CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE

2007–08 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY JOURNAL

RECESS JOURNAL NO. 3

INTERIM STUDY RECESS

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Tuesday, November 6, 2007

Pursuant to the provisions of Joint Rule 59, the following Assembly Journal for the 2007–08 First Extraordinary Session was printed while the Assembly was in Interim Study Recess.

COMMUNICATIONS

The following communications were presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

November 6, 2007

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: Please keep the Assembly Desk open Thursday, November 8 and Friday, November 9, 2007 for the purpose of processing any paperwork relative to the First Extraordinary Session. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

FABIAN NUÑEZ Speaker of the Assembly

Receipt of Letter

I acknowledge receipt this 6th day of November at 11 a.m., of letter regarding processing of paper work in the 2007–08 First Extraordinary Session from Nancy Miller, Special Assistant to the Speaker.

SUE PARKER Minute Clerk

November 6, 2007

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Rules Committee for the 2007–08 First Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Hector De La Torre, Chair Assemblymember Sam Blakeslee, Vice Chair Assemblymember Anthony Adams Assemblymember Greg Aghazarian Assemblymember John Benoit Assemblymember Wilmer Amina Carter Assemblymember Mike Davis Assemblymember Mark DeSaulnier Assemblymember Felipe Fuentes Assemblymember Felipe Fuentes Assemblymember Tony Mendoza Assemblymember Loni Hancock, Democratic Alternate Assemblymember Todd Spitzer, Republican Alternate

Sincerely,

FABIAN NUÑEZ Speaker of the Assembly

November 6, 2007

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Health Committee for the 2007–08 First Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Mervyn Dymally, Chair Assemblymember Alan Nakanishi, Vice Chair Assemblymember Karen Bass Assemblymember Patty Berg Assemblymember Hector De La Torre Assemblymember Kevin de León Assemblymember Mark DeSaulnier Assemblymember Bill Emmerson Assemblymember Mike Eng Assemblymember Ted Gaines Assemblymember Mary Hayashi Assemblymember Ed Hernandez Assemblymember Bob Huff Assemblymember Dave Jones Assemblymember Sally Lieber Assemblymember Fiona Ma Assemblymember Mary Salas Assemblymember Audra Strickland

Sincerely,

FABIAN NUÑEZ Speaker of the Assembly

November 6, 2007

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed Assemblymembers Kevin de León and Mark Leno to replace Assemblymembers Paul Krekorian and Mike Davis for the Thursday, November 8 hearing of the Assembly Rules Committee for the 2007–08 First Extraordinary Session.

Sincerely,

FABIAN NUÑEZ Speaker of the Assembly

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY BILLS

The following bill was introduced:

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 8—Villines (Coauthors: Benoit, Blakeslee, Emmerson, Gaines, Garrick, Keene, Nakanishi, Niello, Smyth, and Strickland). Relative to Health care.

FABIAN NUÑEZ, Speaker

SUE PARKER, Minute Clerk