# CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE

## 2003-04 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

# ASSEMBLY JOURNAL

## **RECESS JOURNAL NO. 1**

### **ORGANIZATIONAL RECESS**

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Tuesday, December 10, 2002

Pursuant to the provisions of Joint Rule 59, the following Assembly Journal for the First Extraordinary Session was printed while the Assembly was in Organizational Recess.

### COMMUNICATIONS

The following communications were presented by the Speaker and ordered printed in the Journal:

December 10, 2002

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Rules Committee for the 2003–04 First Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Joe Nation, Chair

Assemblymember Dave Cogdill, Vice Chair

Assemblymember John Benoit

Assemblymember Ron Calderon

Assemblymember Judy Chu

Assemblymember Mervyn Dymally

Assemblymember Tim Leslie

Assemblymember Cindy Montanez

Assemblymember Loni Hancock, Democratic Alternate

Assemblymember Lynn Daucher, Republican Alternate

Sincerely,

HERB J. WESSON, JR. Speaker of the California Assembly

Dec. 10, 2002

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly

State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Budget Committee for the 2003-04 First Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Jenny Oropeza, Chair

Assemblymember John Campbell, Vice Chair

Assemblymember Patricia Bates

Assemblymember John Benoit

Assemblymember Rudy Bermudez

Assemblymember Joe Canciamilla

Assemblymember Wilma Chan

Assemblymember Judy Chu

Assemblymember Dave Cogdill

Assemblymember Lynn Daucher

Assemblymember Manny Diaz

Assemblymember John Dutra

Assemblymember Mervyn Dymally

Assemblymember Dario Frommer

Assemblymember Jackie Goldberg

Assemblymember Tom Harman

Assemblymember Ray Haynes

Assemblymember Hannah-Beth Jackson

Assemblymember Rick Keene

Assemblymember Lloyd Levine

Assemblymember Carol Liu

Assemblymember Bill Maze

Assemblymember Kevin McCarthy

Assemblymember Cindy Montanez

Assemblymember George Nakano

Assemblymember Robert Pacheco

Assemblymember Fran Pavley

Assemblymember Sarah Reves

Assemblymember Sharon Runner

Assemblymember Joe Simitian

Assemblymember Lois Wolk

Sincerely,

HERB J. WESSON, JR. Speaker of the California Assembly

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Budget Subcommittee #1—Health and Human Services for the 2003–04 First Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Judy Chu, Chair Assemblymember Mervyn Dymally Assemblymember Dario Frommer Assemblymember Ray Haynes Assemblymember Robert Pacheco Sincerely.

> HERB J. WESSON, JR. Speaker of the California Assembly

> > December 10, 2002

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Budget Subcommittee #2—Education Finance for the 2003–04 First Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Joe Simitian, Chair Assemblymember Wilma Chan Assemblymember Lynn Daucher Assemblymember Jackie Goldberg Assemblymember Carol Liu Assemblymember Sharon Runner Sincerely,

> HERB J. WESSON, JR. Speaker of the California Assembly

Dec. 10, 2002

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Budget Subcommittee #3—Resources for the 2003–04 First Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Fran Pavley, Chair Assemblymember Joe Canciamilla Assemblymember Tom Harman Assemblymember Hannah-Beth Jackson Assemblymember Bill Maze Assemblymember Kevin McCarthy Assemblymember Cindy Montanez Assemblymember Lois Wolk Sincerely,

> HERB J. WESSON, JR. Speaker of the California Assembly

> > December 10, 2002

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Budget Subcommittee #4—State Administration for the 2003–04 First Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Rudy Bermudez, Chair Assemblymember Dave Cogdill Assemblymember Rick Keene Assemblymember George Nakano Assemblymember Sarah Reyes

Sincerely,

HERB J. WESSON, JR. Speaker of the California Assembly

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Budget Subcommittee #5—Information Technology/Transportation for the 2003–04 First Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Manny Diaz, Chair Assemblymember Patricia Bates Assemblymember John Benoit Assemblymember John Dutra Assemblymember Lloyd Levine Sincerely,

HERB J. WESSON, JR. Speaker of the California Assembly

HERB J. WESSON, JR., Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk