CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2003–04 FOURTH EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Friday, July 23, 2004

THIRTY-EIGHTH SESSION DAY TWO HUNDRED FORTY-NINTH CALENDAR DAY

AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



(Please Direct Any Inquiries and Report Any Omissions or Errors to Minute Clerk: Phone 319-2360)

PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Friday, July 23, 2004

The Assembly met at 6 a.m.

Hon. Manny Diaz, Assembly Member, 23rd District, presiding. Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk. Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

ROLL CALL

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—42:

Aghazarian	Diaz	Maddox
Bates	Dutton	Maldonado
Benoit	Dymally	Matthews
Bermudez	Garcia	Maze
Campbell	Houston	McCarthy
Canciamilla	Keene	Nakanishi
Chan	Koretz	Nakano
Chavez	La Malfa	Nation
Cohn	Leslie	Pavley
Corbett	Levine	Reyes
Cox	Lieber	Runner

Samuelian Simitian Spitzer Steinberg Wesson Wiggins Wolk Mr. Speaker

Salinas

Quorum present.

At 3:52 p.m., Hon. Steven N. Samuelian, 29th District, presiding

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Bogh, Calderon, Chu, Cogdill, Correa, Dutra, Goldberg, Harman, Haynes, Jerome E. Horton, Shirley Horton, Jackson, Kehoe, La Suer, Longville, Lowenthal, Montanez, Mountjoy, Negrete McLeod, Oropeza, Pacheco, Parra, Richman, Ridley-Thomas, and Strickland.

On legislative business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Members Frommer and Wyland.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Members Berg, Hancock, Leno, Plescia, and Vargas.

Because of illness: Assembly Member Laird.

Because of illness, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Mullin.

Because of illness in her family, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Daucher.

The following Assembly Members were excused for the day, and their per diem was waived: Firebaugh, Liu, and Yee.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of the above referenced Assembly Members on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day. Also, note that per diem is waived by the following Assembly Members until passage of the Budget: Correa, p. 6619; Kehoe, p. 6717; Lowenthal, see communication in this day's Journal; Negrete McLeod, p. 6777; Parra, p. 6777; Wyland, p. 6777 and further communication in this day's Journal. All pages cited refer to the Journal for the Regular Session.)

ADJOURNMENT

At 4:55 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Chair.

FABIAN NUÑEZ, Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk

Ο