CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2015–16 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Thursday, September 10, 2015

EIGHTEENTH SESSION DAY

EIGHTY-FOURTH CALENDAR DAY

AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of rollcall votes. All amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. All Senate amendments to Assembly measures considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Secretary of the Senate and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered in the Assembly is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, September 10, 2015

The Assembly met at 11:23 a.m.

Hon. Kevin Mullin, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Reading Clerk Kathleen M. Lewis reading.

ROLLCALL

The roll was called, and the following answered to their names—80:

Achadjian Alejo Allen Baker Bigelow Bloom Bonilla Bonta Brough Brown Burke Calderon Campos Chang	Dababneh Dahle Daly Dodd Eggman Frazier Gaines Gallagher Garcia, C. Garcia, E. Gatto Gipson Gomez Gonzalez	Holden Irwin Jones Jones-Sawyer Kim Lackey Levine Linder Lopez Low Maienschein Mathis Mayes McCarty	Olsen Patterson Perea Quirk Rendon Ridley-Thomas Rodriguez Salas Santiago Steinorth Stone Thurmond Ting Wagner
Brown	Garcia, E.	Low	Steinorth
Burke	Gatto	Maienschein	Stone
Calderon	Gipson	Mathis	
Campos	Gomez	Mayes	Ting
Chang	Gonzalez	McCarty	Wagner
Chau	Gordon	Medina	Waldron
Chávez	Gray	Melendez	Weber
Chiu	Grove	Mullin	Wilk
Chu	Hadley	Nazarian	Williams
Cooley	Harper	Obernolte	Wood
Cooper	Hernández	O'Donnell	Mme. Speaker

Quorum present.

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

PRAYER

Upon invitation of Speaker pro Tempore Mullin, the following prayer was offered by Assembly Member Richard S. Gordon, of the 24th Assembly District:

Lord, In this work that we do in this place, we are constantly surrounded by people, and yet, we are very much alone. Each decision, each vote is ours—alone. We make ourselves vulnerable to public praise or public criticism. Our motives may be misunderstood. Our principles challenged. And even our personhood maligned. Help us to accept that even in our loneliness, You do not leave us alone. You are with us. Because we are vulnerable, help us also to be kind and gentle and understanding of each other. May each of us be a mirror that reflects our humanity back to all with whom we share this time and this place.—AMEN.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

Upon request of Speaker pro Tempore Mullin, Assembly Member Cooley then led the Assembly in the pledge of allegiance to the Flag.

MOTION TO DISPENSE WITH READING OF THE JOURNAL

Further reading of the Journal of the previous legislative day was dispensed with on motion of Assembly Member Holden, seconded by Assembly Member Waldron.

CONSIDERATION OF DAILY FILE UNFINISHED BUSINESS CONSIDERATION OF SENATE AMENDMENTS

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 3 (Frazier)—An act relating to transportation.

The question being: Shall the Assembly concur in the Senate amendments to the above bill?

The roll was opened, and the Assembly refused to concur in Senate amendments by the following vote:

ATES-3					
McCarty	Mullin	Ridley-Thomas			
NOES—50					
Alejo Bloom Bonilla Bonta Brown Burke Calderon Campos Chau Chau Chu Chu Cooley	Dababneh Daly Dodd Eggman Frazier Garcia, C. Garcia, E. Gatto Gipson Gomez Gonzalez Gordon	Hernández Holden Irwin Jones-Sawyer Levine Lopez Low Medina Nazarian Obernolte O'Donnell Perea	Rendon Rodriguez Salas Santiago Stone Thurmond Ting Weber Williams Wood Mme. Speaker		
Cooper	Gray	Quirk			

Vote Changes

By unanimous consent, the following vote change was permitted on concurrence in Senate amendments Assembly Bill No. 3: Assembly Member Patterson from "No" to "Not Voting".

VOTE ADDS

The following Assembly Members were granted unanimous consent to record their votes on the following item:

Assembly Bill No. 3, Concurrence: McCarty and Ridley-Thomas— Aye; Gomez, Gray, Roger Hernández, and Williams—No.

RECESS

By unanimous consent, at 11:26 a.m., Speaker pro Tempore Mullin declared the Assembly recessed to convene the Second Extraordinary Session.

MESSAGES FROM THE SENATE

Senate Chamber, September 10, 2015

Mme. Speaker: I am directed to inform your honorable body that the Senate on this day refused to concur in Assembly amendments to: Senate Bill No. 4

> DANIEL ALVAREZ, Secretary of the Senate By Bernadette McNulty, Assistant Secretary

ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon call of the Speaker.

TONI G. ATKINS, Speaker

AMY LEACH, Minute Clerk

0