate subsequent
legislation in a timely manner, it is necessary that this act take effect
immediately.

CHAPTER 1635

An act to amend Section 1808.46 of, and to add Section 1808.23 to,
the Vehicle Code, relating to vehicles, and declaring the urgency
thereof, to take effect immediately.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990 ]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 1808.23 is added to the Vehicle Code, to
read:

1808.23. (a) Section 1808.21 does not apply to a vehicle
manufacturer licensed to do business in this state if the
manufacturer, or its agent, under penalty of perjury, requests and
uses the information only for the purpose of safety, warranty,
emission, or product recall if the manufacturer offers to make and
makes any changes at no cost to the vehicle owner.

(b) Section 1808.21 does not apply to a dealer licensed to do
business in this state if the dealer, or its agent, under penalty of
perjury, requests and uses the information only for the purpose of
completing registration transactions and documents.
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(c) Section 1808.21 does not apply to a person who, under penalty
of perjury, requests and uses the information as permitted under
subdivision (h) of Section 1798.24 of the Civil Code, if the request
specifies that no persons will be contacted by mail or otherwise at the
address included with the information released. The information
released by the department under this subdivision shall not be in a
form that identifies any person.

(d) Residential addresses released under this section shall not be
used for direct marketing or solicitation for the purchase of any
consumer product or service.

SEC. 2. Section 1808.46 of the Vehlcle Code is amended to read:

1808.46. No person or agent shall directly or indirectly obtain
information from the department files using false representations or
distribute restricted or confidential information to any person or use
the information for a reason not authorized or specified in a
requester code application. Any person who violates this section, in
addition to any other penalty provided in this code, is liable to the
department for civil penalties up to one hundred thousand dollars
($100,000) and shall have its requester code privileges suspended for
a period of up to five years, or revoked. The regulatory agencies
having jurisdiction over any licensed person receiving information
pursuant to this chapter shall implement procedures to review the
procedures of any licensee which receives information to ensure
compliance with the limitations on the use of information as part of
the agency’s regular oversight of the licensees. The agency shall
report noncompliance to the department.

SEC. 3. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety within
the meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into
immediate effect. The facts constituting the necessity are:

There is uncertainty as to whether, under existing law, certain
information of the Department of Motor Vehicles may be obtained
by vehicle manufacturers or their agents for recall purposes, by
vehicle dealers to complete registration transactions and documents,
and by persons needing the information (which information does not
identify any person) for statistical research or reporting purposes.

In order to resolve this uncertainty at the earliest possible time, it
is necessary that this act take effect immediately.
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CHAPTER 1636

An act to amend Sections 16145, 16146, 16147, and 16148 of, to add
Sections 16148.05, 16148.10, 16148.13, and 16148.15 to, and to repeal
and add Section 16151 to, the Welfare and Institutions Code, relating
to public social services.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 16145 of the Welfare and Institutions Code
is amended to read:

16145. The Legislature finds that pregnancy among unmarried
persons under 18 years of age constitutes an increasing social
problem in the State of California. In order to have effective freedom
of choice in making family planning decisions, assistance of the state
through the funding of licensed maternity homes is necessary. A
program of structured services, including counseling and residential
treatment services, provided by licensed maternity homes, helps
alleviate the problem and results in fewer welfare dependent
mothers, lower school dropout rates, and higher birth weight babies.

SEC. 1.5. Section 16146 of the Welfare and Institutions Code is
amended to read:

16146. (a) It is the policy of the State of California that when an
unmarried person under 18 years of age who is domiciled in this state
is pregnant, she shall be provided the services of a licensed maternity
home at her request or the request of her parent or parents, and that
these services shall not be denied by the state or any governmental
agency thereof except on grounds specifically provided by statute.

{b) A client who is 18 years of age shall remain eligible for licensed
maternity home services as long as she is pregnant and attending
school. These services shall be reimbursable in accordance with
Section 16148.

(c) (1) Prior to admitting a client, a licensed maternity home
shall perform a level of care assessment to determine the appropriate
placement of prospective clients. The home shall use the Level of
Care Assessment Instrument developed pursuant to Section 11467 to
match the assessed needs of the client and her family with the
services provided by the home. The results of the assessment shall be
maintained in the client’s case file for review by the State
Department of Social Services, pursuant to Section 16148.10.

(2) The requirements in paragraph (1) shall become operative
upon development and implementation of the Level of Care
Assessment Instrument by the State Department of Social Services.

SEC. 2. Section 16147 of the Welfare and Institutions Code is
amended to read:

16147. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the
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parent or parents of a person under 18 years of age who is domiciled
in this state shall not be held financially responsible for maternity
home care, social service counseling, or other services related to
pregnancy of the person which are provided by a licensed maternity
home pursuant to this chapter.

(b) The provider shall attempt to obtain financial support for a
client residing in a maternity home, in accordance with a sliding fee
scale developed by the department, when the maternity home
determines that both of the following conditions apply:

(1) The family’s annual income is in excess of 200 percent of the
federal Poverty Index, adjusted for family size, determined by a
review of the parent or parents’ federal income tax return for the
previous year.

(2) The maternity home’s request would not jeopardize the
client’s right to utilize the services of the maternity home.

(c) Placement of a client in a maternity home shall not be subject
to financial contributions of the parent or parents of the client.

(d) Any financial contributions collected from parents of clients
pursuant to subdivision (b) shall be forwarded by the provider to the
department for the purposes of offsetting costs of care and services
provided under this chapter.

SEC. 3. Section 16148 of the Welfare and Institutions Code is
amended to read:

16148. (a) From any funds appropriated therefor, the state shall
reimburse nonprofit maternity homes licensed pursuant to state law
for costs of care and services provided under this chapter to
unmarried pregnant persons under 18 years of age who are
domiciled in this state.

(b) (1) Reimbursement to nonprofit maternity homes under this
chapter shall be made pursuant to the methodology used for
establishing group home rates under the Aid to Families with
Dependent Children-Foster Care program, as specified in Section
11462, excluding subdivisions (a), (b), (I), (m), paragraph (1) of
subdivision (f), and paragraphs (2), (3), and (4) of subdivision (i).

(2) Licensed maternity homes shall be subject to the same
performance standards and outcome measures developed by the
State Department of Social Services for determining the
effectiveness of group home placements under the AFDC-FC
program. Any maternity home not meeting performance standards
shall have its rate adjusted in the same manner as used for group
homes not meeting performance standards.

(¢) Commencing January 1, 1991, maternity home providers shall
submit to the department information for the classification of each
maternity home program and the application of the standardized
schedule of rates.

(d) (1) The department shall reimburse maternity home
providers at the rate classification levels 1 to 5 of the standardized
schedule of rates.

(2) It is the intent of the Legislature that the requirements of
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paragraph (1) may be subject to revision in subsequent fiscal years
if the maternity home programs warrant reimbursement at higher
rate classification levels.

(3) The department shall establish the rate for the 1991-92 fiscal
year for a maternity home program for which the department
established a rate effective prior to June 30, 1991, that took into
account the program’s historical costs by determining the rate
classification level on a retrospective basis, according to the level of
care and services actually provided during one of the following
periods:

(A) July 1, 1990 to December 31, 1990, inclusive.

(B) July 1, 1990 to March 31, 1991, inclusive.

(4) Rates may be adjusted for any licensed maternity home which
accepts clients whose assessments, pursuant to Section 16146, are not
consistent with the rate classification level.

(e) For purposes of this section, “nonprofit maternity homes”
include the following:

(1) Any maternity home which is owned and operated by one or
more nonprofit corporations or associations no part of the net
earnings of which inures, or may lawfully inure, to the benefit of any
private shareholder or individual.

(2) Any maternity home publicly owned or operated by a public
utility or agency of this state.

SEC. 4. Section 16148.05 is added to the Welfare and Institutions
Code, to read:

16148.05. The department shall collect maternity home cost data
and monitor the cost of providing maternity home care services.

SEC. 5. Section 16148.10 is added to the Welfare and Institutions
Code, to read:

16148.10. (a) For purposes of subdivision (b) of Section 16148,
the department shall perform or have performed maternity home
program and fiscal audits as needed, pursuant to procedures
specified in Section 11466.2.

(b) Maternity home programs shall retain all child-specific,
programmatic, personnel, fiscal, and other information, including
the results of the level of care assessment performed pursuant to
Section 16146, affecting maternity home rate setting and maternity
home payments for a period of not less than five years.

(c) At least annually, the department shall review admissions to
licensed maternity homes to ensure that the assessed needs of
persons accepted for services are appropriately matched with
services offered by the homes. By January 1, 1993, the department
shall submit a report to the appropriate committees of the
Legislature on the results of its reviews to date, including
information on the number of clients found to be inappropriately
placed, the disposition of these cases, and any rate adjustments made
by the department pursuant to Section 16148,

SEC. 6. Section 16148.13 is added to the Welfare and Institutions
Code, to read:
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16148.13. Rate increases pursuant to this chapter shall be made
only to the extent funds are appropriated for this purpose in the
annual Budget Act.

SEC.7. Section 16148.15 is added to the Welfare and Institutions
Code, to read:

16148.15. Maternity home providers have all protest and appeal
rights provided to Aid to Families with Dependent Children-Foster
Care (AFDC-FC) program group home providers under Section
11466.4.

SEC. 8. Section 16151 of the Welfare and Institutions Code is
repealed.

SEC. 9. Section 16151 is added to the Welfare and Institutions
Code, to read:

16151. No county welfare department shall require a pregnant
minor to be adjudged a dependent child of the court under Section
300 or require the parents or guardians of the minor to consent to
that action as a condition for agreeing to place that person in a
licensed maternity home.

SEC. 10. By October 1, 1991, the State Department of Social
Services shall report to the Legislature on the feasibility of requiring
recipients of licensed maternity home services pursuant to Chapter
2.4 (commencing with Section 16145) of Part 4 of Division 9 of the
Welfare and Institutions Code to apply for assistance under the Aid
to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) program pursuant to
Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 11200) of Part 3 of Division 9
of the Welfare and Institutions Code.

CHAPTER 1637

An act to amend Section 36000 of, and to add Section 36202 to, the
Public Resources Code, relating to ocean resources.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990 ]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 36000 of the Public Resources Code is
amended to read:

36000. This division shall be known and may be cited as the
California Ocean Resources Management Act of 1990 (CORMA).

SEC. 2. Section 36202 is added to the Public Resources Code, to
read:

36202. (a) The State of California is hereby authorized to
participate with the States of Alaska, Hawaii, Oregon, and
Washington in a joint liaison program with the Center for Ocean
Analysis and Prediction of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric
Administration, with the objective of assisting the states in taking
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maximum advantage of the oceancgraphic data, products, and
services available from the federal government through the Center
for Ocean Analysis and Prediction.

(b) The liaison program shall include all of the following:

(1) Assist state and local governments to become fully aware of
oceanographic data and products available from the federal
government and especially from the Center for Ocean Analysis and
Prediction.

(2) Assist the Center for Ocean Analysis and Prediction and the
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration to become more
fully aware of state and local problems and the requirements of state
and local governments.

(3) Assist in setting up lines of communications to move
oceanographic data and products from the Center for Ocean
Analysis and Prediction to the people in the states who need those
data and products.

(c) The liaison program shall include workshops for small groups
of technical experts from state and local governments, academic
institutions, and the private sector. The workshops shall be held at
the Center for Ocean Analysis and Prediction in Monterey and at
other facilities in the western states as appropriate.

(d) This section shall not become operative until at least one other
state participates in the joint liaison program.

CHAPTER 1638

An act to add Chapter 15.5 (commencing with Section 67380) to
Part 40 of, and Chapter 3.7 (commencing with Section 94380) to Part
59 of, the Education Code, relating te postsecondary education.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Chapter 15.5 (commencing with Section 67380) is
added to Part 40 of the Education Code, to read:

CHAPTER 15.5. STUDENT SAFETY

67380. The governing board of each community college district,
the Trustees of the California State University, the Board of
Directors of the Hastings College of the Law, and the Regents of the
University of California shall do all of the following:

(a) Require the appropriate officials at each campus within their
respective jurisdictions to compile records of all occurrences
reported to police or campus authorities, and arrests for crimes
involving violence, theft or destruction of property, or illegal drugs
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or alcoholic intoxication that happen on the campus.

(b) Make the information compiled pursuant to subdivision (a)
available on the request of any student or employee of, or applicant
for admission to, any campus within their respective jurisdictions.

(c) Require the appropriate officials at each campus within their
respective jurisdictions to prepare, prominently post, and copy for
distribution on request a campus safety plan which sets forth all of
the following: the availability and location of security personnel,
methods for summoning assistance of security personnel, any special
safeguards which have been established for particular facilities or
activities, any actions taken in the preceding 18 months to increase
safety, and any changes in safety precautions expected to be made
during the next 24 months. For the purposes of this section, posting
and distribution may be accomplished by including relevant safety
information in a student handbook or brochure which is made
generally available to students.

67381. The provisions of this chapter shall apply to the Board of
Directors of the Hastings College of the Law or the Regents of the
University of California only to the extent either of these bodies
adopts a resolution making this chapter applicable to its respective
institution.

67382. (a) This chapter shall apply to a campus of one of the
public postsecondary educational systems identified in Section 67380
only if that campus has a full-time equivalency enrollment of over
1,000 students.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, this
chapter shall not apply to the California Community Colleges unless
and until the Legislature makes funds available to the California
Community Colleges for the purposes of this chapter.

SEC. 2. Chapter 3.7 (commencing with Section 94380) is added
to Part 59 of the Education Code, to read:

CHAPTER 3.7. STUDENT SAFETY

94380. Each private postsecondary educational institution with a
full-time equivalency enrollment of over 1,000 and private vocational
educational institution, as those terms are defined in Section 94302,
shall do all of the following:

(a) Require the appropriate officials at each campus of their
respective institutions to compile records of all occurrences reported
to police or campus authorities, and arrests for crimes involving
violence, theft, or destruction of property, or illegal drugs or
alcoholic intoxication that happen on the campus.

(b) Make the information compiled pursuant to subdivision (a)
available on the request of any student or employee of, or applicant
for admission to, any campus of their respective institutions.

(¢) Require the appropriate officials at each campus of their
respective institutions to prepare, prominently post, and copy for
distribution on request a campus safety plan which sets forth all of
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the following: the availability and location of security personnel,
methods for summoning assistance of security personnel, any special
safeguards which have been established for particular facilities or
activities, any actions taken in the preceding 18 months to increase
safety, and any changes in safety precautions expected to be made
during the next 24 months. For the purposes of this section, posting
and distribution may be accomplished by including relevant safety
information in a student handbook or brochure which is made
generally available to students.

CHAPTER 1639

An act to amend Sections 6032, 6068, 6079.1, 6086.1, 6125, 6140,
6140.3, 6140.4, 6140.55, and 6140.6 of, and to add Sections 6043.5,
6060.1, 6060.2, 6079.4, 6140.15, 6140.16 and 6144.5, to, the Business and
Professions Code, relating to attorneys.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 6032 of the Business and Professions Code
is amended to read:

6032. Subject to the approval of the Committees on Judiciary of
each house of the Legislature, the board shall contract with an
independent expert for the purpose of conducting a comprehensive
study of the State Bar’s affirmative action and equal employment
opportunity program with regard to its employees, of assisting the
State Bar with respect to those programs, and with developing and
implementing a minority and women business enterprise program.
A final report shall be submitted to each of the Committees on
Judiciary no later than September 1, 1993.

Moneys for the support of the independent expert shall be
established and paid in accordance with the provisions of Section
6140.9.

SEC. 2. Section 6043.5 is added to the Business and Professions
Code, to read:

6043.5. (a) Every person who reports to the State Bar or causes
a complaint to be filed with the State Bar that an attorney has
engaged in professional misconduct, knowing the report or
complaint to be false and malicious, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

(b) The State Bar may, in its discretion, notify the appropriate
district attorney or city attorney that a person has filed what the State
Bar believes to be a false and malicious report or complaint against
an attorney and recommend prosecution of the person under
subdivision (a).

SEC. 2.5. Section 6060.1 is added to the Business and Professions
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Code, to read:

6060.1. (a) Any disciplinary action taken against an individual at
a university or an accredited law school for violation of university or
law school rules of conduct shall not be used as the sole basis for
denying the individual admission to practice law in the State of
California.

(b) This section shall not apply to university or law school
violations which involve moral turpitude or that result in criminal
prosecution under the laws of the State of California or any other
state.

SEC. 3. Section 6060.2 is added to the Business and Professions
Code, to read:

6060.2. All investigations or proceedings conducted by the State
Bar concerning the moral character of an applicant shall be
confidential unless the applicant, in writing, waives the
confidentiality. However, the records of the proceeding may be
subject to lawfully issued subpoenas.

SEC. 4. Section 6068 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6068. It is the duty of an attorney to do all of the following:

(a) To support the Constitution and laws of the United States and
of this state.

(b) To maintain the respect due to the courts of justice and
judicial officers.

{c) To counsel or maintain such actions, proceedings, or defenses
only as appear to him or her legal or just, except the defense of a
person charged with a public offense.

(d) To employ, for the purpose of maintaining the causes confided
to him or her such means only as are consistent with truth, and never
to seek to mislead the judge or any judicial officer by an artifice or
false statement of fact or law.

(e) To maintain inviolate the confidence, and at every peril to
himself or herself to preserve the secrets, of his or her client.

(f) To abstain from all offensive personality, and to advance no
fact prejudicial to the honor or reputation of a party or witness,
unless required by the justice of the cause with which he or she is
charged.

(g) Not to encourage either the commencement or the
continuance of an action or proceeding from any corrupt motive of
passion or interest.

(h) Never to reject, for any consideration personal to himself or
herself, the cause of the defenseless or the oppressed.

(i) To cooperate and participate in any disciplinary investigation
or other regulatory or disciplinary proceeding pending against the
attorney. However, this subdivision shall not be construed to deprive
an attorney of any privilege guaranteed by the Fifth Amendment to
the Constitution of the United States or any other constitutional or
statutory privileges.

() To comply with the requirements of Section 6002.1.
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(k) To comply with all conditions attached to any disciplinary
probation, including a probation imposed with the concurrence of
the attorney.

(I) To keep all agreements made in lieu of disciplinary
prosecution with the agency charged with attorney discipline.

(m) To respond promptly to reasonable status inquiries of clients
and to keep clients reasonably informed of significant developments
in matters with regard to which the attorney has agreed to provide
legal services.

(n) To provide copies to the client of certain documents under
time limits and as prescribed in a rule of professional conduct which
the board shall adopt.

(o) To report to the agency charged with attorney discipline, in
writing, within 30 days of the time the attorney has knowledge of any
of the following:

(1) The filing of three or more lawsuits in a 12-month period
against the attorney for malpractice or other wrongful conduct
committed in a professional capacity.

(2) The entry of judgment against the attorney in any civil action
for fraud, misrepresentation, breach of fiduciary duty, or gross
negligence committed in a professional capacity.

(3) The imposition of any judicial sanctions against the attorney,
except for sanctions for failure to make discovery or monetary
sanctions of less than one thousand dollars ($1,000).

(4) The bringing of an indictment or information charging a
felony against the attorney.

(5) The conviction of the attorney, including any verdict of guilty,
or plea of guilty or no contest, of any felony, or any misdemeanor
committed in the course of the practice of law, or in any manner such
that a client of the attorney was the victim, or a necessary element
of which, as determined by the statutory or common law definition
of the misdemeanor, involves improper conduct of an attorney,
including dishonesty or other moral turpitude, or an attempt or a
conspiracy or solicitation of another to commit a felony or any such
misdemeanor.

(6) The imposition of discipline against the attorney by any
professional or occupational disciplinary agency or licensing board,
whether in California or elsewhere.

(7) Reversal of judgment in a proceeding based in whole or in part
upon misconduct, grossly incompetent representation, or willful
misrepresentation by an attorney.

(8) As used in this subdivision, “against the attorney” includes
claims and proceedings against any firm of attorneys for the practice
of law in which the attorney was a partner at the time of the conduct
complained of and any law corporation in which the attorney was a
shareholder at the time of the conduct complained of unless the
matter has to the attorney’s knowledge already been reported by the
law firm or corporation.

(9) The State Bar may develop a prescribed form for the making
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of reports required by this section, usage of which it may require by
rule or regulation.

(10) This subdivision is only intended to provide that the failure
to report as required herein may serve as a basis of discipline.

SEC. 5. Section 6079.1 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6079.1. (a) The Supreme Court shall appoint a presiding judge of
the State Bar Court and no fewer than six hearing judges, and such
additional hearing judges as may be authorized by the Legislature,
to efficiently decide any and all regulatory matters pending before
the Hearing Department of the State Bar Court. The presiding judge
and all other judges of that department shall be appointed for a term
of six years and may be reappointed for additional six-year terms.
Any judge appointed under this section shall be subject to
admonition, censure, removal, or retirement by the Supreme Court
upon the same grounds as provided for judges of courts of record of
this state.

(b) Judges of the State Bar Court appointed under this section
shall not engage in the private practice of law. The State Bar Court
shall be broadly representative of the ethnic, sexual, and racial
diversity of the population of California and composed in accordance
with Sections 11140 and 11141 of the Government Code. Each judge:

(1) Shall have been a member of the State Bar for at least five
years.

(2) Shall not have any record of the imposition of discipline as an
attorney in California or any other jurisdiction.

(3) Shall meet such other requirements as may be established by
subdivision (d) of Section 12011.5 of the Government Code.

(¢) The board shall screen and rate all applicants for appointment
or reappointment as a State Bar Court judge and submit its
nominations to the Supreme Court, unless otherwise directed by the
Supreme Court. The board shall submit its initial nominations to the
Supreme Court by April 1, 1989. The board shall hold hearings and
allow public comment on the qualifications of nominees submitted
to the Supreme Court. Written comment received by the board and
any hearing record shall be transmitted to the Supreme Court
together with the nominations. The board shall grant a preference
to persons with prior judicial experience for all nominations other
than that of the lay judge designated under subdivision (a) of Section
6086.65, and submit no fewer than three nominees for each available
judicial position.

(d) For judges appointed pursuant to this section or Section
6086.65, the board shall fix and pay reasonable compensation and
expenses and provide adequate supporting staff and facilities.
Hearing judges shall be paid the same salary as municipal court
judges. The presiding judge shall be paid the same salary as a superior
court judge.

(e) From among the members of the State Bar or retired judges,
the board may appoint pro tempore judges to decide matters in the
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Hearing Department of the State Bar Court when a judge of the
State Bar is unavailable to serve without undue delay to the
proceeding. The board may set the qualifications, terms, and
conditions of service for pro tempore judges and may, in its
discretion, compensate some or all of them out of funds appropriated
by the board for this purpose.

(f) The board may fix a date no later than September 1, 1989, on
which all proceedings pending before the Hearing Department of
the State Bar Court shall be decided by a judge or pro tempore judge
appointed under this section. From and after that date, a judge or pro
tempore judge appointed under this section shall hear every
regulatory matter pending in the Hearing Department of the State
Bar Court as to which the taking of testimony or offering of evidence
at trial has not commenced, and when so assigned, shall sit as the sole
adjudicator, except for rulings which are to be made by the presiding
judge of the State Bar Court or referees of other departments of the
State Bar Court.

(g) Any judge or pro tempore judge of the State Bar Court as well
as any employee of the State Bar assigned to the State Bar Court shall
have the same immunity which attaches to judges in judicial
proceedings in this state. Nothing in this subdivision limits or alters
the immunities accorded the State Bar, its officers and employees, or
any judge or referee of the State Bar Court as they existed prior to
January 1, 1989. This subdivision does not constitute a change in, but
is cumulative with, existing law.

(h) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit the board
from appointing persons to serve without compensation to arbitrate
fee disputes under Article 13 (commencing with Section 6200) of this
chapter or to monitor the probation of a member of the State Bar,
whether those appointed under Section 6079, as added by Chapter
1114 of the Statutes of 1986, serve in the State Bar Court or otherwise.

(i) Any retired judge or referee appointed under Section 6079, as
added by Chapter 1114 of the Statutes of 1986, prior to July 1, 1989,
or any other authority may continue on or after July 1, 1989, to
exercise the duties and powers authorized by that section or of the
referee’s appointment as to any matter assigned to him or her unless
the matter has been reassigned under subdivision (f).

SEC. 6. Section 6079.4 is added to the Business and Professions
Code, to read:

6079.4. The exercise by an attorney of his or her privilege under
the Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the United Sates, or of
any other constitutional or statutory privileges shall not be deemed
a failure to cooperate within the meaning of subdivision (i) of
Section 6068.

SEC. 7. Section 6086.1 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6086.1. (a) Subject to subdivision (b), and except as otherwise
provided by law, hearings and records of original disciplinary
proceedings in the State Bar Court shall be public, following a notice
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to show cause.

(b) All disciplinary investigations are confidential until the time
that formal charges are filed except that confidentiality may be
waived under any of the following exceptions:

(1) The member whose conduct is being investigated may waive
confidentiality.

(2) The Chief Trial Counsel or President of the State Bar may
waive confidentiality, but only when warranted for protection of the
public. Under those circumstances, after private notice to the
member, the Chief Trial Counsel or President of the State Bar may
issue, if appropriate, one or more public announcements or make
information public confirming the fact of an investigation or
proceeding, clarifying the procedural aspects and current status, and
defending the right of the member to a fair hearing. If the Chief Trial
Counsel or President of the State Bar for any reason declines to
exercise the authority provided by this paragraph, or disqualifies
himself or herself from acting under this paragraph, he or she shall
designate someone to act in his or her behalf. Conduct of a member
that is being inquired into by the State Bar but that is not the subject
of a formal investigation shall not be disclosed to the public.

(3) The Chief Trial Counsel or President of the State Bar or his or
her designee may waive confidentiality pursuant to Section 6044.5.

SEC. 8. Section 6125 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6125. No person shall practice law in California unless the person
is an active member of the State Bar.

SEC. 9. Section 6140 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6140. (a) The board shall fix the annual membership fee for 1991
and 1992 as follows:

(1) For active members who have been admitted to the practice
of law in this state for three years or longer preceding the first day
of February of the year for which the fee is payable, at the sum of
two hundred ninety-one dollars ($291).

(2) For active members who have been admitted to the practice
of law in this state for less than three years but more than one year
preceding the first day of February of the year for which the fee is
payable, at the sum of two hundred twenty-three dollars ($223).

(3) For active members who have been admitted to the practice
of law in this state during, or for less than one year preceding the first
day of February of, the year for which the fee is payable, at a sum
not exceeding one hundred ninety-two dollars ($192).

(b) The annual membership fee for active members is payable on
or before the first day of February of each year. If the board finds it
appropriate and feasible, it may provide by rule for payment of fees
on an installment basis with interest, by credit card, or other means,
and may charge members choosing any alternative method of
payment an additional fee to defray costs incurred by that election.

This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1993, and
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as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which is
chaptered before January 1, 1993, deletes or extends that date.

SEC. 10. Section 6140.3 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6140.3. (a) The board may increase the annual membership fee
fixed by Section 6140 and the annual membership fee specified in
Section 6141 by an additional amount not exceeding ten dollars
($10). This additional amount may be used only for (1) the costs of
financing and constructing a facility in Los Angeles to house State
Bar staff and (2) any major capital improvement projects related to
facilities owned by the bar.

(b) At least 30 days prior to entering into any agreement for the
construction of a facility in Los Angeles, the State Bar shall submit
its preliminary plan and cost estimate for the facility to the Judiciary
Committees of the Legislature for review. The documents submitted
shall include an analysis demonstrating that the total costs of
financing and constructing the facility can be supported by the
revenues authorized by this section.

SEC. 11. Section 6140.4 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6140.4. (a) The board may increase the annual membership fee
fixed by it pursuant to Section 6140 by an additional fee for discipline
augmentation of not more than one hundred ten dollars ($110) for
1989, 1990, 1991, and 1992, respectively, for all active members.

(b) This augmentation shall be in addition to existing levels of
expenditure for discipline as established during 1987 for 1988.

(¢) The board may apply up to one hundred ten dollars ($110) of
the discipline enhancement fees during 1989, 1990, 1991, or 1992 to
pay disciplinary expenses beyond fee receipts for 1988 and 1989.

(d) This section shall remain in effect until January 1, 1993, and as
of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which is
chaptered before January 1, 1993, deletes or extends that date.

SEC. 12. Section 61450.55 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6140.55. The board may increase the annual membership fees
fixed by it pursuant to Section 6140 by an additional amount per
active member not to exceed forty dollars ($40) in any year, the
additional amount to be applied only for the purposes of the Client
Security Fund and the costs of its administration, including, but not
limited to, the costs of processing, determining, defending, or
insuring claims against the fund.

SEC. 13. Section 6140.6 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6140.6. The board may increase the annual membership fee fixed
by Section 6140 by an additional amount not to exceed twenty-five
dollars ($25) to be applied to the costs of the disciplinary system.

SEC. 14. Section 6140.15 is added to the Business and Professions
Code, to read:

6140.15. On or before January 1, 1993, the State Bar shall submit
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to the judiciary committees of both the Senate and the Assembly a
report specifying the manner in which it has fully implemented or
otherwise responded to the United States Supreme Court decision in
Keller v. State Bar of California (110 L. Ed. 2d 1).

SEC. 15. Section 6140.16 is added to the Business and Professions
Code, to read:

6140.16. The State Bar shall develop workload standards to
measure the effectiveness and efficiency of its programs and provide
guidance to the State Bar and Legislature in allocating resources.
The standards shall be used to determine the numbers and
classifications of staff required to conduct the activities of the State
Bar’s mandated programs. The State Bar shall submit a report to the
Legislature on its workload standards by September 1, 1991, and shall
use the standards in the development of its 1992 budget proposal.

SEC. 16. Section 6144.5 is added to the Business and Professions
Code, to read:

6144.5. It is the intent of the Legislature to confirm, validate, and
declare effective the annual membership fees, and all
augmentations, including, but not limited to, those made under
Sections 6140.3 and 6140.6, fixed and collected by the board for 1990,
and all other acts arising from and related thereto.

SEC. 17. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to
Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution because the
only costs which may be incurred by a local agency or school district
will be incurred because this act creates a new crime or infraction,
changes the definition of a crime or infraction, changes the penalty
for a crime or infraction, or eliminates a crime or infraction.
Notwithstanding Section 17580 of the Government Code, unless
otherwise specified in this act, the provisions of this act shall become
operative on the same date that the act takes effect pursuant to the
California Constitution.

CHAPTER 1640

An act to amend Section 21087 of the Public Resources Code,
relating to environmental quality.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 21087 of the Public Resources Code is
amended to read:

21087. The Office of Planning and Research shall, at least once
every two years, review the guidelines adopted pursuant to Section
21083 and shall recommend proposed changes or amendments to the
Secretary of the Resources Agency. Changes or amendments to the
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guidelines shall be adopted by the secretary in conformance with
Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Sectior: 11340) of Part 1 of Division
3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

CHAPTER 1641

An act to amend Section 1770 of the Civil Code, relating to
telephones.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 1770 of the Civil Code is amended to read:

1770. The following unfair methods of competition and unfair or
deceptive acts or practices undertaken by any person in a transaction
intended to result or which results in the sale or lease of goods or
services to any consumer are unlawful:

(a) Passing off goods or services as those of another.

(b) Misrepresenting the source, sponsorship, approval, or
certification of goods or services.

(c) Misrepresenting the affiliation, connection, or association
with, or certification by, another.

(d) Using deceptive representations or designations of
geographic origin in connection with goods or services.

(e) Representing that goods or services have sponsorship,
approval, characteristics, ingredients, uses, benefits, or quantities
which they do not have or that a person has a sponsorship, approval,
status, affiliation, or connection which he or she does not have.

(f) Representing that goods are original or new if they have
deteriorated unreasonably or are altered, reconditioned, reclaimed,
used, or secondhand.

(g) Representing that goods or services are of a particular
standard, quality, or grade, or that goods are of a particular style or
model, if they are of another.

(h) Disparaging the goods, services, or business of another by false
or misleading representation of fact.

(i) Advertising goods or services with intent not to sell them as
advertised.

(j) Advertising goods or services with intent not to supply
reasonably expectable demand, unless the advertisement discloses a
limitation of quantity.

(k) Advertising furniture without clearly indicating that it is
unassembled if such is the case.

(1) Advertising the price of unassembled furniture without
clearly indicating the assembled price of such furniture if the same
furniture is available assembled from the seller.
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(m) Making false or misleading statements of fact concerning
reasons for, existence of, or amounts of price reductions.

(n) Representing that a transaction confers or involves rights,
remedies, or obligations which it does not have or involve, or which
are prohibited by law.

(o) Representing that a part, replacement, or repair service is
needed when it is not.

(p) Representing that the subject of a transaction has been
supplied in accordance with a previous representation when it has
not.

(q) Representing that the consumer will receive a rebate,
discount, or other economic benefit, if the earning of the benefit is
contingent on an event to occur subsequent to the consummation of
the transaction.

(r) Misrepresenting the authority of a salesperson, representative,
or agent to negotiate the final terms of a transaction with a consumer.

(s) Inserting an unconscionable provision in the contract.

(t) Advertising that a product is being offered at a specific price
plus a specific percentage of that price unless (1) the total price is
set forth in the advertisement, which may include, but is not limited
to, shelf tags, displays, and media advertising, in a size larger than any
other price in that advertisement, and (2) the specific price plus a
specific percentage of that price represents a markup from the
seller’s costs or from the wholesale price of the product. This
subdivision shall not apply to in-store advertising by businesses which
are open only to members or cooperative organizations organized
pursuant to Division 3 (commencing with Section 12000) of Title 1
of the Corporations Code where more than 50 percent of purchases
are made at the specific price set forth in the advertisement.

(u) Selling or leasing goods in violation of Chapter 4
(commencing with Section 1797.8) of Title 1.7.

(v) (1) Disseminating an unsolicited prerecorded message by
telephone without an unrecorded, natural voice first informing the
person answering the telephone of the name of the caller or the
organization being represented, and either the address or the
telephone number of the caller, and without obtaining the consent
of that person to listen to the prerecorded message.

(2) This subdivision does not apply to a message disseminated to
a business associate, customer, or other person having an established
relationship with the person or organization making the call, to a call
for the purpose of collecting an existing obligation, or to any call
generated at the request of the recipient.
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CHAPTER 1642

An act to add Article 9 (commencing with Section 576) to Chapter
3 of Part 1 of Division 1 of the Food and Agricultural Code, relating
to pest control.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990 ]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Article 9 (commencing with Section 576) is added
to Chapter 3 of Part 1 of Division 1 of the Food and Agricultural
Code, to read:

Article 9. University of California Center for Pest Research

576. This article shall be known and may be cited as the
University of California Pest Research Act of 1990.

577. The Legislature finds and declares all of the following:

(a) There is a need to develop and apply ecologically based pest
management alternatives that are environmentally sound to
prevent, control, and eradicate pests.

(b) The continuation of pest control technology in agriculture
which relies primarily on synthetic chemicals may be impractical,
given the dwindling number of newly registered chemicals,
increasing resistance of numerous pests to pesticides, public concern
about pesticide residues, and potential threats posed to
environmental quality and human health.

(¢) To be adequately prepared for existing and new infestations
of agricultural pests, California needs to have a means of
coordinating and evaluating long-term basic and applied pest
research, including the impact of prevention, control, and
eradication efforts upon public health and the environment.

(d) The state should facilitate, promote, and support collaborative
pest research programs and projects by its agencies, public and
private universities, the federal government, and the agricultural
industry that work toward developing environmentally sound,
ecologically based pest management techniques.

(e) In order to strengthen pest prevention, control, and
eradication efforts, it is the intent of the Legislature that an
administrative structure be created within the University of
California which, in cooperation with California’s public and private
universities, the state, the agricultural industry, and persons
experienced with environmentally sound, ecologically based pest
management alternatives, advances pest research and formulates
innovative solutions that better safeguard the environment and
public health.

Toward these ends, the Legislature requests that the Regents of
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the University of California establish a pest research center which
will review and prioritize pest-related research activities conducted
through the university. It is the intent of the Legislature that
University of California programs engaged in pest research shall,
when applicable, follow the research priorities established by the
center. The center is encouraged to develop research priorities in
cooperation with other public and private universities and with state,
federal, and county agencies, including, but not limited to, the
Department of Food and Agriculture, State Department of Health
Services, Department of Forestry and Fire Protection, county
agricultural commissioners, United States Department of
Agriculture, National Science Foundation, National Institutes of
Health, and the agricultural industry, and with environmental and
public and occupational health groups.

578. Unless the context otherwise requires, the definitions in this
section govern the construction of this article.

(a) “Center” means the University of California Center for Pest
Research.

(b) “Pest” means any of the following pests that are, or are likely
to become, dangerous or detrimental to the agricultural or
nonagricultural environment of the state.

(1) Any insect, nematode, or weed.

(2) Any form of terrestrial, aquatic, or aerial plant, virus, fungus,
bacteria, or other microorganism, except viruses, fungi, bacteria, or
other microorganisms on, or in, a living human or any other living
animal.

579. It is the intent of the Legislature that the responsibilities of
the center include, but are not limited to, all of the following:

(a) Establishing multidisciplinary, long-term research priorities
for the University of California which focus on the application of
ecologically based, environmentally sound prevention, control, and
eradication practices against pests which pose a significant threat to
the welfare of California’s agricultural, forest, or urban settings.

(b) Recommending how pest research funds obtained by the
center on or after January 1, 1991, should be allocated within the
University of California.

(c) Encouraging the use of biological controls, integrated pest
management, sustainable agriculture, and other alternative pest
management methods to combat pests, and, thereby, reducing
exposure to toxic substances in air, water, and soil.

(d) Supporting basic and applied pest research, including
practical field trials and awarding competitive grants, when
economically feasible, and other projects administered by the center.

(e) Developing information systems that enable academics,
farmers, and public policymakers to quickly analyze and apply pest
research data.

(f) Providing information and advice to the department, county
agricultural commissioners, the agricultural community, and other
interested parties concerning pest prevention and detection through
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outreach consultation, information dissemination, education
services, demonstrations, seminars, and publications.

(g) Printing and distributing information related to
center-sponsored and other University of California pest
management research projects.

580. (a) It is the intent of the Legislature that the center,
through its director, develop a list of recommended pest
management research priorities for the University of California that
emphasize and encourage the development and implementation of
biological controls, sustainable agriculture, integrated pest
management strategies, agroecology, cultural and mechanical
practices, and other alternative pest management methods and
programs which are ecologically based and environmentally sound.

(b} In developing pest management research recommendations,
the center is encouraged to give high priority to alternative practices
and strategies that address the reduction, control, or eradication of
pests, including exotic pests, which represent the greatest threat to
public health and safety or the economy of the state.

(c) In developing recommended exotic pest research priorities,
the center is encouraged to give high priority to all of the following:

(1) Development of methods to determine the origin of exotic

ests.
P (2) Determination of the age and origin of exotic pests.

(3) Geographic analysis of exotic pests to determine place of
origin, including acoustical fingerprinting.

(4) Improvements to existing exotic pest insect baits.

(5) An examination of the manner in which the sterile insect
technique actually works and improvements in sterile insect
technology.

(6) Assessments of wild exotic pest populations, and their
regulating biological agents.

(7) Studies of exotic pests and their natural enemies in climates
similar to that of the various regions in California.

(8) The exploration and introduction of natural enemies,
including those from foreign countries, if necessary.

(9) Computerization of all records of exotic pest captures.

(10) Improvements in detection technology, which include better
attractants.

(11) Compilation, maintenance, and updated data about exotic
pest research and exotic pest management programs operating
within and outside the state.

581. To the extent that it is economically and scientifically
feasible, it is the intent of the Legislature that the center shall award
pest research funds obtained by the center on or after January 1,
1991, based upon a competitive application process and peer review.
The center is encouraged to give high priority to exotic pest research
proposals.

In awarding pest research funds, the center shall give priority to
proposals that support pest control methods which use ecologically
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based and environmentally sound alternatives to pesticides and
other chemicals, and eliminate or reduce pesticide use or eliminate
or minimize pesticide residues, protect the public health and
environment, and satisfy a majority of the following criteria:

(a) Are cost-effective.

(b) Improve the agricultural industry and the state economy.

(c) Do not significantly or extensively duplicate other research.

582. It is the intent of the Legislature that the University of
California appoint a director of the center who is knowledgeable
about pest management practices and research and alternative pest
management techniques.

583. (a) The University of California shall prepare an annual
report describing the activities of the center, major objectives and
significant accomplishments of pest management research and
extension programs at the University of California, and obstacles and
opportunities toward developing and implementing pest
management alternatives in the state. The report shall also include
all of the following:

(1) Identification and evaluation of major policy issues and needs
in pest management research in California.

(2) Identification of the long-range and short-term management
research priorities established by the center.

(3) Identification of environmentally sound, ecologically based
alternatives to pesticides that are possible or probable human
carcinogens or reproductive toxicants.

(4) A summary and status information on all research proposals
submitted through the center. The summary shall include both
proposed and approved research projects.

(b) The report shall be submitted to the Legislature not later than
October 15 of each year.

584. If the center is established by the Regents of the University
of California, it is the intent of the Legislature that the administrative
costs of establishing the center shall be supported from existing
resources of the university.

585. This article shall apply to the University of California only to
the extent that the Regents of the University of California, by
resolution, make any of these provisions applicable to the university.
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CHAPTER 1643

An act to amend Sections 14105.31, 14105.35, 14105.37, 14105.39,
14105.42, and 14105.45 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, relating
to Medi-Cal, and declaring the urgency thereof, to take effect
immediately.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990 Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 14105.31 of the Welfare and Institutions
Code is amended to read:

14105.31. For purposes of the Medi-Cal contract drug list, the
following definitions shall apply:

(a) “Single-source drug” means a drug which is produced and
distributed under an original New Drug Application approved by the
federal Food and Drug Administration. This shall include a drug
marketed by the innovator manufacturer and any cross-licensed
producers or distributors operating under the New Drug
Application. A drug ceases to be a single-source drug when the same
drug in the same dosage form and strength manufactured by another
manufacturer is approved by the federal Food and Drug
Administration under the provisions for an Abbreviated New Drug
Application.

(b) “Best price” means the negotiated price, or the
manufacturer’s lowest price available to any class of trade
organization or entity, including, but not limited to, wholesalers,
retailers, hospitals, repackagers, providers, or governmental entities
within the United States, which contracts with a manufacturer for a
specified price for drugs, inclusive of cash discounts, free goods,
volume discounts, rebates, and on- or off-invoice discounts or credits
shall be based upon the manufacturer’s commonly used retail
package sizes for the drug sold by wholesalers to retail pharmacies.

(c) “Equalization payment amount” means the amount
negotiated between the manufacturer and the department for
reimbursement by the manufacturer, as specified in the contract.
The equalization payment amount shall be based on the difference
between the manufacturer’s direct catalog price charged to
wholesalers and the manufacturer’s best price, as defined in
subdivision (b).

(d) “Manufacturer” means any person, partnership, corporation,
or other institution or entity which is engaged in the production,
preparation, propagation, compounding, conversion, or processing
of drugs, either directly or indirectly by extraction from substances
of natural origin, or independently by means of chemical synthesis,
or by a combination of extraction and chemical synthesis, or in the
packaging, repackaging, labeling, relabeling, and distribution of
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drugs.

(g) “Price escalator” means a mutually agreed upon price
specified in the contract, to cover anticipated cost increases over the
life of the contract.

(f) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1993,
and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
is enacted before January 1, 1993, deletes or extends that date.

SEC. 2. Section 14105.35 of the Welfare and Institutions Code is
amended to read:

14105.35. (a) (1) Onand after July 1, 1990, drugs included on the
Medi-Cal drug formulary shall be included on the list of contract
drugs until the department and the manufacturer have concluded
contract negotiations or the department suspends the drug from the
list of contract drugs pursuant to the provisions of this subdivision.

The department shall, in writing, invite any manufacturer with
single-source drug products on the formulary as of July 1, 1990, to
enter into negotiations relative to the retention of its drug or drugs.
As to the issue of cost, the department shall accept the
manufacturer’s best price as sufficient for purposes of entering into
a contract to retain the drug or drugs on the list of contract drugs.

If the department and a manufacturer enter into a contract for
retention of a drug or drugs on the list of contract drugs, the drug
or drugs shall be retained on the list of contract drugs for the
effective term of the contract.

If a manufacturer refuses to enter into negotiations with the
department pursuant to this subdivision, or if after 30 days of
negotiation, the manufacturer has not agreed to execute a contract
for a drug at the manufacturer’s best price, the department may
suspend from the list of contract drugs the manufacturer’s
single-source drug in question for a period of at least 180 days. The
department shall lift the suspension upon execution of a contract for
that drug. Consistent with the provisions of this section, the
department shall delete the Medi-Cal drug formulary specified in
paragraphs (b), (c), (d), and (e) of Section 59999 of Title 22 of the
California Code of Regulations.

(2) On and after July 1, 1990, the director may retain a drug on the
Medi-Cal list of contract drugs even if no contract is executed with
a manufacturer, if the director determines that an essential need
exists for that drug, and there are no other drugs currently on the
formulary that meet that need.

(3) The director may delete a drug from the list of contract drugs
if the director determines that the drug presents problems of safety
or misuse. The director’s decision as to safety shall be based upon
published medical literature, and the director’s decision as to misuse
shall be based on published medical literature and claims data
supplied by the fiscal intermediary.

(b) Any reference to the Medi-Cal drug formulary by statute or
regulation shall be construed as referring to the list of contract drugs.

(¢) (1) Any drug in the process of being added to the formulary
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by contract agreement pursuant to Section 14105.3, executed prior to
the effective date of this section, shall be added to the list of contract
drugs.

(2) Contracts pursuant to Section 14105.3 executed prior to
January 1, 1991, shall be considered to be contracts executed
pursuant to Section 14105.33, and the department shall exempt the
drugs included in these contracts from the initial therapeutic
category review in which they would normally be considered.

(3) Nothing in this section shall be construed to require the
department to discontinue negotiations into which it has entered
with any manufacturer as of the effective date of this section.
Contracts entered into as a result of these negotiations shall be
exempt from the initial therapeutic category review in which they
would normally be considered.

(d) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1993,
and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
is enacted before January 1, 1993, deletes or extends that date.

SEC. 3. Section 14105.37 of the Welfare and Institutions Code is
amended to read:

14105.37. (a) The department shall notify each manufacturer of
drugs in therapeutic categories selected pursuant to Section 14105.33
of the provisions of Sections 14105.31 to 14105.42, inclusive.

(b) If, within 30 days of notification, a manufacturer does not
enter into negotiations for a contract pursuant to those sections, the
department may suspend or delete from the list of contract drugs, or
refuse to consider for addition, drugs of that manufacturer in the
selected therapeutic categories.

(c) If, after 120 days from the initial notification, a contract is not
executed for a drug currently on the list of contract drugs, the
department may suspend or delete the drug from the list of contract
drugs.

(d) If, within 120 days from the initial notification, a contract is
executed for a drug currently on the list of contract drugs, the
department shall retain the drug on the list of contract drugs.

(e) If, within 120 days from the date of the initial notification, a
contract is executed for a drug not currently on the list of contract
drugs, the department shall add the drug to the list of contract drugs.

(f) The department shall terminate all negotiations 120 days after
the initial notification.

(g) The department may suspend or delete any drug from the list
of contract drugs at the expiration of the contract term or when the
contract between the department and the manufacturer of that drug
is terminated.

(h) Any drug suspended from the list of contract drugs pursuant
to this section or Section 14105.35 shall be subject to prior
authorization, as if that drug were not on the list of contract drugs.

(i) Any drug suspended from the list of contract drugs pursuant
to this section or Section 14105.35 for at least 12 months may be
deleted from the list of contract drugs in accordance with the
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provisions of Section 14105.38.

(§) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1993,
and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
is enacted before January 1, 1993, deletes or extends that date.

SEC. 4. Section 14105.39 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, is
amended to read:

14105.39. (a) (1) A manufacturer of a new single-source drug
may request inclusion of its drug on the list of contract drugs
pursuant to Section 14105.33 provided all of the following conditions
are met:

(A) The request is made within 12 months of approval for
marketing by the federal Food and Drug Administration.

(B) The manufacturer agrees to negotiate a contract with the
department to provide the drug at the manufacturer’s best price.

(C) The manufacturer provides the department with necessary
information, as specified by the department, in the request.

(D) The department had concluded contracting for the
therapeutic category in which the drug is included prior to approval
of the drug by the federal Food and Drug Administration.

(2) Within 90 days from receipt of the request, the department
shall evaluate the request using the criteria identified in subdivision
(d).

(b) Any petition for the addition to or deletion of a drug to the
Medi-Cal drug formulary submitted prior to the effective date of this
section, shall be deemed to be denied. A manufacturer who has
submitted a petition deemed denied may request inclusion of that
drug on the list of contract drugs provided all of the following
conditions are met:

(1) The manufacturer agrees to negotiate for a contract with the
department to provide the drug at the manufacturer’s best price.

(2) The manufacturer provides the department with necessary
information, as specified by the department, in the request.

(83) The manufacturer submits the request to the department
prior to October 1, 1990.

(c) Any new drug designated as having an important therapeutic
gain and approved for marketing by the federal Food and Drug
Administration on or after the effective date of this section, shall
immediately be included on the list of contract drugs for a period of
three years provided that all of the following conditions are met:

(1) The manufacturer offers the department its best price.

(2) The drug is typically administered in an outpatient setting.

(3) The drug is prescribed only for the indications and usage
specified in the federal Food and Drug Administration approved
labeling.

(4) The drug is determined by the director to be safe, relative to
gther drugs in the same therapeutic category on the list of contract

rugs.

(d) (1) To ensure that the health needs of Medi-Cal beneficiaries
are met consistent with the intent of this chapter, the department
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shall, when evaluating a decision to execute a contract, and when
evaluating drugs for retention on, addition to, or deletion from, the
list of contract drugs, use all of the following criteria:

(A) The safety of the drug.

(B) The effectiveness of the drug.

(C) The essential need for the drug.

(D) The potential for misuse of the drug.

(E) The cost of the drug.

(2) The deficiency of a drug when measured by one of these
criteria may be sufficient to support a decision that the drug should
not be added or retained, or should be deleted from the list.
However, the superiority of a drug under one criterion may be
sufficient to warrant the addition or retention of the drug,
notwithstanding a deficiency in another criterion.

(e) (1) A manufacturer of single-source drugs denied a contract
pursuant to this section or Section 14105.33 or 14105.37, may file an
appeal of that decision with the director within 30 calendar days of
the department’s written decision.

(2) Within 30 calendar days of the manufacturer’s appeal, the
director shall request a recommendation regarding the appeal from
the Medi-Cal Contract Drug Advisory Committee. The committee
shall provide its recommendation in writing, within 30 calendar days
of the director’s request.

(3) The director shall issue a final decision on the appeal within
30 calendar days of the recommendation.

(f) Changes made to the list of contract drugs, including those
made pursuant to Section 14105.37, shall become effective no sooner
than 30 days after publication of the changes in provider bulletins.

(g) Changes made to the list of contract drugs under this or any
other section are exempt from the requirements of the
Administrative Procedure Act (Chapter 3.5 (commencing with
Section 11340), Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 11370), and
Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3
of Title 2 of the Government Code), and shall not be subject to the
review and approval of the Office of Administrative Law.

(h) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1993,
and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
is enacted before January 1, 1993, deletes or extends that date.

SEC. 5. Section 14105.42 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, is
amended to read:

14105.42. (a) The department shall report to the Legislature
after the first three major therapeutic categories have been
reviewed and contracts executed. The report shall include the
estimated savings, number of manufacturers entering negotiations,
number of contracts executed, number of drugs added and deleted,
and impact on Medi-Cal beneficiaries and providers.

(b) The department shall provide the following data to the
Legislature and to the Auditor General by January 1, 1991, and every
six months thereafter:
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(1) The number of drug treatment authorization requests (TAR)
received by facsimile, by secondary answering system and in person
for each therapeutic category.

(2) The number of drug TARS requested, approved, denied, and
returned.

(3) The length of time between the TAR request and the decision,
specified by type of communication such as telephone or facsimile if
available.

(4) For denied TARS, the number of fair hearings requested,
approved, denied and pending.

(5) The numbers of providers who were unable to submit a
request or made multiple attempts because of faulty or unavailable
lines of communication, if available.

(6) The numbers of complaints made by beneficiaries and
providers relating to difficulty or inability to obtain a TAR response.

(7) The status of the enhancements to the TAR process specified
in Section 21 of Chapter 457 of the Statutes of 1990.

(8) The number of calls on the TAR line which are not getting
through.

(¢) The Auditor General shall prepare a report by February 1,
1991, and every 6 months thereafter providing a summary and
analysis of the data specified in subdivision (b), and a comparative
analysis of changes in the TAR process using June 1, 1990, as a base.
The analysis shall include a measure of increased or decreased ability
to contact the department and receive a response in a shorter or
greater period of time.

(d) The department shall report to the Legislature, through the
annual budget process, on the cost-effectiveness of contracts
executed pursuant to Section 14105.33.

(e) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1993,
and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
is enacted before January 1, 1993, deletes or extends that date.

SEC. 6. Section 14105.45 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, is
amended to read:

14105.45. The department shall establish a list of Maximum
Allowable Ingredient Costs (MAIC) for drugs, which shall be
published in provider bulletins. On the effective date of this section,
MAICS listed in Title 22 of the California Code of Regulations shall
be included in the list of MAICS. MAICS shall no longer be listed in
regulations. The department shall repeal Section 51513.3 of Title 22
of the California Code of Regulations.

(b) The department shall update existing MAICS and establish
additional MAICS in accordance with all of the following:

(1) The department shall base an MAIC on a reference drug
brand which is generically equivalent to the innovator brand, and
which is manufactured by a company with production capability to
meet the statewide needs of the Medi-Cal program for that drug.

(2) The decision regarding therapeutic equivalency shall be based
on the federal Food and Drug Administration determinations. For
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antacid drugs, therapeutic equivalency shall be determined by the
department based on review of in vitro scientific data.

(3) The department shall request information from drug
manufacturers regarding the availability of their products
throughout the state to outpatient pharmacies through the usual and
customary distribution channels in sufficient quantities to meet the
needs of the Medi-Cal program.

(4) The department shall notify Medi-Cal providers at least 30
days prior to the effective date of an MAIC.

(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of Chapter 3.5 (commencing
with Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the
Government Code, actions under this section shall not be subject to
the Administrative Procedure Act, or to the review and approval of
the Office of Administrative Law.

SEC. 7. No later than September 1, 1990, the State Department
of Health Services shall report to the Auditor General on the number
of exclusive and nonexclusive contracts entered into on a bid or
negotiated basis pursuant to Section 14105.3 of the Welfare and
Institutions Code.

SEC. 8. (a) The Auditor General, in consultation with the
Assembly and Senate Offices of Research, shall conduct a study of the
Medi-Cal drug contracting program and the price of drugs
purchased by the Medi-Cal program. The study shall include the
following, in order of priority:

(1) Methods by which volume purchasers of drugs, including, but
not limited to, the Veterans Administration, the Department of
General Services, Los Angeles County, hospital groups and health
maintenance organizations, private insurance plans, foreign
governments, and other states, secure reasonable or lowest prices, or
both, for single-source, and generic drugs.

(2) Impacts of the various methods identified in paragraph (1) on
Medi-Cal beneficiaries, physicians, pharmacies, hospitals, and
nursing facilities.

(3) The impact of the treatment authorization request (TAR)
process on Medi-Cal beneficiaries’ access to prescription drugs and
drug therapy, which are not on the Medi-Cal list of contract drugs
especially for therapeutic breakthrough drugs.

(4) The impact of the treatment authorization request (TAR)
process on provider willingness to prescribe therapeutic
breakthrough drugs and single-source drugs which are not on the
Medi-Cal list of contract drugs.

(5) A comparison of the methods by which pharmacies are
reimbursed by other entities for drug ingredient costs, dispensing
fees, and copayments.

(6) Comparison of the prices offered to volume purchasers
through bulk purchasing, rebates, discounts, or other methods
offered through contracts between the groups identified in
paragraph (1) and drug manufacturers.

(7) Impacts of a closed drug formulary, an open drug formulary,
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a restricted formulary and a list of contract drugs on Medi-Cal
beneficiaries, physicians, pharmacies, hospitals, and nursing facilities.

(8) The impact of a closed drug formulary, an open drug
formulary, a restricted drug formulary and a list of contract drugs on
the total cost of the Medi-Cal program.

(9) Identification of financial incentives and other strategies used
by volume purchasers to receive the lowest price whether the
purchase of drugs is through wholesalers or directly from drug
manufacturers.

(10) Identification of the percentage of the national market for
each single-source therapeutic breakthrough drug which is paid for
by the Medi-Cal program.

(11) The impact of federal price limits, referred to as Federal
Allowable Costs (FACs) on the inclusion of multisource drugs on the
Medi-Cal list of contract drugs and on the ability of Medi-Cal
recipients to secure those multisource drugs.

(12) The average cost per prescription and average drug
expenditure per user broken down by geographic area and various
demographic groups such as age, sex, functional ability, and medical
diagnosis and the utilization rate of brand-name drugs versus generic
drugs in states using a closed formulary, an open formulary, a
restricted open formulary, and a list of contract drugs.

(13) Identification of the cost components included in each
manufacturer’s prices for single-source and multisource drugs,
including research and development, manufacturing, marketing,
and other costs.

(14) The development of a methodology which is statistically
sound to identify drugs which can be shown to reduce acute care
costs.

(15) A review in the variation in pharmacy charges to the
Medi-Cal program for drug ingredients and an evaluation of the
feasibility of the Medi-Cal program contracting with less costly
pharmacies for the dispensing of prescription drugs.

(16) Identification of the process and criteria the State
Department of Health Services uses for reviewing drugs that are
considered for inclusion on the Medi-Cal list of contract drugs,
including, but not limited to, the costs and timeframes associated
with the process and how the process compares with the federal
Food and Drug Administration’s drug approval process.

(17) A review of the basis on which dispensing limits that restrict
the number of day’s supply of a drug are made, and the fiscal effect
of the dispensing limits on Medi-Cal beneficiaries and pharmacies.

(b) The Auditor General, in consultation with the Assembly and
Senate Offices of Research, shall report the results of the study
described in subdivision (a) to the Assembly Committee on Health,
the Senate Committee on Health and Human Services, and the Joint
Legislative Budget Committee no later than September 1, 1991.

(c) The report required by subdivision (b) shall include
recommendations to the Legislature on how the Medi-Cal program
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can lower the cost of prescription drugs while assuring access to
necessary prescription drugs to Medi-Cal beneficiaries.

(d) The Auditor General shall not expend more than one hundred
forty-five thousand dollars ($145,000) in preparing the study and
report required by this section. If the cost exceeds that amount, the
Auditor General shall instead complete the items in order of the
priorities listed in subdivision (a).

SEC. 9. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety within
the meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into
immediate effect. The facts constituting the necessity are:

In order to establish timely guidelines required for the reports
required by this act, it is necessary that this act take effect
immediately.

CHAPTER 1644

An act to amend Section 5407 of the Welfare and Institutions Code,
and to repeal Section 24 of Chapter 1294 of the Statutes of 1989,
relating to public social services, and declaring the urgency thereof,
to take effect immediately.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990 Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990 ]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 5407 of the Welfare and Institutions Code is
amended to read:

5407. (a) Itis the intent of the Legislature that essential mental
health assessment, case management, and treatment services be
available to court wards and dependents placed out-of-home or who
are at risk of requiring out-of-home care. This can be best achieved
at the community level through the active collaboration of county
social service, probation, education, mental health agencies, and
foster care providers.

(b) Therefore, using the Children’s Mental Health Services Act as
a guideline, the State Department of Mental Health, in consultation
with the California Conference of Local Mental Health Directors,
the State Department of Social Services, the County Welfare
Directors Association, the Chief Probation Officer’s Association, and
foster care providers, shall do all of the following:

(1) By July 1, 1991, develop an individualized mental health
treatment needs assessment protocol for court wards and
dependents.

(2) By October 1, 1992, establish and maintain a special system of
per child payments for supplemental mental health services
rendered to court wards and dependents pursuant to this section.
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This payment system shall ensure that children are served according
to state-level priorities, and that similar children are served similarly
statewide, to the extent of appropriations available through the
annual Budget Act to implement this section. The payment system
shall encourage utilization of other resources where possible,
including Medi-Cal reimbursement. It is the intent of the Legislature
that the payment system shall be flexible so that services may be
provided in the most appropriate setting and in the most
cost-effective manner.

(3) By October 1, 1992, the department shall, for the purposes of
implementing this section, establish guidelines for rates, payment,
and subsets of target populations to be served, for supplemental
mental health services rendered to court wards and dependents.
These guidelines shall include, but not be limited to, data collection,
cost reporting, and types of placement resources receiving county
mental health funds. These guidelines shall remain in effect until the
special system of payments is established, in accordance with
paragraph (2).

(4) By January 1, 1992, establish, by regulation, all of the following:

(A) Definitions of priority ranking of subsets of the court wards
and dependents target population,

(B) Definitions of priority supplemental services, including, but
not limited to, services defined in Title IX (commencing with
Section 7030) of the California Code of Regulations as of January 1,
1992, and family therapy, prevocational services, crisis support,
family support, therapeutic respite activities, and therapeutic milieu
activities, to be available to the target population.

(C) A certification procedure, to be employed by the local mental
health director, which assures that only mental health services
approved by the local mental health director shall be eligible for
reimbursement under this section.

(5) Require that the annual County Short-Doyle Plan and
Negotiated Net Amount Contract ensure that interagency
collaboration and program services are structured in a manner which
will facilitate future implementation of the goals of the Children’s
Mental Health Services Act. Components shall be added to the plans
and contracts which specifically address the procedures to be
implemented by the county in meeting the provisions of this section.
The components are to be developed in collaboration with the
county social services and probation departments. Plans and
contracts submitted for department approval shall document that
the procedures to be implemented in compliance with this section
have been approved by the county social services department and
the county probation department pursuant to an interagency
agreement.

(c) (1) Only those individuals within the target population as
defined in regulation and determined to be eligible for services as a
result of a mental health treatment needs assessment may receive
services pursuant to this section. Priority services shall be provided
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by the county mental health program in accordance with the County
Plan or Negotiated Net Amount Contract approved by the State
Department of Mental Health and to the extent that funds are
appropriated for the purposes of this section.

(2) Allocation of funds appropriated for the purposes of this
section shall be based on the number of wards and dependents
identified pursuant to paragraphs (3) and (4) of subdivision (b).

(3) The counties shall be held harmless for failure to provide
assessment and treatment services to those children identified in
need of services for whom there is no funding.

(d) Itisthe intent of the Legislature to limit supplemental mental
health treatment rates for the target population of this section to
rates established pursuant to paragraphs (2), (3), and (4) of
subdivision (b), effective October 1, 1992, and to reduce the impact
of competition for scarce treatmeni resources on the cost and
availability of care. The State Department of Mental Health, in
consultation with the State Department of Social Services and
appropriate organizations, including organizations representing
service providers, shall develop a plan to accomplish this intent that
addresses the access to, and availability of, mental health treatment
for the target population. This plan shall be submitted to the
Legislature by October 1, 1992.

(e) The department shall annually report to the Legislature on
the service populations provided mental health treatment services
pursuant to this section, the types and costs of services provided, and
the number of children identified in need of treatment services who
did not receive the services.

SEC. 2. Section 24 of Chapter 1294 of the Statutes of 1989 is
repealed.

SEC. 3. The State Department of Mental Health shall adopt
emergency regulations pursuant to Chapter 3.5 (commencing with
Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government
Code to implement this act. The adoption of regulations pursuant to
this section in order to implement this act shall be deemed to be an
emergency and necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, or safety. Notwithstanding Chapter 3.5
(commencing with Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2
of the Government Code, emergency regulations adopted pursuant
to this section shall not be subject to the review and approval of the
Office of Administrative Law. The regulations shall become effective
immediately upon filing with the Secretary of State. The regulations
shall not remain in effect more than 180 days unless the adopting
agency complies with all of the provisions of Chapter 3.5
(commencing with Section 11340), as required by subdivision (e) of
Section 11346.1 of the Government Code.

SEC. 4. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety within
the meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into
immediate effect. The facts constituting the necessity are:
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In order to prevent inappropriate or unnecessary out-of-home
placement of at-risk children in the state, it is necessary that this act
take effect immediately.

CHAPTER 1645

An act to add Chapter 4.3 (commencing with Section 1400) to
Division 2 of the Fish and Game Code, relating to wetlands, and
making an appropriation therefor.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990 Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. The Legislature finds and declares the following:

(a) California is the winter home to more than 60 percent of the
migratory waterfowl of the Pacific Flyway, yet 95 percent of the
wetland habitat for these waterfowl has been destroyed or adversely
impacted.

(b) The loss of wintering habitat has contributed to a dramatic
decline in migratory waterfowl, including a decline of more than 50
percent in the wintering duck population in the last 30 years.

(c¢) California is also the primary wintering area or permanent
range for a number of endangered and rare bird species.

(d) Wetlands and adjacent lands provide necessary habitat for
waterfowl and many other wildlife species.

(e) The governments of the United States and Canada have
agreed to implement the North American Waterfowl Management
Plan. To carry out the purposes of this plan in California, the state
and federal governments have entered into the Central Valley
Habitat Joint Venture. The Central Valley Habitat Joint Venture has
identified the urgent need to protect 80,000 acres of wetlands in the
central valley, to establish 120,000 acres of new wetlands in the
central valley, to improve habitat on existing public and private
wetlands and agricultural lands, and to secure dependable water
sources for the wetlands.

(f) Because existing state and federal funds are not sufficient to
buy and manage the wetlands outright, California needs to adopt
creative options for the use of public funds and must increase the use
of private funds to attain these goals.

SEC. 2. Chapter 4.3 (commencing with Section 1400) is added to
Division 2 of the Fish and Game Code, to read:

CHAPTER 4.3. INLAND WETLANDS CONSERVATION PROGRAM

Article 1. Definitions
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1400. Unless the context otherwise requires, the definitions in
this article govern the construction of this chapter.

1401. “Fund” means the Inland Wetlands Conservation Fund,
created in the Wildlife Restoration Fund by Section 1430.

1402. “Board” means the Wildlife Conservation Board created by
Section 1320.

1403. “Inland areas” means the entire area of California except
lands under the jurisdiction of the State Coastal Conservancy, lands
within the Santa Monica Mountains Zone, as defined in Section 33105
of the Public Resources Code, and lands under the jurisdiction of the
California Tahoe Conservancy Agency in the Lake Tahoe region, as
defined in Section 66905.5 of the Government Code.

1404. “Program” means the Inland Wetlands Conservation
Program, as provided in this chapter.

1405. “Nonprofit organization” means an organization described
in subsection (c) of Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code of the
United States (26 U.S.C. 501(c)).

Article 2. The Inland Wetlands Conservation Program

1410. The Inland Wetlands Conservation Program is hereby
created in the board.

1411. (a) The Inland Wetlands Conservation Program is the
program designated for use of the funds allocated pursuant to
subdivision (f) of Section 2791, as enacted by the California Wildlife
Protection Act of 1990. The board shall administer the program.

(b) The board is the agency designated for receipt of the funds
allocated pursuant to subdivision (f) of Section 2791, as enacted by
the California Wildlife Protection Act of 1990.

(c) The purpose and goal of the program is to carry out the
programs of the Central Valley Habitat Joint Venture.

1412. The board may apply for and accept federal grants and
receive gifts, donations, subventions, rent, royalties, and other
financial support from public and private sources for the purposes of
the program.

1413. The board may acquire or accept the gift or dedication of
fee title, easements, leases, development rights, or other interests in
lands in inland areas necessary to carry out the purposes of this
chapter.

1414. The board shall coordinate its activities in the program with
federal surplus land sales in inland areas.

1415. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the board
may lease, rent, sell, exchange, or otherwise transfer any land,
interest in land, or option acquired pursuant to this chapter for the
purposes of carrying out the program.

{b) The proceeds from any lease, rental, sale, exchange, or
transfer of land, or any interest therein, or option thereon, shall be
deposited in the fund.

1416. The board may make grants or loans to nonprofit
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organizations, local governmental agencies, and state departments
and agencies for the purpose of wetland and associated upland
habitat acquisition, restoration, or enhancement in the same manner
and subject to the same provisions as prescribed in Section 31116 of
the Public Resources Code. Proceeds from repayment of any loans
and the interest thereon shall be deposited in the fund.

1417. The board may lease nonwetlands habitat in need of
restoration to nonprofit organizations, local governmental agencies,
and state departments and agencies under agreements in which the
lessee agrees to restore the wetlands to their highest possible wetland
value and maintain the wetlands at that highest possible wetland
value. Proceeds from any lease or rental and interest thereon shall
be deposited in the fund.

1418. The board may acquire former wetlands and associated
upland habitat, restore those areas, and sell the lands, or any interest
therein, to private owners, local governmental agencies, and state
departments and agencies or exchange them for other land, if an
agreement is secured to keep and maintain the lands as wetlands in
perpetuity. The agreement shall contain a reversion if the lands sold
or exchanged are not maintained as wetlands. The agreement
containing the reversion shall be set forth in any conveyance
transferring any land, interest in land, or option subject to this
section. Proceeds from the sales or exchanges shall be deposited in
the fund.

1419. Any funds remaining after an eligible acquisition,
restoration, or enhancement of any project under this article shall be
returned to the board and shall be deposited in the fund.

1420. Inreviewing any grant or loan application, preference shall
be given to projects on wetlands that have a secure source of water
or are adjacent to existing wetlands that are protected by public
ownership or conservation easements, or both. The board shall give
preference to wintering habitat in the central valley.

1421. When creating new wetlands, the board shall give
preference to lands most suitable for this purpose due to elevations,
existence of levees, proximity to existing wetlands that are protected,
and potential sources of water. These potential sources of water are
limited to all of the following:

(a) Water rights which are attached to the land to be restored
including groundwater associated with the property.

(b) Water willingly made available for a wetlands conservation
project through water conservation.

(¢) Reclaimed water.

(d) Undeveloped water supplies of the state.

(e) Water marketed for wetlands purposes by a willing seller.

(f) Water otherwise made available for wetlands purposes by
private, nonprofit, local, and regional entities.

1422. On or before January 1, 1992, and every third year
thereafter, the board shall prepare and submit a report to the
Governor and the Legislature on activities of the board under this
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chapter and other activities relating to wetland acquisition by the
board. The report shall include, but is not limited to, the following:
(a) The status of wetland acquisition, restoration, and
enhancement projects in inland areas.
(b) The net increase of wetland habitat as a result of projects of
the board, including the activities carried out pursuant to the
program.

Article 3. Finances

1430. The Inland Wetlands Conservation Fund is hereby created
in the Wildlife Restoration Fund. The money in the fund shall be
solely used to carry out the Inland Wetlands Conservation Program,
including the administrative costs of the program.

1431. The board shall deposit in the fund all allocations made
pursuant to subdivision (f) of Section 2791. Notwithstanding Section
13340 of the Government Code, the money in the fund is
continuously appropriated to the board to carry out this chapter.

CHAPTER 1646
An act relating to reclaimed water for wildlife refuges.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. (a) The State Water Resources Control Board shall
conduct a survey to identify water and sewage reclamation plants in
this state that produce water that would be suitable and available for
use in central valley wildlife refuges. To the extent feasible, the
survey shall determine the predicted quantities of water through the
year 2000. To the extent feasible, the study shall also determine the
predicted quality of the water that would be produced from the
identified sources.

(b) The board shall prepare and subrnit a report on that survey to
the Legislature and Governor not later than January 1, 1992.
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CHAPTER 1647

An act to amend Sections 11475.2 and 15200.6 of, to amend, repeal,
and add Sections 15200.1, 15200.2, 15200.3, and 15200.7 of, to add and
repeal Sections 15200.8, 15200.85, and 15200.9 of, to add, repeal, and
add Section 15200.95 of, and to add Section 15200.97 to, the Welfare
and Institutions Code, relating to public assistance.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990 Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 11475.2 of the Welfare and Institutions Code
is amended to read:

114752. (a) If at any time the Director of Social Services
considers any public agency, which is required by law, by delegation
of the department, or by cooperative agreement, to perform
functions relating to the state plan for securing child and spousal
support and determining paternity, to be failing in a substantial
manner to comply with any provision of the state plan, the director
shall put that agency on written notice to that effect.

The state plan concerning spousal support shall apply only to
spousal support included in a child support order.

In this chapter the term spousal support shall include support for
a former spouse.

(b) If the director determines that there is a failure on the part
of that public agency to comply with the provisions of the state plan,
or if the State Personnel Board certifies to the director that that
public agency is not in conformity with applicable merit system
standards under Part 2.5 (commencing with Section 19800) of
Division 5 of Title 2 of the Government Code, and that sanctions are
necessary to secure compliance, the director may invoke either or
both of the following sanctions:

(1) Withhold part or all of state and federal funds, including
incentive funds, from that public agency until the public agency shall
make a showing to the director of full compliance.

(2) Notify the Attorney General that there has been a failure to
comply with the state plan and the Attorney General shall take
appropriate action to secure compliance.

(c) Notwithstanding Sections 15200 and 15204.2, in the event of a
federal statewide child support program audit, review, or other
measure of program compliance or performance which results in the
reduction of federal funding for the Title IV-A program, the state
shall fund 100 percent of the federal reduction to ensure the
continuation of funding for allowable aid payments and related
administrative costs associated with the AFDC program.

(d) In the event of a federal determination to reduce or modify
federal funding for the Title IV-A program as a result of improper or
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inadequate county administration of the child and spousal support
enforcement program, the department shall pass on to the counties
any federal sanction levied on or after January 1, 1991, regardless of
the date of the underlying federal audit, except for any sanctions
resulting from the 1986 audit or federal followup. For the purposes
of this section, the date of levy is the date the federal government
actually reduces, withholds, or otherwise modifies the state’s
funding.

(e) The sanction shall be assessed as follows:

(1) The state shall assume responsibility for 50 percent of the total
federal sanction.

(2) Each county shall be assessed an amount equal to the amount
of increased county costs which would occur based on application of
Sections 15200 and 15204.2.

(3) For each county found to be out of compliance based on the
reviews conducted pursuant to Section 15200.8, the county shall be
assessed an amount equal to one-half the rate of the federal sanction
multiplied by the county’s total federal Title IV-A program funding.

(4) For each county found to be marginally in compliance based
on the reviews conducted pursuant to Section 15200.8, the county
shall be assessed an amount equal to one-quarter the rate of the
federal sanction multiplied by the county’s total federal Title IV-A
program funding. For the purposes of this section, a county is
marginally in compliance if it attains at least 75 percent, but not more
than 80 percent, compliance with case processing criteria.

(5) In the event the amount of the federal sanction is less than the
amount required to apply paragraphs (1), (2), (3), and (4), county
liability under paragraph (4) shall be reduced accordingly. In the
event county liability under paragraph (4) is eliminated and the
amount of the federal sanction is less than the amount required to
apply paragraphs (1), (2), and (3), county liability under paragraph
(3) shall be reduced accordingly.

(6) The review pursuant to Section 15200.8 which was conducted
closest to the date the federal sanction was levied shall be used to
determine which counties are out of compliance and marginally in
compliance.

(f) There shall be established a sanction credit which shall consist
of any net increase in state revenue resulting from any increase of
more than 9% percent in distributed collections on behalf of families
receiving Aid to Families with Dependent Children for each of the
previous three state fiscal years.

(1) The balance of the sanction after application of subdivision (e)
shall be reduced by the amount of the sanction credit.

(2) In the event the sanction credit exceeds the balance of the
sanction after application of paragraph (1), the amount exceeding
the balance shall be used to reduce the liability of marginally
compliant counties under paragraph (4) of subdivision (e). Any
further balance shall be used to reduce the liability of
out-of-compliance counties under paragraph (3) of subdivision (e).
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(3) In the event the sanction credit does not fully offset the
balance of the sanction after application of paragraph (1), the state
shall be responsible for 50 percent of the unmet balance, and the
remaining 50 percent shall be distributed to all counties in
proportion to their total Title IV-A program funding.

(g) The sanction assessed a county pursuant to this section shall be
levied as a general assessment against the county. Notwithstanding
Section 15200.97, a county may use any funds paid to that county
pursuant to Sections 15200.1, 15200.2, 15200.3, 15200.6, 15200.7,
15200.85, 15200.9, and 15200.95 over and above the county’s cost of
administering the child support program to supplant any county
funds reduced under this section.

(h) In the event of any other audit or review which results in the
reduction or modification of federal funding for the program under
Part D (commencing with Section 652) of Subchapter IV of Title 42
of the United States Code, the sanction shall be assessed against those
counties specifically cited in the federal findings in the amount cited
in those findings.

(i) The department shall establish a process whereby any county
assessed a portion of any sanction may appeal the department’s
decision.

(i) Nothing in this section shall be construed as relieving the
board of supervisors of the responsibility to provide funds necessary
for the continued operation of the state plan as required by law,

SEC. 2. Section 15200.1 of the Welfare and Institutions Code is
amended to read:

15200.1. (a) There is hereby appropriated out of any money in
the State Treasury not otherwise appropriated, from which the
department shall make payments to each county on any support
payments collected or distributed, or both, on or after October 1,
1985, federal incentive funds on the amount received which qualify
therefor. In addition, the department shall pay to each county on any
support collections distributed between October 1, 1982 and June 30,
1986, inclusive, regardless of the date of collection, a state incentive
of 7.5 percent. This amount shall be paid on collections used to
reduce or repay aid which is paid pursuant to this chapter, on
collections paid to an aided family in the form of income not included
in determining eligibility for assistance pursuant to federal law
(so-called “disregards”), on collections paid to an aided family in the
form of income included in determining eligibility (so-called
“pass-ons” and “excess”) and for aid which is entitled to federal
matching funds.

(b) Inthe event that the federal government does not provide the
funding for federal financial participation in administrative costs of
the child support program as scheduled in Section 655 of Title 42 of
the United States Code, as amended by P.L. 98-378, at the rate of 70
percent in federal fiscal year 1987, 68 percent in federal fiscal years
1988 and 1989, and 66 percent in federal fiscal year 1990, and
thereafter, the department shall provide sufficient incentives,
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commencing July 1, 1986, to supplant the dollar reduction to federal
financial participation.

The state incentive rate shall be determined annually, and the rate
shall be applied to collections paid to a nonaided family (non-AFDC
incentive) and to distributed collections on aid-related cases (AFDC
incentive). The AFDC incentive rate shall include the established
base level incentive of 7.5 percent and may be adjusted up to 11.5
percent. The state incentive rate for AFDC and non-AFDC shall
apply retroactively to July 1 of each fiscal year.

These incentives shall be paid in addition to the federal AFDC and
non-AFDC incentives.

(c) The offset amount shall be the difference between the
estimated dollar reimbursement resulting from the scheduled rates
in subdivision (b) and the estimated dollar reimbursement resulting
from actual federal financial participation at an incentive rate not in
excess of 11.5 percent for collections for an aided family as defined
in subdivision (a) and 4 percent for collections paid to a nonaided
family. The exact additional state incentive rate, when applied to
estimated total collections for the state fiscal year, shall
approximately equal in amount the federal reduction to be offset.

(d) In addition, a county may qualify for an additional incentive
payment under Section 15200.7. These funds shall be deposited in the
county general fund.

(e) (1) Where more than one county has participated in the
enforcement or collection, the federal and state AFDC incentive
payments authorized by this section shall be made to the collecting
county except as follows:

(A) The federal non-AFDC incentive shall be paid to the
reporting county making the nonwelfare payments to the family for
the period October 1, 1985, to June 30, 1986, inclusive.

(B) Effective July 1, 1986, the federal and state non-AFDC
incentive shall be paid to the appropriate jurisdiction as determined
by the State Department of Social Services.

() Where more than one state has participated in the
enforcement or collection, the incentive payment, if any, shall be
made in accordance with Section 15200.2.

(g) Any funds paid to a county pursuant to this section, over and
above the county’s cost of administering a child support enforcement
program, shall be used to support the child support enforcement
services of the district attorney.

(h) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1992,
and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1992, deletes or extends
that date.

SEC.2.5. Section 15200.1 is added to the Welfare and Institutions
Code, to read:

15200.1. (a) There is hereby appropriated out of any money in
the State Treasury not otherwise appropriated, from which the
department shall make payments to each county on any support
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payments collected or distributed, or both, federal incentive funds
on the amount received which qualify therefor. In addition, the
department shall pay to each county on any support collections
distributed, regardless of the date of collection, a state incentive of
7.5 percent. This amount shall be paid on collections used to reduce
or repay aid which is paid pursuant to this chapter, on collections
paid to an aided family in the form of income which is not included
in determining eligibility for assistance pursuant to federal law (also
referred to as “disregards”), on collections paid to an aided family in
the form of income which is included in determining eligibility (also
referred to as “pass-ons” and “excess”), and for aid which is entitled
to federal matching funds.

(b) In addition, a county may qualify for an additional state
incentive payment under Section 15200.7.

(c) Where more than one county has participated in the
enforcement or collection, the federal and state AFDC incentive
payments authorized by this section shall be made to the collecting
county except that the federal non-AFDC incentive, and any
non-AFDC incentive paid under Section 15200.95, shall be paid to the
appropriate jurisdiction as determined by the State Department of
Social Services.

(d) Where more than one state has participated in the
enforcement or collection, the incentive payment, if any, shall be
made in accordance with Section 15200.2.

(e) This section shall become operative on July 1, 1996.

SEC. 3. Section 15200.2 of the Welfare and Institutions Code is
amended to read:

15200.2. (a) There is hereby appropriated out of any money in
the State Treasury not otherwise appropriated, from which the
department shall make payments to California counties, on any
interstate support collections collected or distributed, or both, on or
after October 1, 1985, federal incentive funds on the amount
received which qualify therefor. In addition, the department shall
pay to each county on any support collections distributed during the
period of October 1, 1982, to June 30, 1986, inclusive, regardless of the
date of collection, a state incentive of 7.5 percent. This amount shall
be paid on collections used to reduce or repay aid which is paid
pursuant to this chapter, on collections paid to an aided family in the
form of income not included in determining eligibility for assistance
pursuant to federal law (so-called “disregards™) on collections paid
to an aided family in the form of income included in determining
eligibility for assistance pursuant to federal law (so-called *“pass-ons”
and “excess”) and for aid which is entitled to federal matching funds.
In addition, a county may qualify for an additional incentive
payment under Section 15200.7.

(b) Effective July 1, 1986, the department shall pay, in addition to
the federal incentive for AFDC and non-AFDC interstate
collections, an increased state AFDC incentive on aid-related
interstate collections as defined in subdivision (a) and a state
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non-AFDC incentive for interstate collections paid to nonaided
families.

(c) The actual state incentive rates shall be calculated annually
pursuant to the formula specified in subdivisions (b) and (c) of
Section 15200.1.

(d) The department shall, by regulation, pay the incentive
payment to the county distributing the support payment from
another state.

(e) Where a county makes a collection for another state, the
department shall make the federal incentive payment to the county
making the collection. No state incentive shall be paid on collections
made by a county on behalf of another state.

(f) Any funds paid to a county pursuant to this section, over and
above the county’s cost of administering a child support enforcement
program, shall be used to support the child support enforcement
services of the district attorney.

(g) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1992,
and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1992, deletes or extends
that date.

SEC. 3.5. Section 15200.2 is added to the Welfare and Institutions
Code, to read:

15200.2. (a) There is hereby appropriated out of any money in
the State Treasury not otherwise appropriated, from which the
department shall make payments to California counties, on any
interstate support collections collected or distributed, or both,
federal incentive funds on the amount received which qualify
therefor. In addition, the department shall pay to each county on any
support collections distributed, regardless of the date of collection,
a state incentive of 7.5 percent. This amount shall be paid on
collections used to reduce or repay aid which is paid pursuant to this
chapter, on collections paid to an aided family in the form of income
which is not included in determining eligibility for assistance
pursuant to federal law (also referred to as “disregards™), on
collections paid to an aided family in the form of income which is
included in determining eligibility (also referred to as “pass-ons” and
“excess”), and for aid which is entitled to federal matching funds. In
addition, a county may qualify for an additional state incentive
payment under Section 15200.7.

(b) The department shall, by regulation, pay the incentive
payment to the county distributing the support payment from
another state.

(¢) Where a county makes a collection for another state, the
department shall make the federal incentive payment to the county
making the collection. No state incentive shall be paid on collections
made by a county on behalf of another state.

(d) This section shall become operative on July 1, 1996.

SEC. 4. Section 15200.3 of the Welfare and Institutions Code is
amended to read:
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15200.3. (a) There is hereby appropriated out of any money in
the General Fund not otherwise appropriated, amounts from which
the department shall make federal incentive payments to each
county on nonfederally funded foster care support payments
collected or distributed on or after October 1, 1985. The department
shall also make payments to the extent and as specified in subdivision
(¢) to counties on collections distributed between the periods of the
effective date of this section, and June 30, 1986, a state incentive of
7.5 percent to be paid on amounts received for nonfederally funded
foster care cases, including, but not limited to, collections made
pursuant to Sections 903, 903.4, and 903.5. This incentive shall be paid
on collections which are used to repay the state share of aid paid
pursuant to this chapter which are not entitled to incentives
pursuant to Sections 15200.1 and 15200.2.

(b) Effective July 1, 1986, the department shall pay to counties, in
addition to the federal incentive for nonfederally funded foster care,
an increased state incentive rate calculated pursuant to the formula
specified in subdivisions (b) and (c) of Section 15200.1 on collections
used to repay the state’s share of aid as described in subdivision (a).
The increased state incentive shall be paid to the extent and as
specified in subdivision (c¢) of this section.

(c) The state incentive provided in subdivisions (a) and (b) for
nonfederal foster care cases shall only apply to those statewide
collections distributed in a fiscal year in excess of the 1982-83 budget
projection. From the excess, 7.5 percent, or the increased incentive,
of collections for nonfederal foster care cases shall be set aside for
payment of these incentives. At the end of the fiscal year payment
to each county of the incentive money shall be in proportion to the
percentage of the total nonfederal cases support collection for the
state which each county has distributed. The percentage incentive
specified in subdivision (a) shall not exceed the total incentive
provided by the state for federal foster care cases at any time but
shall automatically be adjusted for any reductions. Any remaining
funds shall be credited to offset expenditures for AFDC-FC.

(d) The Legislature finds and declares that the state incentive
provided pursuant to this section is sufficient to reimburse counties
for court and all other costs incurred through enforcement of
parental liability in nonfederally funded foster care cases.

(e) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1992,
and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1992, deletes or extends
that date.

SEC. 4.5. Section 15200.3 is added to the Welfare and Institutions
Code, to read:

15200.3. (a) There is hereby appropriated out of any money in
the General Fund not otherwise appropriated, amounts from which
the department shall make federal incentive payments to each
county on nonfederally funded foster care support payments
collected or distributed.
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(b) The department shall pay to counties, in addition to the
federal incentive for nonfederally funded foster care, a state
incentive on collections used to repay the state’s share of aid. The
increased state incentive shall be paid to the extent and as specified
in subdivision (c).

(c) The state incentive provided in subdivision (b) for nonfederal
foster care cases shall only apply to those statewide collections
distributed in a fiscal year in excess of the 1982-83 budget projection.
From the excess, 7.5 percent, or the increased incentive, of
collections for nonfederal foster care cases shall be set aside for
payment of these incentives. At the end of the fiscal year payment
to each county of the incentive money shall be in proportion to the
percentage of the total nonfederal cases support collection for the
state which each county has distributed. The percentage incentive
specified in subdivision (a) shall not exceed the total incentive
provided by the state for federal foster care cases at any time but
shall automatically be adjusted for any reductions. Any remaining
funds shall be credited to offset expenditures for AFDC-FC.

(d) The Legislature finds and declares that the state incentive
provided pursuant to this section is sufficient to reimburse counties
for court and all other costs incurred through enforcement of
parental liability in nonfederally funded foster care cases.

(e) This section shall become operative on July 1, 1996.

SEC. 5. Section 15200.6 of the Welfare and Institutions Code is
amended to read:

15200.6. (a) (1) The department shall provide payments to each
county at a rate of ninety dollars ($90) per child for each paternity
established pursuant to Section 11475.1. In no event shall payments
made under this section exceed the amount annually appropriated
from the General Fund to the State Department of Social Services
under subdivision (a) of Section 15200.7.

(2) For purposes of this section the definition of “paternity
established” shall be given a meaning consistent with the meaning
of that term when used by the department for statistical reporting.

(b) (1) The State Department of Social Services shall, prior to
June 30, 1991, study and report to the Legislature on the effect of the
incentive payment provided by this section upon paternity
establishment efforts by the counties as well as review child support
enforcement incentive provisions in existing law.

(2) The department shall also make recommendations as to
needed revisions to, or extension of, the effective period of this
section and make similar recommendations with regard to this
section and other existing child support enforcement incentive
sections as to whether there exist other or more effective means of
providing counties with child support enforcement incentives.

(c) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1992,
and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1992, deletes or extends
that date.
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SEC. 6. Section 15200.7 of the Welfare and Institutions Code is
amended to read:

15200.7. (a) In addition to funds appropriated pursuant to
Sections 15200.1 and 15200.2, there is hereby annually appropriated
from the General Fund to the State Department of Social Services,
beginning in fiscal year 1984-85, and based on the increase in fiscal
year 1983-84 Aid to Families with Dependent Children child support
collections above Aid to Families with Dependent Children child
support collections in fiscal year 1982-83, a sum equal to 50 percent
of the state’s share of those increased collections. The sum shall be
computed after payment of the incentive pursuant to Sections
15200.1 and 15200.2 has been taken out of the state share. The sum
to be appropriated shall be computed in a similar manner annually
thereafter.

(b) The sum appropriated pursuant to subdivision (a) shall be
allocated by the department to each county which increased its
collections and shall be based on each county’s percentage of the
total increased collections in those counties.

(c) Subdivision (b) shall be inoperative from January 1, 1989, until
December 31, 1991.

(d) For the period of January 1, 1989, to December 31, 1991,
inclusive, funds appropriated pursuant to subdivision (a) shall be
allocated by the department to each county pursuant to Section
15200.6.

(e) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1992,
and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1992, deletes or extends
that date.

SEC. 6.5. Section 15200.7 is added to the Welfare and Institutions
Code, to read:

15200.7. (a) In addition to funds appropriated pursuant to
Sections 15200.1 and 15200.2, there is hereby annually appropriated
from the General Fund to the State Department of Social Services
beginning in fiscal year 1996-97, and based on the increase in fiscal
year 1995-96 Aid to Families with Dependent Children child support
collections above Aid to Families with Dependent Children child
support collections in fiscal year 1994-95, a sum equal to 50 percent
of the state’s share of those increased collections. The sum shall be
computed after payment of the incentive pursuant to increased
collections. The sum shall be computed after payment of the
incentive pursuant to Sections 15200.1 and 15200.2 has been taken out
of the state share. The sum to be appropriated shall be computed in
a similar manner annually thereafter.

(b) The sum appropriated pursuant to subdivision (a) shall be
allocated by the department to each county which increased its
collections and shall be based on each county’s percentage of the
total increased collections in those counties.

(c) This section shall become operative on July 1, 1996.

SEC. 7. Section 15200.8 is added to the Welfare and Institutions
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Code, to read:

15200.8. (a) The department shall establish a performance-based
incentive system which will provide federal and state incentive
funds to counties based on standards of performance in the child
support program. The performance standards established shall
determine the incentive rates to be paid on any support collections
distributed on or after January 1, 1992.

(b) The performance-based incentive system shall have two
levels of incentives.

(1) The first level, hereafter referred to as “Tier 1,” shall provide
counties with a base incentive rate (referred to in this article as the
base rate). Tier 1 also shall provide an increased incentive rate
(referred to in this article as the compliance rate) to each county
determined by the department to be in compliance with all federal
and state child support enforcement program requirements.

(2) In determining Tier I county compliance, the department
shall assess on at least an annual basis the accuracy and effectiveness
of case processing based on the federal and state requirements in
effect for the time period being reviewed, using a statistically valid
sample of cases. The information for the assessment shall be based on
reviews conducted by either state or county staff, as determined by
the department.

(A) Counties determined not to be in compliance shall be
required to develop and submit a corrective action plan to the
department.

(B) Counties under a corrective action plan shall be assessed on
a quarterly basis until the department determines that they are in
compliance with federal and state child support program
requirements.

(3) Inaddition to determining Tier I compliance, the department
shall collect information regarding whether cases on behalf of
families receiving Aid to Families with Dependent Children are
disproportionately represented in the portion of each county’s case
sample which is not in compliance. In the event disproportionate
representation is found in a county’s pool of noncompliant cases, the
department shall require corrective action from that county.
However, this corrective action shall not affect the county’s
entitlement to Tier I incentives.

(4) The second level (referred to in this article as Tier II), shall
provide an additional incentive rate (referred to in this article as the
performance rate), to counties that meet the performance standard
levels as established by the department. No county shall qualify for
payment of Tier Il incentives in any year, month, or quarter in which
it was not also eligible for the Tier I compliance rate.

(c) (1) The incentive rates shall be paid as a percentage of total
distributed collections.

(2) “Distributed collections” means collections used to reduce or
repay aid which is paid pursuant to this chapter; collections paid to
an aided family; collections paid to a nonaided family regardless of
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the date of collection; collections paid to other state child support
agencies on behalf of children residing in other states; and any other
payments collected which qualify for federal incentives.

(d) Effective January 1, 1992, incentive payments shall be paid to
the appropriate county jurisdiction as determined by the
department.

(e) Nothing in this section shall preclude the department from
adopting regulations pursuant to Section 11479.5.

(f) This section shall become inoperative on June 30, 1996, and as
of January 1, 1997, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1997, deletes or extends the
dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed.

SEC.7.5. Section 15200.85 is added to the Welfare and Institutions
Code, to read:

15200.85. (a) Effective January 1, 1992, there shall be
appropriated from the State Treasury sufficient funds, including
federal incentives, from which the department shail pay to each
county a base rate of 10 percent on any support collections
distributed, regardless of the date of collection. The base incentive
rate shall decrease by 1 percent annually each July 1, until July 1,
1995, at which time it shall be 6 percent for that fiscal year and every
fiscal year thereafter.

(b) Effective January 1, 1992, the department shall pay to each
county that is determined by the department to meet all
requirements of Tier I, as described in paragraph (1) of subdivision
(b) of Section 15200.8, a compliance incentive rate of 1 percent on
any support collections distributed. This compliance rate shall
increase by 1 percent annually each July 1, until July 1, 1995, at which
time it shall be 5 percent for that fiscal year and every fiscal year
thereafter.

(c) Counties which complete their corrective action plans
pursuant to subparagraph (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of
Section 15200.8, shall qualify for the compliance rate incentive at the
start of the quarter following completion.

(d) This section shall become inoperative on June 30, 1996, and as
of January 1, 1997, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1997, deletes or extends the
dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed.

SEC. 8. Section 15200.9 is added to the Welfare and Institutions
Code, to read:

15200.9. (a) Effective July 1, 1993, there shall be appropriated
from the State Treasury sufficient funds, including federal
incentives, from which the department shall pay a performance rate
to those counties which meet Tier II performance standards,
pursuant to paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) of Section 15200.8. The
performance rate shall be paid in addition to that provided for under
Section 15200.85 and shall be paid on distributed collections,
regardless of the date of collection.

(b) The performance rate shall be a graduated scale up to a
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maximum rate of 1 percent. The maximum performance rate shall
increase by 1 percent annually until July 1, 1995, at which time it shall
be 3 percent for that fiscal year and every fiscal year thereafter.

(c) This section shall become inoperative on June 30, 1996, and as
of January 1, 1997, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1997, deletes or extends the
dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed.

SEC. 9. Section 15200.95 is added to the Welfare and Institutions
Code, to read:

15200.95. (a) Each county shall be responsible for its nonfederal
share of administrative expenditures for administering the child
support program.

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision (a), effective July 1, 1991, to June
30, 1993, inclusive, the state shall pay the nonfederal share of
administrative costs of conducting the reviews required under
Section 15200.8. Funding for county costs after June 30, 1993, shall be
subject to the availability of funds in the annual Budget Act.

(c) Inthe event that the federal government does not provide the
funding for federal financial participation in administrative costs of
the child support program at the scheduled rates of 66 percent for
regular federal financial participation and 90 percent for enhanced
federal financial participation, the department shall increase the
Tier I base incentive rate authorized under Section 15200.85 to
supplant the dollar reduction to federal financial participation.

(1) This increase shall be based on the difference between the
estimated dollar reimbursement resulting from the scheduled
federal financial participation and the estimated dollar
reimbursement resulting from the reduced federal financial
participation rates. This increase to the base incentive rate, when
applied to estimated total collections for the state fiscal year, shall
approximately equal the federal reduction.

(2) This increase shall be determined annually, and shall apply to
total distributed collections as defined in subdivision (c) of Section
15200.8.

(3) Inno eventshall the increased incentive rate exceed 4 percent
in any fiscal year.

(4) This increase to the base incentive rate shall apply to the
period of time in which the federal financial participation rate in
administrative expenditures is reduced.

(d) This section shall become inoperative on June 30, 1996, and as
of January 1, 1997, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1997, deletes or extends the
dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed.

SEC.9.5. Section 15200.95 is added to the Welfare and Institutions
Code, to read:

15200.95. (a) Each county shall be responsible for its nonfederal
share of administrative expenditures for administering the child
support program.

(b) Inthe event that the federal government does not provide the
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funding for federal financial participation in scheduled rates of 66
percent for regular federal financial participation and 90 percent for
enhanced federal financial participation, the department shall
increase the incentive rates authorized under Sections 15200.1,
15200.2, and 15200.3 to supplant the dollar reduction to federal
financial participation.

(1) This increase shall be based on the difference between the
estimated dollar reimbursement resulting from the scheduled
federal financial participation and the estimated dollar
reimbursement resulting from the reduced federal financial
participation rates. This increase to the base incentive rate, when
applied to estimated total collections for the state fiscal year, shall
approximately equal the federal reduction.

(2) This increase shall be determined annually, and shall apply to
total distributed collections as defined in Section 15200.1.

(3) In no event shall this increase to the incentive rate exceed 4
percent in any fiscal year.

(4) This increase to the incentive rate shall apply to the period of
time in which the federal financial participation rate in
administrative expenditures is reduced.

(c) This section shall become operative on July 1, 1996.

SEC.10. Section 15200.97 is added to the Welfare and Institutions
Code, to read:

15200.97. Any funds paid to a county pursuant to this chapter
over and above the county’s cost of administering the child support
program shall be used to support the child support enforcement
services of the district attorney.

SEC. 11. Notwithstanding Section 17610 of the Government
Code, if the Commission on State Mandates determines that this act
contains costs mandated by the state, reimbursement to local
agencies and school districts for those costs shall be made pursuant
to Part 7 (commencing with Section 17500) of Division 4 of Title 2
of the Government Code. If the statewide cost of the claim for
reimbursement does not exceed one million dollars ($1,000,000),
reimbursement shall be made from the State Mandates Claims Fund.
Notwithstanding Section 17580 of the Government Code, unless
otherwise specified in this act, the provisions of this act shall become
operative on the same date that the act takes effect pursuant to the
California Constitution.
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CHAPTER 1648

An act relating to transportation, and making an appropriation
therefor.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Notwithstanding Sections 13340 and 16361 of the
Government Code and to the extent permitted by federal law, the
sum of seven million four hundred ninety-five thousand dollars
($7,495,000) of the money in the Federal Trust Fund, created by
Section 16360 of the Government Code, received by the state from
federal oil overcharge funds in the Petroleum Violation Escrow
Account, as defined by Section 155 of the Further Continuing
Appropriations Act of 1983 (P.L. 97-377) or other federal law, and
received by the state from federal oil overcharge funds available
pursuant to court judgments or federal agency orders, is hereby
appropriated to the State Energy Resources Conservation and
Development Commission for allocation as follows:

(a) $300,000 to the County of Santa Clara for the establishment
and operation of one or more transportation management
associations within the county.

(b) $775,000 to the County of Santa Clara for a traffic idling
reduction demonstration program.

(c) $200,000 to provide a grant to RIDES for Bay Area Commuters
for the purchase and installation of a new computer system for
rideshare matching service and rideshare management information.

(d) $650,000 to the City of San Jose for a traffic surveillance system
for congestion reduction and energy savings.

(e) $200,000 to the City of San Buenaventura to demonstrate the
energy savings associated with connecting 40 traffic signals to a
central traffic signal surveillance system computer.

(f) $300,000 to the County of San Mateo to demonstrate energy
savings and air quality improvement associated with the formation
of one or more transportation systems management programs within
the county.

(g) $620,000 to the County of San Mateo to demonstrate the
energy savings and air quality improvement associated with the
installation of a series of commercially available technologies
associated with reducing traffic congestion, as follows:

(1) $250,000 on Highway 82 from the south city limits of Redwood
City to the north city limits of Belmont.

(2) $250,000 on Woodside Road from El Camino Real to Alameda
de Las Pulgas.

(3) $120,000 on Industrial Road (northbound) and Holly Street.

(h) $500,000 to the City of Oakland to demonstrate energy savings
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and air quality improvement which result from installing a
commercially available system to enhance traffic flow.

(i) $1,450,000 to the Department of Transportation to
demonstrate the energy conservation and air quality benefits
associated with installing commercially available systems to enhance
traffic flow, as follows:

(1) $100,000 for State Route 1 at the entrance to Cuesta College.

(2) $100,000 for State Route 1 at Ardath Drive in Cambria.

(3) $200,000 for State Route 101 at Teft Street, northbound and
southbound freeway ramps.

(4) $300,000 for State Route 1 at the California Men’s Colony.

(5) $750,000 for State Route 39 between State Route 405 and
Lincoln Avenue.

(i) $750,000 to the County of Contra Costa for a demonstration
project associated with the East Bay Commuter Rail Plan.

(k) $400,000 to the City of Anaheim to demonstrate the energy
savings and air quality improvement associated with the installation
of a series of commercially available technologies including, but not
limited to, a route message sign, closed circuit television cameras for
traffic surveillance, and energy efficient pedestrian signals.

(1) $250,000 to the Cities of Downey and Cerritos for
demonstrating energy savings by providing on-demand vanpools to
seniors through its paratransit service.

(m) $300,000 to the City of El Monte to demonstrate an
interjurisdictional traffic flow improvement program.

(n) $250,000 divided equally between the City of Modesto and the
County of Stanislaus for conversion to traffic sensing/activated
control systems.

(o) $250,000 to the City of Calexico to demonstrate the energy
reduction effects of a demand-responsive vanpool program for
seniors and handicapped.

(p) $300,000 to the County of Santa Clara for a trip reduction
program serving commuters between San Jose and the Cities of Los
Gatos, Saratoga, and Cupertino.

Transportation projects funded under this section shall comply
with generally accepted engineering and public safety criteria
applicable to the projects.

SEC. 2. Money in the Federal Trust Fund created by Section
16360 of the Government Code, received by the state from federal
oil overcharge funds in the petroleum violation escrow account,
which is available for appropriation during the 1989-90 fiscal year,
shall be appropriated in accordance with subdivision (b) of Section
4 of Chapter 1426 of the Statutes of 1988, which declared the intent
of the Legislature to appropriate one-half of each future
disbursement received by the state from the account for
implementation of the Katz Safe Schoolbus Clean Fuel Efficiency
Demonstration Program (Part 10.7 (commencing with Section
17910) of the Education Code).

SEC. 3. Funds appropriated by this act from the Petroleum
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Violation Escrow Account shall be disbursed by the Controller,
subject to approval by the Director of Finance as to which court
judgment or federal agency order is the proper source of those funds.

CHAPTER 1649

An act to add Section 15202.1 to, and to amend and repeal Section
15202 of, the Government Code, relating to county finance.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 15202 of the Government Code, as amended
by Section 3 of Chapter 987 of the Statutes of 1988, is amended to
read:

15202. (a) A county with a population of 300,000 or less, at the
time of the 1980 decennial census, which is responsible for the cost
of a trial or trials or any hearing of a person for the offense of
homicide may apply to the Controller for reimbursement of 90
percent of the costs incurred by the county for each such trial or
hearing, without regard to fiscal year, in excess of the amount of
money derived by the county from a tax of 0.00625 of 1 percent of
the full value of property assessed for purposes of taxation within the
county.

(b) (1) A county with a population of 200,000 or less, as of January
1, 1990, which is responsible for the cost of two or more trials or
hearings within a fiscal year of a person or persons for the offense of
homicide may apply to the Controller for reimbursement of 90
percent of the costs incurred in a fiscal year by the county for the
conduct of the first trial within a fiscal year, and 85 percent of the
costs incurred in a fiscal year by the county for the conduct of any
and all subsequent trials or hearings in excess of the amount of money
derived by the county from a tax of 0.00625 of 1 percent of the full
value of property assessed for purposes of taxation within the county.

(2) A county with a population of 200,000 or less, as of January 1,
1990, which, within a fiscal year, is reimbursed for costs incurred by
the county for the conduct of only one trial or hearing pursuant to
subdivision (a) shall be reimbursed for that one trial or hearing in
subsequent fiscal years for costs incurred in those subsequent fiscal
years without again being required to expend county funds equal to
0.00625 of 1 percent of the full value of property assessed for purposes
of taxation within the county, so long as all reimbursements to the
county under this paragraph are for only that one trial or hearing.

For purposes of this subdivision, in determining the costs of a
homicide trial, trials, hearing, or hearings, the costs shall include, all
pretrial, trial, and posttrial costs incurred in connection with the
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investigation, prosecution, and defense of a homicide case or cases
within a fiscal year, including, but not limited to, the costs incurred
by the district attorney, sheriff, public defender, and witnesses,
which were reasonably required by the court and participants in the
case or cases, and other extraordinary costs associated with the
investigation in homicide cases.

(¢) A county with a population exceeding 300,000 at the time of
the 1980 decennial census which is responsible for the cost of a trial
or trials or any hearing of a person for the offense of homicide may
apply to the Controller for reimbursement of 80 percent of the costs
incurred by the county in excess of the amount of money derived by
the county from a tax of 0.00625 of 1 percent, and not in excess of the
amount of money derived from a tax of 0.0125 of 1 percent, and for
reimbursement of 100 percent of the costs incurred in excess of the
amount of money derived from a tax of 0.0125 percent, of the full
value of property assessed for purposes of taxation within the county.

(d) The Controller shall not reimburse any county for costs that
exceed the standards for travel and per diem expenses set forth in
Sections 700 to 715, and 718, of Title 2 of the California Code of
Regulations. The Controller may reimburse extraordinary costs in
unusual cases if the county provides sufficient justification of the
need for these expenditures. Nothing in this section shall permit the
reimbursement of costs for travel in excess of 1,000 miles on any
single round trip, without the prior approval of the Attorney
General.

(e) The Legislature recognizes that the conduct of trials for
persons accused of homicide should not be hampered or delayed
because of a lack of funds available to the counties for that purpose.
While this section is intended to provide an equitable basis for
determining the allocation to the state of the costs of homicide trials
in any particular county, the rising costs of those trials necessitate an
objective study to assure reasonable financial restraints and
incentives for cost-effectiveness that do not place an unreasonable
burden on the treasury of the smaller counties.

This section shall remain operative only until January 1, 1995, and
as of that date is repealed.

SEC. 2. Section 15202 of the Government Code, as added by
Section 4 of Chapter 987 of the Statutes of 1988, is amended to read:

15202. A county which is responsible for the cost of a trial or trials
or any hearing of a person for the offense of homicide may apply to
the Controller for reimbursement of the costs incurred by the county
in excess of the amount of money derived by the county from a tax
of 0.0125 of 1 percent of the full value of property assessed for
purposes of taxation within the county.

The Controller shall not reimburse any county for costs that
exceed the State Board of Control’s standards for travel and per diem
expenses. The Controller may reimburse extraordinary costs in
unusual cases if the county provides sufficient justification of the
need for these expenditures. Nothing in this section shall permit the
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reimbursement of costs for travel in excess of 1,000 miles on any
single round trip, without the prior approval of the Attorney
General.

This section shall become operative on January 1, 1995.

SEC. 3. Section 15202.1 is added to the Government Code, to
read:

15202.1. (a) If the venue for trial of a homicide case has been
changed from the county which is eligible for reimbursement under
Section 15202 to a location more than 60 miles from the county seat
of that county, and the district attorney of that county has entered
into a contract with an attorney to try the case or an investigator to
assist in the trial of the case, the Controller shall reimburse the
county for the actual costs of the attorney or investigator under this
section, at an hourly rate not to exceed the hourly rate charged state
agencies by the Attorney General for similar attorney services or
investigators, without further showing of justification. Nothing in this
section shall permit the reimbursement of costs for travel in excess
of 1,000 miles on any single round trip, without the prior approval of
the Attorney General.

(b) This section shall apply to any homicide cases in which a final
judgment was entered prior to January 1, 1990.

SEC. 4. The Legislature finds and declares that under existing
law, including, but not limited to, Sections 11019.6 and 15202 of the
Government Code, the County of Calaveras will not be reimbursed
for the extraordinary expenses related to the homicide trial of
Charles Chitat Ng which will cause a severe drain on its cash flow.
Therefore, notwithstanding any other provision of law, the County
of Calveras may apply to the Controller for reimbursement of 100
percent of its costs incident to the homicide trial of Charles Chitat
Ng, incurred between January 1, 1991, and January 1, 1993. Nothing
in this section shall permit the reimbursement of costs for travel in
excess of 1,000 miles on any single round trip, without the prior
approval of the Attorney General.

SEC. 5. Due to the unique circumstances concerning the
extraordinary costs to the County of Calaveras incident to the
Charles Chitat Ng trial described in Section 5 of this act, the
Legislature finds and declares that a general statute cannot be made
applicable within the meaning of Section 16 of Article IV of the
California Constitution. Therefore, legislation applicable only to
Calaveras County is necessary under these circumstances.
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CHAPTER 1650

An act relating to state approval of design and construction plans.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990 Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. (a) The State Architect, the Office of Statewide
Health Planning, and the State Fire Marshal shall establish a two and
one-half year pilot project, ending June 30, 1993, to consolidate each
agency'’s school and hospital plan checking functions at two separate
locations in southern California.

(b) At least one consolidated office shall be in Los Angeles. The
location of the other office shall be determined by these agencies
through mutual decision.

(¢) The purpose of the consolidation shall be to provide
over-the-counter plan checks for less complex projects falling under
a certain size or construction cost, as determined by the agencies.

(d) The Legislative Analyst’s office, as part of its annual review of
the 1992-93 Budget Bill, shall evaluate the cost effectiveness and
efficiency of the pilot project and make recommendations on
whether the consolidation should be made permanent and what
changes, if any, should be implemented to improve office operations.

SEC. 2. (a) The State Architect shall prepare a plan for
improved allocation of state agencies’ resources in order to meet the
state’s responsibilities for review and approval of school and hospital
design and construction. The plan shall be developed in conjunction
with the State Fire Marshal, the Director of the Office of Statewide
Health Planning and Development, and the public.

(b) The plan shall address all of the following:

(1) Increased allocation of resources to southern California offices
of the State Fire Marshal, the Office of Statewide Health Planning
and Development, and the State Architect, to allow plans for projects
in that region to be reviewed locally, rather than in Sacramento.

(2) Options for consolidation of the various field offices of the
State Architect, the State Fire Marshal, and the Office of Statewide
Health Planning and Development into single locations.

(3) Procedures for the State Architect, the State Fire Marshal, and
the Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development to
routinely provide expedited over-the-counter plan checks on less
complex projects falling under a certain size or construction cost.

SEC. 3. (a) The State Architect shall prepare a plan to
implement a comprehensive computer tracking system to track
applications for all types of state design and construction related
permits and approvals. The State Architect shall develop this plan
with the participation of the State Fire Marshal, the Director of the
Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development, the Director
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of the Office of Local Assistance, and the public.

(b) The system shall be linked between all agencies involved with
review and approval of design and construction.

(c) The plan shall provide for periodic notification to project
owners, or the architects or engineers representing the owners, of
the status and progress of their projects in the approval process.

(d) The plan shall provide for tracking of the average time
required to complete each phase of the approval process.

(e) The system shall identify projects that take substantially
longer than average to complete a phase of the approval process.

SEC. 4. The State Architect shall submit the plans required by
Sections 2 and 3 to the Governor and the Legislature not later than
July 1, 1991.

CHAPTER 1651

An act relating to transportation, and making an appropriation
therefor.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. (a) If funds are available pursuant to Section 2 of
this act, the Department of General Services, in coordination with
the Department of Transportation, shall conduct a one-year pilot
project utilizing the process of telecommuting as an alternative to
commuting between home and work for employees in private
industry (1) between the Counties of Orange and Riverside and (2)
between the high desert region and Interstate Route 10 in the
County of San Bernardino. The Department of General Services
shall use those funds to enter into a contract with a private sector
regional commuter service provider to implement the project.

(b) The Department of General Services, in cooperation with the
Department of Transportation, shall report on its experiences under
the pilot project, together with its recommendations, to the
Legislature on or before July 1, 1992.

{c) The report required by subdivision (¢) shall include, but not
be limited to, a program evaluation, financial statement, and
comments of participants in the pilot project. The program
evaluation shall include specific data on the number of participants,
frequency of use by each participant and the average daily use of any
telecommuting center established as a result of this act, an estimate
of the number of commute trips reduced as a result of this pilot
project, and a projection of the number of commute trips that could
be avoided if this program were extended for five years. The
financial statement shall detail the costs of implementing this pilot
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project and compare the costs of the pilot project to the costs of
traffic controls that would otherwise be necessary to accommodate
the level of traffic which the program evaluation estimates could be
diverted within five years if the pilot project were continued. The
pilot project shall be considered a success if the number of normal
commute trips diverted to telecommuting is cost-effective when
compared to the alternative of constructing traffic controls necessary
to reduce the same number of commute trips diverted to
telecommuting under the pilot project on an average daily usage
basis.

SEC. 2. For purposes of Sections 1 and 3 of this act,
“telecommuting” means the partial or total substitution of
computers or telecommunication technologies, or both, for the
commute to work by employees.

SEC. 3. (a) Notwithstanding Sections 13340 and 16361 of the
Government Code, and to the extent permitted by federal law, the
sum of two hundred thousand dollars ($200,000) of the money in the
Federal Trust Fund, created by Section 16360 of the Government
Code, received by the state from federal oil overcharge funds in the
Petroleum Violation Escrow Account, as defined by Section 155 of
the Further Continuing Appropriations Act of 1983 (P.L. 97-377) or
other federal law, and received by the state from federal oil
overcharge funds available pursuant to court judgments or federal
agency orders, is hereby appropriated to the Department of General
Services for purposes of Section 1 of this act, as follows:

(1) One hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) for the Riverside
County-Orange County portion of the telecommuting project.
However, the funds may not be encumbered unless the department
first obtains not less than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000)
from the Riverside County Transportation Commission and not less
than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) from private industry
for those purposes.

(2) One hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) for the San
Bernardino County portion of the telecommuting project. However,
the funds may not be encumbered unless the department first
obtains not less than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) from
the San Bernardino County Transportation Commission and not less
than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) from private industry
for these purposes.

(b) Funds appropriated by this act from the petroleum violation
escrow account shall be dispersed by the Controller, subject to
approval by the Director of Finance as to which court judgment or
federal agency order is the proper source of those funds.
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CHAPTER 1652

An act to amend Section 30700.6 of, and to add Section 31015 to,
the Water Code, relating to county water districts.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990 Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990 ]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 30700.6 of the Water Code is amended to
read:

30700.6. (a) Notwithstanding Section 30021 or any other
provision of the law, qualified voters at elections for directors or
otherwise in the Sierra Lakes County Water District shall be (1)
voters who are residents of the district, and (2) every owner of real
property within the district, who is not a resident of the district.

{b) The last equalized county assessment roll shall be conclusive
evidence of ownership of the real property so owned. Where land is
owned in joint tenancy, tenancy in common, or any other multiple
ownership, the owners of the land shall designate in writing which
one of the owners shall be deemed the owner of the land for purposes
of qualifying as a voter.

(c) The legal representative of a corporation or estate owning real
property may vote on behalf of the corporation or estate. As used in
this section, legal representative means an official of a corporation
owning real property or a guardian, executor, or administrator of the
estate of the holder of title to real property who:

(1) Is appointed under the laws of this state.

(2) Is entitled to the possession of the estate’s real property.

(3) Is authorized by the appointing court to exercise the
particular right, privilege, or immunity which he or she seeks to
exercise.

Before a legal representative votes at a district election, he or she
shall present to the precinct board a certified copy of his or her
authority which shall be kept and filed with the returns of the
election.

(d) Every voter, or his or her legal representative, may vote at any
district election either in person or by a person duly appointed as his
or her proxy, but shall be entitled to cast only one vote. The
appointment of a proxy shall be as provided in Section 35005.
Elections shall be conducted pursuant to Article 1 (commencing
with Section 35106) of Chapter 2 of Part 4 of Division 13.

(e) This section shall not affect incumbent directors of the district,
but in the event of a vacancy or upon the expiration of each present
term, each director, upon taking office or commencing a new term,
shall be a voter as defined in this section.

SEC. 2. Section 31015 is added to the Water Code, to read:

31015. The Sierra Lakes County Water District shall not exercise
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any of the powers and purposes set forth in Article 7 (commencing
with Section 31120), Article 8 (commencing with Section 31130), and
Article 9 (commencing with Section 31135).

SEC.3. The provisions of this act are necessary because there are
a substantial number of resident voters in the Sierra Lakes County
Water District, as well as a substantial number of landowners within
the district, who are concerned with the affairs and support of the
district. The problem is not common to all districts formed under the
County Water District Law. It is therefore hereby declared that a
general law cannot be made applicable and that the enactment of
this act as a special law is necessary for the solution of problems
existing in the Sierra Lakes County Water District.

SEC. 4. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to
Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution because this
act is in accordance with the request of a local agency or school
district which desired legislative authority to carry out the program
specified in this act. Notwithstanding Section 17580 of the
Government Code, unless otherwise specified in this act, the
provisions of this act shall become operative on the same date that
the act takes effect pursuant to the California Constitution.

CHAPTER 1653

An act to add Article 4 (commencing with Section 14170) to
Chapter 2 of Part 5 of, and to add Chapter 8.5 (commencing with
Section 14925) to Part 5.5 of, Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government
Code, relating to transportation, and making an appropriation
therefor.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. (a) The Legislature finds and declares all of the
following:

(1) Many areas of the state are experiencing severe traffic
congestion and air pollution.

(2) It is in the interest of the state to promote the use of mass
transit and high-occupancy vehicles for commuting to work.

(3) Studies show that parents with young children are less likely
to use mass transit or other alternatives to single-occupancy vehicles.
Concern over their ability to respond quickly in case of a family
emergency is one of the most common reasons cited for failing to use
mass transit or other‘alternatives to single-occupancy commuting.

(4) In surveys of single-occupancy vehicle commuters, between
15 and 30 percent state that availability of a car for use in the case
of an emergency would be an incentive to rideshare.
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(b) It is the intent of the Legislature in enacting this act to
encourage development of programs and policies that promote the
use of mass transit and high-occupancy vehicle commuting. This can
be accomplished, in part, by assuring commuters that they can
respond, on a timely basis, to a personal emergency, unanticipated
change in work schedule, or other commute-linked emergency.

SEC. 2. Article 4 (commencing with Section 14170) is added to
Chapter 2 of Part 5 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code,
to read:

Article 4. Guaranteed Return Trip Demonstration Project

14170. This article and Chapter 8.5 (commencing with Section
14925) of Part 5.5 shall be known and may be cited as the Guaranteed
Return Trip Demonstration Project.

14171. The department shall establish and administer the
Guaranteed Return Trip Demonstration Project in accordance with
this article. The department shall develop standards and guidelines
for the demonstration project, including a definition of return trip
eligibility, and, upon approval of those standards and guidelines by
the director, shall implement the project.

14172. The department shall publicize the project and solicit
proposals for programs designed to provide mass transit and
high-occupancy vehicle commuters with transportation to their
homes, their personal vehicles, or another agreed upon location in
the event of an emergency or specific unforeseen occurrence.

14173. The department shall prescribe forms to be utilized to
apply for a grant to fund a proposed program, and shall adopt
regulations prescribing qualifications for eligibility for the award of
a grant, and establishing standards for auditing the expenditure of
grant funds.

14174. The Guaranteed Return Trip Fund is hereby created in
the State Treasury. An amount not exceeding one hundred fifty
thousand dollars ($150,000) for each of the calendar years of 1991 and
1992, is hereby appropriated from the fund for the purpose of making
grants pursuant to this article, and for the purposes of Chapter 8.5
(commencing with Section 14925) of Part 5.5, including the costs of
the Department of General Services and the Department of
Transportation, in administering this article and that Chapter 8.5.

14175. Grants of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) for
projects covering a single employer or not more than fifteen
thousand dollars ($15,000) for projects covering multiple employers
may be made to public and private entities, including, but not
limited to, all of the following:

(a) Local governmental entities, including, but not limited to,
transit districts.

(b) Transportation management organizations and other
associations formed to promote the use of high-occupancy vehicle
commuting.
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(¢) Employers and groups of employers with established
transportation management plans.

(d) Nonprofit organizations which provide transportation
management services.

14176. (a) A public or private entity may submit to the
department a program proposal and an application for a grant to
fund the development and initial operation of a proposed program.

(b) To be eligible for funding, a proposed program shall meet all
of the following criteria:

(1) Serve regular users of mass transit or high-occupancy vehicle
commute modes.

(2) Provide transportation at no cost or at a nominal cost not to
exceed the amount normally spent for home-to-work transportation
by such means as a taxi, rental car, fleet car, or escort service, to the
user’s home or other agreed upon location.

(3) Agree to report to the department, not later than one year
after receipt of a grant, regarding the effectiveness of the program,
as indicated by:

(A) The number of participants using the guaranteed return trip
program.

(B) Whether the program has increased the number of
commuters using alternatives to single-occupancy vehicle
commuting.

(4) Develop written policies specifying eligibility and procedures
for use of the guaranteed return trip option.

14177. The department shall evaluate each proposal submitted to
it and award grants to qualified applicants which are selected for
participation in the demonstration project. Grants shall be awarded
in a manner which assures a reasonable distribution of grant funds
throughout the state. A grant shall not be renewable.

14178. The amount of any grant shall be matched on a
dollar-for-dollar basis by the grant applicant. The funds granted,
together with the matching funds, shall be used solely for purposes
of the guaranteed return trip program, as specified in Section 14180.

14179. The recipient of a grant may use the funds for costs related
to the development and operation of a guaranteed return trip
program, including any of the following:

(a) Development and administration of the program.

(b) Program operating costs.

(¢) Promotion of the program and the recruitment of
participants.

(d) Significant expansion of currently existing programs.

14180. Upon its selection of a proposed program and the award
of a grant for the program, the department shall notify the Controller
of its action, and the Controller shall disburse the amount of the
grant, as specified by the department, to the applicant from the
Guaranteed Return Trip Fund.

14181. The department shall conduct an evaluation of the
Guaranteed Return Trip Demonstration Project in order to
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determine the effectiveness of individual programs funded pursuant
to this article in promoting the use of mass transit and
high-occupancy vehicle commuting. Not later than July 30, 1993, the
department shall submit to the Legislature the results of its
evaluation of the demonstration project, together with its
recommendations as to whether the project should be continued.
SEC. 3. Chapter 8.5 (commencing with Section 14925) is added
to Part 5.5 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code, to read:

CHAPTER 8.5. GUARANTEED RETURN TRIP DEMONSTRATION
PROJECT

14925. This chapter and Article 4 (commencing with Section
14170) of Chapter 2 of Part 5 shall be known and may be cited as the
Guaranteed Return Trip Demonstration Project.

14926. The Department of General Services shall establish and
administer the Guaranteed Return Trip Demonstration Project in
accordance with this chapter.

14927. The demonstration project shall utilize state owned
equipment and facilities operated by the department, or equipment
and services contracted for by the department, to make return trip
transportation available to eligible state employees in cases of
emergency or other unforeseen circumstances which make it
necessary for the employee to leave his or her workplace. The
transportation shall be provided at no cost or at a nominal cost not
to exceed the amount normally spent for home-to-work
transportation by such means as a taxi, rental car, fleet car, or escort
service, to the employee’s home or other agreed upon location.

14928. The department shall develop standards and guidelines
for the demonstration project, including standards for eligibility for
and utilization of services provided under the demonstration project.
The services shall be available to all state employees who regularly
commute to work by use of mass transit or high-occupancy vehicle.

14929. (a) The department shall conduct an evaluation of the
Guaranteed Return Trip Demonstration Project established
pursuant to this chapter to determine the effectiveness of the project
in promoting the use of mass transit and high-occupancy vehicle
commuting by state employees. The evaluation shall include all of
the following:

(1) Utilization of services under the project.

(2) Cost of providing services.

(3) Impact of the project on the patterns of mass transit and
high-occupancy vehicle usage by state employees.

(b) Not later than July 30, 1993, the department shall submit to the
Legislature the results of its evaluation of the demonstration project,
together with its recommendation as to whether the project should
be continued.

SEC. 4. (a) Notwithstanding Sections 13340 and 16361 of the
Government Code, and to the extent permitted by federal law, the
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sum of three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) of the money in
the Federal Trust Fund, which is created by Section 16360 of the
Government Code, received by the state from federal oil overcharge
funds in the petroleum violation escrow account, as defined by
Section 155 of the Further Continuing Appropriations Act of 1983
(P.L. 97-377) or other federal law, and from federal oil overcharge
funds available pursuant to court judgment or federal agency orders,
is hereby appropriated for deposit in the Guaranteed Return Trip
Fund created by Section 14174 of the Government Code for the
purpose of funding the projects established pursuant to Sections 2
and 3 of this act.

(b) Funds appropriated by this section from the petroleum
violation escrow account shall be disbursed by the Controller, subject
to approval by the Director of Finance as to which court judgment
or federal agency order is the proper source of funds.

CHAPTER 1654

An act to add Section 21080.04 to the Public Resources Code,
relating to environmental quality, and declaring the urgency
thereof, to take effect immediately.

{Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 21080.04 is added to the Public Resources
Code, to read:

21080.04. (a) Notwithstanding paragraph (11) of subdivision (b)
of Section 21080, this division applies to a project for the institution
of passenger rail service on a line paralleling State Highway 29 and
running from Rocktram to Krug in the Napa Valley. With respect to
that project, and for the purposes of this division, the Public Utilities
Commission is the lead agency.

(b) It is the intent of the Legislature in enacting this section to
abrogate the decision of the California Supreme Court “that Section
21080, subdivision (b)(11), exempts Wine Train’s institution of
passenger service on the Rocktram-Krug line from the requirements
of CEQA” in Napa Valley Wine Train, Inc. v. Public Utilities Com.,
50 Cal. 3d 370.

(c) Nothing in this section is intended to affect or apply to, or to
confer jurisdiction upon the Public Utilities Commission with respect
to, any other project involving rail service.

SEC. 2. The Legislature finds and declares that Section 21080.04
of the Public Resources Code, as added by Section 1 of this act, is
necessary since special facts and circumstances applicable to the
institution of excursion rail service by the Napa Valley Wine Train,
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and not generally applicable to the institution of passenger rail
service on rights-of-way in continuous service, would make the
accomplishment of this purpose impossible by any general law. The
Legislature further finds and declares that these circumstances are
unique, that the purpose of this act is impossible to accomplish by any
general law, and that a special statute within the meaning of Section
16 of Article IV of the California Constitution applicable only to the
institution of this service is therefore necessary.

SEC. 3. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety within
the meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into
immediate effect. The facts constituting the necessity are:

In order that an environmental impact report be prepared
assessing the impact of the Napa Valley Wine Train on the Napa
Valley at the earliest possible time, it is necessary that this act take
effect immediately.

CHAPTER 1655

An act relating to energy resources, and making an appropriation
therefor.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. The Legislature hereby finds and declares all of the
following:

(a) Improved energy efficiency in all sectors of the state’s
economy is a crucial element of California’s energy policy.

{(b) California’s policies for energy efficiency need to look ahead
to the 1990 decade and beyond to ensure that the necessary
investments in research, development, and technology are made
soon.

(c) An effective state energy efficiency research and
development program should be based on a public and private
partnership among the state’s energy utilities, selected industrial and
commercial participants, the State Energy Resources Conservation
and Development Commission, the Public Utilities Commmission, and
the University of California, including the university’s energy
research groups, and in particular, the California Institute for Energy
Efficiency of the University of California.

SEC. 2. (a) Notwithstanding Sections 13340 and 16361 of the
Government Code, and to the extent permitted by federal law, the
sumn of one million dollars ($1,000,000) of the money in the Federal
Trust Fund, which is created by Section 16360 of the Government
Code, received by the state from federal oil overcharge funds in the
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Petroleum Violation Escrow Account, as defined by Section 155 of
the Further Continuing Appropriations Act of 1983 (P.L. 97-377) or
other federal law, and from federal oil overcharge funds available
pursuant to court judgments or federal agency orders, is hereby
appropriated to the State Energy Resources Conservation and
Development Commission for allocation to the University of
California for support of the California Institute for Energy
Efficiency. The commission shall make the funding available only if
the utilities of this state provide funding of at least four million dollars
($4,000,000) for the institute.

(b) At least 30 percent of the funds made available to the
California Institute for Energy Efficiency pursuant to this act shall be
used for research, development, and application of energy efficiency
measures which contribute to environmental protection goals,
including significant air pollution reductions.

SEC. 3. Money in the Federal Trust Fund created by Section
16360 of the Government Code, received by the state from federal
oil overcharge funds in the Petroleum Violation Escrow Account,
which is available for appropriation during the 1990-91 fiscal year,
shall be appropriated in accordance with subdivision (b) of Section
4 of Chapter 1426 of the Statutes of 1988, which declares the intent
of the Legislature to appropriate one-half of each future
disbursement received by the state from the account for the
implementation of the Katz Safe School Bus Clean Fuel Efficiency
Demonstration Program (Part 10.7 (commencing with Section
17910) of the Education Code).

SEC. 4. Funds appropriated by this act from the Petroleum
Violation Escrow Account shall be dispersed by the Controller,
subject to approval by the Director of Finance as to which court
judgment or federal agency order is the proper source of those funds.

CHAPTER 1656

An act to add Section 20750.92 to, to add and repeal Section
20750.93 of, and to repeal Section 20760 of, the Government Code,
relating to the Public Employees’ Retirement System.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990 Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 20750.92 is added to the Government Code,
to read:

20750.92. Notwithstanding any other provision of this part, all
assets of an employer shall be used in the determination of the
employer contribution rate for the membership comprising the basis
of the computation. Assets held shall be recognized over the same

238200



7902 STATUTES OF 1990 [ Ch. 1657

funding period used to amortize unfunded accrued actuarial
obligations whether in excess of the accrued actuarial obligation or
not, using the entry age normal funding method.

For the purpose of this section, “employer” means any contracting
agency, the state, or a school employer.

The actuarial report in the annual financial report shall also
express the effect upon employer contribution rates of this section
and of the recognition of net unrealized gains and losses.

This section shall become operative on July 1, 1997.

SEC. 2. Section 20750.93 is added to the Government Code, to
read:

20750.93. The board shall recognize, over the same funding
period used to amortize unfunded accrued actuarial obligations,
using the entry age normal funding method, that portion of assets of
an employer currently designated as excess assets in each fiscal year
equal to the following:

1993-94 20%
1994-95 40%
1995-96 60%
1996-97 80%

This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1998, and
as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute which is
chaptered before January 1, 1998, deletes or extends that date.

SEC. 3. Section 20760 of the Government Code is repealed.

CHAPTER 1657

An act to add Chapter 1.5 (commencing with Section 3475) to
Division 3 of the Public Resources Code, relating to used oil, and
making an appropriation therefor.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990 Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990 ]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. (a) The Legislature finds and declares as follows:

(1) If all of the available used oil in California was recycled, this
state could save more than one million barrels of fuel per year.

(2) Out of a barrel of crude oil one can get 2.5 quarts of virgin
motor oil plus other petroleum products. It takes only a gallon of used
motor oil to get 2.5 quarts of high quality motor oil.

(3) Recycling used oil takes 70 percent less energy than refining
new oil, saving additional energy and money.

(4) In 1988, an estimated 137 million gallons of used oil was
available for recycling in California. Of that total, only 46 percent was
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recycled.

(8) One gallon of oil can contaminate 1,000,000 gallons of drinking
water.

(6) One year of pouring used automobile oil down storm drains is
equivalent to about three dozen Valdez oil spills.

(7) The need for local government efforts to collect used oil from
the public for purposes of energy conservation and environmental
protection has never been greater.

(b) It is, therefore, the intent of the Legislature in enacting the
Used Qil Collection Demonstration Grant Program Act of 1990 to
provide a means of promoting energy conservation, as well as
protecting the environment.

SEC. 2. Chapter 1.5 (commencing with Section 3475) is added to
Division 3 of the Public Resources Code, to read:

CHAPTER 1.5. USED OIL COLLECTION DEMONSTRATION PROGRAM
Article 1. Short Title and Definitions

3475. This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the Used
Oil Collection Demonstration Grant Program Act of 1990.

3476. The definitions in this article govern the construction of this
chapter.

3477. “Administrative costs” means those costs directly
associated with regulation of the implementation of a used oil
collection project.

3477.1. “Board” means the California Integrated Waste
Management Board.

3477.5. *“Capital outlay” means those costs directly associated
with the purchase of equipment necessary to implement a used oil
collection project. The costs may include, but are not limited to, the
cost of material and labor associated with the installation of that
equipment. Capital outlay does not include land acquisition costs.

3478. “Local agency” means a city, county, or city and county.

3479. “Used oil collection project” means a project undertaken
by a local agency to encourage the collection, recycling, and proper
disposal of used oil generated at households. “Used oil collection
project” includes, but is not limited to, integration of used oil
collection into existing curbside collection programs, retrofitting of
solid waste collection equipment to promote curbside collection
programs, and a public education and awareness program to
promote opportunities for, and to educate the public as to the
benefits from, the recycling of used oil.

Article 2. Grants for Used Oil Collection Demonstration Projects
3480. The board shall develop and administer a used oil grant
program. On or before July 1, 1991, the board shall adopt regulations

for the administration of this chapter and make grant applications
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available.

3481. The purpose of the used oil collection demonstration grant
program is to encourage the establishment of public used oil
collection projects and to provide capital outlay and other costs to
provide households with the capability of collection used oil
generated in those households and to encourage the collection,
recycling, and proper disposal of used oil.

3482. (a) Alocal agency shall not use more than 5 percent of any
grant for administrative costs.

(b) The board shall not use more than 10 percent of funds made
available for the grant program under this chapter for administrative
costs.

3483. The board shall establish criteria for the granting of funds
for used oil collection projects conducted by local agencies,
including, but not limited to, information relating to proposed
project costs and capital outlay.

3484. (a) Local agencies which have established public used oil
curbside collection projects on or before January 1, 1991, are eligible
for grants under this article to expand and upgrade those projects.
Grant funds shall not be utilized to replace current funding sources.

(b) The grant to any local government shall not exceed
seventy-five thousand dollars ($75,000) per grant. Local agencies
may pool their grant funds to implement coordinated or
complementary used oil collection projects.

3485. Grant funds shall be made available on a competitive basis
to local agencies if requests for grants exceed available funds.

3485.5. The following criteria shall be used to evaluate grant
applications:

(a) The need for a used oil collection project within a jurisdiction.

(b) The commitment of local agency funds to the used oil
collection project.

(¢) The commitment of the local agency to continue the used oil
collection project after state funding has expired.

(d) The consideration given to a curbside used oil collection
program.

3486. The board shall determine the contents of grant
applications and the methods for evaluating the applications.

3787. The board shall evaluate each grant application for its
potential to satisfy the requirements of this chapter and shall award
the grant based on the evaluation. The board shall notify the
applicant of the approval or denial of the grant application on or
before January 1, 1992.

3488. (a) On or before January 1, 1993, the grant recipient shall
submit to the board a report describing the implementation of the
project and the extent to which the program was successful in
addressing the problem of illegal disposal of used oil. The report shall
include all of the following information:

(1) A description of the used oil curbside collection project.

(2) An account of the number of households participating in the
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project.

(3) The amount of used oil collected as a result of the curbside
collection project.

(4) A determination of whether this demonstration program can
be made applicable to other local agencies throughout the state.

(5) A description of measures taken by the local agency to
continue the program.

(b) On or before March 1, 1993, the board shall submit to the
Legislature the report received pursuant to subdivision (a), together
with recommendations for the use of the program for applicability
to local agencies throughout the state.

3489. A local agency that establishes or otherwise expends grant
funds provided pursuant to this chapter shall:

(a) Comply with the requirements in the regulations concerning
notification and reporting.

(b) Provide adequate containment capacity for the containers or
tanks used to store used oil in the case of a leak or spill.

(¢) Provide sufficient security for centers to minimize vandalism
and improper disposal of hazardous substances into used oil
containers.

3490. Storage containers, such as drums and tanks, used to store
used oil shall be in good condition and shall meet any applicable
design and construction standards.

Article 3. Financing

3491. There is hereby created in the State Treasury the Used Oil
Collection Demonstration Grant Fund. Notwithstanding Section
13340 of the Government Code, the money in the Used Oil
Collection Demonstration Grant Fund is continuously appropriated
to the board for the purposes of this chapter.

3492. (a) Notwithstanding Sections 13340 and 16361 of the
Government Code, and to the extent permitted by federal law, the
surn of one million dollars ($1,000,000) of money in the Federal Trust
Fund, created pursuant to Section 16360 of the Government Code,
received by the state from federal oil overcharge funds in the
Petroleum Violation Escrow Account, is hereby transferred to the
Used Oil Collection Demonstration Grant Fund.

(b) No grant shall be made by the board from funds appropriated
pursuant to subdivision (a) unless an amount equal to 50 percent of
the costs of the project is made available to the applicant from other
public or private sources for the project.

3493. Money in the Federal Trust Fund created by Section 16360
of the Government Code, received by the state from federal oil
overcharge funds in the Petroleum Violation Escrow Account, which
is available for appropriation during the 1990-91 fiscal year, shall be
appropriated in accordance with subdivision (b) of Section 4 of
Chapter 1426 of the Statutes of 1988, which declares the intent of the
Legislature to appropriate one-half of each future disbursement
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received by the state from the account for the implementation of the
Katz Safe School Bus Clean Fuel Efficiency Demonstration Program
(Part 10.7 (commencing with Section 17910) of the Election Code).

3494. Funds transferred from the Petroleum Violation Escrow
Account by this article shall be transferred by the Controller, subject
to approval by the Director of Finance as to which court judgment
or federal agency order is the proper source of those funds.

CHAPTER 1658

An act to amend Sections 35706, 35707, 35709, 35710, and 35753 of,
and to add Section 35710.5, 35710.51, 35712, and 35768 to, the
Education Code, relating to school districts.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990 ]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 35706 of the Education Code is amended to
read:

35706. Within 120 days of the commencement of the first public
hearing on the petition, the county committee shall recommend
approval or disapproval of a petition for unification of school districts
or for the division of the territory of an existing school district into
two or more separate school districts, as the petition may be
augmented, or shall approve or disapprove a petition for the transfer
of territory, as the petition may be augmented.

SEC. 2. Section 35707 of the Education Code is amended to read:

35707. Except for petitions for the transfer of territory, the
county committee shall forthwith transmit the petition to the State
Board of Education together with its recommendations thereon. It
shall also report whether any of the following, in the opinion of the
committee, would be true regarding the proposed reorganization as
described in the petition:

(1) It would adversely affect the school district organization of the
county.

(2) It would be compatible with any master plans submitted by
the county committee and approved by the State Board of
Education.

(3) It would comply with the provisions of Section 35753.

SEC. 3. Section 35709 of the Education Code is amended to read:

35709. If the following conditions are met, the county committee
may approve the petition and order that the petition be granted, and
shall so notify the county board of supervisors:

(a) The county committee finds that the conditions enumerated
in paragraphs (1) to (10), inclusive, of subdivision (a) of Section
35753 are substantially met, and:
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(b) Either:

(1) The petition is to transfer uninhabited territory from one
district to another and the owner of the territory, or a majority of the
owners of the territory, and the governing boards of all school
districts involved in the transfer consent to the transfer; or

(2) The petition is to transfer inhabited territory of less than 10
percent of the assessed valuation of the district from which the
territory is being transferred, and all of the governing boards have
consented to the transfer.

SEC. 4. Section 35710 of the Education Code is amended to read:

35710. For all other petitions to transfer territory, if the county
committee finds that the conditions enumerated in paragraphs (1)
to (10), inclusive, of subdivision (a) of Section 35753 are substantially
met, the county committee may approve the petition and, if
approved, shall so notify the county superintendent of schools who
shall call an election in the territory of the districts as determined by
the county committee and in the manner described in Part 4
(commencing with Section 5000) to be conducted at the next regular
election.

SEC. 5. Section 35710.5 is added to the Education Code, to read:

35710.5. (a) An action by the county committee approving or
disapproving a petition pursuant to Section 35709 or 35710 may be
appealed to the State Board of Education by the chief petitioners or
one or more affected school districts. The appeal shall be limited to
issues of noncompliance with the provisions of Section 35705, 35706,
35709, or 35710. If an appeal is made as to the issue of whether the
proposed transfer will adversely affect the racial or ethnic
integration of the schools of the districts affected, it shall be made
pursuant to Section 35711.

(b) Within five days after the final action of the county
committee, the appellant shall file with the county committee a
notice of appeal and shall provide a copy to the county
superintendent of schools, except that if the appellant is one of the
affected school districts it shall have 30 days to file the notice of
appeal with the county committee and provide a copy to the county
superintendent. Upon the filing of the notice of appeal, the action of
the county committee shall be stayed, pending the outcome of the
appeal. Within 15 days after the filing of the notice of appeal, the
appellant shall file with the county committee a statement of reasons
and factual evidence. The county committee shall then, within 15
days of receipt of the statement, send to the State Board of Education
the statement and the complete administrative record of the county
committee proceedings, including minutes of the oral proceedings.

(c) Upon receipt of the appeal, the State Board of Education may
elect either to review the appeal, or to ratify the county committee’s
decision by summarily denying review of the appeal. The board may
review the appeal either solely on the administrative record or in
conjunction with a public hearing. Following the review, the board
shall affirm or reverse the action of the county committee, and if the

240400



7908 STATUTES OF 1990 [ Ch. 1658

petition will be sent to election, shall determine the territory in
which the election is to be held. The board may reverse or modify
the action of the county committee in any manner consistent with
law.

(d) The decision of the board shall be sent to the county
committee which shall then notify the county board of supervisors
or the county superintendent of schools pursuant to Section 35709 or
35710, as appropriate.

SEC. 6. Section 35710.51 is added to the Education Code, to read:

35710.51. The county superintendent of schools, within 35 days
after receiving the notification provided by Section 35710, shall call
an election, in the manner prescribed in Part 4 (commencing with
Section 5000), to be conducted at the next available regular election,
in the territory of districts as determined by the county committee
on school district organization, or, in the case of territory transfers
appealed to the State Board of Education pursuant to Section
35710.5 (c), as determined by the State Board of Education. The
county superintendent shall not issue an order of election until after
the time for an appeal pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 35710.5
has elapsed.

SEC. 7. Section 35712 is added to the Education Code, to read:

35712. The State Board of Education may adopt rules and
regulations for the implementation of this article, as it deems
necessary.

SEC. 8. Section 35753 of the Education Code is amended to read:

35753. (a) The State Board of Education may approve proposals
for the reorganization of districts, if the board has determined, with
respect to the proposal and the resulting districts, that all of the
following conditions are substantially met:

(1) The new districts will be adequate in terms of number of
pupils enrolled.

(2) The districts are each organized on the basis of a substantial
cornmunity identity.

(3) The proposal will result in an equitable division of property
and facilities of the original district or districts.

(4) The reorganization of the districts will not promote racial or
ethnic discrimination or segregation.

(5) The proposed reorganization will not result in any substantial
increase in costs to the state.

(6) The proposed reorganization will not significantly disrupt the
educational programs in the proposed districts and districts affected
by the proposed reorganization and will continue or promote sound
education performance in those districts.

(7) The proposed reorganization will not result in a significant
increase in school housing costs.

(8) The proposed reorganization is not primarily designed to
result in a significant increase in property values causing financial
advantage to property owners because territory was transferred
from one school district to an adjoining district.
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(9) The proposed reorganization will not negatively affect the
fiscal management or fiscal status of the proposed district or any
existing district affected by the proposed reorganization.

(10) Any other criteria as the board may, by regulation, prescribe.

(b) The State Board of Education may approve a proposal for the
reorganization of school districts if the board determines that it is not
practical or possible to apply the criteria of this section literally, and
that the circumstances with respect to the proposals provide an
exceptional situation sufficient to justify approval of the proposals.

SEC. 9. Section 35768 is added to the Education Code, to read:

35768. The State Board of Education may adopt rules and
regulations for the implementation of this article, as it deems
necessary.

CHAPTER 1659

An act to amend Sections 9322, 22816.7, 22816.8, and 22825.2 of, and
to add Article 8 (commencing with Section 21420) to Chapter 9 of
Part 3 of Division 5 of Title 2 of, the Government Code, relating to
state officers and employees, and making an appropriation therefor.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 9322 of the Government Code, as added by
Chapter 29 of the Statutes of 1990, is amended to read:

9322. (a) Notwithstanding Sections 22816.7 and 22816.8, Part 6
(commencing with Section 22950) of Division 5, or any other law, the
Legislature shall provide dental care plan coverage, pursuant to this
section, for a person who is (1) a former Member of the Assembly
or Senate or former legislative employee and is a state employee, as
defined by paragraph (3) of subdivision (a) of Section 22816.7, (2)
a former Member of the Assembly or Senate or former legislative
employee and who meets the conditions imposed by subdivision (e)
of Section 22816.7, or (3) a former Member of the Assembly or Senate
and meets the conditions imposed by Section 22816.8.

(b) The Senate Committee on Rules shall administer the dental
care plan for former Senators and former Senate employees. The
Assembly Committee on Rules shall administer the dental care plan
for former Assembly Members and former Assembly employees.
Each rules committee shall be paid by those persons the
contributions specified by subdivisions (c¢) and (e) of Section 22816.7
and Section 22816.8, including the additional 2 percent of the
contribution payments required to be paid to cover the cost of
administration. If the Senate Committee on Rules or the Assembly
Committee on Rules does not receive the required contribution and
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the additional 2 percent of the contribution payment on the first day
of a month or within 20 days thereafter, continued coverage shall be
terminated effective the first day of that month and may not be
reinstated by subsequent receipt of the contribution and payment.

(¢) When a person described in subdivision (a) retires, he or she
shall be enrolled in the dental care plan provided for retirees in the
retirement plan in which he or she is a member.

(d) There is no duty to locate or notify any person who may be
eligible to enroll pursuant to this section.

SEC. 2. Article 8 (commencing with Section 21420) is added to
Chapter 9 of Part 3 of Division 5 of Title 2 of the Government Code,
to read:

Article 8. Deferred Compensation

21420. The board may establish a deferred compensation
program for the members of the system. The program shall be made
available to all employees of an employer under procedures
established by the board unless participation is subject to the terms
of any memorandums of understanding between the employer and
the employees.

21421. The deferred compensation program may grant the
maximum tax-deferred savings available under current federal law,
and may provide for employer as well as employee contributions.
The program may include, but is not limited to, one or more of the
following plans:

(a) A deferred compensation plan qualified under Section 457 of
the Internal Revenue Code.

(b) A tax-sheltered annuity qualified under Section 403 (b) of the
Internal Revenue Code. The provisions of Section 770.3 of the
Insurance Code shall not apply to the board for the purposes of
contracting for those annuities.

(c) Any other form of deferred compensation arrangement
authorized by the provisions of the Internal Revenue Code and
approved by the board.

21422. The deferred compensation program may include any or
all of the following components:

(a) Investment fund options for state members, as part of the
deferred compensation program administered for state employee by
the Department of Personnel Administration.

(b) Annuity contracts on behalf of all members.

21423. (a) Investment fund options under subdivision (a) of
Section 21422 shall be provided through a written interagency
agreement between the board and the Department of Personnel
Administration which shall be binding on both parties for a minimum
term of 36 months.

(b) Participating employers shall enter into a written contractual
agreement with the board which shall be binding for 2 minimum
term of 36 months.
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(c) Employees participating under the deferred compensation
program shall enter into written salary reduction agreements with
their employers, for the purpose of making deferrals or for annuity
contracts.

21424. All development and administration costs of the deferred
compensation program shall be paid by employers and participating
members.

21425. The Public Employees’ Deferred Compensation Fund is
hereby established. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the
board may retain a bank or trust company to serve as repository of
the fund. The board may also retain a bank or trust company to serve
as a custodian for safekeeping, recordkeeping, delivery, securities
valuation, investment performance reporting, or other services in
connection with investment of the fund. Notwithstanding Section
13340, all moneys in the fund are continuously appropriated, without
rega{d to fiscal years, to the board to carry out the purposes of this
article.

21426. The Public Employees’ Deferred Compensation Fund
shall consist of the following sources and receipts and disbursements
shall be accounted for as set forth below:

(a) Premiums determined by the board and paid by employers
and members for the cost of administering the deferred
compensation program.

(b) Asset management fees as determined by the board assessed
against investment earnings of investment options or other
investments funds provided by the board to either the state or other
public employers. Asset management fees shall be disclosed to plan
participants.

(c) Deferrals or contributions to be paid monthly by participating
employers or members for investment by the board pursuant to this
article. The moneys shall be deposited in the investment corpus
account within the Public Employees’ Deferred Compensation
Fund, and invested in accordance with the fund option or fund
selected by the members.

(d) Disbursements to participating members shall be paid from a
disbursement account within the Public Employees’ Deferred
Compensation Fund, in accordance with current federal law
pertaining to tax-deferred savings plans.

(e) The board shall offer a savings account equivalent plan among
those deferred compensation accounts made payable to plan
participants.

(f) Income, of whatever nature, earned on the Public Employees’
Deferred Compensation Fund shall be credited to the appropriate
account. Member accounts shall be individually posted to reflect net
asset value for each fund in which the member participates.

(g) The board has the exclusive control of the administration and
investment of the Public Employees’ Deferred Compensation Fund.

21427. The board, if authorized by statute, may make
expenditures from the asset management and services account in the
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Public Employees’ Deferred Compensation Fund to conduct studies
of other retirement-related benefits for the participants in the
system, expend moneys to start up new retirement-related benefit
programs for participants, to fund positions, or compensate
employees.

21428. The officers and employees of the system shall discharge
their duties with respect to the deferred compensation plan solely in
the interest of the members participating in the plan in the following
manner:

(a) For the exclusive purpose of providing deferred
compensation to members and defraying reasonable expenses of
administering the plan.

(b) In the selection of investment options with the care, skill,
prudence, and diligence under the circumstances then prevailing
that a prudent person acting in a like capacity and familiar with those
matters would use in the conduct of an enterprise of a like character
and with like aims.

(c) By diversifying the investment options available to
participants of the plan so as to minimize the risk of large losses and
by using reasonable diligence to accurately inform all employees and
participants as to all plan options.

(d) In accordance with the documents and instruments
governing the plan insofar as those documents and instruments are
consistent with this article.

21429. Except as otherwise provided by law, the officers and
employees of the system shall not engage in a transaction with regard
to a deferred compensation plan if they know or should know that
the transaction constitutes, directly or indirectly, any of the
following:

(a) The sale, exchange, or leasing of any property from the plan
to a participant in the plan for less than adequate consideration, or
from a participant in the plan to the plan for more than adequate
consideration.

(b) The lending of money or other extension of credit from the
plan to a participant in the plan without the receipt of adequate
security and a reasonable rate of interest, or from a participant in the
plan to the plan with the provision of excessive security or an
unreasonably high rate of interest.

(¢) The furnishing of goods, services, or facilities from the plan to
a participant in the plan for less than adequate consideration, or from
a participant in the plan to the plan for more than adequate
consideration.

(d) The transfer to, or use by or for the benefit of, a participant
in the plan of any assets of the plan for less than adequate
consideration.

21430. The officers and employees of the system shall not do any
of the following:

(a) Deal with the assets of the plan in their own interest or for
their own account.
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(b) In their individual or in any other capacity, act in any
transaction involving the plan on behalf of a party, or represent a
party, whose interests are adverse to the interests of the plan or the
interests of the participants in the plan.

(c) Receive any consideration for their personal account, or any
gift, from any party dealing with the plan in connection with a
transaction involving the assets of the plan.

21431. The provisions of this article shall not be construed to
prohibit officers and employees of the system from participating in
the deferred compensation plan, on the same terms as other state
employees or participants.

21432. The system may require an investment manager or
recordkeeper contracted with, or appointed by, the system be
subject to the duties set forth in Section 21428.

21433. Nothing in this article is intended to lessen the scope of
personal liability of the officers and employees of the system as it
pertains to acts or conduct of a criminal nature or acts or conduct
constituting gross negligence.

SEC. 3. Section 22816.7 of the Government Code is amended to
read:

29816.7. (a) As used in this section:

(1) “Exempt employee” means an employee exempt from civil
service pursuant to subdivision (a), (c), (f), or (g) of Section 4 of
Article VII of the California Constitution, or an exempt employee of
the Attorney General or Legislative Counsel appointed pursuant to
subdivision (m) of Section 4 of Article VII of the California
Constitution.

(2) Notwithstanding Sections 22754, 22810, and 22953, “annuitant”
means:

(A) A Member of the Legislature or an elective officer of the state
whose office is provided by the Constitution, who has at least eight
years of credited service, who permanently separates from state
service both on or after January 1, 1988, and not more than 10 years
before or 10 years after he or she attains his or her minimum age for
service retirement under any state retirement system, who retires
more than 120 days after separation from employment, and who is
receiving any retirement allowance under any state retirement
system to which the state makes contributions.

(B) An exempt employee, as defined in paragraph (1) of this
subdivision who has at least 10 years of credited state service which
includes at least two years of credited service while such an exempt
employee, who permanently separates from state service both on or
after January 1, 1988, and not more than 10 years before or 10 years
after he or she attains his or her minimum age for service retirement
under any state retirement system, who retires more than 120 days
after separation from employment, and who is receiving any
retirement allowance under any state retirement system to which
the state makes contributions.

(3) Notwithstanding Sections 22754, 22810, and 22953, “state
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employee” means:

(A) A Member of the Legislature or an elective officer of the state
whose office is provided by the Constitution, who has at least eight
years of credited service, who permanently separates from state
service both on or after January 1, 1988, and more than 10 years
before he or she would attain his or her minimum age for service
retirement under any state retirernent system, but who elects
pursuant to law to remain a member of a state retirement system
supported, in whole or in part, by state funds, other than the
University of California Retirement System.

(B) An exempt employee, as defined in paragraph (1) of this
subdivision who has at least 10 years of credited state service which
includes at least two years of credited service while such an exempt
employee, who permanently separates from state service both on or
after January 1, 1988, and more than 10 years before he or she would
attain his or her minimum age for service retirement under any state
retirement system, but who elects pursuant to law to remain a
member of a state retirement system supported, in whole or in part,
by state funds, other than the University of California Retirement
System.

(b) Any person who becomes an annuitant, as defined in
subdivision (a), may, upon assuming payment of any employee
contributions, enroll in a health benefits plan and dental care plan
without discrimination as to premium rates or benefit coverage at
which time the state shall assume payment of employer
contributions for that insurance coverage and the person shall
thereafter be deemed an annuitant for the purposes of this part and
Part 6 (commencing with Section 22950), notwithstanding Sections
22754, 22810, and 22953.

(c) A state employee, as defined by subdivision (a), who was on
the effective date of his or her permanent separation from state
service enrolled in a health benefits plan or dental care plan under
this part or Part 6 (commencing with Section 22950), shall, upon the
permanent separation from state service, be entitled to have his or
her coverage continued without discrimination as to premium rates
or benefits coverage upon assuming payment of the contributions
otherwise required of the former employer on account of his or her
enrollment and any employee contribution during the period he or
she is not yet receiving his or her retirement allowance. Any election
to continue coverage under this subdivision shall be made within 60
days of permanent separation. The state employee shall also pay an
additional 2 percent of the contribution payments required to be
paid by the state employee pursuant to this section to cover the
administrative costs incurred by the public retirement system and
the Department of Personnel Administration in administering the
program provided by this section.

(d) Upon retirement and receipt of retirement allowance, a state
employee described in subdivision (¢) may elect to continue to be
covered by the health benefits plan and dental care plan without
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discrimination as to premium rates or benefits coverage at which
time the state shall assume payment of employer contributions for
that insurance coverage and the person shall thereafter be deemed
an annuitant for the purposes of this part and Part 6 (commencing
with Section 22950).

(e) A person who meets all of the conditions in subparagraph (A)
or (B) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (a), other than the condition
of receiving a retirement allowance under a state retirement system
to which the state makes contributions, may elect to have his or her
coverage continued, within 60 days of permanent separation from
state service, in a health plan and dental care plan provided to
annuitants. Upon that election, the coverage shall continue from the
date of the permanent separation to the date of retirement unless the
coverage is terminated. For those who have separated between
January 1, 1989, and the effective date of the amendment of this
section made in 1990 in the 1989-90 Regular Session, the election to
enroll in a health plan and dental care plan shall be made within
three months after the effective date the amendment of this section
made in 1990 in the 1989-90 Regular Session. The health and dental
benefits shall be without discrimination as to premium rates or
benefits coverage upon assuming payment of the contributions
otherwise required of the former employer on account of his or her
enrollment and any employee contribution during the period he or
she is not yet receiving his or her retirement allowance. The
individual shall also pay an additional 2 percent of the contribution
payments required to be paid pursuant to this subdivision to cover
the administrative costs incurred by the public retirement systems,
the Department of Personnel Administration, the Senate Committee
on Rules, and the Assembly Committee on Rules, in administering
the benefits provided by this subdivision. A person who receives
coverage pursuant to this subdivision who subsequently terminates
that coverage shall not be allowed to reenroll pursuant to this
subdivision. Continuation of coverage or enrollment or termination
under this subdivision does not affect an annuitant’s rights under
subdivision (b). The benefits authorized by subdivision (b) and this
subdivision are separate and distinct benefits.

(f) There is no duty to locate or notify any person who may be
eligible to enroll pursuant to this section.

SEC. 4. Section 22816.8 of the Government Code is amended to
read:

22816.8. Any person who is an inactive member of the
Legislators’ Retirement System pursuant to Section 9355.2 and who
has at least eight years of service credit may, upon assuming payment
of all employee and employer contributions and an additional 2
percent thereof for the administrative cost incurred by the board
and the Department of Personnel Administration in administering
this section, enroll in the health benefits plan and dental care plan
provided to members of the Legislators’ Retirement System and,
upon retirement shall thereafter be deemed an annuitant for
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purposes of this part and Part 6 (commencing with Section 22950),
notwithstanding Sections 22754, 22810, and 22953.

Any person who, on January 1, 1989, is eligible to elect to enroll
pursuant to this section shall exercise that election on or before April
30, 1989.

No person who enrolls pursuant to this section and subsequently
terminates that enrollment may reenroll pursuant to this section.

SEC. 5. Section 22825.2 of the Government Code is amended to
read:

298259, Notwithstanding Sections 22825 and 22825.1, state
employees first hired on or after January 1, 1985, shall not be vested
for the full employer contribution payable for annuitants unless those
employees have 10 years of credited state service at time of service
retirement. This section does not apply to employees of the
California State University or of the Legislature.

CHAPTER 1660

An act to amend Section 651 of the Business and Professions Code,
relating to healing arts.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 651 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

651. (a) Itisunlawful for any person licensed under this division
or under any initiative act referred to in this division to disseminate
or cause to be disseminated, any form of public communication
containing a false, fraudulent, misleading, or deceptive statement or
claim, for the purpose of or likely to induce, directly or indirectly, the
rendering of professional services or furnishing of products in
connection with the professional practice or business for which he or
she is licensed. A “public communication” as used in this section
includes, but is not limited to, communication by means of television,
radio, motion picture, newspaper, book, or list or directory of healing
arts practitioners.

(b) A false, fraudulent, misleading, or deceptive statement or
claim includes a statement or claim which does any of the following:

(1) Contains a misrepresentation of fact.

(2) Islikely to mislead or deceive because of a failure to disclose
material facts.

(3) Is intended or is likely to create false or unjustified
expectations of favorable results.

(4) Relates to fees, other than a standard consultation fee or a
range of fees for specific types of services, without fully and
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specifically disclosing all variables and other material factors.

(5) Contains other representations or implications that in
reasonable probability will cause an ordinarily prudent person to
misunderstand or be deceived.

(c) Any price advertisement shall be exact, without the use of
such phrases as “as low as,” “and up,” “lowest prices” or words or
phrases of similar import. Any advertisement which refers to
services, or costs for services, and which uses words of comparison
must be based on verifiable data substantiating the comparison. Any
person so advertising shall be prepared to provide information
sufficient to establish the accuracy of that comparison. Price
advertising shall not be fraudulent, deceitful, or misleading,
including statements or advertisements of bait, discount, premiums,
gifts, or any statements of a similar nature. In connection with price
advertising, the price for each product or service shall be clearly
identifiable. The price advertised for products shall include charges
for any related professional services, including dispensing and fitting
services, unless the advertisement specifically and clearly indicates
otherwise.

(d) Any person so licensed shall not compensate or give anything
of value to a representative of the press, radio, television, or other
communication medium in anticipation of, or in return for,
professional publicity unless the fact of compensation is made known
in that publicity.

(e) Any person so licensed may not use any professional card,
professional announcement card, office sign, letterhead, telephone
directory listing, medical list, medical directory listing, or a similar
professional notice or device if it includes a statement or claim that
is false, fraudulent, misleading, or deceptive within the meaning of
subdivision (b).

(f) Any person so licensed who violates any provision of this
section is guilty of a misdemeanor. A bona fide mistake of fact shall
be a defense to this subdivision but only to this subdivision.

(g) Any violation of any provision of this section by a person so
licensed shall constitute good cause for revocation or suspension of
his or her license or other disciplinary action.

(h) Advertising by any person so licensed may include the
following:

(1) A statement of the name of the practitioner.

(2) A statement of addresses and telephone numbers of the offices
maintained by the practitioner.

(3) A statement of office hours regularly maintained by the
practitioner.

(4) A statement of languages, other than English, fluently spoken
by the practitioner or a person in the practitioner’s office.

(5) A statement that the practitioner is certified by a private or
public board or agency or a statement that the practitioner limits his
or her practice to specific fields. For the purposes of this section, the
statement of a practitioner licensed under Chapter 4 (commencing
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with Section 1600) who limits his or her practice to a specific field
or fields, shall only include a statement that he or she is certified or
is eligible for certification by a private or public board or parent
association recognized by that practitioner’s licensing board. A
statement of certification by a practitioner licensed under Chapter
7 (commencing with Section 3000) shall only include a statement
that he or she is certified or eligible for certification by a private or
public board or parent association recognized by that practitioner’s
licensing board. A physician and surgeon licensed under Chapter 5
(commencing with Section 2000) by the Medical Board of California
may include a statement that he or she limits his or her practice to
specific fields, but may only include a statement that he or she is
certified or eligible for certification by a private or public board or
parent association if that board or association is an American Board
of Medical Specialties member board, a board or association with
equivalent requirements approved by that physician and surgeon’s
licensing board, or a board or association with an Accreditation
Council for Graduate Medical Education approved postgraduate
training program that provides complete training in that specialty or
subspecialty.

(6) A statement that the practitioner provides services under a
specified private or public insurance plan or health care plan.

(7) A statement of names of schools and postgraduate clinical
training programs from which the practitioner has graduated,
together with the degrees received.

(8) A statermnent of publications authored by the practitioner.

(9) A statement of teaching positions currently or formerly held
by the practitioner, together with pertinent dates.

(10) A statement of his or her affiliations with hospitals or clinics.

(11) A statement of the charges or fees for services or
commodities offered by the practitioner.

(12) A statement that the practitioner regularly accepts
installment payments of fees.

(13) Otherwise lawful images of a practitioner, his or her physical
facilities, or of a commodity to be advertised.

(14) A statement of the manufacturer, designer, style, make, trade
name, brand name, color, size, or type of commodities advertised.

(15) An advertisement of a registered dispensing optician may
include statements in addition to those specified in paragraphs (1)
to (15), inclusive, provided, that any statement shall not violate
subdivision (a), (b), (c), or (e) of this section or any other section
of this code.

(16) A statement, or statements, providing public health
information encouraging preventative or corrective care.

(17) Any other item of factual information that is not false,
fraudulent, misleading, or likely to deceive.

(i) Each of the healing arts boards and examining committees
within Division 2 shall adopt appropriate regulations to enforce this
section in accordance with Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section
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11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

Each of the healing arts boards and committees and examining
committees within Division 2 shall, by regulation, define those
efficacious services to be advertised by business or professions under
their jurisdiction for the purpose of determining whether
advertisements are false or misleading. Until a definition for that
service has been issued, no advertisement for that service shall be
disseminated. However, if a definition of a service has not been
issued by a board or committee within 120 days of receipt of a request
from a licensee, all those holding the license may advertise the
service. Those boards and committees shall adopt or modify
regulations defining which services may be advertised, the manner
in which defined services may be advertised, and restricting
advertising which would promote the inappropriate or excessive use
of health services or commodities. A board or committee shall not,
by regulation, unreasonably prevent truthful, nondeceptive price or
otherwise lawful forms of advertising of services or commodities, by
either outright prohibition or imposition of onerous disclosure
requirements. However, any member of a board or committee
acting in good faith in the adoption or enforcement of any regulation
shall be deemed to be acting as an agent of the state.

(j) The Attorney General shall commence legal proceedings in
the appropriate forum to enjoin advertisements disseminated or
about to be disseminated in violation of this section and seek other
appropriate relief to enforce this section. Notwithstanding any other
provision of law, the costs of enforcing this section to the respective
licensing boards or committees may be awarded against any licensee
found to be in violation of any provision of this section. This shall not
diminish the power of district attorneys, county counsels, or city
attorneys pursuant to existing law to seek appropriate relief.

SEC. 2. The amendments to Section 651 of the Business and
Professions Code made by this act shall become operative January 1,
1993. However, an adminstrative agency or accrediting organization
may take any action contemplated by those amendments relating to
the establishment or approval of specialist requirements on and after
January 1, 1991.
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CHAPTER 1661

An act relating to energy conservation, and making an
appropriation therefor.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Notwithstanding Sections 13340 and 16361 of the
Government Code and to the extent permitted by federal law, the
sum of five million dollars ($5,000,000) of the money in the Federal
Trust Fund, created by Section 16360 of the Government Code,
received by the state from federal oil overcharge funds in the
petroleum violation escrow account, as defined by Section 155 of the
Further Continuing Appropriations Act of 1983 (P.L. 97-377) or
other federal law, and received by the state from federal oil
overcharge funds available pursuant to court judgments, is hereby
appropriated to the State Energy Resources Conservation and
Development Commission for the following purposes:

(a) For energy shortage contingency planning:

(1) One million dollars ($1,000,000) to provide commission
technical assistance and financial support to enable local
governments to plan for and respond to energy emergencies,
including fuel shortages. The funds shall be used in part to help local
governments maintain essential public services during energy
emergencies and to implement fuel conservation strategies and
other local energy emergency contingency measures.

(2) Two hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000) to maintain the
commission’s intervenor award program, including, but not limited
to, support for intervenors in commission proceedings concerning
energy emergency contingency planning, alternative fuels
development, and energy conservation programs.

(3) One hundred fifty thousand dollars ($150,000) to develop, in
consultation with the Department of Economic Opportunity, a
study, recommendations, and a program, including proposed
legislation if necessary, for providing economic assistance for
low-income individuals who would be hardest hit by fuel price
increases during a severe energy shortage. The study shall consider
the options of imposing an oil industry windfall profits tax, a gasoline
surcharge, and other forms of energy surcharges during times of
emergency shortages to fund low-income energy assistance
programs along with other energy shortage emergency response
programs.

(4) One hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) for entering into a
contract to study the feasibility of establishing a California strategic
petroleum reserve. The study shall consider both (A) the option of
creating a governmentally managed western regional reserve
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operated in conjunction with the federal government’s Strategic
Petroleurn Reserve, and (B) the option of requiring major oil
companies doing business in the state to maintain increased levels of
stored petroleum reserves to be used in times of energy emergencies
in accordance with commission emergency contingency plans.

(5) Seventy-five thousand dollars ($75,000) for the development
and implementation of an energy emergency information,
education, and communications program. A priority of the program
shall be to inform the public of the status of energy or fuel shortage
emergencies and the proper actions to take in response to those
emergencies.

(6) Twenty-five thousand ($25,000) for a one-time purchase of
energy emergency communications equipment, including, but not
limited to, (A) portable cellular telephones, (B) portable facsimile
transmission and telecopier equipment, (C) a satellite television
receiver system, and (D) a portable computer system.

(b) For alternative transportation fuels development:

(1) Five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) to perform
advanced technology work on compressed natural gas vehicles,
including, but not limited to, testing and demonstrating new
technologies for medium duty natural gas vehicles. These funds may
be expended only if equally matched with private sector funds,
including funds from natural gas utilities.

(2) Five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) to perform
advanced technology work on electric vehicles, including, but not
limited to, testing and demonstrating new electric vehicle drive
trains and batteries, and studying the feasibility of battery exchanges
along with battery recharging as a means for refueling electric
vehicles. These funds may be expended only if equally matched with
private sector funds, including funds from electric utilities.

(3) One million dollars ($1,000,000) for the expansion of a
nonpetroleum-based fueling infrastructure to provide methanol,
compressed natural gas, electricity, and other alternative
transportation fuels. These funds may only be expended if equally
matched with private sector funds, including funds from owners or
operators of fuel service stations, electric and gas utilities, methanol
producers, and other fuel dispensers.

(4) Two hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000) to provide
ongoing assistance to highway vehicle demonstrations of alernative
fuels, including, but not limited to, an evaluation of the health, safety,
and environmental impacts of alternative fuel technologies,
providing fuel analyses and emissions testing, and coordinating with
federal, state, and local government agencies and the private sector
regarding the demonstration and commercialization of alternative
fuels.

(3) One hundred fifty thousand dollars ($150,000) for entering
into a contract, in coordination with the State Air Resources Board,
to develop recommendations for facilitating the commercialization
of low-emission, clean fuel vehicles which satisfy both state and
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federal air pollution control requirements and commission energy
security goals, including, but not limited to, energy transportation
fuel diversity and reduced dependence on fossil fuels. The contract
shall include a study of the energy security and economic risks
associated with reliance on reformulated gasoline as a primary
low-emission vehicle fuel.

(6) One million dollars ($1,000,000) for the continued support of
the methanol flexible fuel vehicle (FFV) demonstration, to cofund
FFV purchases by public and private fleets.

SEC. 2. Money in the Federal Trust Fund created by Section
16360 of the Government Code, received by the state from federal
oil overcharge funds in the Petroleum Violation Escrow Account,
which is available for appropriation during the 1990-91 fiscal year,
shall be appropriated in accordance with subdivision (b) of Section
4 of Chapter 1426 of the Statutes of 1988, which declares the intent
of the Legislature to appropriate one-half of each future
disbursement received by the state from the account for the
implementation of the Katz Safe School Bus Clean Fuel Efficiency
Demonstration Program (Part 10.7 (comnmencing with Section
17910) of the Education Code).

SEC. 3. Funds appropriated by this act from the Petroleum
Violation Escrow Account shall be dispersed by the Controller,
subject to approval by the Director of Finance as to which court
judgment or federal agency order is the proper source of those funds.

CHAPTER 1662

An act to amend Sections 25501, 25502, 25508, 25513, 25532, and
25534 of, and to add Sections 25514.5, 25514.6 and 25535.2 to, the
Health and Safety Code, and to add Article 7.5 (commencing with
Section 7671) to Chapter 1 of Division 4 of the Public Utilities Code,
relating to hazardous materials.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. The Legislature finds and declares as follows:

(a) There exists minor to serious danger to the public from the
storage and transportation of hazardous materials in the state.

(b) During 1988, in one event alone, an estimated 20,000 people
were evacuated in four communities of the Los Angeles area during
the Labor Day weekend as a result of a mass release of toxic chlorine
gas. Another chlorine gas release in January 1989 in the Simi Valley
area caused the evacuation of 11,500 people and injuries to members
of the county hazardous material team. In another incident, in
November 1988, a freight train carrying toxic chemicals derailed and
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crashed into a metal building, causing a leak to one of the railcars
which forced the evacuation of 1,000 people from nearby homes and
businesses.

(c) There have occurred significant and life-threatening delays in
notifying emergency response agencies in these incidents and others
throughout the state.

(d) There exists a need to strengthen businesses, and public
agencies’ ability to prevent and respond to hazardous materials
emergencies in order to better safeguard the public’s safety.

SEC. 2. Section 25501 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read:

25501. Unless the context indicates otherwise, the following
definitions govern the construction of this chapter:

(a) “Administering agency” means the department, office, or
other agency of a county or city designated pursuant to, or a fire
district designated by a county or city pursuant to, subdivision (c) of
Section 25502.

(b) “Agricultural handler” means an entity identified in
paragraph (5) of subdivision (c) of Section 25503.5.

(c) “Area plan” means a plan established pursuant to Section
25503 by an administering agency for emergency response to a
release or threatened release of a hazardous material within a city or
county.

(d) “Business” means an employer, self-employed individual,
trust, firm, joint stock company, corporation, partnership, or
association. For purposes of this chapter, “business” includes a
business organized for profit and a nonprofit business.

(e) “Business plan” means a separate plan for each facility, site, or
branch of a business which meets the requirements of Section 25504.

(f) “Chemical name” means the scientific designation of a
substance in accordance with the nomenclature system developed
by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry or the
system developed by the Chemical Abstracts Service.

(2) “Common name” means any designation or identification,
such as a code name, code number, trade name, or brand name, used
to identify a substance other than by its chemical name.

(h) “Department” means the State Department of Health
Services and “director” means the State Director of Health Services.

(i) “Handle” means to use, generate, process, produce, package,
treat, store, emit, discharge, or dispose of a hazardous material in any
fashion.

(j) “Handler” means any business which handles a hazardous
material.

(k) *“Hazardous material” means any material that, because of its
quantity, concentration, or physical or chemical characteristics,
poses a significant present or potential hazard to human health and
safety or to the environment if released into the workplace or the
environment. ‘“‘Hazardous materials” include, but are not limited to,
hazardous substances, hazardous waste, and any material which a
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handler or the administering agency has a reasonable basis for
believing that it would be injurious to the health and safety of persons
or harmful to the environment if released into the workplace or the
environment.

(1) “Hazardous substance” means any substance or chemical
product for which one of the following applies:

(1) The manufacturer or producer is required to prepare a MSDS
for the substance or product pursuant to the Hazardous Substances
Information and Training Act (Chapter 2.5 (commencing with
Section 6360) of Part 1 of Division 5 of the Labor Code) or pursuant
to any applicable federal law or regulation.

(2) The substance is listed as a radioactive material in Appendix
B of Chapter 1 of Title 10 of the Code of Federal Regulations,
maintained and updated by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission.

(3) The substances listed pursuant to Title 49 of the Code of
Federal Regulations.

(4) The materials listed in subdivision (b) of Section 6382 of the
Labor Code.

(m) “Hazardous waste” means hazardous waste, as defined by
Sections 25115, 25117, and 25316.

(n) “Office” means the Office of Emergency Services.

(o) “Release” means any spilling, leaking, pumping, pouring,
emitting, emptying, discharging, injecting, escaping, leaching,
dumping, or disposing into the environment, unless permitted or
authorized by a regulatory agency.

(p) “SIC Code” means the identification number assigned by the
Standard Industrial Classification Code to specific types of
businesses.

(q) “Threatened release” means a condition creating a substantial
probability of harm, when the probability and potential extent of
harm make it reasonably necessary to take immediate action to
prevent, reduce, or mitigate damages to persons, property, or the
environment.

(r) “Emergency rescue personnel” means any public employee,
including, but not limited to, any fireman, firefighter, or emergency
rescue personnel, as defined in Section 245.1 of the Penal Code, or
personnel of a local EMS agency, as designated pursuant to Section
1797.200, or a poison control center, as defined by Section 1797.97,
who responds to any condition caused, in whole or in part, by a
hazardous material that jeopardizes, or could jeopardize, public
health or safety or the environment.

(s) “City” includes any city and county.

(t) “Trade secret” means trade secrets as defined in subdivision
(d) of Section 6254.7 of the Government Code and Section 1060 of
the Evidence Code.

SEC. 3. Section 25502 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read:

25502. (a) Except as provided pursuant to subdivision (b), every
county shall implement this chapter as to the handling of hazardous
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materials in the county. Each county shall ensure full access to, and
the availability of, information submitted under this chapter to
emergency rescue personnel and other appropriate governmental
entities within its jurisdiction.

(b) A city may, by ordinance or resolution, assume responsibility
for the implementation of this chapter and, if so, shall have exclusive
jurisdiction within the boundary of the city for the purposes of
carrying out this chapter. The ordinance shall require that any
person who violates Section 25507 shall be subject to the penalties
specified in Section 25515. A city which assumes responsibility for
implementation of this chapter shall provide notice of its ordinance
or resolution to the office and to the administrating agency of its
county. It shall also consult with, and coordinate its activities with,
the county in which the city is located to avoid duplicating efforts or
any misunderstandings regarding the areas, duties, and
responsibilities of each administering agency.

No city may assume responsibility for the implementation of this
chapter unless it has enacted an implementing ordinance or adopted
an implementing resolution not later than 60 days after the office
adopts regulations pursuant to Section 25503, except that a city may
enact an implementing ordinance or adopt an implementing
resolution after this 60-day period, if it has an agreement with the
county to do so. Any new city has one year from the date of
incorporation to enact an ordinance or adopt a resolution
implementing this chapter.

(c) The county and any city which assumes responsibility
pursuant to subdivision (b) shall designate a department, office, or
other agency of the county or city, as the case may be, or the city or
county may designate a fire district, as the administering agency
responsible for administering and enforcing this chapter. The county
and any city which assumes responsibility pursuant to subdivision (b)
shall notify the office immediately upon making a designation. A
county shall designate an administering agency on or before January
30, 1986.

SEC. 4. Section 25508 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read:

25508. (a) In order to carry out the purposes of this chapter, any
employee or authorized representative of an administering agency
has the authority specified in Section 25185, with respect to the
premises of a handler, and in Section 25185.5, with respect to real
property which is within 2,000 feet of the premises of a handler,
except that this authority shall include inspections concerning
hazardous material, in addition to hazardous waste.

(b) In addition to the requirements of Section 25537, the
administering agency shall conduct inspections of every business
subject to this article at least once every three years to determine if
the business is in compliance with this article. However, the
administering agency may designate the county agricultural
commissioner to conduct the inspections of agricultural handlers.
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The administering agency or its designee for agricultural handlers
shall give priority, when conducting these inspections, to inspecting
facilities which store an amount of acutely hazardous materials, as
defined in Section 25532, equal to, or greater than, the amount
specified in subdivision (a) of Section 25536. In establishing a
schedule for conducting inspections pursuant to this section, the
administering agency may adopt and use an index of the volatility,
toxicity, and quantity of acutely hazardous materials and hazardous
materials. Administering agencies and designees shall attempt to
schedule the inspections conducted pursuant to this section and
Section 25537, when applicable, during the same time period.

SEC. 5. Section 25513 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read:

25513. Each administering county or city may, upon a majority
vote of the governing body, adopt a schedule of fees to be collected
from each business required to submit a business plan pursuant to
this article which is within its jurisdiction. The governing body may
provide for the waiver of fees when a business, as defined in Section
25501.4, submits a business plan. The fee shall be set in an amount
sufficient to pay only those costs incurred by the county, city, or fire
district, in carrying out this article. In determining the fee schedule,
the administering agency shall consider the volume and degree of
hazard potential of the hazardous materials handled by the
businesses subject to this article.

SEC. 6. Section 25514.5 is added to the Health and Safety Code,
to read:

25514.5. (a) Notwithstanding Section 25514, any business which
violates this article is civilly liable to an administering agency for an
administrative civil penalty, in an amount which shall be set by the
governing body of the administering agency, but not greater than
two thousand dollars ($2,000) for each day in which the violation
occurs. If the violation results in, or significantly contributes to, an
emergency, including a fire or health or medical problem requiring
toxicological, health, or medical consultation, the business shall also
be assessed the full cost of the county, city, fire district, local EMS
agency designated pursuant to Section 1797.200, or poison control
center as defined by Section 1797.97, emergency response, as well as
the cost of cleaning up and disposing of the hazardous materials, or
acutely hazardous materials.

(b) Notwithstanding Section 25514, any business that knowingly
violates this article after reasonable notice of the violation is civilly
liable for an administrative penalty, in an amount which shall be set
by the governing body of the administering agency, but not greater
than five thousand dollars ($5,000) for each day in which the
violation occurs.

(¢) An administering agency shall collect the penalty imposed by
this section pursuant to Section 25514.6.

(d) A penalty shall not be recoverable pursuant to this section and
Section 25514 for the same violation.
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(e) The purpose of this section and Section 25514.6 is to provide
local agencies with an alternative and effective means of enforcing
public laws on the handling of hazardous materials and acutely
hazardous materials.

(f) In assessing the civil penalty, the administering agency shall
consider the extent of harm caused by the violation, the nature and
persistance of the violation, the length of time over which the
violation occurs, the frequency of past violations, any action taken to
mitigate the violation, and the financial burden to the violator.

(g) In all civil penalties collected pursuant to this section, the
amount of two hundred dollars ($200) shall first be deducted from
the amount of the penalty. This two hundred dollars ($200) shall be
deposited in the Hazardous Material and Waste Enforcement
Training Account established by Section 25515.2 and shall be
available for expenditure pursuant to subdivision (d) of Section
25515.2.

(h) Notwithstanding Section 25515.2, after payment of the two
hundred dollars ($200) for the Hazardous Material and Waste
Enforcement Training Account, all penalties collected pursuant to
this section shall be apportioned in the following manner:

(1) Seventy-five percent to the administering agency which shall
reimburse the local EMS agency, as designated pursuant to Section
1797.200 or the poison control center, as defined by Section 1797.97,
for that portion of the penalty designated for the expenses of the local
EMS agency or poison control center, respectively.

(2) Twenty-five percent to the principal agency which assisted
the administering agency in its investigation.

SEC. 7. Section 25514.6 is added to the Health and Safety Code,
to read:

25514.6. (a) Notwithstanding Section 25516.1, the administering
agency may issue a complaint to any person on whom civil liability
may be imposed pursuant to Section 13009.6, 25514 or 25514.5. The
complaint shall allege the acts or failures to act that constitute a basis
for liability and the amount of the proposed civil liability. The
complaint shall be served by personal service or certified mail and
shall inform the party so served that a hearing shall be conducted
within 60 days after the party has been served, unless the party
waives the right to a hearing. If the party waives the right to a
hearing, the administering agency shall issue an order setting liability
in the amount proposed in the complaint unless the administering
agency and the party have entered into a settlement agreement, in
which case the administering agency shall issue an order setting
liability in the amount specified in the settlement agreement. Where
the party has waived the right to a hearing or where the
administering agency and the party have entered into a settlement
agreement, the order shall not be subject to review by any court or
agency.

(b) After conducting any hearing required under this section, the
administering agency shall, within 30 days after the case is submitted,
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issue a decision, including an order setting the amount of civil
penalty to be imposed.

(c) Orders setting civil liability issued under this section shall
become effective and final upon issuance thereof, and payment shall
be made within 30 days of issuance. Copies of these orders shall be
served by personal service or by certified mail upon the party served
with the complaint and upon other persons who appeared at the
hearing and requested a copy.

(d) Within 30 days after service of a copy of a decision issued by
the administering agency, any person so served may file with the
superior court a petition for writ of mandate for review of the
decision. Any person who fails to file the petition within this 30-day
period may not challenge the reasonableness or validity of a decision
or order of the hearing officer in any judicial proceedings brought to
enforce the decision or order or for other remedies. Except as
otherwise provided in this section, Section 1094.5 of the Code of Civil
Procedure shall govern any proceedings conducted pursuant to this
subdivision. In all proceedings pursuant to this subdivision, the court
shall uphold the decision of the administering agency if the decision
is based upon substantial evidence in the whole record. The filing of
a petition for writ of mandate shall not stay any accrual of any
penalties assessed pursuant to this chapter. This subdivision does not
prohibit the court from granting any appropriate relief within its
jurisdiction.

(e) This section applies only to an administering agency which has
adopted a written policy to carry out this section.

SEC. 8. Section 25532 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read:

25532. Unless the context indicates otherwise, the following
definitions govern the construction of this article:

(a) “Acutely hazardous material” means any chemical designated
an extremely hazardous substance which is listed in Appendix A of
Part 355 of Subchapter J of Chapter I of Title 40 of the Code of
Federal Regulations.

(b) “Acutely hazardous materials accident risk” means a potential
for the release of an acutely hazardous material into the environment
which could produce a significant likelihood that persons exposed
may suffer acute health effects resulting in significant injury or
death.

(c) “Administering agency” means the department, office, or
other agency of a county, city, or fire district which is designated
pursuant to Section 25502 to implement this chapter.

(d) “Handler” means any business which handles an acutely
hazardous material, except where all of the acutely hazardous
materials present at the business are handled in accordance with a
removal or remedial action taken pursuant to the
Carpenter-Presley-Tanner Hazardous Substance Account Act
(Chapter 6.8 (commencing with Section 25300)).

(e) “Modified facility” means an addition or change to a facility
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or business which results in either a substantial increase in the
amount of acutely hazardous materials handled by the facility or
business, or a significantly increased risk in handling an acutely
hazardous material, as determined by the administering agency.
“Modified facility” does not include an increase in production up to
the facility’s existing operating capacity or an increase in production
levels up to the production levels authorized in a permit granted
pursuant to Section 42300.

(f) “Qualified person” means a person who is qualified to attest,
at a minimum, to the validity of the hazard and operability studies
performed pursuant to Section 25534, and the relationship between
the corrective steps taken by the handler following the hazard and
operability studies and those hazards which were identified in the
studies.

(g) “Risk management and prevention program” or “RMPP”
means all of the administrative and operational programs of a
business which are designed to prevent acutely hazardous materials
accident risks, including, but not limited to, programs which include
design safety of new and existing equipment, standard operating
procedures, preventive maintenance programs, operator training
and accident investigation procedures, risk assessment for unit
operations, or operating alternatives, emergency response planning,
and internal or external audit procedures to ensure that these
programs are being executed as planned.

SEC. 9. Section 25534 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read:

25534. (a) The administering agency shall make a preliminary
determination whether there is a significant likelihood that the
handler’s use of an acutely hazardous material may pose an acutely
hazardous materials accident risk.

(1) If the administering agency determines that there is a
significant likelihood of risk pursuant to this subdivision, it shall
require the handler to prepare and to submit an RMPP in
accordance with a timetable based on the priority ranking
established in subdivision (b).

(2) If the administering agency determines that there is not a
significant likelihood of risk pursuant to this subdivision, it may
require the preparation and submission of an RMPP, but need not
do so if it determines that the likelihood of an acutely hazardous
materials accident risk is remote.

(3) If the administering agency determines that an economic
poison, as defined in Section 12753 of the Food and Agricultural
Code, used on a farm or nursery may pose a risk pursuant to this
subdivision, the administering agency shall first consult with the
Department of Food and Agriculture or the county agricultural
commissioner to evaluate whether the current RMPP is adequate in
relation to the risk. This paragraph does not prohibit, or limit the
authority of, an administering agency to conduct its duties under this
article,
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(b) The administering agency shall rank each use of an acutely
hazardous material identified pursuant to paragraph (1) of
subdivision (a) in terms of the relative risks associated with its use,
should an acutely hazardous materials accident occur. The
estimation of the relative risks posed by the use of an acutely
hazardous material shall be based on worst case assumptions
regarding the quantity and rate of release of the acutely hazardous
material, air dispersion, toxicity, meteorological conditions, and
other pertinent parameters. Based on the estimate of relative risks,
the administering agency shall establish a timetable for the
submission of the RMPP for the use of the acutely hazardous
material.

(¢) The RMPP shall be prepared within 12 months following the
request made by the administering agency pursuant to this section.
The RMPP shall include all of the following elements:

(1) A description of each accident involving acutely hazardous
materials which has occurred at the business or facility within three
years from the date of the request made pursuant to subdivision (a),
together with a description of the underlying causes of the accident
and the measures taken, if any, to avoid a recurrence of a similar
accident.

(2) A report specifying the nature, age, and condition of the
equipment used to handle acutely hazardous materials at the
business or facility and any schedules for testing and maintenance.

(3) Design, operating, and maintenance controls which minimize
the risk of an accident involving acutely hazardous materials.

(4) Detection, monitoring, or automnatic control systems to
minimize potential acutely hazardous materials accident risks.

(5) A schedule for implementing additional steps to be taken by
the business, in response to the findings of the assessment performed
pursuant to subdivision (d), to reduce the risk of an accident
involving acutely hazardous materials. These actions may include
any of the following:

(A) Installation of alarm, detection, monitoring, or automatic
control devices.

(B) Equipment modifications, repairs, or additions.

(C) Changes in the operations, procedures, maintenance
schedules, or facility design.

(6) Auditing and inspection programs designed to allow the
handler to confirm that the RMPP is effectively carried out.

(7) Recordkeeping procedures for the RMPP.

(d) The RMPP shall be based upon an assessment of the processes,
operations, and procedures of the business, and shall consider all of
the following:

(1) The results of a hazard and operability study which identifies
the hazards associated with the handling of an acutely hazardous
material due to operating error, equipment failure, and external
events, which may present an acutely hazardous materials accident
risk.
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(2) For the hazards identified in the hazard and operability
studies, an offsite consequence analysis which, for the most likely
hazards, assumes pessimistic air dispersion and other adverse
environmental conditions.

(e) The business shall submit to the administering agency any
additional supporting technical information deemed necessary by
the administering agency to clarify information submitted pursuant
to subdivision (c).

(f) A handler shall maintain all records concerning an RMPP for
a period of at least five years.

(g) The RMPP shall identify, by title, all personnel at the business
who are responsible for carrying out the specific elements of the
RMPP, and their respective responsibilities, and the RMPP shall
include a detailed training program to ensure that those persons are
able to implement the RMPP.

(h) The handler shall review the RMPP, and shall make necessary
revisions to the RMPP at least every three years, but, in any event,
within 60 days following a modification which would materially
affect the handling of an acutely hazardous material.

(i) Any person who handles acutely hazardous materials and who
owns or operates two or more business facilities which are
substantially identical may prepare a single generic RMPP
applicable to all those facilities if the handling of the acutely
hazardous materials is substantially similar at all of those facilities.

(i) The RMPP, and any revisions required by subdivision (h), shall
be certified as complete by a qualified person and the facility
operator.

(k) Except as specified in subdivision (d) of Section 25535, the
handler shall implement all activities and programs specified in the
RMPP within one year following the certification made pursuant to
subdivision (j). Implementation of the RMPP shall include carrying
out all operating, maintenance, monitoring, inventory control,
equipment inspection, auditing, recordkeeping, and training
programs as required by the RMPP. The administering agency may
grant an extension of this deadline upon a showing of good cause.

(I) The Office of Emergency Services shall adopt, and publish for
distribution, guidelines for the preparation and submission of an
RMPP. In preparing the guidelines for hazard and operability
studies, the office shall, at a minimum, base its procedural
recommendations on those set forth in the 1985 Guidelines for
Chemical Hazard Evaluation Procedures, prepared by the Center
for Chemical Process Safety of the American Institute of Chemical
Engineers.

SEC.9.5. Section 25534 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read:

25534. (a) The administering agency shall make a preliminary
determination whether there is a significant likelihood that the
handler’s use of an acutely hazardous material may pose an acutely
hazardous materials accident risk.
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(1) If the administering agency determines that there is a
significant likelihood of risk pursuant to this subdivision, it shall
require the handler to prepare and to submit an RMPP in
accordance with a timetable based on the priority ranking
established in subdivision (b).

(2) If the administering agency determines that there is not a
significant likelihood of risk pursuant to this subdivision, it may
require the preparation and submission of an RMPP, but need not
do so if it determines that the likelihood of an acutely hazardous
materials accident risk is remote.

(b) The administering agency shall rank each use of an acutely
hazardous material identified pursuant to paragraph (1) of
subdivision (a) in terms of the relative risks associated with its use,
should an acutely hazardous materials accident occur. The
estimation of the relative risks posed by the use of an acutely
hazardous material shall be based on worst case assumptions
regarding the quantity and rate of release of the acutely hazardous
material, air dispersion, toxicity, meteorological conditions, and
other pertinent parameters. Based on the estimate of relative risks,
the administering agency shall establish a timetable for the
submission of the RMPP for the use of the acutely hazardous
material.

(c) The RMPP shall be prepared within 12 months following the
request made by the administering agency pursuant to this section.
The RMPP shall include all of the following elements:

(1) A description of each accident involving acutely hazardous
materials which has occurred at the business or facility within three
years from the date of the request made pursuant to subdivision (a),
together with a description of the underlying causes of the accident
and the measures taken, if any, to avoid a recurrence of a similar
accident.

(2) A report specifying the nature, age, and condition of the
equipment used to handle acutely hazardous materials at the
business or facility and any schedules for testing and maintenance.

(3) Design, operating, and maintenance controls which minimize
the risk of an accident involving acutely hazardous materials.

(4) Detection, monitoring, or automatic control systems to
minimize potential acutely hazardous materials accident risks.

(5) A schedule for implementing additional steps to be taken by
the business, in response to the findings of the assessment performed
pursuant to subdivision (d), to reduce the risk of an accident
involving acutely hazardous materials. These actions may include
any of the following:

(A) Installation of alarm, detection, monitoring, or automatic
control devices.

(B) Equipment modifications, repairs, or additions.

(C) Changes in the operations, procedures, maintenance
schedules, or facility design.

(6) Auditing and inspection programs designed to allow the
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handler to confirm that the RMPP is effectively carried out.

(7) Recordkeeping procedures for the RMPP.

(8) A readily understandable description of the manner in which
the offsite consequence analysis prepared pursuant to paragraph (2)
of subdivision (d) was conducted, the populations considered, and a
description of the steps taken to mitigate any offsite consequence
found. If any offsite consequences for the most likely hazards still
exist after the RMPP is implemented, the RMPP shall include a
report describing this offsite consequence, and clearly prepared
maps noting the location of the facility which show the populations
considered pursuant to Section 25534.1 and the zones of vulnerability
along with the levels of expected exposure in each zone.

(d) The RMPP shall be based upon an assessment of the processes,
operations, and procedures of the business, and shall consider all of
the following:

(1) The results of a hazard and operability study which identifies
the hazards associated with the handling of an acutely hazardous
material due to operating error, equipment failure, and external
events, which may present an acutely hazardous materials accident
risk.

(2) For the hazards identified in the hazard and operability
studies, an offsite consequence analysis which, for the most likely
hazards, assumes pessimistic air dispersion and other adverse
environmental conditions.

(3) If the administering agency determines that an economic
poison, as defined in Section 12753 of the Food and Agricultural
Code, used on a farm or nursery may pose a risk pursuant to this
subdivision, the administering agency shall first consult with the
Department of Food and Agriculture or the county agricultural
commissioner to evaluate whether the current RMPP is adequate in
relation to the risk. This paragraph does not prohibit, or limit the
authority of, an administering agency to conduct its duties under this
article.

(e) The business shall submit to the administering agency any
additional supporting technical information deemed necessary by
the administering agency to clarify information submitted pursuant
to subdivision (c).

(f) A handler shall maintain all records concerning an RMPP for
a period of at least five years.

(g) The RMPP shall identify, by title, all personnel at the business
who are responsible for carrying out the specific elements of the
RMPP, and their respective responsibilities, and the RMPP shall
include a detailed training program to ensure that those persons are
able to implement the RMPP.

(h) The handler shall review the RMPP, and shall make necessary
revisions to the RMPP at least every three years, but, in any event,
within 60 days following a modification which would materially
affect the handling of an acutely hazardous material.

(i) Any person who handles acutely hazardous materials and who

247600



7934 STATUTES OF 1990 [ Ch. 1662

owns or operates two or more business facilities which are
substantially identical may prepare a single generic RMPP
applicable to all those facilities if the handling of the acutely
hazardous materials is substantially similar at all of those facilities.

(i) The RMPP, and any revisions required by subdivision (h), shall
be certified as complete by a qualified person and the facility
operator.

(k) Except as specified in subdivision (d) of Section 25535, the
handler shall implement all activities and programs specified in the
RMPP within one year following the certification made pursuant to
subdivision (j). Implementation of the RMPP shall include carrying
out all operating, maintenance, monitoring, inventory control,
equipment inspection, auditing, recordkeeping, and training
programs as required by the RMPP. The administering agency may
grant an extension of this deadline upon a showing of good cause.

(1) The Office of Emergency Services shall adopt, and publish for
distribution, guidelines for the preparation and submission of an
RMPP. In preparing the guidelines for hazard and operability
studies, the office shall, at a minimum, base its procedural
recommendations on those set forth in the 1985 Guidelines for
Chemical Hazard Evaluation Procedures, prepared by the Center
for Chemical Process Safety of the American Institute of Chemical
Engineers.

SEC. 10. Section 25535.2 is added to the Health and Safety Code,
to read:

25535.2. (a) Each administering agency may, upon a majority
vote of the governing body, adopt a schedule of fees to be collected
from each business which may be required to submit an RMPP
pursuant to this article which is within its jurisdiction. The governing
body may provide for the waiver of fees when a business, as defined
in Section 25501.4, submits an RMPP.

(b) The fees set pursuant to this section shall be set in an amount
sufficient to pay only those costs incurred by the administering
agency in carrying out this article. The fees assessed under this
section for any particular business for an RMPP shall not exceed the
cost to the administering agency of carrying out this article with
respect to that business.

(¢) In determining a fee schedule pursuant to this section, the
administering agency shall consider the volume and degree of
hazard potential of the acutely hazardous materials handled by the
businesses subject to this article.

(d) On and after July 1, 1993, the fees assessed under this section
shall not exceed for any fiscal year the preceding relevant fiscal
year’s cost of carrying out this article, adjusted by both of the
following:

(1) An adjustment not greater than the percentage change in the
cost of living of the annual California Consumer Price Index, as
determined pursuant to Section 2212 of the Revenue and Taxation
Code, for the preceding year.
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(2) An adjustment for changes in volume and degree of hazard
potential posed by the business’ handling of hazardous materials.

(e) Any revenues received by the administering agency pursuant
to the fee imposed under this section, which exceed the costs of
carrying out this article, shall be carried over for expenditure in the
subsequent fiscal year, and the schedule of fees shall be changed to
reflect that carryover.

SEC. 11. Article 7.5 (commencing with Section 7671) is added to
Chapter 1 of Division 4 of the Public Utilities Code, to read:

Article 7.5. Hazardous Materials Transportation by Rail

7671. The Legislature finds and declares that the purpose of this
article is to protect the health and safety of the public and to improve
the safety of transporting hazardous materials by rail.

7672. For purposes of this article, “hazardous material” means
any hazardous material as defined in Section 171.8 of Title 49 of the
Code of Federal Regulations.

7672.5. Any railroad corporation which is involved in an incident
resulting in a release, or threatened release, of a hazardous material
shall immediately report the type and extent of the release or
threatened release in the manner specified in Section 25507 of the
Health and Safety Code.

7673. Each railroad corporation which transports hazardous
materials in the state shall do all of the following:

(a) Provide a system map of the state to the Office of Emergency
Services, showing practical groupings of mileposts on the system and
showing mileposts of stations, terminals, junction points, road
crossings, and significant drainage structures.

(b) Annually submit to the Office of Emergency Services a copy
of a publication which identifies emergency handling guidelines for
the surface transportation of hazardous materials, except that if the
railroad corporation is classified as a class I carrier by the Interstate
Commerce Commission pursuant to Subpart A of Part 1201 of
Subchapter C of Chapter X of the Code of Federal Regulations, the
railroad corporation shall annually submit to the Office of
Emergency Services 50 copies of this publication which the Office of
Emergency Services shall make available to local administering
agencies and to other response agencies. These guidelines shall not
be considered comprehensive instructions for the handling of any
specific incident.

(c) If there is a train incident resulting in a release or an
overturned railcar or an impact which threatens a release of a
hazardous material, provide the emergency response agency with all
of the following information:

(1) A list of each car in the train and the order of the cars.

(2) The contents of each car, if loaded, in the train.

(3) Identification of the cars and contents in the train which are
involved in the incident, including, but not limited to, those cars
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which have derailed.

(4) Emergency handling procedures for each hazardous
commodity transported in or on the involved cars of the train.

SEC. 12. Section 9.5 of this bill incorporates amendments to
Section 25534 of the Health and Safety Code proposed by both this
bill and AB 3779. It shall only become operative if (1) both bills are
enacted and become effective on January 1, 1991, (2) each bill
amends Section 25534 of the Health and Safety Code, and (3) this bill
is enacted after AB 3779, in which case Section 9 of this bill shall not
become operative.

SEC. 13. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to
Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution for those
costs which may be incurred by a local agency or school district
because this act creates a new crime or infraction, changes the
definition of a crime or infraction, changes the penalty for a crime
or infraction, or eliminates a crime or infraction, or because the local
agency or school district has the authority to levy service charges,
fees, or assessments sufficient to pay for the program or level of
service mandated by this act.

Notwithstanding Section 17580 of the Government Code, unless
otherwise specified in this act, the provisions of this act shall become
operative on the same date that the act takes effect pursuant to the
California Constitution.

CHAPTER 1663

An act to amend Sections 11353.1 and 11353.5 of, and to add Section
11380.1 to, the Health and Safety Code, relating to controlled
substances.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 11353.1 of the Health and Safety Code is
amended to read:

11353.1. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any
person 18 years of age or over who is convicted of a violation of
Section 11353, in addition to the punishment imposed for that
conviction, shall receive an additional punishment as follows:

(1) If the offense involved heroin, cocaine, cocaine base, or any
analog of these substances and occurred upon the grounds of, or
within, a church or synagogue, a playground, a public or private
youth center, or public swimming pool, during hours in which the
facility is open for business, classes, or school-related programs, or at
anytime when minors are using the facility, the defendant shall, as
a full and separately served enhancement to any other enhancement
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provided in paragraph (3) of this subdivision, be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for one year.

(2) If the offense involved heroin, cocaine, cocaine base, or any
analog of these substances and occurred upon, or within 1,000 feet of,
the grounds of any public or private elementary, vocational, junior
high, or high school, during hours that the school is open for classes
or school-related programs, or at anytime when minors are using the
facility where the offense occurs, the defendant shall, as a full and
separately served enhancement to any other enhancement provided
in paragraph (3), be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for two years.

(3) If the offense involved a minor who is at least four years
younger than the defendant, the defendant shall, as a full and
separately served enhancement to any other enhancement provided
in this subdivision, be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for one, two, or three years, at the discretion of the court.

(b) The additional punishment provided in this section shall not
be imposed unless the allegation is charged in the accusatory
pleading and admitted by the defendant or found to be true by the
trier of fact.

(c) The additional punishment provided in this section shall be in
addition to any other punishment provided by law and shall not be
limited by any other provision of law.

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the court may
strike the additional punishment provided for in this section if it
determines that there are circumstances in mitigation of the
additional punishment and states on the record its reasons for
striking the additional punishment.

(e) As used in this section, the following definitions shall apply:

(1) “Playground” means any park or recreational area specifically
designed to be used by children which has play equipment installed,
including public grounds designed for athletic activities, such as
baseball, football, soccer, or basketball, or any similar facility located
on public or private school grounds, or on city, county, or state parks.

(2) “Youth center” means any public or private facility that is
primarily used to host recreational or social activities for minors,
including, but not limited to, private youth membership
organizations or clubs, social service teenage club facilities, video
arcades, or similar amusement park facilities.

(3) “Video arcade” means any premises where 10 or more video
game machines or devices are operated, and where minors are
legally permitted to conduct business.

(4) “Video game machine” means any mechancial amusement
device, which is characterized by the use of a cathode ray tube
display and which, upon the insertion of a coin, slug, or token in any
slot or receptacle attached to, or connected to, the machine, may be
operated for use as a game, contest, or amusement.

(5) “Within 1,000 feet of the grounds of any public or private
elementary, vocational, junior high, or high school” means any public
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area or business establishment where minors are legally permitted to
conduct business which is located within 1,000 feet of any public or
private elementary, vocational, junior high, or high school.

SEC.2. Section 11353.5 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read:

11353.5. Except as authorized by law, any person 18 years of age
or older who unlawfully prepares for sale upon school grounds, a
public playground, a church, or a synagogue, or sells or gives away
a controlled substance, other than a controlled substance described
in Section 11353 or 11380, to a minor upon the grounds of, or within,
any school, public playground, church, or synagogue providing
instruction in kindergarten, or any of grades 1 through 12, inclusive,
during hours in which those facilities are open for classes or
school-related programs or at anytime when minors are using the
facility where the offense occurs, or upon the grounds of a public
playground during the hours in which school-related programs for
minors are being conducted or at anytime when minors are using the
facility where the offense occurs, shall be punished by imprisonment
in the state prison for three, six, or nine years. Application of this
section shall be limited to persons at least five years older than the
minor to whom he or she prepares for sale, sells, or gives away a
controlled substance.

SEC. 3. Section 11380.1 is added to the Health and Safety Code,
to read:

11380.1. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any
person 18 years of age or over who is convicted of a violation of
Section 11380, in addition to the punishment imposed for that
conviction, shall receive an additional punishment as follows:

(1) If the offense involved phencyclidine (PCP),
methamphetamine, or any analog of these substances and occurred
upon the grounds of, or within, a church or synagogue, a playground,
a public or private youth center, or a public swimming pool, during
hours in which the facility is open for business, classes, or
school-related programs or at anytime when minors are using the
facility, the defendant shall, as a full and separately served
enhancement to any other enhancement provided in paragraph (3)
of this subdivision, be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for one year.

(2) If the offense involved phencyclidine (PCP),
methamphetamine or any analog of these substances and occurred
upon, or within 1,000 feet of, the grounds of any public or private
elementary, vocational, junior high, or high school, during hours that
the school is open for classes or school-related programs, or at
anytime when minors are using the facility where the offense occurs,
the defendant shall, as a full and separately served enhancement to
any other enhancement provided in paragraph (3), be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for two years.

(3) If the offense involved a minor who is at least four years
younger than the defendant, the defendant shall, as a full and
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separately served enhancement to any other enhancement provided
in this subdivision, be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for one, two, or three years, at the discretion of the court.

(b) The additional punishment provided in this section shall not
be imposed unless the allegation is charged in the accusatory
pleading and admitted by the defendant or found to be true by the
trier of fact.

(¢) The additional punishment provided in this section shall be in
addition to any other punishment provided by law and shall not be
limited by any other provision of law.

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the court may
strike the additional punishment provided for in this section if it
determines that there are circumstances in mitigation of the
additional punishment and states on the record its reasons for
striking the additional punishment.

(e) The definitions contained in subdivision (e) of Section 11353.1
shall apply to this section.

SEC. 4. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to
Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution because the
only costs which may be incurred by a local agency or school district
will be incurred because this act creates a new crime or infraction,
changes the definition of a crime or infraction, changes the penalty
for a crime or infraction, or eliminates a crime or infraction.
Notwithstanding Section 17580 of the Government Code, unless
otherwise specified in this act, the provisions of this act shall become
operative on the same date that the act takes effect pursuant to the
California Constitution.

CHAPTER 1664

An act to amend Sections 11353, 11353.1, 11353.5, 11364, and 11380
of, to add Section 11380.1 to, and to repeal Section 11380.5 of, the
Health and Safety Code and to amend Section 729.8 of the Welfare
and Institutions Code, relating to controlled substances.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990 }

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. This act shall be known and may be cited as the
Juvenile Drug Free Zone Act of 1990.

SEC.1.5. Section 11353 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read:

11353. Every person 18 years of age or over, (a) who in any
voluntary manner solicits, induces, encourages, or intimidates any
minor with the intent that the minor shall violate any provision of
this chapter or Section 11550 with respect to either (1) a controlled
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substance which is specified in subdivision (b), (¢), or (e), or
paragraph (1) of subdivision (f) of Section 11054, specified in
paragraph (14), (15), or (20) of subdivision (d) of Section 11054, or
specified in subdivision (b), (c), or (g) of Section 11055, or (2) any
controlled substance classified in Schedule III, IV, or V which is a
narcotic drug, (b) who hires, employs, or uses a minor to unlawfully
transport, carry, sell, give away, prepare for sale, or peddle any such
controlled substance, or (c¢) who unlawfully sells, furnishes,
administers, gives, or offers to sell, furnish, administer, or give, any
such controlled substance to a minor, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for a period of three, six, or nine
years.

SEC.2. Section 11353.1 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read:

11353.1. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any
person 18 years of age or over who is convicted of a violation of
Section 11353, in addition to the punishment imposed for that
conviction, shall receive an additional punishment as follows:

(1) If the offense involved heroin, cocaine, cocaine base, or any
analog of these substances and occurred upon the grounds of, or
within, a church or synagogue, a playground, a public or private
youth center, or a public swimming pool, during hours in which the
facility is open for business, classes, or school-related programs, or at
any time when minors are using the facility, the defendant shall, as
a full and separately served enhancement to any other enhancement
provided in paragraph (3) of this subdivision, be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for one year.

(2) If the offense involved heroin, cocaine, cocaine base, or any
analog of these substances and occurred upon, or within 1,000 feet of,
the grounds of any public or private elementary, vocational, junior
high, or high school, during hours that the school is open for classes
or school-related programs, or at any time minors are using the
facility, the defendant shall, as a full and separately served
enhancement to any other enhancement provided in paragraph (3),
be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two years.

(3) If the offense involved a minor who is at least four years
younger than the defendant, the defendant shall, as a full and
separately served enhancement to any other enhancement provided
in this subdivision, be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for one, two, or three years, at the discretion of the court.

(b) The additional punishment provided in this section shall not
be imposed unless the allegation is charged in the accusatory
pleading and admitted by the defendant or found to be true by the
trier of fact.

(c) The additional punishment provided in this section shall be in
addition to any other punishment provided by law and shall not be
limited by any other provision of law.

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the court may
strike the additional punishment provided for in this section if it
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determines that there are circumstances in mitigation of the
additional punishment and states on the record its reasons for
striking the additional punishment.

{e) As used in this section, the following definitions shall apply:

(1) “Playground” means any park or recreational area specifically
designed to be used by children which has play equipment installed,
including public grounds designed for athletic activities, such as
baseball, football, soccer, or basketball, or any similar facility located
on public or private school grounds, or on city, county, or state parks.

(2) “Youth center” means any public or private facility that is
primarily used to host recreational or social activities for minors,
including, but not limited to, private youth membership
organizations or clubs, social service teenage club facilities, video
arcades, or similar amusement park facilities.

(3) “Video arcade” means any premises where 10 or more video
game machines or devices are operated, and where minors are
legally permitted to conduct business.

(4) “Video game machine” means any mechanical amusement
device, which is characterized by the use of a cathode ray tube
display and which, upon the insertion of a coin, slug, or token in any
slot or receptacle attached to, or connected to, the machine, may be
operated for use as a game, contest, or amusement.

(5) “Within 1,000 feet of the grounds of any public or private
elementary, vocational, junior high, or high school” means any public
area or business establishment where minors are legally permitted to
conduct business which is located within 1,000 feet of any public or
private elementary, vocational, junior high, or high school.

SEC.3. Section 11353.5 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read:

11353.5. Except as authorized by law, any person 18 years of age
or older who unlawfully prepares for sale upon school grounds, a
public playground, a church, or a synagogue, or sells or gives away
a controlled substance, other than a controlled substance described
in Section 11353 or 11380, to a minor upon the grounds of, or within,
any school, public playground, church, or synagogue providing
instruction in kindergarten, or any of grades 1 through 12, inclusive,
during hours in which those facilities are open for classes or
school-related programs, or upon the grounds of a public playground
during the hours in which school-related programs for minors are
being conducted, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for three, six, or nine years. Application of this section shall be
limited to persons at least five years older than the minor to whom
he or she prepares for sale, sells, or gives away a controlled substance.

SEC. 4. Section 11364 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read:

11364. It is unlawful to possess an opium pipe or any device,
contrivance, instrument, or paraphernalia used for unlawfully
injecting or smoking (1) a controlled spbstance specified in
subdivision (b), (c), or (e), or paragraph (1) of subdivision (f) of
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Section 11054, specified in paragraph (14), (15), or (20) of
subdivision (d) of Section 11054, specified in subdivision (b) or (c)
of Section 11055, or specified in paragraph (2) of subdivision (d) of
Section 11055, or (2) a controlled substance which is a narcotic drug
classified in Schedule III, IV, or V.

SEC. 5. Section 11380 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read:

11380. (a) Every person 18 years of age or over who violates any
provision of this chapter involving controlled substances which are
(1) classified in Schedule III, IV, or V and which are not narcotic
drugs or (2) specified in subdivision (d) of Section 11054, except
paragraphs (13), (14), (15), and (20) of subdivision (d), specified in
paragraph (2) or (3) or subdivision (f) of Section 11054, or specified
in subdivision (d), (e), or (f) of Section 11055, by the use of a minor
as agent, who solicits, induces, encourages, or intimidates any minor
with the intent that the minor shall violate any provision of this
article involving those controlled substances or who unlawfully
furnishes, offers to furnish, or attempts to furnish those controlled
substances to a minor shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for a period of three, six, or nine years.

(b) Nothing in this section applies to a registered pharmacist
furnishing controlled substances pursuant to a prescription.

SEC. 6. Section 11380.1 is added to the Health and Safety Code,
to read:

11380.1. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any
person 18 years of age or over who is convicted of a violation of
Section 11380, in addition to the punishment imposed for that
conviction, shall receive an additional punishment as follows:

(1) If the  offense involved phencyclidine (PCP),
methamphetamine, or any analog of these substances and occured
upon the grounds of or within a church or synagogue, a playground,
a public or private youth center, or a public swimming pool, during
hours in which the facility is open for business, classes, or
school-related programs, or at any time when minors are using the
facility, the defendant shall, as a full and separately served
enhancement to any other enhancement provided in paragraph (3)
of this subdivision, be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for one year.

(2) If the offense involved phencyclidine (PCP),
methamphetamine, or any analog of these substances and occurred
upon, or within 1,000 feet of, the grounds of any public or private
elementary, vocational, junior high school, or high school, during
hours that the school is open for classes or school-related programs,
or at any time when minors are using the facility where the offense
occurs, the defendant shall, as a full and separately served
enhancement to any other enhancement provided in paragraph (3),
be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two years,

(3) If the offense involved a minor who is at least four years
younger than the defendant, the defendant shall, as a full and
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separately served enhancement to any other enhancement provided
in this subdivision, be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for one, two, or three years, at the discretion of the court.

(b) The additional punishment provided in this section shall not
be imposed unless the allegation is charged in the accusatory
pleading and admitted by the defendant or found to be true by the
trier of fact.

(c) The additional punishment provided in this section shall be in
addition to any other punishment provided by law and shall not be
limited by any other provision of law.

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the court may
strike the additional punishment provided for in this section if it
determines that there are circumstances in mitigation of the
additional punishment and states on the record its reasons for
striking the additional punishment.

(e) The definitions contained in sudbdivision (e) of Section
11353.1 shall apply to this section.

SEC.7. Section 11380.5 of the Health and Safety Code is repealed.

SEC. 8. Section 729.8 of the Welfare and Institutions Code is
amended to read:

729.8. (a) If a minor is found to be a person described in Section
602 by reason of the unlawful possession, use, sale, or other furnishing
of a controlled substance, as defined in Chapter 2 (commencing with
Section 11053) of the Health and Safety Code an imitation controlled
substance as defined in Section 11675 of the Health and Safety Code,
or toluene or a toxic, as described in Section 381 of the Penal Code,
upon the grounds of any school providing instruction in
kindergarten, or any of grades 1 to 12, inclusive, or any church or
synagogue, playground, public or private youth center, or public
swimming pool, during hours in which these facilities are open for
business, classes, or school-related activities or programs, or at any
time when minors are using the facility, the court, as a condition of
probation, except in any case in which the court makes a finding and
states on the record its reasons that the condition would be
inappropriate, shall require the minor to perform not more than 100
hours of community service.

(b) The definitions contained in subdivision (e) of Section 11351.1
shall apply to this section.

(¢) As used in this section, “community service” means any of the
following:

(1) Picking up litter along public streets or highways.

(2) Cleaning up graffiti on school grounds or any public property.

(3) Performing services in a drug rehabilitation center.

SEC. 9. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to
Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution for those
costs which may be incurred by a local agency or school district
because this act creates a new crime or infraction, changes the
definition of a crime or infraction, changes the penalty for a crime
or infraction, or eliminates a crime or infraction.
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However, notwithstanding Section 17610 of the Government
Code, if the Commission on State Mandates determines that this act
contains other costs mandated by the state, reimbursement to local
agencies and school districts for those costs shall be made pursuant
to Part 7 (commencing with Section 17500) of Division 4 of Title 2
of the Government Code. If the statewide cost of the claim for
reimbursement does not exceed one million dollars ($1,000,000),
reimbursement shall be made from the State Mandates Claims Fund.

Notwithstanding Section 17580 of the Government Code, unless
otherwise specified in this act, the provisions of this act shall become
operative on the same date that the act takes effect pursuant to the
California Constitution.

CHAPTER 1665

An act to amend Sections 11353.1, 11353.5, 11353.7, and 11380 of, to
add Section 11380.1 to, and to repeal Section 11380.5 of, the Health
and Safety Code, relating to controlled substances.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990 Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 11353.1 of the Health and Safety Code is
amended to read:

11353.1. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any
person 18 years of age or over who is convicted of a violation of
Section 11353, in addition to the punishment imposed for that
conviction, shall receive an additional punishment as follows:

(1) If the offense involved heroin, cocaine, cocaine base, or any
analog of these substances and occurred upon the grounds of, or
within, a church or synagogue, a playground, a public or private
youth center, or a public swimming pool, during hours in which the
facility is open for business, classes, or school-related programs, or at
any time when minors are using the facility, the defendant shall, as
a full and separately served enhancement to any other enhancement
provided in paragraph (3), be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for one year.

(2) If the offense involved heroin, cocaine, cocaine base, or any
analog of these substances and occurred upon, or within 1,000 feet of,
the grounds of any public or private elementary, vocational, junior
high, or high school, during hours that the school is open for classes
or school-related programs, or at any time when minors are using the
facility where the offense occurs, the defendant shall, as a full and
separately served enhancement to any other enhancement provided
in paragraph (3), be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for two years.
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(3) If the offense involved a minor who is at least four years
younger than the defendant, the defendant shall, as a full and
separately served enhancement to any other enhancement provided
in this subdivision, be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for one, two, or three years, at the discretion of the court.

(b) The additional punishment provided in this section shall not
be imposed unless the allegation is charged in the accusatory
pleading and admitted by the defendant or found to be true by the
trier of fact.

(c) The additional punishment provided in this section shall be in
addition to any other punishment provided by law and shall not be
limited by any other provision of law.

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the court may
strike the additional punishment provided for in this section if it
determines that there are circumstances in mitigation of the
additional punishment and states on the record its reasons for
striking the additional punishment.

(e) As used in this section the following definitions shall apply:

(1) “Playground” means any park or recreational area specifically
designed to be used by children which has play equipment installed,
including public grounds designed for athletic activities such as
baseball, football, soccer, or basketball, or any similar facility located
on public or private school grounds, or on city, county, or state parks.

(2) “Youth center” means any public or private facility that is
primarily used to host recreational or social activities for minors,
including, but not limited to, private youth membership
organizations or clubs, social service teenage club facilities, video
arcades, or similar amusement park facilities.

(3) “Video arcade” means any premises where 10 or more video
game machines or devices are operated, and where minors are
legally permitted to conduct business.

(4) “Video game machine” means any mechanical amusement
device, which is characterized by the use of a cathode ray tube
display and which, upon the insertion of a coin, slug, or token in any
slot or receptacle attached to, or connected to, the machine, may be
operated for use as a game, contest, or amusement.

(5) “Within 1,000 feet of the grounds of any public or private
elementary, vocational, junior high, or high school” means any public
area or business establishment where minors are legally permitted to
conduct business which is located within 1,000 feet of any public or
private elementary, vocational, junior high, or high school.

(f) This section does not require either that notice be posted
regarding the proscribed conduct or that the applicable 1,000-foot
boundary limit be marked.

SEC.2. Section 11353.5 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read:

11353.5. Except as authorized by law, any person 18 years of age
or older who unlawfully prepares for sale upon school grounds or a
public playground, a church or a synagogue, or sells or gives away a
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controlled substance, other than a controlled substance described in
Section 11353 or 11380, to a minor upon the grounds of, or within, any
school, public playground, church, or synagogue providing
instruction in kindergarten, or any of grades 1 to 12, inclusive, during
hours in which those facilities are open for classes or school-related
programs, or at any time when minors are using the facility where
the offense occurs, or upon the grounds of a public playground
during the hours in which school-related programs for minors are
being conducted, or at any time when minors are using the facility
where the offense occurs, shall be punished by imprisonment in the
state prison for five, seven, or nine years. Application of this section
shall be limited to persons at least five years older than the minor to
whom he or she prepares for sale, sells, or gives away a controlled
substance.

SEC.3. Section 11353.7 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read:

11353.7. Except as authorized by law, and except as provided
otherwise in Sections 11353.1, 11353.6, and 11380.1 with respect to
playgrounds situated in a public park, any person 18 years of age or
older who unlawfully prepares for sale in a public park, including
units of the state park system and state vehicular recreation areas, or
sells or gives away a controlled substance to a minor under the age
of 14 years in a public park, including units of the state park system
and state vehicular recreation areas, during hours in which the
public park, including units of the state park system and state
vehicular recreation areas, is open for use, with knowledge that the
person is a minor under the age of 14 years, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for three, six, or nine years.

SEC. 4. Section 11380 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read:

11380. (a) Every person 18 years of age or over who violates any
provision of this chapter involving controlled substances which are
(1) classified in Schedule III, IV, or V and which are not narcotic
drugs or (2) specified in subdivision (d) of Section 11054, except
paragraphs (13), (14), (15), and (20) of subdivision (d), specified in
paragraph (2) or (3) or subdivision (f) of Section 11054, or specified
in subdivision (d), (e), or (f) of Section 11055, by the use of a minor
as agent, who solicits, induces, encourages, or intimidates any minor
with the intent that the minor shall violate any provision of this
article involving those controlled substances or who unlawfully
furnishes, offers to furnish, or attempts to furnish those controlled
substances to a minor shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for a period of three, five, or seven years.

(b) Nothing in this section applies to a registered pharmacist
furnishing controlled substances pursuant to a prescription.

SEC. 5. Section 11380 of the Health and Safety Code is amended
to read: .

11380. (a) Every person 18 years of age or over who violates any
provision of this chapter involving controlled substances which are
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(1) classified in Schedule III, IV, or V and which are not narcotic
drugs or (2) specified in subdivision (d) of Section 11054, except
paragraphs (13), (14), (15), and (20) of subdivision (d), specified in
paragraph (2) or (3) or subdivision (f) of Section 11054, or specified
in subdivision (d), (e), or (f) of Section 11055, by the use of a minor
as agent, who solicits, induces, encourages, or intimidates any minor
with the intent that the minor shall violate any provision of this
article involving those controlled substances or who unlawfully
furnishes, offers to furnish, or attempts to furnish those controlled
substances to a minor shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for a period of three, six, or nine years.

(b) Nothing in this section applies to a registered pharmacist
furnishing controlled substances pursuant to a prescription.

SEC. 6. Section 11380.1 is added to the Health and Safety Code,
to read:

11380.1. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any
person 18 years of age or over who is convicted of a violation of
Section 11380, in addition to the punishment imposed for that
conviction, shall receive an additional punishment as follows:

(1) If the offense involved phencyclidine (PCP),
methamphetamine, or any analog of these substances and occurred
upon the grounds of, or within, a church or synagogue, a playground,
a public or private youth center, or a public swimming pool, during
hours in which the facility is open for business, classes, or
school-related programs, or at any time when minors are using the
facility, the defendant shall, as a full and separately served
enhancement to any other enhancement provided in paragraph (3),
be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for one year.

(2) If the offense involved phencyclidine (PCP),
methamphetamine, or any analog of these substances and occurred
upon, or within 1,000 feet of, the grounds of any public or private
elementary, vocational, junior high school, or high school, during
hours that the school is open for classes or school-related programs,
or at any time when minors are using the facility where the offense
occurs, the defendant shall, as a full and separately served
enhancement to any other enhancement provided in paragraph (3),
be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two years.

(3) If the offense involved a minor who is at least four years
younger than the defendant, the defendant shall, as a full and
separately served enhancement to any other enhancement provided
in this subdivision, be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for one, two, or three years, at the discretion of the court.

(b) The additional punishment provided in this section shall not
be imposed unless the allegation is charged in the accusatory
pleading and admitted by the defendant or found to be true by the
trier of fact.

(¢) The additional punishment provided in this section shall be in
addition to any other punishment provided by law and shall not be
limited by any other provision of law.
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(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the court may
strike the additional punishment provided for in this section if it
determines that there are circumstances in mitigation of the
additional punishment and states on the record its reasons for
striking the additional punishment.

(e) The definitions contained in subdivision (e) of Section 11353.1
shall apply to this section.

(f) This section does not require either that notice be posted
regarding the proscribed conduct or that the applicable 1,000-foot
boundary limit be marked.

SEC. 7. Section 11380.5 of the Health and Safety Code, as
amended by Chapter 28 of the Statutes of 1990, is repealed.

SEC.8. Section 5 of this bill incorporates amendments to Section
11380 of the Health and Safety Code proposed by both this bill and
AB 2645. It shall only become operative if (1) both bills are enacted
and become effective January 1, 1991, (2) each bill amends Section
11380 of the Health and Safety Code, and (3) this bill is enacted after
AB 2645, in which case Section 4 of this bill shall not become
operative.

SEC. 9. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to
Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution because the
only costs which may be incurred by a local agency or school district
will be incurred because this act creates a new crime or infraction,
changes the definition of a crime or infraction, changes the penalty
for a crime or infraction, or eliminates a crime or infraction.
Notwithstanding Section 17580 of the Government Code, unless
otherwise specified in this act, the provisions of this act shall become
operative on the same date that the act takes effect pursuant to the
California Constitution.

CHAPTER 1666

An act to add and repeal Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section
16250) of Part 4 of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions Code,
relating to children, and making an appropriation therefor.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

39‘11 gm deleting the $64,000 appropriation contained in Section 2 of Assembly Bill No.

This bill would establish traiming programs for child protective workers, law
enforcement officers and administrators in crealing and maintaining memoranda of
understanding for coordinated efforts of child abuse investigation.

The demands placed on budget resources require all of us to set priorihies, With
legislation I will be signing and the budget enacted in July 1990, more than $54 billion
in state funds will be appropriated this fiscal year. This amount is more than adequate
to provide the necessary essential services provided for by State Government. It is not
necessary to put additional pressure on taxpayer funds for programs that fall beyond
the priorities currently provided.

It is more appropriate to consider funding the provisions of this bill during the
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budget process for Fiscal Year 1991-92. Only at that time can the relative merits of
this program be reviewed in comparison to all other funding projects. The budget
process weighs all demands on the state’s revenues and directs resources to programs,
either new or existing, that have the most merit.

With this deletion, T approve Assembly Bill No. 3949.

GEORGE DEUKME]JIAN, Governor
The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 16250) is
added to Part 4 of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions Code,
to read:

CHAPTER 3.5. CHILD ABUSE COORDINATED TRAINING GRANT
PROGRAM

16250. The Legislature finds and declares as follows:

(a) Child abuse is a serious and growing problem in California.

(b) State and local efforts should focus on fully utilizing existing
limited resources.

(c) Joint investigation of child abuse by child protective agencies
and law enforcement agencies can be valuable in ensuring
high-quality investigations, reducing duplication and waste of
resources, and protecting children.

(d) State programs should build on successful existing local
programs, providing information and technical assistance to allow
counties to design programs meeting their unique needs.

16251. (a) The State Department of Social Services shall select
and award grants to private nonprofit or public entities for projects
to develop a training program to arrive at formal memoranda of
understanding regarding the respective functions and duties of child
protective agencies and law enforcement agencies in counties in the
investigation of child abuse cases.

(b) In awarding grants for projects, the State Department of
Social Services shall consider all of the following factors:

(1) The quality and extent of community support for the proposed
projects.

(2) Demonstrated success in implementing formal memoranda of
understanding regarding the investigation of child abuse cases.

(3) Experience in responding to large numbers of reports of child
abuse.

(4) Ability to contribute existing or other resources, including
federal, county, local, or private funds.

(¢) For purposes of this section, “child protective agencies” and
“law enforcement agencies” are agencies responsible for
investigating reports of child abuse, as defined in Section 11165.9 of
the Penal Code.

16252. The training program developed pursuant to this chapter
shall provide practice-relevant training to child protective workers,
law enforcement officers, and program administrators in creating
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and maintaining formal memoranda of understanding and shall
include, but not be limited to, the following areas:

(a) Contents of memoranda of understanding.

(b) The process of developing memoranda of understanding and
problem-solving techniques.

(¢) Jurisdictional issues and their resolution.

(d) Allocation of investigative costs and responsibilities.

(e) Types of cases suitable for joint investigations.

(f) Flexibility in designing a program suitable to the differing
geographical and cultural circumstances in individual counties.

(g) Development of outcome measurements evaluating the
effects of coordinated investigations on the conditions of children,
quality of investigations, reductions in paperwork and duplicative
efforts, worker satisfaction, and other relevant areas.

16253. Projects awarded grants under this program shall be
coordinated to the fullest extent possible with existing demonstration
and training projects under Title 7 (commencing with Section
14000) of Part 4 of the Penal Code, Chapter 3 (commencing with
Section 16200), and trainings conducted by the State Department of
Social Services pursuant to its Manual of Policies and Procedures.

16254. This chapter shall remain in effect only until January 1,
1992, and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute,
which becomes effective on or before January 1, 1992, deletes or
extends that date.

SEC.2. The sum of sixty-four thousand dollars ($64,000) is hereby
appropriated from the General Fund to the State Department of
Social Services for the purposes of Chapter 3.5 (commencing with
Section 16250) of Part 4 of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions
Code for the 1990-91 fiscal year.

CHAPTER 1667

An act to amend Sections 52301.5, 52302, 52519, 78015, and 78016 of
the Education Code, and to amend Sections 14002.5, 15340, 15341,
15342, and 15344, and the heading of Article 3.5 (commencing with
Section 15340) of Chapter 1 of Part 6.7 of Division 3 of Title 2 of, and
to repeal Sections 15340.1 and 15343 of, the Government Code, to add
Section 4638.5 to the Labor Code, and to amend Sections 1611, 9614,
10510, 10521, 10527, 15002, 15026, 15037, 15038.5, 15064, 15075, 15076,
15077, 15077.5, 15079, and 15082, and the heading of Chapter 7.5
(commencing with Section 15075) of Division 8 of, to repeal and add
Section 15078 of, to add Sections 10525, 15075.1, and 15076.5 to, to add
Article 3 (commencing with Section 10530) to Chapter 4.5 of
Division 3 of, and to repeal Sections 15038.51, 15057.5 and 15086 of,
the Unemployment Insurance Code, relating to displaced workers,
and making an appropriation therefor.
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[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990 Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 52301.5 of the Education Code is amended
to read:

52301.5. For the purposes of this chapter:

(a) “California Occupational Information System” means the
statewide comprehensive labor market and occupational supply and
demand information system developed pursuant to Section 10532 of
the Unemployment Insurance Code.

(b) “State-Local Cooperative Labor Market Information
program” means that labor market information system established in
Section 10533 of the Unemployment Insurance Code.

(c) “Job market study” means a review of the existing educational
programs in light of available labor market information, including
occupational supply and demand, for a labor market area.

(d) “Labor market area” means a county or aggregation of
counties designated by the Employment Development Department
that has one or more central core cities and that meets criteria of
population, population density, commute patterns, and social and
economic integration specified by the Employment Development
Department.

SEC.2. Section 52302 of the Education Code is amended to read:

52302. The school or community college district or districts, or
county superintendent or superintendents, sponsoring the regional
occupational center or program shall conduct a job market study in
the labor market area in which they propose to establish a regional
occupational center or program. The study shall use the State-Local
Cooperative Labor Market Information Program established in
Section 10533 of the Unemployment Insurance Code, or if this
program is not available in the labor market area, other available
sources of labor market information. The study shall include a
California Occupational Information System supply analysis of
existing vocational and occupational training programs maintained
by high schools, community colleges, and private postsecondary
schools in the area to ensure that the anticipated employment
demand for trainees in the proposed regional occupational centers
and programs justifies the establishment of the proposed courses of
instruction.

SEC. 3. Section 52519 of the Education Code is amended to read:

52519. (a) The governing board of any high school district or
unified school district shall, prior to establishing a vocational or
occupational training program, conduct a job market study of the
labor market area in which it proposes to establish the program. The
study shall use the State-Local Cooperative Labor Market
Information Program established in Section 10533 of the
Unemployment Insurance Code, or if this program is not available
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in the labor market area, other available sources of labor market
information. The study shall include a California Occupational
Information System supply analysis of existing vocational and
occupational education or training programs for adults maintained
by high schools, community colleges, and private postsecondary
schools in the area to ensure that the anticipated employment
demand for the adults enrolled in the proposed program justifies the
establishment of the proposed courses of instruction.

(b) Subsequent to completing the study required by this section
and prior to establishing the program, the governing board of the
high school or unified school district shall determine whether or not
the study justifies the proposed vocational education program.

(c) If the governing board of the high school district or unified
school district determines that the job market study justifies the
initiation of the proposed program, it shall, by resolution, determine
whether the program shall be offered through the district’s own
facilities or through a contract with an approved private
postsecondary school pursuant to Section 8092.

SEC. 4. Section 78015 of the Education Code is amended to read:

78015. (a) The governing board of a community college district
shall, prior to establishing a vocational or occupational training
program, conduct a job market study of the labor market area, as
those terms are defined in Section 52301.5, in which it proposes to
establish the program. The study shall use the State-Local
Cooperative Labor Market Information Program established in
Section 10533, or if this program is not available in the labor market
area, other available sources of labor market information. The study
shall include a California Occupational Information System supply
analysis of existing vocational and occupational education or training
programs for adults maintained by high schools, community colleges,
and private postsecondary schools in the area to ensure that the
anticipated employment demand for students in the proposed
programs justifies the establishment of the proposed courses of
instruction.

(b) Subsequent to completing the study required by this section
and prior to establishing the program, the governing board of the
community college district shall determine whether or not the study
justifies the proposed vocational education program.

(c) If the governing board of the community college district
determines that the job market study justifies the initiation of the
proposed program, it shall, by resolution, determine whether the
program shall be offered through the district’s own facilities or
through a contract with an approved private postsecondary school
pursuant to Section 8092.

SEC. 4.5. Section 78016 of the Education Code is amended to
read:

78016. (a) Every vocational or occupational training program
offered by a community college district shall be reviewed every two
years by the governing board of the district to assure that each
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program, as demonstrated by the California Occupational
Information System, including the State-Local Cooperative Labor
Market Information Program established in Section 10533 of the
Unemployment Insurance Code, or if this program is not available
in the labor market area, other available sources of labor market
information, does all of the following:

(1) Meets a documented labor market demand.

(2) Does not represent unnecessary duplication of other
manpower training programs in the area.

(3) Is of demonstrated effectiveness as measured by the
employment and completion success of its students.

(b) Any program that does not meet the requirements of
subdivision (a) and the standards promulgated by the governing
board shall be terminated within one year.

(c) The review process required by this section shall include the
review and comments by the local Private Industry Council
established pursuant to Division 8 (commencing with Section 15000)
of the Unemployment Insurance Code, which review and comments
shall occur prior to any decision by the appropriate governing body.

(d) This section shall apply to each program commenced
subsequent to July 28, 1983,

SEC. 5. Section 14002.5 of the Government Code is amended to
read:

14002.5. As used in this part, unless the context otherwise
requires:

(a) “Department” means the Department of Transportation.

(b) “Director” means the Director of Transportation.

(c) “Secretary” means the Secretary of the Business,
Transportation and Housing Agency.

(d) “Board” or “commission” means the California
Transportation Commission.

(e) “Displaced worker” means individuals eligible for assistance
pursuant to Section 15076 of the Unemployment Insurance Code.

SEC. 6. The heading of Article 3.5 (commencing with Section
15340) of Chapter 1 of Part 6.7 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the
Government Code is amended to read:

Article 3.5. Economic Adjustment

SEC. 7. Section 15340 of the Government Code is amended to
read:

15340. The Legislature declares the following:

(a) The state must meet the competitive challenges of the 1990’s
and provide sufficient employment opportunities for its population,
and the mature sectors of the state’s industrial base must be
revitalized.

(b) In some instances, the revitalization process has entailed, and
will continue to entail, the closure of some plants and the attendant
severe economic dislocations for displaced workers, their families,
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and the communities.

(¢) The state has an obligation to its citizens to adopt policies
which not only help alleviate the unemployment and economic
distress of major plant closings, but which also promote a healthy
business climate in order to facilitate the creation of new jobs to
replace those lost to plant closings in the mature sectors of the
economy.

(d) There is a need to assure that this assistance from the state is
available on a systematic and coordinated basis and that private
industry councils, entities administering job training plans for
dislocated workers under the federal Job Training Partnership Act,
as amended, workers, firms, and communities know of its availability
and can access it.

(e) The availability of this assistance from the state can serve as
an incentive for federally required early notification to workers, local
governments, and the state regarding anticipated plant closures or
mass layoffs well in advance of their occurrence in order that special
assistance may be offered to avert unnecessary closings or to prevent
severe economic dislocation.

SEC. 8. Section 15340.1 of the Government Code is repealed.

SEC. 9. Section 15341 of the Government Code is amended to
read:

15341. There is hereby established in the Department of
Commerce the Economic Adjustment Unit. The primary role of the
unit shall be to save California jobs and serve business, labor, and
communities by averting plant closures, and where closures are
unavoidable, to assist in creating new jobs for the dislocated workers.

SEC. 10. Section 15342 of the Government Code is amended to
read:

15342. The responsibilities of the Economic Adjustment Unit
shall include, but not be limited to, the following:

(a) Promoting and assisting in developing local business retention
and expansion strategies which focus on retaining businesses that are
considering closures or mass layoffs.

(b) Identifying and facilitating coordination of resources and
financial assistance for study of reuse options for vacant facilities,
including marketing of closed industrial facilities to businesses
considering locating or expanding in this state.

(c) Promoting and assisting in establishing linkages between local
economic development and job training programs to help retrain
and reemploy dislocated workers.

(d) Integrating its activities with the State Dislocated Worker
Unit in the Employment Development Department.

SEC. 11. Section 15343 of the Government Code is repealed.

SEC. 11.5. Section 15344 of the Government Code is amended to
read:

15344. The Economic Adjustment Unit shall coordinate
site-specific economic development activities with the activities of
the State Dislocated Worker Unit in the Employment Development
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Department under Title III of the Job Training Partnership Act,
Public Law 97-300, and the federal Worker Adjustment and
Retraining Notification Act, Public Law 100-379, including all of the
following:

(a) Assessing the feasibility of averting a mass layoff or closure and
retaining a company that has given the required 60-day notice.

(b) Providing employers and employee representatives with
information and access to available public and private services to
avert a closure or mass layoff, including assessments of potential for
an Employee Stock Ownership Plan.

(c) Reporting to the State Dislocated Worker Unit and to the
State Job Training Coordinating Council on the type and number of
requests it receives and the results of its assistance.

SEC. 12. Section 4638.5 is added to the Labor Code, to read:

4638.5. The vocational rehabilitation plan shall use occupational
supply and demand information from the California Occupational
Information System established in Article 3 (commencing with
Section 10530) of Chapter 4.5 of Division 3 of the Unemployment
Insurance Code, if the system is available in the labor market area.

SEC. 12.5. Section 1611 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

1611. Money in the Employment Training Fund shall be
expended only for the purposes of Chapter 3.5 (commencing with
Section 10200) of Part 1 of Division 3, for the costs of administering
this article and Section 976.6, and for no more than 50 percent of the
costs of the State-Local Cooperative Labor Market Information
Program established by Section 10533, except for the following:

(a) If at any time during the fiscal year the contributions paid
pursuant to Section 976.6 exceed fifty-five million dollars
($55,000,000), in addition to the amounts required for the
administration of Section 976.6 and appropriations for the
State-Local Cooperative Labor Market Information Program, the
excess shall be transferred to the Unemployment Fund.

(b) With the approval of the Legislature, the Employment
Training Fund or contributions to it may be used to pay interest
charged on federal loans to the Unemployment Fund.

SEC. 13. Section 1611 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

1611. Money in the Employment Training Fund shall be
expended only for the purposes of Chapter 3.5 (commencing with
Section 10200) of Part 1 of Division 3, for the costs of administering
this article and Section 976.6, and for no more than 50 percent of the
costs of the State-Local Cooperative Labor Market Information
Program established by Section 10533, except that, with the approval
of the Legislature, the fund or contributions to it may be used to pay
interest charged on federal loans to the Unemployment Fund.

SEC. 13.5. Section 9614 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

9614. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the
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department shall annually issue the following reports to the
Governor and the Legislature:

(a) An evaluation of the California Jobs Tax Credit Program. This
report shall be issued by February 1 of each year.

(b) An evaluation of the Job Agent Program and the State Service
Center Program. This report shall be issued by December 1 of each
year.

(¢) An evaluation of the Retraining Benefits Program pursuant to
Section 15079. This report shall be issued by November 1 of each
year.

SEC. 14. Section 10510 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

10510. It is the intent of the Legislature, in enacting this chapter,
to establish and implement a program of comprehensive and
coordinated employment and training planning in California in
accordance with the federal Job Training Partnership Act, as
amended. The Legislature recognizes the need for a new
employment and training planning structure which will provide for
comprehensive analysis of alternative expenditure possibilities for
the fiscal resources available in this field. The basic principles of the
systern are as follows:

(a) That the employment and training needs at the local, regional,
and state levels, be addressed.

(b) That the expenditure of available funds meets the needs at the
local level.

(c¢) That employment and training programs be integrated into a
uniform employment and training services planning system within
substate regions.

(d) That a uniform planning system shall coordinate employment
and training programs and eliminate duplication of programs among
state and local agencies.

(e) That decisionmaking be decentralized, insofar as is
practicable, to the governmental level closest to the people.

SEC. 15. Section 10521 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

10521. As used in this chapter:

(a) “State council” means the State Job Training Coordinating
Council established pursuant to Chapter 4.5 (commencing with
Section 15035) of Division 8.

(b) “Employment and training programs and services” means all
programs and services provided in this state to increase employment
or provide job search assistance or training to unemployed or
underemployed persons, including those administered by state and
local education and training agencies (including vocational
education agencies), public assistance agencies, the employment
service, rehabilitation agencies, postsecondary institutions, economic
development agencies, and other agencies which have a direct
interest in employment and training and human resource utilization
in the state. This shall include, but is not limited to, the following:
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(1) Programs operated pursuant to the Job Training Partnership
Act, as amended.

(2) Employment services, as authorlzed by the Wagner-Peyser
Act.

(3) Employment services to food stamp recipients, as authorized
by Public Law 95-113 and Section 18900 of the Welfare and
Institutions Code.

(4) The Career Opportunities Development Program, as
authorized by Division 4 (commencing with Section 12000).

(5) The California Jobs Tax Credit, as authorized by Sections
17053.7 and 24330 of the Revenue and Taxation Code.

(6) The State Service Center Program, as authorized by
Executive Order 66-11, July 1966.

(7) The Job Agent Program, as authorized by Article 3
(commencing with Section 9700) of Chapter 3 of Part 1 of Division
3.

(8) Dislocated Workers Assistance, as authorized by Chapter 7.5
{commencing with Section 15075) of Division 8.

(9) Adult education, as authorized by Chapter 10 (commencing
with Section 52500) of Part 28 of Division 4 of Title 2 of the Education
Code.

(10) Vocational education programs subject to the reporting
requirements of the federal Carl D. Perkins Vocational Education
Act (20 US.C. Sec. 2301 et seq.), or authorized by Chapter 1
(commencing with Section 8000) of Part 6, and Chapter 9
(commencing with Section 52300) and Chapter 13 (commencing
with 52950) of Part 28 of the Education Code.

(11) The California Educational Opportunity Grant Program, as
authorized by subdivision (c¢) of Section 69532 of the Education
Code.

(12) Vocational education for inmates of correctional institutions,
as authorized by Article 6 (commencing with Section 1120) of
Chapter 3 of Part 1 of Division 2 of the Welfare and Institutions Code,
and by Sections 2054, 2716, and 5091 of the Penal Code.

(13) The California Conservation Corps, as authorized by Division
12 (commencing with Section 14000) of the Public Resources Code.

(14) Apprenticeship programs, as authorized by Chapter 4
(commencing with Section 3070) of Division 3 of the Labor Code.

(15) The Employment Training Panel, as authorized by Chapter
3.5 (commencing with Section 10200) of Part 1 of Division 3.

(16) Economic and business development programs and services,
as authorized by Part 6.7 (commencing with Section 15310) of
Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

(17) The Small Business Development Program, as authorized by
Part 5 (commencing with Section 14000) of Division 3 of Title 1 of
the Corporations Code.

(18) The business and industrial development programs, as
authorized by Division 15 (commencing with Section 32000) of the
Financial Code.
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(19) The Industrial Development Financing Program, as
authorized by Title 10 (commencing with Section 91500) of the
Government Code.

(20) Child care services provided to permit parents to be
employed or participate in training, as authorized by Chapter 2
(commencing with Section 8200) of Part 6 of Division 1 of Title 1 of
the Education Code.

(21) Income maintenance programs for persons who would be
employed but for a lack of employment opportunities, training, child
care, or vocational rehabilitation, as authorized by Division 1
(commencing with Section 100), and Division 9 (commencing with
Section 10000) of the Welfare and Institutions Code.

(22) The Greater Avenues for Independence Act, as authorized
by Article 3.2 (commencing with Section 11320) of Chapter 2 of Part
3 of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions Code.

(23) Vocational rehabilitation programs, as authorized by Article
2.6 (commencing with Section 4635) of Chapter 2 of Part 2 of
Division 4 of the Labor Code and Division 9 (commencing with
Section 19000) of the Welfare and Institutions Code.

(24) Community Services Block Grants, as authorized by the
Economic Opportunity Act (Public Law 97-35).

(25) Employment and training services for homeless persons, as
authorized by the Stewart B. McKinney Act (Public Law 100-77).

(26) Senior Community Service Employment programs, as
authorized by Title V of the Older Americans Act (Subchapter 7
(commencing with Section 3056) of Chapter 35 of Title 42 of the
United States Code) and Section 9000 of the Welfare and Institutions
Code.

(27) California Community College programs, as authorized by
Division 7 (commencing with Section 70900) of Title 3 of the
Education Code.

(28) The Enterprise Zone Act, as authorized by Chapter 12.8
(commencing with Section 7070), and the Employment and
Fconomic Incentive Act, as authorized by Chapter 129
(commencing with Section 7080), of Division 7 of Title 1 of the
Government Code.

(29) Programs for Disadvantaged Pupils, as authorized by Part 29
(commencing with Section 54000) of the Education Code.

SEC. 16. Section 10525 is added to the Unemployment Insurance
Code, to read:

10525. The coordination and special services plan shall also
include a dislocated workers assistance plan to provide services to
eligible workers pursuant to Chapter 7.5 (commencing with Section
15075) of Division 8. The dislocated workers assistance plan shall
meet the requirements of Title III of the federal Job Training
Partnership Act, as amended, and include all of the following:

(a) The specific responsibilities of each of the state agencies
administering dislocated workers assistance programs.

(b) Procedures for the exchange of information and coordination
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between the Employment Development Department and the
Department of Commerce for the purpose of developing strategies
to avert plant closings or mass layoffs and to accelerate the
reemployment of affected individuals.

(c) Provide that services to a substantial number of members of
a labor organization shall be established only after full consultation
with the labor organization.

(d) Prescribe program standards, including, but not limited to,
standards based on job placement and job retention.

(e) Integration of displaced worker services with services and
payments made available under the Trade Act of 1974, as amended,
unemployment insurance benefits, the Job Service, vocational
education programs, and other programs provided under this
division.

(f) Coordination of local dislocated worker rapid response
assistance planning with the federal Worker Adjustment and
Retraining Notification Act, Public Law 100-379, by designation of
local service delivery area grant administrators as local
governmental entities which will also formally receive the 60-day
notice required under the federal act.

SEC. 17. Section 10527 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

10527. The coordination and special services plan prepared by
the State Job Training Coordinating Council, in accordance with
Sections 121 and 314 of the federal Job Training Partnership Act, shall
include provisions allowable under the federal act to facilitate
employee ownership, as defined by Section 91502.1 of the
Government Code.

SEC. 18. Article 3 (commencing with Section 10530) is added to
Chapter 4.5 of Division 3 of the Unemployment Insurance Code, to
read:

Article 3. Coordination of Labor Market Information

10530. It is the intent of the Legislature to establish a statewide
comprehensive labor market and occupational supply and demand
information system to coordinate the labor market information
needs, including those specified in the statutes cited below, for the
following entities:

(1) The Board of Governors of the California Community
Colleges pursuant to its responsibilities under Sections 70901, 70901.5,
71050, 78015, and 78016 of the Education Code.

(2) The State Department of Education, pursuant to its
responsibilities under Sections 321, 323, 332, 341, 343, 421, 422, and 423
of the federal Carl D. Perkins Vocational Education Act (20 U.S.C.
Sec. 2301 et seq.), and Sections 8031, 8081, 8500, 51228, 52300, 52301.5,
52302, 52302.3, 52302.5, 52304, 52309, 52381, 52519, 52520, 52910, 52911,
and 52912 of the Education Code.

(3) The Employment Development Department, pursuant to its
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responsibilities under Article 1 (commencing with Section 1251) and
Article 1.5 (commencing with Section 1266) of Chapter 5 of Part 1
of Division 1, Chapter 9 (commencing with Section 2051) of Part 1
of Division 1, Article 2 (commencing with Section 10521) of Chapter
4.5 of Part 1 of Division 3, and Chapter 6 (commencing with Section
15050) and Chapter 7.3 (commencing with Section 15075) of
Division 8.

(4) The Employment Training Panel, pursuant to its
responsibilities under Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 10200)
of Part 1 of Division 3.

(5) The Department of Rehabilitation, pursuant to its
responsibilities under Section 19152 of the Welfare and Institutions
Code.

(6) The State Department of Social Services, pursuant to its
responsibilities under Article 3.2 (commencing with Section 11320)
of Chapter 2 of Part 3 of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions
Code.

(7) The State Job Training Coordinating Council, pursuant to its
responsibilities under Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 10510)
of Part 1 of Division 3, and Chapter 3 (commencing with Section
15020.1), Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 15030), Chapter 4.5
(commencing with Section 15035), and Chapter 7.5 (commencing
with Section 15075) of Division 8.

15031. There is in state government a California Occupational
Information Coordinating Committee composed of the Director of
Employment Development, the Director of Commerce, the
Superintendent of Public Instruction, the Chancellor of the
California Community Colleges, the Director of Rehabilitation, and
the chair of the State Job Training Coordinating Council, the
Executive Director of the Employment Training Panel, the Director
of Social Services, and the Executive Secretary of the Council for
Private Postsecondary and Vocational Education, or their designees.
This committee is established for the purposes of Section 422 of the
federal Carl D. Perkins Vocational Education Act and Section 125 of
the Job Training Partnership Act, for the purposes of this article, and
for other purposes authorized by the Legislature.

10532. (a) The California Occupational Information
Coordinating Committee shall develop and annually revise a plan for
the use of available resources to design and implement a statewide
comprehensive labor market and occupational supply and demand
information system as specified in Section 1535 of Title 29 of the
United States Code. The plan shall be submitted to the State Job
Training Coordinating Council no later than May 1 of each year. The
plan and the comments by the council shall be submitted to the
Governor and the Legislature no later than June 30 of each year.

(b) The plan shall, at the minimum, include the following:

(1) The proposed design of a labor market and occupational
supply and demand information system for this state, meeting the
requirements of Section 1535 of Title 29 of the United States Code.
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(2) Proposed activities in implementing the labor market and
occupational supply and demand information system for the fiscal
year.

(3) The amount and proposed use of each funding source
available for the labor market and occupational supply and demand
information system.

(c) The California Occupational Information Coordinating
Committee shall seek and obtain funds or in-kind contributions to
the maximum extent possible from the National Occupational
Information Coordinating Committee and other federal, state, and
private sources, and may accept and use any such funds or in-kind
contributions for the purposes of this section.

(d) The California Occupational Information Coordinating
Committee shall act as an advisory body to the Employment
Development Department in the department’s operation of the
State-Local Cooperative Labor Market Information Program.

10533. (a) The Employment Development Department shall
operate the State-Local Cooperative Labor Market Information
Program as the primary component of the comprehensive labor
market and occupational supply and demand information system
provided in Section 10532. The department shall consult with
agencies listed in Section 10530 in the development and operation of
this program.

(b) The objectives of this program shall be to produce, through
extensive local participation and for distribution in effective formats
to all local users, reliable occupational information, and to achieve
cost-efficient production by avoiding duplication of efforts. The
program shall be a primary source for local and statewide
occupational information and shall be available in all labor market
areas in the state.

(c) In producing this information, state and local agencies shall
use state occupational forecasts and other indicators of occupational
growth, combined with local employer surveys of recruitment
practices, job qualifications, earnings and hours, advancement and
outlook, to provide statistically valid occupational analyses for local
job training and education programs.

(d) Local labor market information studies shall be conducted
under the direction of the department by a local entity and shall
include the participation of local users of the information.

(e) Funding for this program shall be provided annually through
Budget Act appropriations to the Employment Development
Department, except that no more than 50 percent of the funding
shall be appropriated from the Employment Training Fund.

SEC. 19. Section 15002 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

15002. The following definitions shall govern the construction of
this division:

(a) “Director” means the Director of the department selected by
the Governor to administer the provisions of this division.
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(b) “Department” means the department selected by the
Governor to administer the provisions of this division.

(¢) “Local council” means the private industry council
established in accordance with the provisions of this division.

(d) “State council” means the State Job Training Coordinating
Council established under Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section
15035) of Division 8.

(e) “Service delivery area plan” means that plan prepared for the
service delivery area which satisfies the requirements of a Job
Training Plan under the provisions of the federal Job Training
Partnership Act and the additional requirements of this division.

SEC. 20. Section 15026 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

15026. (a) In order to assure the proper and efficient
management of the job preparation and training services system,
service delivery areas shall participate in a statewide reporting
system for management information and fiscal reporting to meet
federal, state, and local information, auditing, and control
requirements. Establishment and maintenance of these systems shall
be the responsibility of the department and shall include participant
social security number and other information deemed necessary by
the department to provide required federal and state reporting.
Reports shall be provided to the department containing such
information as the department requires. The reporting
requirements shall be determined with the assistance of local elected
officials and private industry councils. Except as provided in Section
322, the information gathered pursuant to this section shall be subject
to the confidentiality requirements contained in Section 1094.

(b) The information systems established pursuant to this section
shall, where appropriate, complement the information system
authorized in Chapter 4.1 (commencing with Section 10815) of Part
2 of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions Code.

SEC. 21. Section 15037 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

15037. The state council shall:

(a) Develop and recommend to the Governor and the Legislature
a coordination and special services plan, which includes a dislocated
workers assistance plan, in accordance with Chapter 4.5
(commencing with Section 10510) of Part 1 of Division 3.

(b) Report to the Legislature on or before February 1 of each year
concerning the degree to which local job training plans and program
performance meet regional and state labor market needs, as
identified in the local plans and by the state council.

(c¢) Recommend to the Governor local service delivery areas. To
the extent permitted by federal law, designation of service delivery
areas shall reflect the intent of the Legislature to integrate and
coordinate employment and training services, public assistance
programs, and other educational and training efforts as may exist
which are designed to assist individuals in preparing for participation
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in the labor force.

(d) To the extent permitted by federal law, establish policies
which shall be followed by the department in performing all of the
following functions:

(1) Approval of local service delivery area plans.

(2) Establishment of standards, criteria, and reporting
requirements established by the department pursuant to this
division with respect to local service delivery area plans.

(3) Allocation of funds for local service delivery area plans,
including funds for plans submitted under Chapter 7.5 (commencing
with Section 15075).

(e) Plan, review and approve the allocation, recapture, and
reallocation of federal funds received by the state pursuant to the
federal Job Training Partnership Act. Funds received by the state in
accordance with Section 202 (b) (1) of that act shall be allocated to
the Superintendent of Public Instruction as necessary to meet the
need determined by the superintendent pursuant to Section 33117.5
of the Education Code. The state council shall be deemed to have
approved the disbursement of funds when the Governor approves a
decision of the state council specifying a budget for an authorized
program or activity and designating the department or agency
responsible for the expenditure of the budgeted funds. An
agreement shall be entered into between the Employment
Development Department and the State Department of Education
and shall provide that Job Training Partnership Act funds provided
for the purposes of Section 33117.5 of the Education Code shall be
utilized for payment to local educational agencies.

(f) Review and approve the annual labor market and
occupational supply and demand information plan developed
pursuant to Section 10532.

(g) Consider and advise the director on all matters connected
with the administration of this code as submitted to it by the director,
and may upon its own initiative recommend changes in
administration as it deems necessary.

(h) Review and comment to the Governor and the Legislature on
the annual report prepared in accordance with Section 15064.

(i) Serve as the body responsible for making recommendations to
the Governor when the director proposes to withdraw funding
pursuant to Section 15028.

SEC. 21.3. Section 15038.5 of the Unemployment Insurance Code
is amended to read:

15038.5. (a) The state council shall meet at such times and in
such places as it deems necessary.

(b) Under no circumstances shall the state council permit
absentee or proxy voting at any of its proceedings.

SEC. 21.7. Section 15038.51 of the Unemployment Insurance
Code is repealed.

SEC. 22. Section 15057.5 of the Unemployment Insurance Code
is repealed.
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SEC. 23. Section 15064 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

15064. The department, in cooperation with the State
Department of Social Services, shall report to the Legislature, not
later than February 1 of each year, on the effectiveness of the
program established under this division, including Dislocated
Workers Assistance programs provided by Chapter 7.5. The
department’s report shall detail any economic and other advantages
to the people of this state which have resulted from the program
including the effect upon state costs, the reduction in public
assistance and unemployment insurance costs, and increased
revenues in the form of taxes paid by program participants.

SEC. 24. The heading of Chapter 7.5 (commencing with Section
15075) of Division 8 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

CHAPTER 7.5. DISLOCATED WORKERS ASSISTANCE

SEC. 25. Section 15075 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

15075. The Legislature recognizes that fundamental shifts occur
within the economy which result in the closure of existing
production facilities, retail establishments, and business institutions,
or in severe reduction in employment opportunities, which bring
about mass layoffs and consequent economic hardship to many
California families. In order to assist these families in regaining
economic security, and in conformance with the provisions of Title
III of the federal Job Training Partnership Act, as amended, and
Chapter 6 (commencing with Section 15050), the Dislocated
Workers Assistance Program is hereby established.

SEC. 26. Section 15075.1 is added to the Unemployment
Insurance Code, to read:

15075.1. Each service delivery area shall be a substate area and
the administrative entity of each service delivery area shall be the
substate grantee for purposes of Title III of the Job Training
Partnership Act, except when groups of service delivery areas elect
to become consortium substate areas with the approval of the State
Job Training Coordinating Council.

SEC. 27. Section 15076 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

15076. The private industry councils in each service delivery area
shall recommend and approve an employment and training plan for
displaced workers, which shall meet the requirements of the federal
Job Training Partnership Act, and in addition provide for each of the
following:

(a) Identification, in conjunction with the Employment
Development Department, of individuals eligible for assistance due
to any of the following facts:

(1) The individuals have been terminated or laid off or have
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received a notice of termination or layoff from employment, are
eligible for or have exhausted their entitlement to unemployment
compensation, and are unlikely to return to their previous industry
or occupation.

(2) The individuals have been terminated from employment, or
have received a notice of termination of employment, as a result of
any permanent closure of, or substantial layoff at, a plant, facility, or
enterprise.

(3) The individuals are long-term unemployed and have limited
opportunities for employment or reemployment in the same or a
similar occupation in the area in which they reside, including older
individuals who have had substantial barriers to employment by
reason of age.

(4) The individuals were self-employed (including farmers and
ranchers) and are unemployed as a result of general economic
conditions in the community in which they reside or because of
natural disasters.

(5) The individuals are displaced homemakers who may be
provided services as additional dislocated workers without adversely
affecting the delivery of services to eligible dislocated workers.

(b) Determination of job opportunities which exist within the
local labor market area or outside the labor market area for which
displaced workers could be retrained, and determination of what
training for identified employment opportunities exists or could be
provided within the local area. This determination shall be
undertaken by use of both of the following:

(1) The State-Local Cooperative Labor Market Information
Program established in Section 15074.

(2) As appropriate, representatives of the Employment Training
Panel in accordance with its functions pursuant to Chapter 3.5
(commencing with Section 10200) of Part 1 of Division 3, and
representatives of the Department of Commerce as provided in
Article 3.5 (commencing with Section 15340) of Chapter 1 of Part 6.7
of Division 3 of the Government Code.

(c) Informing eligible displaced workers of training
opportunities. This process shall be undertaken in conjunction with
the Employment Development Department.

(d) A program for dislocated workers assistance drawing, as
appropriate, upon existing facilities and resources, which may
include, but not be limited to, all of the following:

(1) Dislocated worker employment services and related
assistance, provided that employment-related services are
coordinated with, and do not duplicate, those available and
accessible services of the Employment Development Department,
including all of the following:

(A) Job search assistance.

(B) Job development.

(C) Support services, such as financial and personal counseling,
child care and related children’s services, and assistance in obtaining
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equipment and supplies necessary for retraining or new
employment.

(D) Relocation assistance, if it is determined that an eligible
individual cannot obtain employment in the commuting area and has
secured suitable long duration employment or a bona fide job offer.

(E) Prelayoff assistance.

(F) Programs conducted in cooperation with employers or labor
organizations to provide early intervention in the event of closures
of plants or facilities.

(2) Training in job skills for which demand exceeds supply,
including, where feasible, job training administered by the
Employment Training Panel pursuant to Chapter 3.5 (commencing
with Section 10200) of Part 1 of Division 3.

(3) Commuting assistance, consistent with the Displaced Worker
Transportation Program established pursuant to Section 14002.5 of
the Government Code.

(e) Consultation with affected labor organizations, in the case of
any assistance program which will provide services to a substantial
number of members of these labor organizations.

(F) Involvement of displaced workers in program delivery,
including, as appropriate, paid employment for these individuals in
providing services under the program.

(g) Utilization of services and resources from other sources,
public and private, and specific procedures for coordination with
other programs, in order to maximize services for displaced workers
and their families and increase employment and training
opportunities. Examples of programs to be included are the
following:

(1) Other employment and training and education programs.

(2) Social services, including child care and related children’s
services.

(3) Housing programs, including low-income weatherization and
home energy conservation programs.

(4) Transportation related programs, including highway, bridge,
and mass transit construction and repair.

(5) Other programs related to infrastructure development and
repair.

(6) Economic development programs deemed applicable.

(h) Contracting with the Employment Development
Department in order to provide funding for special services the
department is to provide under the local displaced worker assistance
program.

(i) Coordination with neighboring jurisdictions, in cases of plant
closings or mass layoffs which cross service delivery areas.

(J) A system of program and fiscal accountability to ensure
maximum benefit from the expenditure of federal and state funds
and which is consistent with procedures established in the state’s job
training plan pursuant to Section 121 of the federal Job Training
Partnership Act, as amended, including all of the following:
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(1) Performance goals and standards, established by the State Job
Training Coordinating Council, including standards for both of the
following:

(A) Placement and retention in unsubsidized employment

(B) Earnings and wages.

(2) Procedures for reporting on the outcome of the program,
which include all of the following:

(A) A description of activities conducted.

(B) Characteristics of participants.

(C) The extent to which the activities conducted achieved
relevant performance goals.

(8) Fiscal control, accounting, audit and related provisions.

(k) Identification of the administrative entity of the local service
delivery area or consortium which shall also receive the 60-day
notification required to be given to units of local government
pursuant to the federal Worker Adjustment and Retraining
Notification Act, Public Law 100-379.

(1) Integration of services and benefits available under Chapter
2 of Title II of the Trade Act of 1974 and Article 1.5 (commencing
with Section 1266) of Chapter 5 of Part 1 of Division 1.

The plan shall be reviewed and approved according to Sections
15045 and 15046.

SEC. 28. Section 150765 is added to the Unemployment
Insurance Code, to read:

15076.5. The State Job Training Coordinating Council shall do all
of the following:

(a) Be the lead state agency to establish policies for:

(1) Alleviating adverse conditions that might cause plant closures
and, where closures are unavoidable, assisting local efforts to secure
alternative employment and retraining opportunities for displaced
workers.

(2) Marshaling available state and federal resources to aid workers
and communities affected by major plant closures and to foster
long-term economic vitality, industrial growth, and job
opportunities.

(3) Integrating appropriate activities of the Department of
Commerce, the Employment Development Department, the
Employment Training Panel, the Department of Industrial
Relations, the State Department of Education, the Chancellor’s
Office of the California Community Colleges, and the Governor’s
Office of Planning and Research with the State Dislocated Worker
Unit.

(4) Collection of data and preparation of economic analyses and
reporting, intended to provide better and more detailed assessments
of future trends within the industrial, commercial, and agricultural
sectors of the economy.

(b) Review and comment on the plans for displaced worker
assistance programs submitted pursuant to Section 15076.

(c¢) Recommend to the Governor necessary components of state
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plans under the jurisdiction of other state offices, departments, or
agencies which administer programs appropriate for coordination
with dislocated worker assistance programs authorized by this
chapter.

(d) Review and make recommendations to the Governor and the
Legislature regarding changes needed in current federal and state
statutes and programs in order to minimize adverse consequences of
plant closures and promote rapid reemployment of workers and
revitalization of communities.

SEC. 29. Section 15077 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

15077. The Employment Development Department shall do all
of the following:

(a) Review and approve the plans for displaced workers’
assistance submitted pursuant to Section 15076.

(b) According to policies established by the State Job Training
Coordinating Council and state law, coordinate displaced workers
assistance efforts in situations where plant closures or layoffs within
an industry have a significant statewide impact.

(c) Encourage and coordinate early identification of situations of
potential plant closures, and provide any assistance which may be
necessary to alleviate economic dislocation.

(d) Provide assistance to the Department of Commerce in active
recruitment of replacement industries or establishments.

(e) Cooperate with the Employment Training Panel in the
coordination of training and services for displaced workers eligible
under Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 10200) of Part 1 of
Division 3.

(f) Serve as the state agency providing any information and
procedural activities which may be required by the federal
government to ensure federal funding for dislocated workers
assistance.

(g) Provide for the submission of applications to the United States
Secretary of Labor for additional federal funding to the state in
accordance with Title III of the federal Job Training Partnership Act,
as amended.

(h) Operate a monitoring, reporting, and management system
which provides an adequate information base for effective program
planning, management, review, and evaluation.

(i) Administer federal and state funds appropriated for the
support of demonstration and special assistance programs for
dislocated workers.

(i) Provide specific periodic notification to employers of 100 or
more employees of their potential responsibilities under the federal
Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act (P.L. 100-379),
the availability of services to employees and employers under this
and other state laws, and instructions on how to comply with those
laws and obtain appropriate services.

SEC. 30. Section 15077.5 of the Unemployment Insurance Code
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is amended to read:

15077.5. To assure rapid response assistance to dislocated workers
and their communities, there shall be in the Employment
Development Department a State Dislocated Worker Unit, which
shall do all of the following:

(a) Provide a special statewide program of assistance for displaced
workers, consistent with the requirements for local programs under
this chapter. This program shall be available to address sudden or
severe economic dislocation under any of the following
circumstances:

(1) A community, through its private industry council, board of
supervisors, or other applicable local elected officials, requests or
accepts state services.

(2) The private industry council or substate grantee does not
respond within 30 days after notification by the Employment
Development Department of a plant closure or mass layoff, or if the
Employment Development Department determines that the plan
does not sufficiently meet the needs of displaced workers.

(3) Where a plant closure or substantial reduction in employment
at a worksite affects workers residing in more than one service
delivery area, and there is no coordinated plan among affected areas.

(b) In accordance with policies established by the state council,
provide special initiatives in statewide economic development
programs, including, but not limited to, employer contracts with the
state to provide services, and contracts to work with employers and
labor organizations in promoting labor-management cooperation to
achieve the goals of this chapter.

(c) Be the designated state agency for purposes of receiving the
60-day notification required by the federal Worker Adjustment and
Retraining Notification Act, Public Law 100-379.

(d) Provide for rapid onsite response, pursuant to local plans
described in Section 15076, to permanent closures and substantial
layoffs throughout the state to assess the need for, and initially
provide, appropriate services to dislocated workers.

(e) Provide immediate information to local entities about state
and federal programs, including economic development assistance,
which can serve displaced workers, their families, and communities.

() Assist in the coordination of programs provided under Title I1I
of the Job Training Partnership Act, as amended, with programs and
services provided by state and local education and training agencies,
public assistance agencies, the Employment Development
Department, rehabilitation agencies, economic development
agencies, and other entities which carry out activities pertinent to
successful positive adjustment on the part of displaced workers and
their families and communities.

(g) Prepare a plan, to be included in the coordination and special
services plan required by Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section
10510) of Part 1 of Division 3, to assure rapid and effective state
response to local entities requesting assistance in developing
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programs for displaced workers, which shall be submitted for
approval to the State Job Training Coordinating Council for inclusion
in the plan required by Section 10525. The plan shall include specific
procedures for enabling private industry councils, entities
administering job training plans for displaced workers under the
federal Job Training Partnership Act, as amended, workers, firms,
and communities to access each of the federal and state resources
appropriate for serving displaced workers. The plan shall facilitate
development and implementation of local dislocated workers
assistance programs pursuant to this chapter.

(h) Report to the State Job Training Coordinating Council on the
type and number of requests it receives and the results of its
assistance.

(i) Seek the participation and advice of individuals representative
of local government, business, and labor in fulfilling its
responsibilities. The advice of those persons shall be drawn upon to
assure effective assistance by the state, responsive to particular
community needs and circumstances.

SEC. 31. Section 15078 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
repealed.

SEC. 32. Section 15078 is added to the Unemployment Insurance
Code, to read:

15078. Funds allocated to the state under Section 302(d) of the
federal Job Training Partnership Act, as amended, shall be allocated
to service delivery areas based on an allocation formula which shall
utilize the most appropriate information needed to distribute funds
to address the state’s dislocated worker readjustment needs, and shall
include, but not be limited to, all of the following, in accordance with
federal law:

(a) Insured unemployment data.

(b) Unemployment concentrations.

(c) Plant closing and mass layoff data.

(d) Declining industries data.

(e) Farmer-rancher economic hardship data.

(f) Long-term unemployment data.

Upon approval of the State Job Training Coordinating Council, the
director shall promptly publish the allocation formula.

Nothing in this section shall prohibit the council from establishing
a minimum level of funding for service delivery areas.

SEC. 33. Section 15079 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

15079. (a) In order to maximize employment and training
services to displaced workers, it is the intent of the Legislature that
unemployment insurance benefits be payable to unemployed
workers enrolled in retraining, in accordance with Article 1.5
(commencing with Section 1266) of Chapter 5 of Part 1 of Division
1. The Employment Development Department shall annually report
on program outcomes and estimated costs to the Unemployment
Fund for this purpose.
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(b) Service delivery areas may provide, to the extent permitted
by federal law, needs-related payments to eligible dislocated workers
who do not qualify for, or have exhausted, unemployment insurance
benefits, in order to enable these workers to participate in job
training and education programs authorized by this chapter.

SEC. 34. Section 15082 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

15082. Federal and state funds to be transferred to the
Consolidated Work Program Fund shall include all of the following:

(a) That portion of the federal employment and training funds
received by the state that is designated for the purpose of local
delivery of employment and training services, except for those funds
designated for employment activities under Title IV-A and IV-C of
the federal Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. Sec. 601, et seq. and Sec.
630, et seq.) and the Food Stamp Act (7 U.S.C. Sec. 2011, et seq.).

(b) Reinvestment of a portion of state public assistance grant
savings reasonably attributable to the operation of this program. The
Governor’s Budget shall annually identify the savings resulting from
the prior fiscal year’s program operations and recommend the
portion, if any, to be applied toward program funding during the
budget year.

(c) Federal funds received by the state pursuant to Section 202 (b)
and Title III of the federal Job Training Partnership Act. However,
these funds shall be allocated pursuant to subdivision (e) of Section
15037 and Section 15078,

SEC. 35. Section 15086 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
repealed.

SEC. 36. Section 13 of this bill incorporates amendments to
Section 1611 of the Unemployment Insurance Code proposed by
both this bill and AB 2694. It shall only become operative if (1) both
bills are enacted and become effective on January 1, 1991, (2) each
bill amends Section 1611 of the Unemployment Insurance Code, and
(3) this bill is enacted after AB 2694, in which case Section 12.5 of this
bill shall not become operative.

CHAPTER 1668

An act to amend Sections 976.6, 1611, 1612, 10201, 10205, 10206, and
10218 of the Unemployment Insurance Code, relating to
employment training, making an appropriation therefor, and
declaring the urgency thereof, to take effect immediately.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990 Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990 ]
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The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 976.6 of the Unemployment Insurance Code
is amended to read:

976.6. In addition to other contributions required by this division,
every employer, except an employer defined by Section 676, 684, or
685, and except an employer which has elected an alternate method
of financing its liability for unemployment compensation benefits
pursuant to Article 5 (commencing with Section 801), or Article 6
(commencing with Section 821) of Chapter 3, shall pay into the
Employment Training Fund contributions at the rate of 0.1 percent
of wages specified in Section 930. The contributions shall be collected
in the same manner and at the same time as any contributions
required under Sections 977 and 977.5.

This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1994, and
on that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which is
enacted before January 1, 1994, deletes or extends that date.

SEC. 1.5. Section 1611 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

1611. Money in the Employment Training Fund shall be
expended only for the purposes of Chapter 3.5 (commencing with
Section 10200) of Part 1 of Division 3, and for the costs of
administering this article and Section 976.6, except:

(a) Commencing with the 1991-92 fiscal year, to the extent that
interest is earned on the money in the fund, that interest shall be
used to fund the activities of the Employment Development
Department Service Center Program established by Executive
Order 66-11, July 1966, at the program levels authorized by the 1990
Budget Act, and to fund up to 50 percent of the costs of the
State-Local Cooperative Labor Market Information Program
established by Section 10533.

(b) Any interest earned on the money in the fund which is not
expended pursuant to subdivision (a) shall be available to the panel
for the purposes of Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 10200) of
Part 1 of Division 3.

(c) With the approval of the Legislature, the fund or contributions
to it may be used to pay interest charged on federal loans to the
Unemployment Fund.

SEC. 2. Section 1612 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

1612. This article shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1994,
and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
is chaptered before January 1, 1994, deletes or extends that date.

SEC. 3. Section 10201 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

10201. As used in this chapter:

(a) “Employer” means any employer subject to Part 1
(commencing with Section 100) of Division 1, except any public
entity, or any nonprofit organization which has elected an alternate
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method of financing its liability for unemployment insurance
compensation benefits pursuant to Article 5 (commencing with
Section 801), or Article 6 (commencing with Section 821) of Chapter
3.

Any public entity or nonprofit organization which has elected an
alternate method of financing its liability for unemployment
insurance compensation benefits pursuant to Article 5 (commencing
with Section 801), or Article 6 (commencing with Section 821) of
Chapter 3, shall be deemed to be an employer only for purposes of
placement of new hire trainees who received training as an
incidental part of a training project designed to meet the needs of
one or more private sector employers.

(b) “Eligible participant” means any person who, prior to
beginning training or employment pursuant to this chapter, is any of
the following:

(1) Unemployed and has established an unemployment insurance
claim, or has exhausted eligibility for unemployment insurance
benefits within the previous 24 months.

(2) Employed, but is determined by the panel to be likely to be
displaced and therefore claiming unemployment insurance benefits
because of reductions in overall employment within a business,
elimination of the person’s current job, or a substantial change in the
skills required to remain employed due to technological change or
other factors. In making a finding of eligibility under this paragraph,
the panel shall require the employer or contractor to provide, at the
option of the employer or the contractor, either of the following:

(A) Certification of the specific facts which threaten the
continued employment of the trainee, and a plan for assuring with
reasonable certainty that the training being proposed will contribute
to the long-term job security of the trainee. The plan shall include,
but not be limited to, a general description, with respect to the
facility at which the trainee is employed, of other actions planned by
the employer, such as technoldgical changes, additional training,
management adjustments, and organizational changes, for the
purposes of enhancing the effectiveness of the proposed training.
The plan shall also include methods for assessing the effect on
productivity attributable to the training and a statement of how the
training will impact the regional and state economy. The panel may
modify the specific requirements of this subparagraph as they apply
to small employers and to employers or contractors proposing
projects which involve training for a significant number of small
employers in the same project.

(B) Evidence that the workers proposed to receive retraining
have been given written notice that their employment will be
terminated within two years of the date the application is presented
to the panel.

(3) Employed, but who is determined by the panel to be qualified
to be trained or retrained in skills for which there is a demonstrable
shortage and in a field where new employment opportunities will be
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created for other persons defined in paragraph (1) if this retraining
takes place. In making a finding of eligibility under this paragraph,
the panel shall require the employer or contractor to provide a job
for at least one unemployed person for each person retrained.

(c) “Panel” means the Employment Training Panel created by
Section 10202.

(d) “Fund” means the Employment Training Fund created by
Section 1610.

(e) “Department” means the Employment Development
Department.

(f) “Training agency” means any private training entity or local
educational agency.

(g) “Job” means employment on a basis customarily considered
full time for the occupation and industry. The employment shall
have definite career potential and a substantial likelihood of
providing long-term job security. Furthermore, the employment
shall provide earnings, upon completion of the employment
requirement specified in subdivision (f) of Section 10209, equal to 55
percent, in the case of new hire training, or 65 percent, in the case
of retraining, of the state average hourly wage. However, the panel
may adjust these minimum wage requirements for specific
occupations in specific regions of the state if it determines, after a
review of labor market information, that the wage requirements are
unreasonable, and provided that the adjusted wage requirement
does not create unfair wage competition within the industry or
region.

(h) “Private industry council” means an entity established
pursuant to Section 15030.

(i) “New hire training” means employment training, including
job-related literacy training, for persons who, at the start of training,
are unemployed.

(j) “Retraining” means employment related skill and literacy
training for persons who are employed prior to enrollment in
training and will continue to be employed by the same employer for
at least 90 days following completion of training.

(k) “Trainee” means an eligible participant.

(1) “State average hourly wage” means the average weekly wage
paid by employers to employees covered by unemployment
insurance, as reported to the Employment Development
Department for the four calendar quarters ending June 30 of the
preceding calendar year, divided by 40 hours.

SEC. 4. Section 10205 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

10205. The panel shall do all of the following:

(a) Establish and update an annual plan, based on the demand of
employers for trained workers, changes in the state’s economy and
labor markets, and continuous reviews of the effectiveness of panel
training contracts. The plan shall be submitted to the Governor and
the Legislature. In carrying out this section, the panel shall review
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information in the following areas:

(1) Labor market information, including the state-local labor
market information program in the Employment Development
Department, and economic forecasts.

(2) Evaluations of the effectiveness of training as measured by
increased security of employment for workers and benefits to the
California economy.

(3) The demand for training by industry, type of training, and size
of employer.

(4) Changes in skills necessary to perform jobs, including changes
in basic literacy skills.

(5) Evaluations of the effectiveness of training previously funded
by the panel in improving security of employment for workers and
benefiting the California economy. As part of these evaluations, the
panel shall compare the wages of trainees in the year before training
and in the year after training as reflected in the department’s
unemployment insurance tax records, and shall evaluate the effect
of previous training projects on the productivity of participating
firms and on the economy of the state.

(6) Changes in the demographics of the labor force and the
population entering the labor market.

(7) Proposed expenditures by other agencies of federal Job
Training Partnership Act funds and other state and federal training
and vocational education funds on eligible participants.

(b) Submit its first annual plan by July 1, 1990. The panel shall
maintain a system to continously monitor economic and other data
required under this plan. If this data changes significantly during the
life of the plan, the plan shall be amended by the panel. Each plan
shall include all of the following:

(1) The panel’s objectives with respect to the distribution of funds
between new hire training and retraining.

(2) The identification of specific industries, production and
quality control techniques, and regions of the state where
employment training funds would most benefit the state’s economy
and plans to encourage training in these areas, including specific
standards and a system for expedited review of proposals which meet
the standards.

(3) A system for expedited review of proposals which are
substantially similar with respect to employer needs, training
curriculum, duration of training, and costs of training, in order to
encourage the development of proposals which meet the needs
identified in paragraph (2).

(4) The panel’s goals and operational objectives with respect to
meeting the needs of small employers.

(5) Standards of accountability for retraining contracts that will
be used in addition to the standards set forth in subdivision (f) of
Section 10209 and elsewhere in this chapter. The additional standards
shall provide that all payments not be considered earned until a
showing by the contractor has been made that the training has
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resulted in measurable productivity or other improvements that
result in a net benefit to the California economy. The method to be
used for assessing the productivity or other improvements
attributable to the training shall be specified in the contract. The
standards shall be phased in beginning January 1, 1991, with repeat
contracts and larger contracts, and by no later than July 1, 1992, shall
be in use in all retraining contracts.

(6) The research objectives of the panel that contribute to the
effectiveness of this chapter in benefiting the economy of the state
as a whole.

(7) A priority list of skills that are in such short supply that
employers are choosing to not locate or expand their businesses in
the state or are importing labor in response to these skills shortages.
This list should identify those industries in which upgrade training
is likely to encourage hiring of the unemployed on a backfill basis.

(c) Solicit proposals and write contracts on the basis of proposals
made directly to it and on the basis of the recommendations of the
local review panels. Contracts for the purpose of providing
employment training may be written with any of the following:

(1) An employer or group of employers.

(2) A training agency.

(3) A private industry council with the approval of the
appropriate local elected officials in the service delivery area.

(4) A grant recipient or administrative entity selected pursuant to
Section 103 of the Federal Job Training Partnership Act and Section
15021, with the approval of the local private industry council and the
appropriate local elected officials.

These contracts shall be in the form of fixed-fee performance
contracts. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary,
contracts entered into pursuant to this chapter shall not be subject
to competitive bidding procedures. However, the panel shall set
contracting objectives with respect to minority and woman owned
businesses that are substantially similar to those required by Chapter
6 (commencing with Section 16850) of Part 3 of Division 4 of Title
2 of the Government Code, Section 10108.5 of the Public Contract
Code, and Article 1.5 (commencing with Section 10115 of Chapter 1
of Part 2 of Division 2 of the Public Contract Code). No trainee shall
receive employment training under this chapter for a period of more
than 18 months. Contracts for training may be written for a period
not to exceed 24 months for the purpose of administration by the
panel and the contracting employer or any group of employers
acting jointly or any training agency for the purpose of providing
employment training.

(d) Allocate the Employment Training Fund. In doing so, the
panel shall seek to facilitate the employment of the maximum
number of eligible participants in jobs with definite career potential
and long-term job security, and to provide retraining to existing
workers whose skills are outmoded due to changes in technology or
the need to increase productivity. In no case shall the statewide
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allocation be based solely on population. In funding contracts, the
panel shall give priority to proposals in the following order, except
that within each priority category, proposals jointly developed by
business management and worker representatives shall be given
special consideration:

(1) New hire training and retraining for workers who have
received notification of actual layoff.

(2) Retraining of eligible participants employed at the start of
training by small businesses.

(3) Retraining for workers whose jobs are threatened by
increased competition from outside the state.

(4) All other proposals.

Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to require the panel to
set aside funds based on the priorities established in this subdivision,
or to preclude the panel from entering into contracts for the
provision of training in multijurisdictional areas of the state. In
making determinations under this section, the panel shall give
special consideration to proposals for training for new employees of
firms locating or expanding in California, to new hire and retraining
for firms located in enterprise zones and economic incentive areas
designated by the Department of Commerce, and to training for
veterans, and to training which supports approved apprenticeship
programs. The panel shall provide technical assistance to encourage
the development of these proposals.

{e) Establish minimum standards for the consideration of
proposals, which shall include, but not be limited to, the
identification of employers who have been contacted by the
contractor and who have provided reasonable assurance that they
will employ successful trainees, the number of jobs available, the skill
requirements for the identified jobs, the projected cost per person
trained, hired, and retained in employment, the wages paid
successful trainees upon placement, and the curriculum for the
training. No proposal shall be considered or approved which
proposes training for employment covered by a collective bargaining
agreement unless the signatory labor organization agrees in writing.

(f) Ensure the provision of adequate fiscal and accounting
controls for, monitoring and auditing of, and other appropriate
technical and administrative assistance to, projects funded by this
chapter.

(g) Provide for evaluation of projects funded by this chapter.
Individual project evaluations shall contain a summary description of
the project, the number of persons entering training, the number of
persons completing training, the number of persons employed at the
end of the project, the number of persons still employed three
months after the end of the project, the wages paid, the total costs
of the project, and the total reimbursement received from the
Employment Training Fund.

(h) Report annually to the Legislature, by November 30, on
projects operating during the previous state fiscal year. These annual
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reports shall provide separate summaries of all of the following:

(1) Projects completed during the year, including their individual
and aggregate performance and cost.

(2) Projects not completed during the year, briefly describing
each project and identifying approved contract amounts by contract
and for this category as a whole, and identifying any projects in which
funds are expected to be disencumbered.

(3) Projects terminated prior to completion and the reasons for
the termination.

(4) A full report of all training provided to participants who
qualified pursuant to paragraph (3) of subdivision (b) of Section
10201.

(5) A description of the amount, type, and effectiveness of literacy
training funded by the panel.

In addition, based upon its experience in administering job
training projects, the panel shall include in these reports policy
recommendations concerning the impact of job training and the
panel’s program on economic development, labor-management
relations, employment security, and other related issues. To assist in
the preparation of the policy recommendations, the chair of the
panel may appoint an advisory research council.

(i) Expedite the processing of contracts for firms considering
locating or expanding businesses in the state, as determined by the
Department of Commerce.

(i) Coordinate and consult regularly with business groups and
labor organizations, the State Job Training Coordinating Council, the
State Department of Education, the office of the Chancellor of the
California Community Colleges, the Employment Development
Department, and the Department of Commerce.

(k) Adopt by regulation procedures for the conduct of panel
business, including the scheduling and conduct of meetings, the
review of proposals, the disclosure of contacts between panel
members and parties at interest concerning particular proposals,
contracts or cases before the panel or its staff, the awarding of
contracts, the administration of contracts, and the payment of
amounts due to contractors. All decisions by the panel shall be made
by resolution of the panel and any adverse decision shall include a
statement of the reason for the decision.

(I) Adopt regulations and procedures providing reasonable
confidentiality for the proprietary information of employers seeking
training funds from the panel if the public disclosure of that
information would result in an unfair competitive disadvantage to
the employer supplying the information. In no case shall the panel
withhold information from the public regarding its operations,
procedures, and decisions which would otherwise be subject to
disclosure under the California Public Records Act (Chapter 3.5
(commencing with Section 6250) of Division 7 of Title 1 of the
Government Code).

(m) Review and comment on the budget and performance of any
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program, project, or activity utilitizing funds collected pursuant to
Section 976.6.

SEC. 5. Section 10206 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

10206. (a) The panel may allocate money in the fund for any of
the following purposes:

(1) Reimbursement of reasonable training costs and
administrative costs incurred by contractors. In making a
determination of costs to be reimbursed under this paragraph, the
panel may allocate funds in accordance with any of the following
methods:

(A) For purposes of providing simplified fixed-fee performance
contracts, a flat rate per hour for categories of training that are
substantially similar with respect to content, methodology, and
duration, as determined by the panel, not to exceed the reasonable
and normal costs for the training, based upon the panel’s experience.
The panel shall periodically adjust the standardized rates established
pursuant to this paragraph to reflect changes in training costs.

(B) A complete review of the proposal and its costs, including a
budget listing the planned costs of training, including personnel,
fringe benefits, equipment, supplies, fees for consulting or
administrative services, and other costs attributable to training; the
services provided by subcontractors; the length and complexity of
the training; the method of training; the wages and occupations
following training; whether the trainees are new hires or retrainees;
and the cost of similar training that the panel has funded previously.
The cost of program administration shall not exceed 15 percent of the
training costs under this paragraph, except that for new hire training
the panel may fund administrative costs of up to 25 percent of the
training cost.

(2) Costs of program administration incurred under this chapter.
These costs shall be reviewed annually by the Department of
Finance and the Legislature and determined through the normal
budgetary process.

The panel’s administrative costs exclusive of the cost of
administering Section 976.6 shall not exceed 15 percent of the
amount collected pursuant to Section 976.6. Expenditures for
marketing and research provided under contract to the panel under
paragraph (1) which otherwise would have been provided directly
by the panel shall not be included in this limitation.

(3) Costs of an impartial evaluation of the program authorized by
this chapter. This evaluation shall include, but not be limited to, a
review of the effects of the program on eligible participants, on
employers, and on productivity and competitiveness. The evaluation
shall also address issues of program administration. The evaluation
shall be completed and submitted to the Governor, and the
appropriate policy and fiscal committees of the Legislature, by
November 15, 1992. The Auditor General, following consultation
with the panel, shall designate either a public or a private entity to
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conduct this evaluation.

(4) Service related to the purposes of this chapter provided by the
Small Business Development Centers pursuant to an interagency
agreement with the Department of Commerce.

(b) The panel may modify the specific requirements of paragraph
(1) of subdivision (a) as they apply to employers or contractors
proposing projects which involve training for a significant number of
small employers in the same project.

(c) For all training contracts, the panel shall establish
requirements for in-kind contributions by either the contractor or
the employer that reflect a substantial commitment on the part of
the contractor or the employer to the value of the training. In
developing these requirements, the panel shall take into account the
ability of the contractor or the employer, because of size or financial
condition, to make such a contribution, and the ability of the
Employment Training Fund to meet the demand for training
authorized by this chapter. In developing policies regarding in-kind
contributions, the panel shall hold public hearings.

(d) In order to encourage successful new hire training, the panel
shall develop a new hire cost reimbursement system. The new hire
cost reimbursement system shall recognize the additional risk
attendent to new hire training if the contractor successfully meets at
least 60 percent of the training and placement goals of a new hire
contract. The reimbursement system authorized by this subdivision
shall discourage excessive overenrollment at the beginning of the
contract, and shall not provide reimbursements if the training and
placement goals are achieved primarily through modification of the
original contract.

(¢) No more than two million seven hundred thousand dollars
($2,700,000) of the annually appropriated funds in the Employment
Training Fund shall be allocated for purposes of training persons
eligible under paragraph (3) of subdivision (b) of Section 10201.

(F) The panel shall give special consideration for funding to those
projects that provide special opportunities to veterans and shall
provide technical assistance to encourage the development of those
projects.

SEC. 6. Section 10218 of the Unemployment Insurance Code is
amended to read:

10218. On January 1, 1990, the terms of all previously appointed
members of the panel shall be deemed to have expired. The
appointing authorities shall appoint members to serve new terms
beginning on that date. Members of the panel shall serve two-year
terms, except that one of the members appointed by each appointing
authority to serve terms starting on January 1, 1990, shall serve for
a one-year term.

SEC. 7. Itis the intent of the Legislature that the change in the
terms of office made by Section 5 of this act shall apply to members
of the Employment Training Panel appointed pursuant to Section
10218 of the Unemployment Insurance Code, regardless of when the
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member was appointed.

SEC. 8. The Employment Training Panel shall establish all
requirements and adopt all regulations and procedures necessary to
fully implement the purposes of Chapter 926 of the Statutes of 1989,
by November 30, 1990.

SEC. 9. Notwithstanding Section 1611 and Chapter 3.5
(commencing with Section 10200) of Part 1 of Division 3 of the
Unemployment Insurance Code, on or before February 1, 1991, two
million five hundred thousand dollars ($2,500,000) from interest
earned from moneys in the Employment Training Fund shall be
transferred to the Department of Industrial Relations for the support
of the Division of Apprenticeship Standards.

SEC. 10. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety within
the meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into
immediate effect. The facts constituting the necessity are:

In order to ensure that workers, contractors, and employers are
provided with information necessary to participate in the
Employment Training Panel’s program as soon as possible, it is
necessary that this act take effect immediately.

CHAPTER 1669

An act relating to disaster relief, making an appropriation therefor,
and declaring the urgency thereof, to take effect immediately.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. The sum of eighty million dollars ($80,000,000) is
hereby transferred from the Special Fund for Economic
Uncertainties to the San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge and 1-880
Cypress Structure Disaster Fund.

SEC. 2. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety within
the meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into
immediate effect. The facts constituting the necessity are:

In order to provide essential relief to victims of the San
Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge and 1-880 Cypress structure collapse
caused by the earthquake on October 17, 1989, as soon as possible, it
is necessary for this act to take effect immediately.
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CHAPTER 1670

An act to add and repeal Section 9250.14 of the Vehicle Code,
relating to vehicles, and making an appropriation therefor.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.)

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 9250.14 is added to the Vehicle Code, to
read:

9250.14. (a) In addition to any other fees specified in this code
and the Revenue and Taxation Code, upon the adoption of a
resolution by any county board of supervisors, a fee of one dollar ($1)
shall be paid at the time of registration or renewal of registration of
every vehicle registered to an address within that county except
those expressly exempted from payment of registration fees. The
fees, after deduction of the administrative costs incurred by the
department in carrying out this section, shall be paid quarterly to the
Controller.

(b) Notwithstanding Section 13340 of the Government Code, the
money paid to the Controller is continuously appropriated, without
regard to fiscal years, for the administrative costs of the Controller,
and for disbursement by the Controller to each county which has
adopted a resolution pursuant to subdivision (a), based upon the
number of vehicles registered, or whose registration is renewed, to
an address within that county.

(c) Money allocated to a county shall be expended to fund
programs which enhance the capacity of local police and prosecutors
to deter, investigate, and prosecute vehicle theft crimes. A program
shall be eligible for funding under this subdivision if, on an annual
basis, more than one-half of all the personnel time and other
resources funded are expended for the exclusive purpose of
deterring, investigating, or prosecuting vehicle theft crimes.

(d) Any funds received by a county pursuant to this section which
are not expended to deter, investigate, or prosecute vehicle theft
crimes prior to January 1, 1996, shall be returned to the Controller,
for deposit in the Motor Vehicle Account in the State Transportation
Fund.

(e) No money collected pursuant to this section shall be expended
to offset a reduction in any other source of funds.

(f) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1996,
and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
is enacted before January 1, 1996, deletes or extends that date.
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CHAPTER 1671

An act to amend Sections 2761 and 2762 of the Fish and Game
Code, relating to fish, and making an appropriation therefor.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 2761 of the Fish and Game Code is amended
to read:

2761. The Legislature finds and declares as follows:

(a) Many of California’s significant fish and wildlife resources in
inland and coastal waters have declined as the result of many
development projects which have provided valuable economic
growth.

(b) Fish and wildlife have been adversely affected by water
developments that have significantly altered water flows in many of
California’s rivers and streams, thereby affecting fish and wildlife,
their habitat, adjacent riparian habitat, spawning areas, and
migration routes.

(¢) Fish and wildlife are important public resources with
significant economical, environmental, recreational, aesthetic, and
educational values.

(d) California intends to make reasonable efforts to prevent
further declines in fish and wildlife, to restore fish and wildlife to
historic levels where possible, and to enhance fish and wildlife
resources where possible.

(e) Protection of, and an increase in, the naturally spawning
salmon and steelhead trout resources of the state would provide a
valuable public resource to the residents, a large statewide economic
benefit, and would, in addition, provide employment opportunities
not otherwise available to the citizens of this state, particularly in
rural areas of underemployment.

(f) The protection of, and increase in, the naturally spawning
salmon and steelhead trout resources of the state should be
accomplished primarily through the improvement of stream habitat.

(g) The Salmon, Steelhead Trout, and Anadromous Fisheries
Program Act (Ch. 8 (commencing with Sec. 6900), Pt. 1, Div. 6),
declares that it is the policy of the state to increase the state’s salmon
and steelhead trout resources, and directs the department to develop
a plan and program that strives to double the salmon and steelhead
trout resources.

SEC. 2. Section 2762 of the Fish and Game Code is amended to
read:

2762. (a) The Fisheries Restoration Account is hereby created in
the Fish and Game Preservation Fund. The moneys in the Fisheries
Restoration Account are hereby appropriated to the department for
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expenditure in fiscal years 1991-92 to 1993-94, inclusive, pursuant to
subdivision (b).

(b) (1) The moneys in the Fisheries Restoration Account may be
expended for the construction, operation, and administration of
projects designated in the plan developed by the department in
accordance with the Salmon, Steelhead Trout, and Anadromous
Fisheries Program Act (Ch. 8 (commencing with Section 6900), Pt.
1, Div. 6), and projects designed to restore and maintain fishery
resources and their habitat that have been damaged by past water
diversions and projects and other development activities.
Expenditures shall not be authorized for a project to be funded
under this subdivision before a date which is 30 days after the
department has furnished a copy of the proposal for the project to
be funded, together with supporting descriptions, to the Joint
Committee on Fisheries and Aquaculture and to the Joint Legislative
Budget Committee. These projects shall have as their primary
objective the restoration of fishery resources identified in the
Salmon, Steelhead Trout, and Anadromous Fisheries Program Act.
Projects may include, but shall not be limited to, the acquisition of
lands, restoration of habitat, restoration or creation of spawning
areas, construction of fish screens or fish ladders, stream
rehabilitation, and installation of pollution control facilities. Projects
for restoration or creation of spawning areas shall utilize natural
spawning rather than hatcheries to the extent possible.

Under no circumstances shall any water project be absolved under
this subdivision of any mitigation requirements which are placed
upon it under existing law.

No land shall be acquired pursuant to this chapter by eminent
domain proceedings.

(2) The department may expend up to eight hundred thousand
dollars ($800,000) of the funds in the Fisheries Restoration Account
during fiscal years 1991-92 to 1993-94, inclusive, to acquire heavy
equipment needed to improve salmon and steelhead spawning
habitat and other fish habitat. The department may expend up to two
million dollars ($2,000,000) of the funds in the Fisheries Restoration
Account during fiscal years 1991-92 to 1993-94, inclusive, to complete
watershed assessments and fisheries restoration planning in coastal
waterways.

(c) Priority for funding shall be given to projects that employ
fishermen, fish processing workers, and others who are unemployed
or underemployed due to the elimination of a commercial fishing
season as a result of restrictions imposed by federal regulations. This
priority shall remain in effect only as long as those restrictions are in
force.

(d) Expenditures shall not be authorized for multiyear projects
funded under subdivision (b) before a date which is 30 days after the
department has submitted an annual progress report on the project
and a copy of the work schedule for subsequent year funding of the
project to the Joint Committee on Fisheries and Aquaculture and to
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the Joint Legislative Budget Committee.

(e) The department shall conduct a preproject and postproject
evaluation on each project recommended in the plan and program
developed by the department in accordance with the Salmon,
Steelhead Trout, and Anadromous Fisheries Program Act for which
money has been appropriated from the Fisheries Restoration
Account.

(f) The department may expend not more than 5 percent of the
funds annually appropriated from the Fisheries Restoration Account
for the administration of projects.

(g) The department may contract for services for the purpose of
conducting a preproject and postproject evaluation or for the
administration of projects.

(h) The department shall, during the last fiscal year of funding,
conduct a review of all previous and ongoing projects to determine
if the elements of the plan and program developed by the
department pursuant to the Salmon, Steelhead Trout, and
Anadromous Fisheries Program Act are being met, including the
goal of doubling the 1988 population of salmon and steelhead trout,
as declared in Section 6902.

CHAPTER 1672

An act to repeal Chapter 6 (commencing with Section 6500) and
Chapter 10 (commencing with Section 7300) of, and to add Chapter
10 (commencing with Section 7301) to Division 3 of, the Business and
Professions Code, relating to professions and vocations.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Chapter 6 (commencing with Section 6300) of
Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code is repealed.

SEC. 2. Chapter 10 (commencing with Section 7300) of Division
3 of the Business and Professions Code is repealed.

SEC. 3. Chapter 10 (commencing with Section 7301) is added to
Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code, to read:

CHAPTER 10. BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY
Article 1. Administration
7301. This chapter constitutes the chapter on hair, skin, nail care
and electrolysis and may be known and cited as the Barbering and
Cosmetology Act.
7302. There is in the Department of Consumer Affairs a State
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Board of Barbering and Cosmetology which consists of nine
members. The members of the board shall consist of five public
members and four members representing the professions.

Wherever in this chapter “board” is used it refers to the State
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.

7303. (a) A member of the board shall:

(1) Be a citizen of the United States of America.

(2) Be a resident of the State of California.

(3) Not be connected, directly or indirectly, in the wholesale
business of the manufacture, rental, sale, or distribution of barber,
cosmetology or electrolysis appliances or supplies.

(b) A member representing the professions shall be licensed by
the board and shall be currently engaged in, and have at least five
years’ practical experience in, the specified licensed activity.

(c) Public members shall not be nor ever have been licensees of
the board.

7304. Members of the board shall receive per diem and expenses
as provided in Section 103.

7305. Public members of the board may assist in the preparation
or review of an examination administered by the board, but no board
member who participates in the management or ownership of a
school shall assist in the preparation, approval, or review of those
examinations.

7306. (a) Members shall be appointed for four-year terms
expiring June 1 of the fourth year following the year in which the
previous term expired. Members shall hold office until the
appointment and qualification of their successors or until one year
shall have elapsed since the expiration of the term for which they
were appointed, whichever first occurs. No person shall serve as a
member of the board for more than two consecutive terms.

Vacancies occurring during a term shall be filled for the unexpired
term.

The Governor shall appoint three of the public members, one
licensed cosmetologist and one licensed barber who shall not be
affiliated with any school, as defined in Article 8 (commencing with
Section 7362) nor have dual licensure in cosmetology, barbering, or
electrolysis, and two other members representing the professions.
The Senate Rules Committee and the Speaker of the Assembly shall
each appoint one public member.

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the Director of
Consumer Affairs may make a formal recommendation to the
appointing power that a board member be removed for cause,
provided that the director must provide prior written notice to the
appointing power and to the member stating the basis for the
recommendation.

The appointing powers shall give consideration to members of the
Board of Barber Examiners and the Board of Cosmetology holding
office on June 1, 1992, in making first appointments to the new board,
provided those members’ terms were scheduled to expire after June
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1, 1992, and they would have been eligible for reappointment to the
Board of Barber Examiners or the Board of Cosmetology.

(b) The first four members selected as first appointments to the
new board shall be appointed for two-year terms expiring June 1 of
the second year following the year of their appointment.

7307. The members of the board shall annually elect a president
and vice president.

The annual election shall occur at the second meeting after the
deadline for new appointments has passed. No board election may
occur prior to the annual deadline for appointments except as
necessary due to a vacancy in the office of board president. The
member who finishes second in the vote for board president shall
become vice president.

The vice president shall assume the functions and duties of the
president in the event the president is unable to perform those
functions and duties.

7308. The board shall hold meetings at least four times a year,
twice in northern California and twice in southern California. The
board may hold other meetings as may be necessary.

7309. The board shall establish a principal office, and may
establish branch offices and examination facilities in the state as may
be deemed necessary for the board to conduct its business.

7310. (a) The board shall appoint an executive officer exempt
from civil service, who shall not be a board member, who shall
exercise the powers and perform the duties delegated by the board
and vested in that person by this chapter.

(b) The board shall also have the authority to employ a deputy
executive officer.

(c) The board’s appointment of an executive officer shall be
subject to confirmation by the Director of Consumer Affairs. The
director may reject the board’s appointment of its executive officer,
or may recommend dismissal of the executive officer to the board,
provided that the recommendation be for good cause specifically
stated to the board in writing.

(d) The executive officer shall employ examiners, inspectors and
all other personnel as necessary to carry out this chapter. Their
compensation, and all expenses incurred by the board, shall be paid
exclusively from the special funds received by the board.

(e) The board shall employ through its executive officer sufficient
inspectors to ensure that the health and safety of consumers is met.

(fy The board shall prescribe through its executive officer the
qualifications and duties of its employees in accordance with
established civil service guidelines and collective bargaining
agreements.

7311. The board shall adopt and use a common seal for the
authentication of its records.

7312. The board shall do all of the following:

(a) Make rules and regulations in aid or furtherance of this
chapter in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act.
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(b) Conduct and administer examinations of applicants for
licensure.

(c) Issue licenses to those applicants that may be entitled thereto.

(d) Discipline persons who have been determined to be in
violation of this chapter or the regulations adopted pursuant to this
chapter.

(e) Adopt rules governing sanitary conditions and precautions to
be employed as are reasonably necessary to protect the public health
and safety in establishments, schools approved by the board, and in
the practice of any profession provided for in this chapter. The rules
shall be adopted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure
Act, Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 11340) of Title 2 of the
Government Code, and shall be submitted to the State Department
of Health Services and approved by that department prior to filing
with the Secretary of State. A written copy of all those rules shall be
furnished to each licensee.

7313. (a) To assure compliance with the laws and regulations of
this chapter, the board’s executive officer and authorized
representatives shall, except as provided by Section 159.5, have
access to, and shall inspect, any establishment or mobile unit at any
time during business hours in which barbering, cosmetology, or
electrolysis are being performed. It is the intent of the Legislature
that inspections be conducted on Saturdays and Sundays as well as
weekdays, if collective bargaining agreements and civil service
provisions permit.

(b) To assure compliance with health and safety requirements
adopted by the board, the executive officer and authorized
representatives shall, except as provided in Section 159.5, have access
to, and shall inspect the premises of, all schools in which the practice
of barbering, cosmetology, or electrolysis is performed on the public.
Notices of violation shall be issued to schools for violations of
regulations governing conditions related to the health and safety of
patrons. Each notice shall specify the section violated and a timespan
within which the violation must be corrected. A copy of the notice
of violation shall be provided to the Council for Private
Postsecondary and Vocational Education.

With prior written authorization from the board or its executive
officer, any member of the board may enter and visit, in his or her
capacity as a board member, any establishment, during business
hours or at any time when barbering, cosmetology, or electrolysis is
being performed. The visitation by a board member shall be for the
purpose of conducting official board business, but shall not be used
as a basis for any licensing disciplinary action by the board.

7314. The board shall keep a record of its proceedings relating to
its public meetings, meetings of committees, and records relating to
the issuance, refusal, renewal, suspension and revocation of licenses.

The board shall keep a registration record of each licensee
containing the name, address, license number and date issued. This
record shall also contain any facts that the applicants may have stated
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in their application for examination for licensure.

7315. A majority of the board may, in any meeting properly
noticed in accordance with the Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act,
exercise all the duties and powers devolving upon the board.

Article 2. Application of Chapter

7316. (a) The practice of barbering is all or any combination of
the following practices:

(1) Shaving or trimming the beard or cutting the hair.

(2) Giving facial and scalp massages or treatments with oils,
creams, lotions, or other preparations either by hand or mechanical
appliances.

(3) Singeing, shampooing, arranging, dressing, curling, waving,
chemical waving, hair relaxing, or dyeing the hair or applying hair
tonics.

(4) Applying cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, powders, oils,
clays or lotions to scalp, face, or neck.

(5) Hair styling of all textures of hair by standard methods which
are current at the time of the hair styling.

(b) The practice of cosmetology is all or any combination of the
following practices:

(1) Arranging, dressing, curling, waving, machineless permanent
waving, permanent waving, cleansing, cutting, shampooing,
relaxing, singeing, bleaching, tinting, coloring, straightening, dyeing,
brushing, applying hair tonics, beautifying, or otherwise treating by
any means the hair of any person.

(2) Massaging, cleaning or stimulating the scalp, face, neck, arms,
or upper part of the human body, by means of the hands, devices,
apparatus or appliances, with or without the use of cosmetic
preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams.

(3) Beautifying the face, neck, arms, or upper part of the human
body, by use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or
creams.

(4) Removing superfluous hair from the body of any person by the
use of depilatories or by the use of tweezers, chemicals, preparations
or by the use of devices or appliances of any kind or description,
except by the use of light waves, commonly known as rays.

(5) Cutting, trimming, polishing, tinting, coloring, cleansing, or
manicuring the nails of any person.

(6) Massaging, cleansing, treating, or beautifying the hands or feet
of any person.

(c) Within the practice of cosmetology there exist the specialty
branches of skin care, and nail care.

(1) Skin care is any one or more of the following practices:

(A) Giving facials, applying makeup, giving skin care, removing
superfluous hair from the body of any person by the use of
depilatories, tweezers or waxing, or applying eyelashes to any
person.

263300



7990 STATUTES OF 1990 [ Ch. 1672

(B) Beautifying the face, neck, arms, or upper part of the human
body, by use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or
creams.

(C) Massaging, cleaning, or stimulating the face, neck, arms, or
upper part of the human body, by means of the hands, devices,
apparatus, or appliances, with the use of cosmetic preparations,
antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams.

(2) Nail care is the practice of cutting, trimming, polishing,
coloring, tinting, cleansing, or manicuring the nails of any person or
massaging, cleansing, or beautifying the hands or feet of any person.

(d) Electrolysis is the practice of removing hair from, or
destroying hair on, the human body by the use of an electric needle
only.

“Electrolysis” as used in this chapter includes electrolysis or
thermolysis.

7317. Except as provided in this article, it is unlawful for any
person, firm, or corporation to engage in barbering, cosmetology, or
electrolysis for compensation without a valid, unexpired license
issued by the board, or in an establishment or mobile unit other than
one licensed by the board, or conduct or operate an establishment,
or any other place of business in which barbering, cosmetology, or
electrolysis is practiced unless licensed under this chapter. Persons
licensed under this chapter shall limit their practice and services
rendered to the public to only those areas for which they are
licensed. Any violation of this section is a misdemeanor.

7318. This chapter does not prohibit the administration of any
practice subject to this chapter outside of a licensed establishment,
when necessary due to the illness or other physical or mental
incapacitation of the recipient of the service, and when performed
by a licensee obtained for the purpose from a licensed establishment.

7319. The following persons are exempt from this chapter:

(a) All persons authorized by the laws of this state to practice
medicine, surgery, dentistry, pharmacy, osteopathy, chiropractic,
naturopathy, podiatry, or nursing and acting within the scope of
practice for which they are licensed.

(b) Commissioned officers of the United States Army, Navy, Air
Force, Marine Corps, members of the United States Public Health
Service, and attendants attached to those services when engaged in
the actual performance of their official duties.

(c) Persons employed to render barbering, cosmetology, or
electrolysis services in the course of and incidental to the business of
employers engaged in the theatrical, radio, television or motion
picture production industry.

(d) Persons engaged in any practice within its scope when done
outside of a licensed establishment, without compensation.

(e) Persons engaged in the administration of hair, skin, or nail
products for the exclusive purpose of recommending,
demonstrating, or selling those products.

(f) All persons engaged in training while enrolled as students or
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acting as instructors in a school approved by the board.

7320. ‘This chapter confers no authority to practice medicine or
surgery.

7320.1. When providing a manicure or pedicure, no metal
instruments shall be used except those metal instruments necessary
for the cutting, trimming, manicuring, or pedicuring of nails or
cuticles.

7320.2. Any licensee who uses an X-ray appliance, apparatus or
machine in the treatment of any human being or for the purpose of
or with the intent to remove superfluous hair from the face or body
of any human being, or who applies to any human being a solution
of phenol greater than 10 percent, or corrosive sublimate (mercury)
or any of its preparations, derivatives, or compounds in a solution
greater than one in five hundred, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

7320.3. Persons who are not licensed to perform all of the
practices of a cosmetologist may not represent themselves as a
cosmetologist. -

7320.4. Persons who are not licensed as barbers in this state may
not represent themselves as barbers.

Article 3. Qualifications for Examination

7321. The board shall admit to examination for a license as a
cosmetologist to practice cosmetology any person who has made
application to the board in proper form, paid the fee required by this
chapter, and is qualified as follows:

(a) Is not less than 17 years of age.

(b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this
state or its equivalent.

(c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480.

(d) Has done any of the following:

(1) Completed a course in cosmetology from a school approved by
the board.

(2) Practiced cosmetology as defined in this chapter outside of
this state for a period of five years.

(3) Holds a license as a barber in this state and has completed a
cosmetology crossover course in a school approved by the board.

(4) Completed a barbering course in a school approved by the
board and has completed a cosmetology crossover course in a school
approved by the board.

7321.5. The board shall admit to examination for a license as a
barber to practice barbering, any person who has made application
to the board in proper form, paid the fee required by this chapter,
and is qualified as follows:

(a) Is not less than 17 years of age.

(b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this
state or its equivalent.

(c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480.

(d) Has done any of the following:
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(1) Completed a course in barbering from a school approved by
the board.

(2) Completed an apprenticeship program in barbering approved
by the board as conducted under the provisions of the
Shelley-Maloney Apprentice Labor Standards Act of 1939, Chapter 4
(commencing with Section 3070) of Division 3 of the Labor Code.

(3) Practiced barbering as defined in this chapter outside of this
state for a period of three years.

(4) Holds a license as a cosmetologist in this state and has
completed a barber crossover course in a school approved by the
board.

(5) Completed a cosmetology course in a school approved by the
board and has completed a barber crossover course in a school
approved by the board.

7324. The board shall admit to examination for a license as an
esthetician to practice skin care, any person who has made
application to the board in proper form, paid the fee required by this
chapter, and is qualified as follows:

(a) Is not less than 17 years of age.

(b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this
state or its equivalent.

(¢) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480.

(d) Has done any of the following:

(1) Completed a course in skin care from a school approved by the
board.

(2) Practiced skin care, as defined in this chapter, outside of this
state for a period of 18 months.

7326. The board shall admit to examination for a license as a
manicurist to practice nail care, any person who has made
application to the board in proper form, paid the fee required by this
chapter, and is qualified as follows:

(a) Is not less than 17 years of age.

(b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this
state or its equivalent.

(c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480.

(d) Has done any of the following:

(1) Completed a course in nail care from a school approved by the
board.

(2) Practiced nail care, as defined in this chapter, outside of this
state for a period of 10% months.

7330. The board shall admit to examination for a license as an
electrologist to practice electrolysis, any person who has made
application to the board in proper form, paid the fee required by this
chapter, and is qualified as follows:

(a) Is not less than 17 years of age.

(b) Has completed the 12th grade or an accredited senior high
school course of study in public schools of this state or its equivalent.

(c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480.

(d) Has done any of the following:
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(1) Completed a course of training in electrolysis from a school
approved by the board.

(2) Practiced electrolysis, as defined in this chapter, for a period
of 18 months outside of this state within the five years immediately
preceding application.

7331. Any person who fails to qualify for admission to an
exarnination because the person’s practice outside this state does not
fulfill the requirements of this chapter shall receive credit for that
practice or study and training outside this state, or for the number
of hours of study and training completed outside this state, which is
substantially equivalent to the study and training required in this
state, as determined by the board.

Those persons shall be qualified for examination upon completion
of supplementary study and training in an approved school in this
state.

Article 4. Apprenticeship

7332. An apprentice is any person who is licensed by the board
to engage in learning or acquiring a knowledge of barbering in a
licensed establishment under the supervision of a licensee approved
by the board.

7333. The apprentice training program shall be conducted in
compliance with the Shelley-Maloney Apprentice Labor Standards
Act of 1939, Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 3070) of Division
3 of the Labor Code, according to apprenticeship standards
approved by the administrator of apprenticeship. A copy of the act
shall be maintained on file with the board.

7334. (a) The board may license as an apprentice in barbering
any person who has made application to the board upon the proper
form, has paid the fee required by this chapter, and who is qualified
as follows:

(1) Is over 16 years of age.

(2) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this state
or its equivalent.

(b) The board may license as an apprentice in electrolysis any
person who has made application to the board upon the proper form,
has paid the fee required by this chapter, and who is qualified as
follows:

(1) Is not less than 17 years 6 months of age.

(2) Has completed the 12th grade or an accredited senior high
school course of study in schools of this state or its equivalent.

(c) All persons making application as an apprentice in barbering
shall also be qualified as follows:

(1) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480.

(2) Has submitted evidence acceptable to the board that any
training the apprentice is required by law to obtain shall be
conducted in a licensed establishment and under the supervision of
a licensee approved by the board.
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(3) Completes a minimum of 39 hours of preapprentice training
in a facility approved by the board prior to serving the general
public.

7335. The license of an apprentice shall expire two years from the
date the license was issued, or on the date the apprentice is issued
a license following the license examination, or if the apprentice fails
the license examination twice, on the date the results of the second
examination are issued, whichever occurs first.

No person holding a license as an apprentice shall work more than
six months after completing the required training without applying
for and taking the examination for licensure.

7336. An apprentice may do any or all of the acts for which he or
she is licensed only in the licensed establishment and under the
supervision and employment of a licensee approved by the board.

Article 5. Examinations

7337. Every application for admission to examination and
licensure shall be in writing, on forms prepared and furnished by the
board.

Each application shall be accompanied by the required fee, and
shall contain proof of the qualifications of the applicant for
examination and licensure. It shall be verified by the oath of the
applicant. Every applicant shall, as a condition of admittance to the
examination facility, present satisfactory proof of identification.
Satisfactory proof of identification shall be in the form of a driver’s
license or identification card, containing the photograph of the
person to whom it was issued, issued by any state, federal, or other
government entity.

7338. The examination of applicants for a license shall include
both a practical demonstration and a written test and shall embrace
the subjects typically taught in a program approved by the board.

The examination shall not be confined to any particular system or
method. It shall be consistent in both practical and technical
requirements, and of sufficient thoroughness to satisfy the board as
to the applicant’s skill in, and knowledge of, the practice of the
occupation or occupations for which a license is sought.

In the conduct and grading of examinations, practical
demonstrations shall prevail over written tests.

The scope of examinations shall be consistent with the definition
of the activities licensed under this chapter, and shall be as the board,
by regulation, may require to protect the health and safety of
consumers of the services provided by licensees.

The board’s examinations shall be limited to clearly job-related
questions, activities, and practical services. Examinations shall also
include written tests in antisepsis, disinfection, sanitation, the use of
mechanical apparatus and electricity as applicable to the practice of
barbering, cosmetology, or electrolysis. They may include other
demonstrations and tests as the board, in its discretion, may require.
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7340. All examinations shall be prepared by or under the
direction of the board but shall be administered and graded by
examiners employed pursuant to this chapter. The board shall
establish standards and procedures governing administration and
grading and shall exercise supervision as may be necessary to assure
compliance therewith.

7341. The board shall mail or deliver to every person failing any
examination provided for in this chapter the total grade received on
the examination.

An unsuccessful applicant for licensure, after taking an
examination and within 90 days after the results thereof have been
declared, shall have the right to inspect his or her examination paper
in the city in which the examination was taken.

7342. Licenses in the practice of the occupation for which the
license was sought shall be issued by the board to any applicant who
satisfactorily passes an examination, who possesses the other
qualifications required by law and who has remitted the license fee
required by this chapter. The license shall entitle the holder to
engage in the practice of that occupation in a licensed establishment.

7343. Any applicant who without good cause, as defined in the
regulations of the board, fails to appear for examination after being
duly notified by the board of his or her eligibility therefor shall forfeit
his or her examination fee and may again become eligible only upon
filing a new application and paying a new examination fee.

7344, The board may contract or otherwise arrange for
reasonably required physical accommodations and facilities to
conduct examinations.

7345. If an applicant fails to complete his or her application
within one year after it has been filed, or fails to take the examination
within one year after becoming eligible therefor, the application
shall be considered abandoned and the fee forfeited. An application
submitted after the abandonment of a former application shall be
treated as a new application and shall be required to meet all of the
requirements for an initial license.

Article 6. Establishments

7346. An establishment is any premises, building or part of a
building where any activity licensed under this chapter is practiced.

7347. Any person, firm or corporation desiring to operate an
establishment shall make an application to the board for a license
accompanied by the fee prescribed by this chapter. The applicant
shall not have committed acts or crimes which are grounds for denial
of licensure in effect at the time the new application is submitted
pursuant to Section 480. A license issued pursuant to this section shall
authorize the operation of the establishment only at the location for
which the license is issued. Operation of the establishment at any
other location shall be unlawful unless a license for the new location
has been obtained upon compliance with this section, applicable to
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the issuance of a license in the first instance.

7348. An establishment shall at all times be in the charge of a
licensee of the board except an apprentice.

7349. It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to hire,
employ, or allow to be employed, or permit to work, in or about an
establishment, any person who performs or practices any occupation
regulated under this chapter and is not duly licensed by the board.

Any person violating this section is subject to citation and fine
pursuant to Section 7406 and is also guilty of a misdemeanor.

7349.1. It is an unfair business practice for any person, firm, or
corporation who engages in a practice regulated under this chapter
to use the traditional symbol known as the barber pole, which
comprises a striped vertical cylinder with a ball on top, with the
intent to mislead the public in any manner that would make the
public believe that barbering was being practiced in, or that a
licensed barber is employed in, an establishment that does not
employ licensed barbers.

7350. No person having charge of an establishment, whether as
an owner or an employee, shall permit any room or part thereof in
which any occupation regulated under this chapter is conducted or
practiced to be used for residential purposes or for any other purpose
that would tend to make the room unsanitary, unhealthy, or unsafe,
or endanger the health and safety of the consuming public.

An establishment shall have a direct entrance separate and distinet
from any entrance in connection with private quarters.

A violation of this section is a misdemeanor.

7351. Every establishment shall provide at least one public toilet
room located on or near the premises for its patrons. Any toilet room
installed on or after July 1, 1992, shall be not less than 18 square feet
in area. The entrance to the room shall be effectively screened so
that no toilet compartment is visible from any workroom. The room
shall be kept in a clean condition and in good repair, well lighted and
ventilated to the outside air, and effectively screened against insects
and free from rodents. The floor shall be of concrete, tile laid in
cement, vitrified brick, or other nonabsorbent material. All sewer
drains shall be connected to an approved disposal system, and shall
be properly trapped. No restroom shall be used for storage.

7352. Every establishment shall provide adequate and
convenient handwashing facilities, including running water, soap
and approved sanitary towels.

7353. Within 90 days after issuance of the establishment license,
the board or its agents or assistants shall inspect the establishment for
compliance with the applicable requirements of this chapter and the
applicable rules and regulations of the board adopted pursuant to this
chapter. Each establishment shall be inspected at least twice a year
for compliance with applicable laws relating to the public health and
safety and the conduct and operation of establishments.
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Article 7. Mobile Units

7354. For purposes of this article, “mobile unit” means any
self-contained, self-supporting, enclosed mobile unit which is at least
24 feet in length which is licensed as an establishment for the
practice of any occupation licensed by the board and which complies
with this article and all health and safety regulations established by
the board.

7355. (a) Any person, firm, or corporation desiring to operate a
mobile unit shall make an application to the board for a license
containing the information and data set forth in subdivision (b). The
applicant, if an individual, or each officer, director, and partner, if
the applicant is other than an individual, shall not have committed
acts or crimes which are grounds for denial of licensure pursuant to
Section 480. A license issued pursuant to this section shall authorize
the operation of the unit only within those geographical boundaries
designated by the board. Operation of the unit outside of the
geographical boundaries for which the license is issued shall be
unlawful, unless a license for the expanded geographic area has been
obtained upon compliance with this article applicable to the issuance
of a license in the first instance.

(b) Each application shall include the following:

(1) A detailed floor plan showing the location of doors, windows,
restroom facilities, sinks, lift or ramps, ventilation, equipment, and
dimensions of the mobile unit in compliance with this article.

(2) Proof of purchase or lease of the mobile unit and shop
equipment.

(3) The required fee.

(4) Copies of applicable county and city licenses or permits to
provide the mobile barbering, cosmetology, or electrolysis services
in each county and city of operation and the locations therein where
the services will be offered.

(5) Proof of compliance with applicable city, county, and state
plumbing, electrical, and fire laws.

(6) Proof of a valid California driver’s license issued to an officer
or employee responsible for driving the mobile unit.

(7) A permanent base address from which the mobile unit shall
operate.

(c) After initial approval of the floor plan and application has
been granted, the applicant shall schedule an appointment to show
the mobile unit to the board, or representative of the board, for final
approval.

7356. An application to transfer ownership or control of an
existing licensed mobile unit shall be filed by the purchaser or lessor
with the board within 10 days after purchase. Each application shall
include the following:

(a) A detailed floor plan showing the location of doors, windows,
restroom facilities, sinks, lift or ramps, ventilation, equipment, and
dimensions of the mobile unit.
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(b) Bills of sale or lease documents proving purchase or lease of
existing equipment and the mobile unit.

(c) The existing mobile unit license.

(d) The required fee.

(e) Copies of applicable city and county licenses or permits to
provide the mobile services in each county and city of operation
issued in the new owner’s name.

(f) Proof of compliance with applicable city, county, and state
plumbing, electrical, and fire laws.

(g) Proof of a valid California driver’s license issued to an officer
or employee responsible for driving the mobile unit.

7357. (a) Mobile units shall comply with regulations adopted by
the board that assure that the unit shall be kept clean, in good repair,
and in compliance with this article.

(b) Each mobile unit shall be equipped with each of the following
functioning systems:

(1) A self-contained, potable water supply. The potable water
tanks shall be not less than 100 gallons, and the holding tanks shall
be of adequate capacity. In the event of depletion of potable water,
operation shall cease until the supply is replenished.

(2) Continuous, on-demand hot water tanks which shall be not
less than six-gallon capacity.

(3) Self-contained, recirculating, flush chemical toilet with
holding tank.

(4) A covered galvanized, stainless steel, or other noncorrosive
metal container for purposes of depositing hair clippings, refuse, and
other waste materials.

(5) A split-lead generator with a remote starter, muffler, and a
vent to the outside.

(6) A sealed combustible heater with an outside vent.

7358. A mobile unit shall at all times be in the charge of a licensee
of the board except an apprentice.

7359. It is unlawful for any person, firm or corporation to hire,
employ, allow to be employed, or permit to work, in or about a
mobile unit, any person who performs or practices any occupation
regulated under this chapter who is not duly licensed by the board.

Any person violating this section is guilty of a misdemeanor.

7360. No person having charge of a mobile unit, whether as an
owner or an employee, shall permit any room, or part thereof, in
which any occupation regulated under this chapter is conducted or
practiced, to be used for residential purposes or for any other
purpose that would tend to make the unit unsanitary, unhealthy, or
unsafe, or endanger the health and safety of the consuming public.

This section shall not apply when the mobile unit is used for
purposes other than the practice of any occupation regulated under
this chapter outside of the designated geographical boundaries for
which it is licensed.

7361. All laws governing establishments under this chapter,
except Article 6 (commencing with Section 7346), apply to mobile
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units, unless otherwise provided.
Article 8. Schools, Instructors, and Curricula

7362. (a) A school approved by the board is one which is licensed
by the Council for Private Postsecondary and Vocational Education,
or a public school in this state, and provides a course of instruction
approved by the board.

(b) The board shall determine by regulation the required subjects
of instruction to be completed in all approved courses, including the
minimum hours of technical instruction and minimum number of
practical operations for each subject, and shall determine how much
training is required before a student may begin performing services
on paying patrons.

7362.1. A school of cosmetology approved by the board shall also
meet all of the following:

(a) Possess the equipment and floor space necessary for
comprehensive instruction of 25 cosmetology students or the
number of students enrolled in the course, whichever is greater.

(b) Have entered on the roll of a proposed school of cosmetology
at least 25 bona fide, full-time students for the cosmetology course.
For purposes of this section, a bona fide, full-time student is a person
who has been entered on the roll of a proposed school of cosmetology
and has committed to attend a full course in cosmetology.

(¢) Maintain a course of practical training and technical
instruction for the full cosmetology course as specified in this chapter
and in board regulations. A course of instruction in any branch of
cosmetology shall be taught in a school of cosmetology.

This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 1997, and, as of
January 1, 1998, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1998, deletes or extends the
dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed.

7362.5. (a) A course in barbering established by a school shall
consist of not less than 1,500 hours of practical training and technical
instruction in the practice of barbering as defined in Section 7316.

(b) A course in cosmetology established by a school shall consist
of not less than 1,600 hours of practical training and technical
instruction in the practice of cosmetology as defined in Section 7316,
except as provided in this chapter.

7364. A skin care course established by a school shall consist of not
less than 600 hours of practical training and technical instruction in
accordance with a curriculum established by board regulation.

7365. A nail care course established by a school shall consist of not
less than 350 hours of practical training and technical instruction in
accordance with a curriculum established by board regulation.

7366. An electrolysis course established by a school shall consist
of not less than 600 hours of practical training and technical
instruction in accordance with a curriculum established by board
regulation.
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7367. For students who change from one program of instruction
to another, the board shall grant credit for training obtained in one
course that is identical to training required in another course.

7368. No school shall advertise barbering, cosmetology or
electrolysis services to the public through any medium unless those
services are expressly designated as student work.

7389. The board shall develop or adopt a health and safety course
on hazardous substances which shall be taught in schools approved
by the board. Course development shall include pilot testing of the
course and training classes to prepare instructors to effectively use
the course.

7389.5. A course of training in barbering or cosmetology
established by federal or state correctional institutions in California
may qualify a person thereby trained to take the examination for
licensure as a barber or cosmetologist provided the course complies
with all applicable provisions of this act and the regulations adopted
pursuant thereto.

7390. A cosmetology or barbering instructor training course shall
consist of not less than 600 hours of practical training and technical
instruction in accordance with a curriculum established by board
regulation.

This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 1997, and, as of
January 1, 1998, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1998, deletes or extends the
dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed.

7391. The board shall admit to examination for license as a
cosmetology or barbering instructor any person who has made
application to the board in the proper form, who has paid the fee
required by this chapter, and who meets the following qualifications:

(a) Has completed the 12th grade or an accredited senior high
school course of study in public schools of this state or its equivalent.

(b) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480.

(c) Holds a valid license to practice cosmetology or barbering in
this state.

(d) Has done at least one of the following:

(1) Completed a cosmetology or barbering instructor training
course in an approved school in this state or equivalent training in
an approved school in another state.

(2) Completed not less than the equivalent of 10 months of
practice as a teacher assistant or teacher aide in a school approved
by the board.

(3) Practiced cosmetology or barbering in a licensed
establishment in this state for a period of one year within the three
years immediately preceding application, or its equivalent in
another state. An applicant using practical experience to qualify
under this section shall submit an affidavit signed by his or her
employers attesting to the qualifying experience.

This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 1997, and, as of
January 1, 1998, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
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becomes effective on or before January 1, 1998, deletes or extends the
dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed.

7392. Each licensed instructor shall complete at least 30 clock
hours of continuing education in the teaching of vocational
education during each two-year licensing period. This section does
not apply to an instructor who holds a credential to teach vocational
education full time in a public school in this state.

For purposes of this section, programs designed for continuing
education in the teaching of vocational education may include, but
not be limited to, development of understanding and competency in
the learning process, instructional techniques, curriculum and
media, instructional evaluation, counseling and guidance, and the
special needs of students.

The board shall adopt regulations establishing standards for the
approval of continuing education courses and for the effective
administration and enforcement of its continuing education
requirements.

This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 1997, and, as of
January 1, 1998, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1998, deletes or extends the
dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed.

7393. As acondition of the renewal of the license of an instructor,
the board may periodically require instructors to demonstrate
current competence through continuing education as provided for
in this chapter.

This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 1997, and, as of
January 1, 1998, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1998, deletes or extends the
dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed.

7394. The board’s continuing education requirements shall not
apply to instructors whose licenses are on inactive status according
to the records maintained by the board.

Instructors whose licenses are on inactive status may not be
employed as instructors in schools approved by the board.

Instructors whose licenses are on inactive status must complete at
least 30 hours of continuing education in the teaching of vocational
education as a condition of reinstatement to active status.

This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 1997, and, as of
January 1, 1998, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1998, deletes or extends the
dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed.

7395. If an instructor with an active license status does not
provide proof of compliance with the continuing education
requirements provided for in this chapter within 45 days of a request
from the board, the instructor’s license shall revert to inactive status
until proof of compliance is provided to the board.

This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 1997, and, as of
January 1, 1998, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1998, deletes or extends the
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dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed.
Article 10. Licenses

7396. The form and content of a license issued by the board shall
be determined in accordance with Section 164.

The license shall prominently state that the holder is licensed as a
barber, cosmetologist, esthetician, manicurist, electrologist, or
apprentice, and shall contain a photograph of the licensee.

7397. Every licensee shall display the license in a conspicuous
place in his or her place of business or place of employment.

7398. A duplicate license shall be issued upon the filing of a
statement explaining the loss, verified by the oath of the applicant,
and accompanied by the fee required by this chapter.

7399. Under no circumstances shall a temporary license be
issued.

7400. Every licensee of the board, except establishments shall,
within 30 days after a change of address, notify the board of the new
address, and, upon receipt of the notification, the board shall make
the necessary changes in the register.

7402. Any person, firm, association or corporation violating this
chapter, for which violation there is no specific penalty otherwise
provided, is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a fine not to
exceed two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) or imprisonment
in the county jail not to exceed six months, or both a fine and
imprisonment.

Article 11. Disciplinary Proceedings

7403. (a) The board may revoke, suspend, or deny at any time
any license required by this chapter on any of the grounds for
disciplinary action provided in this article. The proceedings under
this article shall be conducted in accordance with Chapter 5
(commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2
of the Government Code, and the board shall have all the powers
granted therein.

(b) In any case in which the administrative law judge
recommends that the board revoke, suspend or deny a license, the
administrative law judge may, upon presentation of suitable proof,
order the licensee to pay the board the reasonable costs of the
investigation and adjudication of the case. For purposes of this
section, “costs” include charges by the board for investigating the
case, charges incurred by the office of the Attorney General for
investigating and presenting the case, and charges incurred by the
Office of Administrative Hearings for hearing the case and issuing a
proposed decision.

(c) The costs to be assessed shall be fixed by the administrative
law judge and shall not, in any event, be increased by the board.
When the board does not adopt a proposed decision and remands the
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case to an administrative law judge, the administrative law judge
shall not increase the amount of any costs assessed in the proposed
decision.

(d) The board may enforce the order for payment in the superior
court in the county where the administrative hearing was held. This
right of enforcement shall be in addition to any other rights the board
may have as to any licensee directed to pay costs.

(e) In any judicial action for the recovery of costs, proof of the
board’s decision shall be conclusive proof of the validity of the order
of payment and the terms for payment.

(f) All costs recovered under this section shall be deposited in the
board’s contingent fund as a reimbursement in the fiscal year in
which the costs were incurred.

7404. The grounds for disciplinary action are as follows:

(a) Failure of a person, firm or corporation operating an
establishment, or engaged in any practice regulated by this chapter
to comply with the requirements of this chapter.

(b) Failure to comply with the rules governing health and safety
adopted by the board and approved by the State Department of
Health Services, for the regulation of establishments, or any practice
licensed and regulated under this chapter.

(c) Failure to comply with the rules adopted by the board for the
regulation of establishments, or any practice licensed and regulated
under this chapter.

(d) Gross negligence, including failure to comply with generally
accepted standards for the practice of barbering, cosmetology, or
electrology or disregard for the health and safety of patrons.

(e) Repeated similar negligent acts.

(f) Incompetence, including failure to comply with generally
accepted standards for the practice of barbering, cosmetology, or
electrology.

(g) Continued practice by a person knowingly having an
infectious or contagious disease.

(h) Habitual drunkenness, habitual use of or addiction to the use
of any controlled substance.

(i) Advertising by means of knowingly false or deceptive
statements.

(i) Obtaining or attempting to obtain practice in any occupation
licensed and regulated under this chapter, or money, or
compensation in any form, by fraudulent misrepresentation.

(k) Failure to display the license or health and safety rules and
regulations in a conspicuous place.

(1) Engaging, outside of a licensed establishment and for
compensation in any form whatever, in any practice for which a
license is required under this chapter, except that when such service
is provided because of illness or other physical or mental
incapacitation of the recipient of the service and when performed by
a licensee obtained for the purpose from a licensed establishment.

(m) Conviction of any crime substantially related to the
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qualifications, functions, or duties of the license holder, in which case
the record of conviction or a certified copy, shall be conclusive
evidence thereof.

(n) Permitting a license to be used where the holder is not
personally, actively and continuously engaged in business.

(o) The making of any false statement as to a material matter in
any oath or affidavit, which is required by the provisions of this
chapter.

(p) Refusal to permit or interference with an inspection
authorized under this chapter.

(q) Any action or conduct which would have warranted the
denial of a license.

7404.1. Any person, firm, association, or corporation violating this
chapter is guilty of a misdemeanor unless a specific penalty is
otherwise provided.

7405. A plea or verdict of guilty or a conviction following a plea
of nolo contendere is deemed to be a conviction within the meaning
of this article. The board may order the license suspended or
revoked, or may decline to issue a license, when the time for appeal
has elapsed, or the judgment of conviction has been affirmed on
appeal or when an order granting probation is made suspending the
imposition of sentence, irrespective of a subsequent order under
Section 1203.4 of the Penal Code allowing the person to withdraw his
plea of guilty and to enter a plea of not guilty, or setting aside the
verdict of guilty, or dismissing the accusation, information or
indictment.

Article 12. Administrative Fines and Citations

7406. In addition to the authority to conduct disciplinary
proceedings under this chapter, the board, through its duly
authorized representatives, shall have authority to assess
administrative fines for the violation of any section of this chapter or
the violation of any rules and regulations adopted by the board under
this chapter.

7407. The board shall establish by regulation a schedule of
administrative fines for violations of this chapter. All moneys
collected under this section shall be deposited in the board’s
contingent fund.

The schedule shall indicate for each type of violation whether, in
the board’s discretion, the violation can be corrected.

7408. The board, through its duly authorized representatives,
shall issue a citation with respect to any violation for which an
administrative fine may be assessed. Each citation shall be in writing
and shall describe with particularity the nature of the violation,
including a reference to the specific provision alleged to have been
violated. The administrative fine, if any, shall attach at the time the
citation is written. The citation shall include an order to correct any
condition or violation which lends itself to correction, as determined
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by the board pursuant to Section 7406.

7409. Any licensee served with a citation may avoid the payment
of the associated administrative fine by presentation of written proof
satisfactory to the board, or its executive officer, that the violation has
been corrected. This provision applies only to a licensee’s first
violation in any three-year period of any single provision of this
chapter or the rules and regulations adopted pursuant to this
chapter. Proof of correction shall be presented to the board, through
its executive officer, in a time and manner prescribed by the board.
The board may, in its discretion, extend for a reasonable period the
time within which to correct the violation upon the showing of good
cause. Notices of correction filed after the prescribed date shall not
be acceptable and the administrative fine shall be paid.

7410. Persons to whom a notice of violation or a citation is issued
and an administrative fine assessed may appeal the administrative
fine to a disciplinary review committee established by regulation by
the board. All appeals of administrative fines shall be submitted in
writing to the board within 30 days of the date the notice of violation
or a citation was issued. Appeals of administrative fines which are not
submitted in a timely manner shall be rejected.

After a timely appeal has been filed with the board, the
administrative fine shall be stayed until the appeal has been
adjudicated.

Persons appealing a notice of violation for which an administrative
fine has been assessed, or their appointed representatives, shall
appear in person before the board or its designated representative,
or an administrative law judge. The appellant may present written
or oral evidence relating to the facts and circumstances relating to
the notice of violation for which an administrative fine was issued.

7411. If a licensee notifies the board that he or she intends to
contest a citation, the board shall afford an opportunity for a hearing.
The board shall thereafter issue a decision, based on findings of fact,
affirming, modifying or vacating the citation or penalty, or directing
other appropriate relief. The proceedings under this section shall be
conducted in accordance with Chapter 5 (commencing with Section
11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code, and
the board shall have all powers granted therein.

7412. The board or its representative who conducts the appeal
hearing may, after the appeal has been concluded, affirm, reduce,
dismiss, or alter any charges filed in the notice of violation or any
penalties assessed. In no event shall the infractions in the citation or
notice of violation or the administrative fine be increased.

The appellant shall be provided with a written copy of the board’s
decision relating to the appeal. All decisions rendered by the board
or its representative under this section shall become final and there
shall be no administrative appeal, except as otherwise provided by
law.

7413. Appeals of administrative fines not filed in a timely manner
or failure of the appellant or the appellant’s representative to appear
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before the board at the appointed time except when good cause is
shown, shall cause the administrative fine to become final and there
shall be no administrative appeal except as otherwise provided by
law.

7414. Persons who fail to pay administrative fines shall not be
allowed to renew any certificates issued to them until all fines are
paid in addition to any renewal or restoration fees which are
required.

Article 13. Revenue

7415. (a) Licenses issued under this chapter, unless specifically
excepted, shall be issued for a two-year period and shall expire at
midnight on the last day of the month of issuance by the board.

(b) The board shall establish procedures for administration of
license renewals on a two-year continuous renewal cycle. The
program shall include, but not be limited to, the establishment of pro
rata formula for the payment of fees by licentiates affected by the
implementation of that program. The renewal program shall provide
that a relatively equal number of licenses expire annually and in a
manner as to best distribute the renewal work of the board in a
uniform manner.

7416. The board shall, with the cooperation of the department,
modify its license renewal applications to all licensees to designate
whether or not they are currently employed in the occupation for
which they are licensed.

7417. [Except as otherwise provided in this article, a license which
has expired for failure of the licensee to renew within the time fixed
by this article may be renewed at any time within five years
following its expiration upon application and payment of the current
renewal fees. If the license is renewed more than 30 days after its
expiration, the licensee, as a condition precedent to renewal, shall
also pay the delinquency fee and meet current continuing education
requirements, if applicable, prescribed by this chapter. Renewal
under this section shall be effective on the date on which the
application is filed, or on the date on which the renewal fee is paid,
or on the date on which the delinquency fee, if any, is paid,
whichever last occurs. If so renewed, the license shall continue in
effect through the expiration date provided in this article which next
occurs following the effective date of the renewal, when it shall
expire if it is not again renewed.

7418. Except as otherwise provided in this article, a license which
has not been renewed within five years following its expiration shall
be deemed canceled and may not be renewed, restored, reinstated,
or reissued thereafter. The holder of the canceled license may obtain
a new license only by submitting an application, paying all required
fees, and qualifying for and passing the examination that would be
required if the holder were applying for the license for the first time.

7419. A suspended license is subject to expiration and shall be
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renewed by the licensee as provided in this article, but that renewal
does not entitle the licensee, while the license remains suspended
and until it is reinstated, to engage in the licensed activity, or in any
other activity or conduct in violation of the order or judgment by
which the license was suspended.

7420. A revoked license is subject to expiration as provided in this
article, but may not be renewed. If it is reinstated pursuant to the
Administrative Procedure Act after its expiration, the licensee, as a
condition precedent to its reinstatement, shall pay a reinstatement
fee in an amount equal to the current renewal fee.

7422. All fees collected on behalf of the board and all receipts of
every kind and nature, shall be reported to the Controller at the
beginning of each month for the month preceding. At the same time
the entire amount of collections shall be paid into the State Treasury,
and shall be credited to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
Contingent Fund, which fund is hereby created.

The moneys in the contingent fund shall be appropriated to the
board pursuant to the annual Budget Act and out of it shall be paid
all salaries and all other expenses necessarily incurred in carrying
into effect this chapter.

7423. The amounts of the fees required by this chapter relating
to licenses for individual practitioners are as follows:

(a) Cosmetologist application, examination and initial license fee
shall be not more than fifty dollars ($50).

(b) Esthetician application, examination and initial license fee
shall be not more than forty dollars ($40).

(c) Manicurist application, examination and initial license fee
shall be not more than twenty-five dollars ($25).

(d) Barber application, examination and initial license fee shall be
not more than fifty dollars ($50).

(e) Electrologist application, examination and license fee shall be
not more than fifty dollars ($50).

(f) Apprentice application and license fee shall be not more than
twenty-five dollars ($25).

(g) The license renewal fee for individual practitioner licenses
that are subject to renewal shall be not more than fifty dollars ($50).

(h) The license renewal delinquency fee shall be 50 percent of the
renewal fee in effect on the date of renewal, notwithstanding Section
163.5.

7423.5. The fee for instructor application, examination, and
license shall be not more than fifty dollars ($50).

This section shall become inoperative on July 1, 1997, and as of
January 1, 1998, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
becomes effective on or before January 1, 1998, deletes or extends the
dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed.

7424. The amounts of the fees payable under this chapter relating
to licenses to operate an establishment are as follows:

(a) The application and initial license fee shall be not more than
eighty dollars ($80).
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(b) The renewal fee shall be not more than forty dollars ($40).

(c) The delinquency fee is 50 percent of the renewal fee in effect
on the date of renewal.

7425. The amounts of the fees payable under this chapter relating
to licenses to operate a mobile unit are as follows:

(a) The application fee shall be not more than fifty dollars ($50).

(b) The initial inspection and license fee shall not be more than
one hundred dollars ($100).

(c) The renewal fee shall be not more than forty dollars ($40).

(d) The delinquency fee shall be 50 percent of the renewal fee for
barber, cosmetologist, esthetician, electrologist, or instructor in
effect on the date of renewal.

The fees shall be set by the board, within the limits set forth in this
section, in amounts necessary to cover the expenses of the board in
performing its duties under this chapter.

7426. The fee for a duplicate license as provided for in Section
7398 shall be ten dollars ($10).

SEC.4. The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology shall retain the
authority previously vested with the Board of Barber Examiners and
the Board of Cosmetology to conduct all investigations, inquiries,
disciplinary actions or proceedings unresolved under the Board of
Barber Examiners and Board of Cosmetology authority.

SEC. 5. Until the time as the Board of Barbering and
Cosmetology promulgates regulations as provided for in this act, it
shall retain the authority to operate under and enforce the
regulations existing prior to July 1, 1992, as contained in Chapter 3
(commencing with Section 200) and Chapter 9 (commencing with
Section 900) of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations.

SEC. 6. If a conflict exists between provisions of this act and the
regulations, the provisions of this act shall take precedence over the
regulations.

SEC. 7. All persons qualifying as applicants for examination or
licensure under the Barber Act and Cosmetology Act prior to July 1,
1992, shall be accepted by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
and considered for examination and licensure in accordance with
this act.

SEC. 8. All persons licensed under the Barber Act and
Cosmetology Act shall be considered licensed by the Board of
Barbering and Cosmetology.

SEC. 9. Revenues collected under the Barber Act and the
Cosmetology Act and held in their respective contingent funds shall
be transferred to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
Contingent Fund established by this act for that board.

SEC.10. Sectionsl,2,3,4, and 5 of this act shall become operative
on July 1, 1992, except that prior to July 1, 1992, the Board of Barber
Examiners and the Board of Cosmetology shall conduct joint public
hearings for the purpose of developing and recommending
regulations for adoption by the board.

SEC. 11. The board and the Department of Consumer Affairs
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shall assess the results of merging the Board of Barber Examiners and
the Cosmetology Board and report to the Legislature on or before
June 30, 1995. The results of merger shall be assessed in terms of its
impact on licensees and the health and safety of the general public,
including any cost savings attributable to the program.

SEC. 12. The Department of Consumer Affairs shall report to the
appropriate policy committees of the Legislature no later than
January 1, 1992, on the hours and curriculum required by schools of
cosmetology and barbering in this state. The report shall include an
assessment on the appropriateness of the current number of hours in
each subject area and the curriculum’s relationship to the respective
scopes of practice of cosmetology and barbering, including
recommendations, if any, on the need to revise the current hour and
curriculum requirements.

SEC. 13. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to
Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution because the
only costs which may be incurred by a local agency or school district
will be incurred because this act creates a new crime or infraction,
changes the definition of a crime or infraction, changes the penalty
for a crime or infraction, or eliminates a crime or infraction.
Notwithstanding Section 17580 of the Government Code, unless
otherwise specified in this act, the provisions of this act shall become
operative on the same date that the act takes effect pursuant to the
California Constitution.

CHAPTER 1673

An act to amend Sections 6548, 6560, 6625, 6630, 6632, 6633, 6634,
6635, and 6635.2 of, and to amend, repeal, and add Sections 6529 and
6636 of, the Business and Professions Code, relating to barbers, and
making an appropriation therefor.

[Approved by Governor Segtember 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 6529 of the Business and Professions Code
is amended to read:

6529. No fee shall exceed the maximum amount allowable for
fees for any purpose in this chapter.

This section shall be operative until January 1, 1994, and on that
date is repealed.

SEC. 2. Section 6529 is added to the Business and Professions
Code, to read:

6529. No raise in fees for any one category of fees imposed by the
Board of Barber Examiners in any given biennial renewal period
shall exceed the sum of five dollars ($5) for any one category of fees
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except for barber colleges, which fees shall not exceed twenty-five
dollars ($25). No fee shall exceed the maximum amount allowable for
fees for any purpose set forth in this chapter.

This section shall become operative on January 1, 1994.

SEC. 3. Section 6548 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6548. (a) Not less than four times each year, two times in the
southern part of the state and two times in the northern part of the
state, the board shall conduct examinations to ascertain the
educational qualifications of each of the following:

(1) Applicants for certificates of registration to practice as
registered barbers.

(2) Applicants for certificates of registration to practice as
instructors in a barber college.

(b) The examination of applicants for certificates of registration as
registered barbers shall include both a practical demonstration and
a written test and shall embrace the subjects usually taught in
colleges of barbering approved by the board. The examination for a
certificate of registration as a registered barber shall include the
standard methods for dressing all textures of hair, including hair
relaxing. The written examination shall be limited to clearly
job-related questions on the following subjects:

(1) Sanitation, antiseptics, sterilization, hygiene, bacteria, and
health and safety aspects of consumer protection.

(2) Hair tonics, hairdressing preparations, and rinses.

(3) Facials and scalp massages or treatments with creams, lotions,
oils, or other cosmetic preparations either by hand or mechanical
appliances which are not galvanic or faradic.

(4) Implements of barbering.

(3) Laws and regulations governing the practice of barbering.

(6) Common skin and hair diseases of the scalp, face, and neck.

(7) The structure and functions of the skin and hair of the scalp,
face, and neck.

(8) Cosmetic preparations and chemicals used in the practice of
barbering.

(9) Circulation, muscles, nerves, and cells of the scalp, face, and
neck only as those subjects are related to massaging or other acts of
barbering.

(10) Fundamentals of hair coloring and bleaching.

(11) Fundamentals of hair straightening (also known as hair
relaxing).

(12) Chemical waving of hair.

(¢) Any applicant who without good cause, as defined in the
regulations of the board, fails to appear for the examination after
being duly notified by the board of his or her eligibility therefor shall
forfeit his or her examination fee, and may again become eligible for
examination only upon notification to the board and payment of a
new examination fee.

SEC. 4. Section 6560 of the Business and Professions Code is
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amended to read:

6560. An applicant shall be granted a certificate of registration to
practice barbering upon compliance with each of the following:

(a) Files an application with the board in such form as it may
prescribe, accompanied by the application fee and an amount equal
to the examination fee.

(b) The applicant is at least 17 years of age.

(c) The applicant is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480.

(d) The applicant has completed the proper grade in school as
provided in Section 6360.5, or has an equivalent education as
determined by an examination conducted by an examining agency
prescribed by the board.

{e) The applicant has either:

(1) A valid license or certificate of registration as a practicing
barber or apprentice from another state or country which has
substantially the same requirements for licensing or registering
barbers or apprentices as required by this chapter for barbers and as
required by this chapter for apprentices prior to the amendments
made to this chapter during the 1979 portion of the 1979-80 Regular
Session affecting the authorization to practice as an apprentice.

(2) Affidavits from at least two persons stating that the applicant
has practiced as a barber or an apprentice in another state or country
for a period of at least two years within the last five years
immediately prior to filing the application in this state and has passed
a satisfactory examination conducted by the board.

(f) Has paid the certificate fee required by this chapter.

Any applicant who fails to pass the examination may file a new
application accompanied by the required fees and take another
examination. In no event will a person be permitted to practice
barbering without having received a certificate of registration as a
registered barber. Any applicant who without good cause, as defined
in the regulations of the board, fails to appear for the examination
after being duly notified by the board of his or her eligibility therefor
shall forfeit his or her examination fee, and may again become
eligible for the examination only upon notification to the board and
payment of a new examination fee.

SEC. 4.5. Section 6625 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6625. (a) Certificates to operate a barbershop, barber college, or
a facility at which barbering is taught expire at 12 midnight on
September 30 of each year.

(b) All other certificates shall expire biennially and on and after
October 1, 1991, shall be renewed cyclically.

SEC. 5. Section 6630 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6630. A duplicate certificate shall be issued upon the filing of a
statement covering the loss of a certificate, verified by the oath of the
applicant, and submitting two 3” x 5” signed photographs, and upon
the payment of a fee fixed by the board at not more than ten dollars
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($10) until January 1, 1992, and on and after that date at not more
than fifteen dollars ($15) for the issuance of the certificate.

SEC. 6. Section 6632 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6632. The amount of the fees payable in connection with
certificates of registration to practice barbering is as follows:

(a) The application fee shall be fixed by the board at not more
than ten dollars ($10) until January 1, 1992, and on and after that date
at not more than fifteen dollars ($15).

(b) The examination fee shall be fixed by the board at not more
than twenty dollars ($20) until January 1, 1992, and on and after that
date at not more than twenty-five dollars ($25).

(c) The fee for issuance of the certificate is an amount equal to the
renewal fee in effect on the last regular renewal date before the date
on which the certificate is issued, except that, if the certificate will
expire less than one year after its issuance, then the fee is 50 percent
of the renewal fee in effect on the last regular renewal date before
the date on which the certificate is issued.

(d) The renewal fee shall be fixed by the board at not more than
sixty dollars ($60) until January 1, 1992, and on and after that date
at not more than seventy-five dollars ($75) for each biennial renewal
period.

(e) The restoration fee is an amount equal to 150 percent of the
renewal fee in effect when the application for restoration is filed.

The board shall report to the appropriate policy and fiscal
committees of each house of the Legislature whenever the board
increases any fee pursuant to this chapter and shall specify the
rationale and justification for that increase.

SEC. 7. Section 6633 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6633. The amount of the fees payable in connection with
certificates of registration to practice as an apprentice is as follows:

(a) The registration fee shall be fixed by the board at not more
than thirty dollars ($30) until January 1, 1992, and on and after that
date at not more than forty dollars ($40).

(b) The fee for issuance of the certificate is an amount equal to the
renewal fee in effect on the last regular renewal date before the date
on which the certificate is issued, except that, if the certificate will
expire less than one year after its issuance, then the fee is 50 percent
of the renewal fee in effect on the last regular renewal date before
the date on which the certificate is issued.

(c) The renewal fee shall be fixed by the board at not more than
forty-five dollars ($45) until January 1, 1992, and on and after that
date ?lt not more than sixty dollars ($60) for each biennial renewal
period.

(d) The restoration fee is an amount equal to 150 percent of the
renewal fee in effect when the application for restoration is filed.

SEC. 8. Section 6634 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

269400



Ch. 1673 ] STATUTES OF 1990 8013

6634. The amount of the fees payable in connection with
certificates to conduct a barbershop is as follows:

(a) The inspection fee to be paid by an applicant to conduct a new
barbershop or an existing shop at a new location shall be fixed by the
board at not more than sixty-five dollars ($65) until January 1, 1992,
and on and after that date at not more than eighty-five dollars ($85).

(b) The certificate fee to be paid by an applicant to conduct a new
barbershop or an existing shop at a new location shall be fixed by the
board at not more than sixty dollars ($60) until January 1, 1992, and
on and after that date at not more than seventy-five dollars ($75),
except that if the certificate will expire less than one year after its
issuance, then the fee is 50 percent of the certificate fee.

(c) The fee to be paid by an applicant to conduct an existing
barbershop under new ownership shall be fixed by the board at not
more than thirty dollars and fifty cents ($30.50) until January 1, 1992,
and on and after that date at not more than forty dollars ($40).

(d) The renewal fee shall be fixed by the board at not more than
sixty dollars ($60) until January 1, 1992, and on and after that date
at not more than seventy-five dollars ($75) for each renewal period.

(e) The restoration fee is an amount equal to 150 percent of the
renewal fee in effect when the application for restoration is filed.

SEC. 9. Section 6635 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6635. The amount of the fees payable in connection with
certificates of registration for a barber college is as follows:

(a) The application fee shall be fixed by the board at not more
than one hundred fifty dollars ($150) until January 1, 1992, and on
and after that date at not more than two hundred dollars ($200).

(b) The inspection fee to be paid by an applicant to conduct a new
barber college or an existing barber college under a new owner shall
be fixed by the board at not more than seventy-five dollars ($75)
until January 1, 1992, and on and after that date at not more than one
hundred fifty dollars ($150).

(c) The fee for the issuance of a certificate shall be fixed by the
board at not more than two hundred twenty-five dollars ($225) until
January 1, 1992, and on and after that date at not more than three
hundred dollars ($300).

(d) The annual renewal fee shall be fixed by the board at not more
than two hundred twenty-five dollars ($225) until January 1, 1992,
and on and after that date at not more than three hundred dollars
($300).

(e) The restoration fee is an amount equal to 150 percent of the
renewal fee in effect when the application for restoration is filed.

SEC. 10. Section 6635.2 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6635.2. The enrollment fees for students enrolling in a barber
college shall be fixed by the board at not more than ten dollars ($10)
until January 1, 1992, and on and after that date at not more than
fifteen dollars ($15).
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SEC. 11. Section 6636 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

6636. The amount of the fees payable in connection with
certificates of registration as an instructor in a barber college is as
follows:

(a) The application fee shall be fixed by the board at not more
than fifteen dollars ($15).

(b) The examination fee shall be fixed by the board at not more
than fifty-five dollars ($55).

(c) The fee for issuance of a certificate is an amount equal to the
renewal fee in effect on the last regular renewal date before the date
on which the certificate is issued, except that, if the certificate will
expire less than one year after its issuance, then the fee is 50 percent
of the renewal fee in effect on the last regular renewal date before
the date on which the certificate is issued.

(d) The renewal fee for the biennial renewal period shall be fixed
by the board at not more than sixty dollars ($60).

(e) The restoration fee is an amount equal to 150 percent of the
renewal fee in effect when the application for restoration is filed.

This section shall be operative until January 1, 1992, and on that
date is repealed.

SEC. 12. Section 6636 is added to the Business and Professions
Code, to read:

6636. The amount of the fees payable in connection with
certificate of registration as an instructor in a barber college is as
follows:

(a) The application fee shall be fixed by the board at not more
than twenty dollars ($20).

(b) The examination fee shall be fixed by the board at not more
than seventy dollars ($70).

(c) The fee for issuance of a certificate is an amount equal to the
renewal fee in effect on the last regular renewal date before the date
on which the certificate is issued, except that, if the certificate will
expire less than one year after its issuance, then the fee is 50 percent
of the renewal fee in effect on the last regular renewal date before
the date on which the certificate is issued.

(d) The renewal fee for the biennial renewal period shall be fixed
by the board at not more than sixty dollars ($60).

(e} The restoration fee is an amount equal to 150 percent of the
renewal fee in effect when the application for restoration is filed.
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CHAPTER 1674

An act to amend Sections 7302, 7311, 7312, 7314, 7320, 7322, 7373,
7384, 7412, 7420, 7431, 7436, 7437, 7437.3, and 7442, to amend and
renumber Section 7314.5 of, to add Sections 7314.2, 7403, and 7431.5
to, to repeal Sections 7332.6, 7332.7, 7332.8, 7346, 7432, 7438, 7445, and
7446 of, and to repeal and add Article 8 (commencing with Section
7390) of Chapter 10 of Division 3 of, to the Business and Professions
Code, relating to cosmetology.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 7302 of the Business and Professions Code
is amended to read:

7302. A person appointed as a member of the board:

(a) With the exception of a public member, shall be registered as
a cosmetologist, or any of its branches, or electrologist under this
chapter.

(b) With the exception of a public member, shall be, at the time
of appointment, either actually engaged in conducting a
cosmetology establishment, or actually engaged in the practice of
cosmetology, or any of its branches, or electrology.

(c) Shall be of good moral character.

(d) Shall not be connected, directly or indirectly, in the wholesale
business of the manufacture, rental, sale or distribution of
cosmetology appliances or supplies.

(e) With the exception of a public member, shall have had at least
five years’ experience in the actual practice of cosmetology, or any
of its branches, or electrology in this state immediately prior to the
appointment.

(f) Shall be at least 25 years of age.

The public members shall not be licensees of the board.

SEC. 2. Section 7311 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

7311. The board may adopt rules governing sanitary conditions,
and precautions to be employed, as are reasonably necessary to
protect the public health and safety in cosmetology establishments,
schools in which cosmetology or any of its branches is performed for
the public for compensation, in the practice of a cosmetologist, and
in any branch of cosmetology. The rules shall be adopted in
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act (Chapter 3.5
(commencing with Section 11340) of Title 2 of the Government
Code), and shall be submitted to the State Department of Health
Services, and approved by that department prior to filing with the
Secretary of State. A written copy of all those rules shall be furnished
to each licensee.
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SEC. 3. Section 7312 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

7312. The board shall keep a registration record of each licensee
containing the name, known places of business, number of the
license and date issued, together with the name and addresses of all
cosmetology establishments, registered under this chapter. This
record shall also contain those facts as the applicants may have stated
in their application for examination for registration and license.

SEC. 4. Section 7314 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

7314. The board shall have the authority to employ examiners,
inspectors, deputies, clerks, and other assistants as it may deem
necessary to carry out this chapter and to fix their compensation,
which compensation and all reasonable expenses incurred by the
board, shall not be paid from the general revenue funds of the state.

An examiner in any branch of cosmetology, except electrology,
shall hold a current, valid license as a cosmetology instructor at the
time of his or her appointment and an examiner in electrology shall
hold a current valid license as an electrologist at the time of his or
her appointment.

SEC. 5. Section 7314.2 is added to the Business and Professions
Code, to read:

7314.2. Notice of violation shall be issued to schools in which the
practice of cosmetology or any of its branches is performed on the
public for compensation for violations of regulations governing
sanitary conditions. The notices of violations shall specify the section
violated and a time in which the violation must be corrected. A copy
of the notice of violation shall be retained by the board and a copy
shall be sent to the Council for Private Postsecondary and Vocational
Education.

SEC. 6. Section 7314.5 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended and renumbered to read:

7314.1. To assure compliance with the laws and regulations
governing the practice of cosmetology or any of its branches, the
board’s authorized representatives shall, subject to Section 7392.1,
have access to, and may inspect the premises of, all cosmetology
establishments and schools in which the practice of cosmetology or
any of its branches is performed for the public for compensation, or
places in which the acts of cosmetology or any of its branches are
being performed.

SEC. 7. Section 7320 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

7320. No person, firm or corporation shall conduct or operate a
cosmetology establishment, or any other place of business in which
the art of cosmetology or any of its branches is taught or practiced,
except the branch of manicuring as practiced in a barbershop, unless
licensed under this chapter and complying with this chapter relating
to sanitation. Any violation of this section is a misdemeanor.

SEC. 8. Section 7322 of the Business and Professions Code is
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amended to read:

7322. This chapter does not prohibit any practice within its scope
in cases of emergency nor does it prohibit the domestic
administration of any practice without compensation, nor the
administration of any practice outside of a licensed cosmetology
establishment when necessary because of the illness or other physical
incapacitation of the recipient of the service and when performed by
a licensee obtained for the purpose from a licensed cosmetology
establishment.

SEC. 9. Section 7332.6 of the Business and Professions Code is
repealed.

SEC. 10. Section 7332.7 of the Business and Professions Code is
repealed.

SEC. 11. Section 7332.8 of the Business and Professions Code is
repealed.

SEC. 12. Section 7346 of the Business and Professions Code is
repealed.

SEC. 13. Section 7373 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

7373. Every applicant for a license as a cosmetologist,
electrologist, manicurist, cosmetician, or cosmetology instructor,
satisfactorily passing the examination provided by the board to
determine fitness to engage in the practice of the occupation for
which the license is sought shall receive from the board a license
which entitles the holder to engage in the practice of that occupation
in a licensed cosmetology establishment.

SEC. 14. Section 7384 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

7384. No person having charge of a cosmetology establishment,
whether as an owner or an employee, shall permit any room or part
thereof in which any of the branches or practices of cosmetology are
conducted, to be used for sleeping or residential purposes or for any
other purpose that would tend to make the room unsanitary.

A cosmetology establishment shall have a direct entrance, separate
and distinct from any entrance in connection with private quarters.

A violation of this section is 2 misdemeanor punishable by a fine
of not less than fifty dollars ($50) nor more than four hundred dollars
($400) or by imprisonment for a term of not less than 50 nor more
than 180 days, or by both fine and imprisonment.

SEC. 15. Article 8 (commencing with Section 7391) of Chapter 10
of Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code is repealed.

SEC. 16. Article 8 (commencing with Section 7390) is added to
Chapter 10 of Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code, to
read:

Article 8. Schools of Cosmetology

7390. (a) A school approved by the board is one that is licensed
by the Council for Private Postsecondary and Vocational Education,
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or is a public school in this state, and provides a course of instruction
approved by the board.

(b) The board shall determine by regulation the required subjects
of instruction to be completed in all approved courses, including the
minimum hours of technical instruction and minimum number of
practical operations for each subject.

7391. A school of cosmetology approved by the board shall also do
all of the following:

(a) Possess the equipment and floor space necessary for
comprehensive instruction of 25 cosmetology students or the
number of students enrolled in the course, whichever is greater.

(b) Have entered on the roll of a proposed school of cosmetology
at least 25 bona fide, full-time students for the cosmetology course.
For purposes of this section, a bona fide, full-time student is a person
who has been entered on the roll of a proposed school of cosmetology
and has committed to attend a full course in cosmetology.

(c) Maintain a course of practical training and technical
instruction for the full cosmetology course as specified in this chapter
and in board regulations.

(d) Every school of cosmetology shall maintain a school term of
not less than 1,600 hours and shall maintain a course of practical
training and technical instruction, equal to the requirements for
examination for a certificate of registration and license as a
cosmetologist.

It shall so arrange the courses devoted to each branch or practice
of cosmetology as the board may from time to time adopt as the
course to be followed by the schools.

7392. A skin care course established by a school shall consist of not
less than 600 hours of practical training and technical instruction in
accordance with a curriculum established by board regulation.

7393. A nail care course established by a school shall consist of not
less than 350 hours of practical training and technical instruction in
accordance with a curriculum established by board regulation.

7394. An electrolysis course established by a school shall consist
of not less than 500 hours of practical training and technical
instruction in accordance with a curriculum established by board
regulation. i

7395. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude the board from
promulgating regulations which give a student credit for training
obtained in one course that is identical to training required in
another course.

7396. The receipt by student of monetary commissions or
payments from a school for cosmetology services rendered to a
patron in a school in which cosmetology or any of its branches is
performed for the public for compensation constitutes engaging in
the practice of cosmetology for compensation without holding a valid
license, and is unlawful pursuant to Section 7326.

7397. No school in which cosmetology or any of its branches is
performed for the public for compensation shall advertise services to
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the public through any medium, including radio, unless such services
are expressly designated as student work.

7398. A student who transfers from one course of study to
another, or a holder of a special license who enrolls in a general
course of study, shall receive credit for total clock hours completed
equal to that calculated by a method determined by the rules and
regulations of the board, and shall receive credit and a balance for
the minimum hours of technical instruction and the minimum
practical operations required in each applicable subject equal to that
calculated by a method determined by the rules and regulations of
the board.

7399. In every school in which cosmetology or any of its branches
is performed for the public for compensation, a student for a license
as a cosmetologist, after 200 hours of instruction, may engage, in the
school and as a student, in work connected with any branch or any
combination of the branches of cosmetology taught in the school
upon a patron who is paying for service or materials and a student
for a license as a manicurist, after 50 hours of instruction, may
engage, in the school and as a student, in work connected with
manicuring taught in the school upon a patron who is paying for
service or materials and a student for a license as a cosmetician after
75 hours of instructions may engage, in the school and as a student,
in work connected with being a cosmetician taught in the school
upon a patron who is paying for service or materials, and a student
for a license as an electrologist, after 150 hours of instruction, may
engage, in the school and as a student, in work connected with being
an electrologist taught in the school upon a patron who is paying for
service or materials.

No student may engage in any work upon a patron who is paying
for service or materials until the student has had the required
number of hours of instruction.

7400. This article shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1996,
and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
is enacted before January 1, 1996, deletes or extends that date.

SEC. 17. Section 7403 is added to the Business and Professions
Code, to read:

7403. The board shall develop a health and safety course on
hazardous substances which shall be taught in schools offering
vocational training in cosmetology or any of its branches. Course
development shall include the pilot testing of the course and training
classes to prepare instructors to effectively use the course.

SEC. 18. Section 7412 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

7412. Every registered or licensed cosmetologist, junior operator,
electrologist, junior electrologist, manicurist, cosmetology instructor,
and cosmetician, shall, within 30 days after a change of address, as
designated on the books of the board, notify the executive officer of
the new address, and, upon receipt of the notification, the executive
officer shall make the necessary changes in the register.
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SEC. 19. Section 7420 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

7420. Any person who fails to qualify for admission to an
examination because the person’s practice or study and training
outside this state does not fulfill the requirements of this chapter shall
receive credit for such practice outside this state or for the number
of hours of study and training completed outside this state which is
substantially equivalent to the study and training required in this
state and shall be qualified for examination upon completion of such
supplementary study and training in a school in this state which has
a curriculum that meets the requirements adopted by the board and
as the board finds necessary to substantially equal the study and
training of a qualified person who has studied and trained in a
licensed school in this state only.

For the purposes of this chapter, each three months of practice
outside this state shall be deemed the equivalent of 100 hours of study
and training required in order to qualify for a license.

SEC. 20. Section 7431 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

7431. The grounds for disciplinary action are as follows:

(a) Failure of a person, firm or corporation operating a
cosmetology establishment or engaged in the practice of
cosmetology or any of its branches to comply with the requirements
of this chapter.

(b) Failure to comply with the rules governing sanitary
conditions, adopted by the board and approved by the State
Department of Health, for the regulation of cosmetology
establishments or the practice of cosmetology.

(c) Failure to comply with the rules adopted by the board for the
regulation of cosmetology establishments, or the practice of
cosmetology.

(d) Obtaining practice in cosmetology, or any branch thereof, or
money, or any other thing of value, by fraudulent misrepresentation.

(e) Gross negligence.

(f) Repeated similar negligent acts.

(g) Incompetence.

(h) Continued practice by a person knowingly having an
infectious or contagious disease.

(i) Habitual drunkenness, or addiction to the use of any controlled
substance.

(i) Advertisement by means of knowingly false or deceptive
statements.

(k) Permitting a certificate of registration or license to be used
where the holder is not personally, actively and continuously
engaged in business.

(1) Failure to display the license or sanitary rules and regulations
in a conspicuous place.

(m) Conviction of any crime substantially related to the
qualifications, functions, or duties of the registration or license
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holder, in which case the record of conviction or a certified copy,
shall be conclusive evidence thereof.

(n) Engaging, outside of a licensed cosmetology establishment
and for compensation in any form whatever, in any practice for
which a license is required under this chapter, except that when the
service is necessary because of the illness or other physical incapacity
of the person with respect to whom it is performed, it may be
performed by a licensee obtained for the purpose from a licensed
cosmetology establishment.

(0) Any action or conduct which would have warranted the denial
of a certificate or license.

SEC. 20.5. Section 7431.5 is added to the Business and Professions
Code, to read:

7431.5. On and after January 1, 1991, jurisdiction for disciplinary
action commenced by the board against licensed schools of
cosmetology or electrology, and pending final disposition in
accordance with the terms of Chapter 5 (commencing with Section
11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code, shall
be transferred to the Council for Private Postsecondary and
Vocational Education. The council may proceed to refile, recharge,
or continue to prosecute in any appropriate forum, causes for license
discipline previously commenced by the board which constitute
grounds for license discipline by the council. All investigative files
pertaining to open and pending investigations of schools previously
licensed by the board shall be transferred to the council.

SEC. 21. Section 7432 of the Business and Professions Code is
repealed.

SEC. 22. Section 7436 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

7436. (a) Licenses issued under this chapter, unless specifically
excepted, shall be issued for a two-year period and shall expire at
midnight on the last day of the month of the date of issuance
established by the board.

(b) The board may establish procedures for administration of a
two-year continuous renewal program. The program shall include,
but not be limited to, the establishment of a pro rata formula for the
payment of fees by licentiates affected by the implementation of that
program. The renewal program shall provide that a relatively equal
number of licenses expire annually and in a manner as to best
distribute the renewal and reregistration work of the board in a
uniform manner.

(c) As a condition for the renewal of the license of a cosmetology
instructor the board shall require instructors to periodically
demonstrate their current competency through continuing
education in the “teaching of vocational education,” pursuant to
subdivision (c) of Section 7332.5. The board shall adopt rules and
regulations establishing standards for the approval of continuing
education courses and for the effective administration and
enforcement of this subdivision.
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(d) Cosmetology instructors with an inactive license status shall
not be required to meet the continuing education requirements of
subdivision (c), but shall complete at least 30 hours of continuing
education in the teaching of vocational education as a condition of
reinstatement to active status.

(e) If a cosmetology instructor with an active license status does
not provide proof of compliance with subdivision (c) of Section
7332.5 within 45 days of a request by the board, the cosmetology
instructor’s license shall be automatically converted to an inactive
status until proof of compliance with subdivision (c) of Section 7332.5
is provided to the board.

SEC. 23. Section 7437 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

7437. Except as otherwise provided in this article, a license of a
cosmetologist, cosmetology instructor, electrologist, manicurist,
cosmetician, or cosmetology establishment which has expired for
failure of the licensee to renew within the time fixed by Section 7436
may be renewed within five years of the date of expiration upon
application therefor and upon payment of the renewal fee in effect
on the last regular renewal date. If the license is renewed more than
30 days after its expiration, the licensee, as a condition precedent to
renewal, shall also pay the delinquency fee prescribed by this
chapter. Renewal under this section shall be effective on the date on
which the application is filed, on the date on which the renewal fee
is paid, or on the date on which the delinquency fee, if any, is paid,
whichever last occurs. If so renewed, the license shall continue in
effect through the date provided in Section 7436 which next occurs
after the effective date of the renewal, when it shall expire if it is not
again renewed.

SEC. 24. Section 7437.3 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

7437.3. A license as a cosmetologist, cosmetology instructor,
electrologist, cosmetician, or manicurist which has not been renewed
within five years following its expiration may not be renewed,
restored, reinstated, or reissued thereafter. The holder of the expired
license may obtain a new license only by submitting an application,
paying all required fees, and qualifying for and passing the
examination that would be required if the holder were applying for
the license for the first time.

SEC. 25. Section 7438 of the Business and Professions Code is
repealed.

SEC. 26. Section 7442 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

7442. The amount of the fees required by this chapter relating to
licenses for cosmetologists, electrologists, manicurists, cosmeticians,
junior operators, junior electrologists, cosmetology instructors, shall
be set by the board at not more than the amounts shown in the
following schedule:

(a) Cosmetologist application, examination and initial license fee
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shall be not more than thirty-two dollars ($32).

(b) Electrologist application, examination and initial license fee
shall be not more than thirty-two dollars ($32).

(c) Manicurist application, examination and initial license fee
shall be not more than twenty-one dollars ($21).

(d) Junior operator application and license fee shall be not more
than eighteen dollars ($18).

(e) Junior electrologist application and license fee shall be not
more than eighteen dollars ($18).

(f) Cosmetology instructor application, examination and initial
license fee shall be not more than thirty-eight dollars ($38).

(g) Cosmetologist, cosmetology instructor, electrologist,
manicurist and cosmetician license renewal fees shall be not more
than twenty dollars ($20).

{h) Cosmetician application, examination and initial license fee
shall be not more than thirty-two dollars ($32).

(i) The license renewal delinquency fee shall be 50 percent of the
renewal fee in effect on the date of renewal.

SEC. 27. Section 7445 of the Business and Professions Code is
repealed.

SEC. 28. Section 7446 of the Business and Professions Code is
repealed.

SEC. 29. Section 7442 of the Business and Professions Code, as
amended by Section 26 of this bill, shall not become effective if
Senate Bill 1992 of the 1989-90 Regular Session of the Legislature is
enacted and becomes effective on or before January 1, 1991, and
amends Section 7442 of the Business and Professions Code.

CHAPTER 1675

An act to amend Sections 7442 and 7444 of the Business and
Professions Code, relating to cosmetology, and making an
appropriation therefor.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990 Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 7442 of the Business and Professions Code
is amended to read:

7442. The amount of the fees required by this chapter relating to
licenses for cosmetologists, electrologists, manicurists, cosmeticians,
junior operators, junior electrologists, cosmetology instructors,
electrology instructors, and provisional instructors, shall be set by the
board at not more than the amounts shown in the following schedule:

(a) Cosmetologist application, examination and initial license fee
shall be not more than forty dollars ($40).
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(b) Electrologist application, examination and initial license fee
shall be not more than forty dollars ($40).

(c) Manicurist application, examination and initial license fee
shall be not more than twenty-six dollars ($26).

(d) Junior operator application and license fee shall be not more
than twenty-two dollars ($22).

(e) Junior electrologist application and initial license fee shall be
not more than twenty-two dollars ($22).

() Cosmetology instructor application, examination and initial
license fee shall be not more than forty-eight dollars ($48).

(g) Electrology instructor application, examination and initial
license fee shall be not more than forty-four dollars ($44).

(h) Provisional instructor application and license fee shall be not
more than forty-eight dollars ($48).

(i) Cosmetologist, electrologist, manicurist, cosmetician,
cosmetology instructor and electrology instructor license renewal
fees shall be not more than forty dollars ($40).

(i) Cosmetician application, examination and initial license fee
shall be not more than forty dollars ($40).

(k) The license renewal delinquency fee shall be 50 percent of the
renewal fee in effect on the date of renewal.

SEC. 2. Section 7444 of the Business and Professions Code is
amended to read:

7444. The amount of the fees payable under this chapter relating
to licenses to operate a cosmetology establishment is as follows:

(a) The registration fee is an amount equal to the renewal fee in
effect on the date on which the license is issued, except that, if the
license will expire less than one year after its issuance, then the fee
is an amount equal to 50 percent of the renewal fee in effect on the
date on which the license is issued. The board may, by appropriate
regulation, provide for the waiver or refund of the initial license fee
where the license is issued less than 45 days before the date on which
it will expire.

(b) The renewal fee shall be set by the board at not more than
forty dollars ($40).

(c) The delinquency fee is 50 percent of the renewal fee in effect
on the date of renewal.

The board shall report to the appropriate policy and fiscal
committees of each house of the Legislature whenever the board
increases any fee pursuant to this section and shall specify the
rationale and justification for that increase.
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CHAPTER 1676

An act to amend Sections 22754.1, 22790, 22825, and 77208 of, and
to add Section 22816.32 to, the Government Code, relating to the
Public Employees’ Medical and Hospital Care Act.

[Approved by Governor September 30, 1990. Filed with
Secretary of State September 30, 1990.]

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 22754.1 of the Government Code is
amended to read:

22754.1. As used in this part, unless the context otherwise
requires, the term “employee” includes any judge of a municipal
court or justice court, and the terms “employer” and “contracting
agency” with respect to any such judge enrolled in a health benefits
plan include the county in which the municipal court or justice court
is located, provided that adoption of a resolution under Section 22850
shall not be required. The state is not obligated to make any
contribution to health benefit plans for active and retired municipal
or justice court judges, except for municipal or justice court judges
serving on senior judge status and then only during the time as a
municipal or justice court judge is actively serving as a senior judge.
A municipal or justice court judge may elect to come under the
provisions of this part only within 90 days of assuming office for the
first time as such a judge. If a municipal or justice court judge elects
to come under the provisions of this part, the county employing the
judge shall contribute to the Public Employees’ Contingency
Reserve Fund the sums as it would have otherwise contributed to a
health benefit plan provided for county employees, unless the
municipal or justice court judge elects to enroll under the county
health benefit plan. Those contributions shall be applied first to the
contribution required of it as an employer under Section 22831 and
any remainder shall be applied to the contribution required under
Sections 22825 and 22825.6. The municipal or justice court judge
whether enrolled as an employee or annuitant shall contribute the
cost of such enrollment plus the amount required of an employer
under Section 22831 less the amount, if any, contributed by his or her
county. A county shall not be required to contribute any portion of
the cost of a health benefits plan under this part for a judge after
retirement unless the health benefits plan provided for county
employees provides such coverage.

SEC. 2. Section 22790 of the Government Code is amended to
read:

22790. (a) The board may contract with carriers for health
benefits plans for employees and annuitants and major medical plans
or approve health benefit plans offered by employee organizations,
provided that the carriers have operated successfully in the prepaid
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hospital and medical care field prior to the contracting for or
approval thereof. The plans may include hospital benefits, surgical
benefits, in-hospital medical benefits, outpatient benefits, and
obstetrical benefits, and benefits offered by a bona fide church, sect,
denomination or organization whose principles include healing
entirely by prayer or spiritual means. The board shall contract with
a sufficient number of carriers and plans that provide chiropractic
services so that every employee and annuitant shall have a
reasonable opportu