## CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2007–08 THIRD EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

# ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

## Thursday, August 7, 2008

# THIRTY-EIGHTH SESSION DAY TWO HUNDRED SEVENTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

> (Please Direct Any Inquiries and Report Any Omissions or Errors to Sue Parker, Minute Clerk: Phone 319-2360)

### PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

#### **IN ASSEMBLY**

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, August 7, 2008

The Assembly met at 9:29 a.m.

Hon. Sally J. Lieber, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk. Assistant Clerk Elizabeth Potter reading.

JEIK Liizabetii I ottei Teauiii

#### **ROLL CALL**

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—78:

Adams Aghazarian Anderson Arambula Beall Benoit Berg Berryhill Blakeslee Brownley Caballero Calderon Carter Cook Coto Davis De La Torre De León DeSaulnier	Duvall Dymally Emmerson Eng Evans Feuer Fuentes Fuller Furutani Gaines Galgiani Garcia Garrick Hancock Hayashi Hernandez Horton Houston Huff	Jeffries Jones Karnette Keene Krekorian La Malfa Laird Leno Levine Lieber Lieber Lieu Ma Maze Mendoza Mullin Nakanishi Nava Niello Niñez	Plescia Portantino Price Ruskin Salas Saldaña Silva Smyth Solorio Spitzer Strickland Swanson Torrico Tran Villines Walters Wolk Mme. Speaker
DeSaulnier	Huff	Núñez	Mme. Speaker
DeVore	Huffman	Parra	

Quorum present.

#### **REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH**

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

#### LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

Because of illness: Assembly Members Runner and Soto.

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

KAREN BASS, Speaker

SUE PARKER, Minute Clerk

(NOTE: The proclamation by the Governor convening the Legislature in extraordinary session was printed Monday, January 14, 2008. See Assembly Journal, pages 3–4.)