# CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2001–02 SECOND EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

## ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Thursday, July 5, 2001

THIRTY-SECOND SESSION DAY

FIFTY-THIRD CALENDAR DAY

AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



#### PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

#### IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, July 5, 2001

The Assembly met at 11:06 a.m.

Hon. Fred Keeley, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

#### **ROLL CALL**

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—75:

Aanestad	Correa	La Suer	Pescetti
Alquist	Cox	Leach	Reyes
Aroner	Daucher	Leonard	Richman
Bates	Diaz	Leslie	Runner
Bogh	Dickerson	Liu	Salinas
Briggs	Dutra	Longville	Simitian
Calderon	Firebaugh	Lowenthal	Steinberg
Campbell, Bill	Florez	Maddox	Strickland
Campbell, John	Frommer	Maldonado	Strom-Martin
Canciamilla	Goldberg	Matthews	Thomson
Cardenas	Harman	Migden	Vargas
Cardoza	Havice	Mountjoy	Washington
Cedillo	Hollingsworth	Nakano	Wayne
Chan	Horton	Nation	Wiggins
Chavez	Jackson	Negrete McLeod	Wyland
Chu	Keeley	Oropeza	Wyman
Cogdill	Kehoe	Pacheco, Robert	Zettel
Cohn	Kelley	Pacheco, Rod	Mr. Speaker
Corbett	Koretz	Pavley	•

Quorum present.

#### **REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH**

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

#### COMMUNICATIONS

The following communication was presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

July 5, 2001

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Re: Assembly Transportation Committee

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Transportation Committee for the 2001–02 Second Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember John Dutra, Chair

Assemblymember Rod Pacheco, Vice Chair

Assemblymember Patricia Bates

Assemblymember Marco Firebaugh

Assemblymember Dean Florez

Assemblymember Sally Havice

Assemblymember Dennis Hollingsworth

Assemblymember Christine Kehoe

Assemblymember Jay La Suer

Assemblymember Lynne Leach

Assemblymember Tim Leslie

Assemblymember Carol Liu

Assemblymember John Longville

Assemblymember Dennis Mountjoy

Assemblymember George Nakano

Assemblymember Jenny Oropeza

Assemblymember Joe Simitian

Assemblymember Virginia Strom-Martin

Assemblymember Juan Vargas

Sincerely,

ROBERT M. HERTZBERG Speaker of the Assembly

### INTRODUCTION AND FIRST READING OF ASSEMBLY BILLS

The following bill was introduced and read the first time:

**ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 80—Wyland.** An act to add Section 857 to the Public Utilities Code, relating to public utilities, and declaring the urgency thereof, to take effect immediately.

#### REFERENCE OF BILLS TO COMMITTEE

Pursuant to the Assembly Rules, the following bills were referred to committee:

 Assembly
 Committee

 76
 Rev. & Tax.

 77
 Trans. and E.C. & A.

 78
 E.C. & A.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned until 11 a.m., Monday, July 9, 2001, or upon Call of the Speaker.

ROBERT M. HERTZBERG, Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk

O