CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE

2009–10 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY JOURNAL

RECESS JOURNAL NO. 1

UPON CALL OF THE SPEAKER

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Tuesday, December 9, 2008

Pursuant to the provisions of Joint Rule 59, the following Assembly Journal for the 2009–10 First Extraordinary Session was printed while the Assembly was upon Call of the Speaker.

COMMUNICATIONS

The following communication was presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

December 9, 2008

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have created the Assembly Budget Committee for the 2009–10 First Extraordinary Session and I have appointed the following membership:

Budget

Assemblymember Noreen Evans, Chair Assemblymember Roger Niello, Vice Chair Assemblymember Juan Arambula Assemblymember Sam Blakeslee Assemblymember Bob Blumenfield Assemblymember Julia Brownley Assemblymember Anna Caballero Assemblymember Wesley Chesbro Assemblymember Bill Emmerson Assemblymember Bill Emmerson Assemblymember Jean Fuller Assemblymember Jean Fuller Assemblymember Martin Garrick Assemblymember Danny Gilmore Assemblymember Jerry Hill Assemblymember Bill Monning Assemblymember Pedro Nava Assemblymember Ira Ruskin Assemblymember Jim Silva Assemblymember Nancy Skinner Assemblymember Sandré Swanson Sincerely,

> KAREN BASS Speaker of the Assembly

The following communication was presented by the Chief Clerk, and ordered printed in the Journal:

December 9, 2008

E. Dotson Wilson, Chief Clerk California State Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Mr. Wilson: This is to notify you that I've made the following appointments to the Republican Leadership Team for the 2009/2010 First Extraordinary Session:

Assemblyman Sam Blakeslee Assemblyman Roger Niello Assemblyman Bill Emmerson Assemblyman Ted Gaines Assemblyman Van Tran Assemblyman Martin Garrick Assemblyman Anthony Adams Assemblyman Chuck DeVore Assemblyman Jean Fuller Assemblyman Jean Fuller Assemblyman Jeff Miller Assemblyman Jim Nielsen Republican Floor Manager Assistant Republican Leader Assistant Republican Leader Assistant Republican Leader Assistant Republican Leader Chief Republican Whip Chief Republican Whip Chief Republican Whip Republican Whip Republican Whip Republican Whip

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Ivan Altamura at 319-2029.

It is an honor working with you in the California State Assembly.

Sincerely,

MICHAEL N. VILLINES Assembly Republican Leader

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY BILLS

The following bill was introduced and read the first time: ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 14—De León (Coauthors: Beall, Carter, Eng, Evans, Hill, and Lieu). An act relating to taxation.

KAREN BASS, Speaker

SUE PARKER, Assistant Chief Clerk