## CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2005–06 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

# ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

## Thursday, August 17, 2006

# SIXTY-EIGHTH SESSION DAY FIVE HUNDRED EIGHTY-NINTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

> (Please Direct Any Inquiries and Report Any Omissions or Errors to Sue Parker, Minute Clerk: Phone 319-2360)

### PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

#### **IN ASSEMBLY**

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, August 17, 2006

The Assembly met at 9:02 a.m.

Hon. Leland Y. Yee, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Elizabeth Potter reading.

#### **ROLL CALL**

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—78:

Aghazarian	Dymally	Leno	Richman
Arambula	Emmerson	Leslie	Ridley-Thomas
Baca	Evans	Levine	Runner
Bass	Frommer	Lieber	Ruskin
Benoit	Garcia	Lieu	Saldaña
Berg	Goldberg	Liu	Salinas
Bermúdez	Hancock	Matthews	Spitzer
Blakeslee	Haynes	Maze	Strickland
Bogh	Horton, Jerome	McCarthy	Torrico
Calderon	Horton, Shirley	Montañez	Tran
Canciamilla	Houston	Mountjoy	Umberg
Chan	Huff	Mullin	Vargas
Chavez	Jones	Nakanishi	Villines
Chu	Karnette	Nation	Walters
Cogdill	Keene	Nava	Wolk
Cohn	Klehs	Negrete McLeod	Wyland
Coto	Koretz	Niello	Yee
Daucher	La Malfa	Parra	Mr. Speaker
De La Torre	La Suer	Pavley	
DeVore	Laird	Plescia	

Quorum present.

#### **REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH**

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

#### LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Member was granted leave of absence for the day:

Because of illness: Assembly Member Oropeza.

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

FABIAN NUÑEZ, Speaker

SUE PARKER, Minute Clerk

Ο