CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2015–16 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Monday, August 31, 2015 THIRTEENTH SESSION DAY SEVENTY-FOURTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of rollcall votes. All amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. All Senate amendments to Assembly measures considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Secretary of the Senate and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered in the Assembly is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Monday, August 31, 2015

The Assembly met at 12:11 p.m.

Hon. Kevin Mullin, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk. Reading Clerk Kathleen M. Lewis reading.

ROLLCALL

The roll was called, and the following answered to their names—80:

Achadjian	Dababneh	Holden	Olsen
Alejo	Dahle	Irwin	Patterson
Allen	Daly	Jones	Perea
Baker	Dodd	Jones-Sawyer	Quirk
Bigelow	Eggman	Kim	Rendon
Bloom	Frazier	Lackey	Ridley-Thomas
Bonilla	Gaines	Levine	Rodriguez
Bonta	Gallagher	Linder	Salas
Brough	Garcia, C.	Lopez	Santiago
Brown	Garcia, E.	Low	Steinorth
Burke	Gatto	Maienschein	Stone
Calderon	Gipson	Mathis	Thurmond
Campos	Gomez	Mayes	Ting
Chang	Gonzalez	McCarty	Wagner
Chau	Gordon	Medina	Waldron
Chávez	Gray	Melendez	Weber
Chiu	Grove	Mullin	Wilk
Chu	Hadley	Nazarian	Williams
Cooley	Harper	Obernolte	Wood
Cooper	Hernández	O'Donnell	Mme. Speaker

Quorum present.

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

PRAYER

Upon invitation of Speaker pro Tempore Mullin, the following prayer was offered by Assembly Member Cheryl Brown, of the 47th Assembly District:

Heavenly Father, You are the author of harmony, of reason, and of progress. Because of our limitations and our points of view, our progress is not always harmonious nor is it always reasonable. Help us now in this chamber as we struggle through the difficulties which divide us. Help each one of us to use our own particular God-given talents to bring about a meeting of minds for what is best for our people and for the State.—AMEN.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

Upon request of Speaker pro Tempore Mullin, Assembly Member Wood then led the Assembly in the pledge of allegiance to the Flag.

MOTION TO DISPENSE WITH READING OF THE JOURNAL

Further reading of the Journal of the previous legislative day was dispensed with on motion of Assembly Member Holden, seconded by Assembly Member Waldron.

ENGROSSMENT AND ENROLLMENT REPORTS

Assembly Chamber, August 31, 2015

Mme. Speaker: Pursuant to your instructions, the Chief Clerk has examined:

Assembly Bill No. 3 Assembly Bill No. 4

And reports the same correctly engrossed.

E. DOTSON WILSON, Chief Clerk

Above bills ordered to third reading file.

CONSIDERATION OF DAILY FILE THIRD READING OF ASSEMBLY BILLS

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 3 (Frazier)—An act relating to transportation.

Bill read third time, and passed by the following vote:

AYES-50

Alejo	Dababneh	Holden	Rendon
Bloom	Daly	Irwin	Rodriguez
Bonilla	Dodd	Jones-Sawyer	Salas
Bonta	Eggman	Levine	Santiago
Brown	Frazier	Lopez	Stone
Burke	Garcia, C.	Low	Thurmond
Calderon	Garcia, E.	McCarty	Ting
Campos	Gipson	Medina	Weber
Chau	Gomez	Mullin	Williams
Chiu	Gonzalez	Nazarian	Wood
Chu	Gordon	O'Donnell	Mme. Speaker
Cooley	Gray	Perea	
Cooper	Hernández	Quirk	

NOES-29

Achadjian	Gaines	Lackey	Patterson
Allen	Gallagher	Linder	Steinorth
Baker	Gatto	Maienschein	Wagner
Bigelow	Grove	Mathis	Waldron
Brough	Hadley	Mayes	Wilk
Chang	Harper	Melendez	
Chávez	Jones	Obernolte	
Dahle	Kim	Olsen	

Bill ordered transmitted to the Senate.

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 4 (**Frazier**)—An act relating to transportation. Bill read third time, and passed by the following vote:

AYES-50

Alejo	Dababneh	Holden	Rendon
Bloom	Daly	Irwin	Rodriguez
Bonilla	Dodd	Jones-Sawyer	Salas
Bonta	Eggman	Levine	Santiago
Brown	Frazier	Lopez	Stone
Burke	Garcia, C.	Low	Thurmond
Calderon	Garcia, E.	McCarty	Ting
Campos	Gipson	Medina	Weber
Chau	Gomez	Mullin	Williams
Chiu	Gonzalez	Nazarian	Wood
Chu	Gordon	O'Donnell	Mme. Speaker
Cooley	Gray	Perea	•
Cooper	Hernández	Quirk	

NOES-29

Achadjian	Gaines	Lackey	Patterson
Allen	Gallagher	Linder	Steinorth
Baker	Gatto	Maienschein	Wagner
Bigelow	Grove	Mathis	Waldron
Brough	Hadley	Mayes	Wilk
Chang	Harper	Melendez	
Chávez	Jones	Obernolte	
Dahle	Kim	Olsen	

Bill ordered transmitted to the Senate.

VOTE ADDS

The following Assembly Members were granted unanimous consent to record their votes on the following items (shown in sequential order):

Assembly Bill No. 3: Calderon, Gomez, Gonzalez, Gray, Irwin, Jones-Sawyer, Rendon, Salas, and Williams—Aye; Achadjian, Gatto, and Melendez—No.

Assembly Bill No. 4: Calderon, Gomez, Gonzalez, Gray, Irwin, McCarty, Rendon, Salas, and Williams—Aye; Achadjian, Gatto, and Melendez—No.

RECESS

By unanimous consent, at 12:14 p.m., Speaker pro Tempore Mullin declared the Assembly recessed to convene the Second Extraordinary Session.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST READING OF ASSEMBLY BILLS

The following bills were introduced and read the first time:

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 13—Grove. An act to amend Section 39719 of the Health and Safety Code, relating to greenhouse gases, and making an appropriation therefor.

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 14—Waldron. An act relating to transportation, and making an appropriation therefor.

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 15—Patterson. An act to amend Item 2660-001-0042 of Section 2.00 of the Budget Act of 2015 (Chapter 10 of the Statutes of 2015), relating to transportation, and making an appropriation therefor.

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 16—Patterson. An act to add Section 155.7 to the Streets and Highways Code, relating to state highways.

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 17—Achadjian (Coauthor: Linder). An act to amend Section 39719 of the Health and Safety Code, relating to greenhouse gases, and making an appropriation therefor.

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 18—Linder (Coauthors: Achadjian and Obernolte). An act to add Section 9400.5 to the Vehicle Code, relating to transportation.

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 19—Linder. An act to amend Sections 13975 and 14500 of, and to repeal Section 14534.1 of, the Government Code, relating to transportation.

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 20—Beth Gaines. An act relating to state government, and making an appropriation therefor.

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 21—Obernolte (Coauthors: Travis Allen, Bigelow, Chávez, Grove, Lackey, Linder, Mayes, Patterson, and Steinorth). An act to add Section 21168.15 to the Public Resources Code, relating to environmental quality.

ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon call of the Speaker.

TONI G. ATKINS, Speaker

AMY LEACH, Minute Clerk