# CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE

2023-24 REGULAR SESSION

# ASSEMBLY JOURNAL

**RECESS JOURNAL NO. 10** 

#### ORGANIZATIONAL RECESS

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, December 22, 2022

Pursuant to the provisions of Joint Rule 59, the following Assembly Journal for the 2023–24 Regular Session was printed while the Assembly was in Organizational Recess.

### **COMMUNICATIONS**

The following communications were presented by the Chief Clerk, and ordered printed in the Journal:

December 22, 2022

Sue Parker

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 319 Sacramento, California

Dear Ms. Parker: Please be advised that I have made the following committee appointments for the for the 2023–24 Regular Session:

Accountability and Administrative Review

Assemblymember Cottie Petrie-Norris, Chair Assemblymember Diane Dixon, Vice Chair

Aging and Long-Term Care

Assemblymember Jasmeet Bains, Chair Assemblymember Tri Ta, Vice Chair

Agriculture

Assemblymember Robert Rivas, Chair Assemblymember Devon Mathis, Vice Chair

**Appropriations** 

Assemblymember Chris Holden, Chair Assemblymember Megan Dahle, Vice Chair

Arts, Entertainment, Sports, and Tourism

Assemblymember Sharon Quirk-Silva, Chair Assemblymember Greg Wallis, Vice Chair Banking and Finance

Assemblymember Timothy Grayson, Chair Assemblymember Phillip Chen, Vice Chair

Budget

Assemblymember Phil Ting, Chair Assemblymember Vince Fong, Vice Chair

Budget Subcommittee No. 1 on Health and Human Services

Assemblymember Joaquin Arambula, Chair

Budget Subcommittee No. 2 on Education Finance

Assemblymember Kevin McCarty, Chair

Budget Subcommittee No. 3 on Climate Crisis, Resources, Energy, and Transportation

Assemblymember Steve Bennett, Chair

Budget Subcommittee No. 4 on State Administration

Assemblymember Wendy Carrillo, Chair

Budget Subcommittee No. 5 on Public Safety

Assemblymember Mia Bonta, Chair

Budget Subcommittee No. 6 on Budget Process, Oversight and Program Evaluation

Assemblymember Phil Ting, Chair

Business and Professions

Assemblymember Marc Berman, Chair Assemblymember Heath Flora, Vice Chair

Communications and Conveyance

Assemblymember Tasha Boerner Horvath, Chair Assemblymember Jim Patterson, Vice Chair

Education

Assemblymember Al Muratsuchi, Chair Assemblymember Megan Dahle, Vice Chair

Elections

Assemblymember Isaac Bryan, Chair Assemblymember Tom Lackey, Vice Chair

Emergency Management

Assemblymember Freddie Rodriguez, Chair Assemblymember Marie Waldron, Vice Chair

Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials

Assemblymember Alex Lee, Chair Assemblymember Josh Hoover, Vice Chair

Governmental Organization

Assemblymember Miguel Santiago, Chair Assemblymember Tom Lackey, Vice Chair

#### Health

Assemblymember Jim Wood, Chair Assemblymember Marie Waldron, Vice Chair

## Higher Education

Assemblymember Mike Fong, Chair Assemblymember Tri Ta, Vice Chair

# Housing and Community Development

Assemblymember Buffy Wicks, Chair Assemblymember Joe Patterson, Vice Chair

#### **Human Services**

Assemblymember Corey Jackson, Chair Assemblymember Kate Sanchez, Vice Chair

#### Insurance

Assemblymember Lisa Calderon, Chair Assemblymember Bill Essayli, Vice Chair

# Jobs, Economic Development, and the Economy

Assemblymember Carlos Villapudua, Chair Assemblymember Josh Hoover, Vice Chair

#### **Judiciary**

Assemblymember Brian Maienschein, Chair Assemblymember Bill Essayli, Vice Chair

## Labor and Employment

Assemblymember Ash Kalra, Chair Assemblymember Heath Flora, Vice Chair

## Local Government

Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry, Chair Assemblymember Diane Dixon, Vice Chair

## Military and Veterans Affairs

Assemblymember Esmeralda Soria, Chair Assemblymember Laurie Davies, Vice Chair

#### Natural Resources

Assemblymember Luz Rivas, Chair Assemblymember Heath Flora, Vice Chair

# Privacy and Consumer Protection

Assemblymember Jesse Gabriel, Chair Assemblymember Joe Patterson, Vice Chair

## Public Employment and Retirement

Assemblymember Tina McKinnor, Chair Assemblymember Tom Lackey, Vice Chair

## Public Safety

Assemblymember Reginald Jones-Sawyer, Chair Assemblymember Juan Alanis, Vice Chair

## Dec. 22, 2022

#### Revenue and Taxation

Assemblymember Jacqui Irwin, Chair Assemblymember Greg Wallis, Vice Chair

#### Rules

Assemblymember James Ramos, Chair

Assemblymember Marie Waldron, Vice Chair

Assemblymember Dawn Addis

Assemblymember Juan Carrillo

Assemblymember Bill Essayli

Assemblymember Heath Flora

Assemblymember Evan Low

Assemblymember Liz Ortega

Assemblymember Blanca Pacheco

Assemblymember Diane Papan

Assemblymember Gail Pellerin

Assemblymember Blanca Rubio

Assemblymember Avelino Valencia

Assemblymember Sabrina Cervantes, Democratic Alternate

Assemblymember Rick Chavez Zbur, Democratic Alternate

Assemblymember Diane Dixon, Republican Alternate

I have increased the size of the committee from 12 to 13 members.

# Transportation

Assemblymember Laura Friedman, Chair Assemblymember Vince Fong, Vice Chair

## Utilities and Energy

Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia, Chair Assemblymember Jim Patterson, Vice Chair

#### Water, Parks, and Wildlife

Assemblymember Rebecca Bauer-Kahan, Chair Assemblymember Devon Mathis, Vice Chair

#### Joint Legislative Audit Committee

Assemblymember David Alvarez, Chair

Joint Legislative Committee on Climate Change Policies

Assemblymember Damon Connolly, Vice Chair

#### Legislative Ethics

Assemblymember Akilah Weber, Co-Chair Assemblymember Phillip Chen, Co-Chair

Sincerely,

ANTHONY RENDON Speaker of the Assembly

December 22, 2022

Sue Parker

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 319 Sacramento, California

Dear Ms. Parker: Please be advised that I have appointed the following Democratic Leadership for the 2023–24 Regular Session:

Speaker pro Tempore

Assemblymember Christopher M. Ward

Assistant Speaker pro Tempore

Assemblymember Stephanie Nguyen

Majority Leader

Assemblymember Eloise Gómez Reyes

Assistant Majority Leader

Assemblymember Gregg Hart

Assistant Majority Leader on Policy and Research

Assemblymember Matt Haney

Majority Whip

Assemblymember Lori Wilson

Assistant Majority Whip

Assemblymember Josh Lowenthal

Assistant Majority Whip

Assemblymember Pilar Schiavo

Democratic Caucus Chair

Assemblymember Mike Gipson

Sincerely,

ANTHONY RENDON Speaker of the Assembly

#### MESSAGES FROM THE GOVERNOR

The following message from the Governor was received and ordered printed in the Journal:

December 19, 2022

Dec. 22, 2022

The Honorable Anthony Rendon Speaker of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 219 Sacramento, California

Dear Speaker Rendon: I hereby designate Christy Bouma, Mary Hernandez, Jessica Devencenzi, Samuel Miller, and Emily Patterson as persons on my staff who may sign for enrolled bills pursuant to Section 9509 of the Government Code. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

**GAVIN NEWSOM** 

ANTHONY RENDON, Speaker

AMY LEACH, Minute Clerk