CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2001–02 SECOND EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Tuesday, July 3, 2001

THIRTY-FIRST SESSION DAY FIFTY-FIRST CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Tuesday, July 3, 2001

The Assembly met at 2:15 p.m.

Hon. Barbara Matthews, Assembly Member, 17th District, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

ROLL CALL

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—70:

Aanestad	Cox	Leach	Shelley
Alquist	Daucher	Leonard	Simitian
Aroner	Diaz	Liu	Steinberg
Bates	Dickerson	Longville	Strickland
Bogh	Dutra	Lowenthal	Strom-Martin
Briggs	Firebaugh	Maddox	Thomson
Campbell, Bill	Frommer	Matthews	Vargas
Canciamilla	Goldberg	Migden	Washington
Cardenas	Harman	Mountjoy	Wayne
Cardoza	Havice	Nakano	Wesson
Cedillo	Hollingsworth	Negrete McLeod	Wiggins
Chan	Horton	Oropeza	Wright
Chavez	Jackson	Pacheco, Robert	Wyland
Chu	Keeley	Pescetti	Wyman
Cogdill	Kehoe	Reyes	Zettel
Cohn	Kelley	Richman	Mr. Speaker
Corbett	Koretz	Runner	_
Correa	La Suer	Salinas	

Quorum present.

At 2:49 p.m., Hon. Mark Wyland, 74th District, presiding

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Papan.

Because of illness in his family: Assembly Member Ashburn.

The following Assembly Members were excused for the day, and their per diem was waived: Calderon, John Campbell, Florez, Leslie, Maldonado, Nation, Rod Pacheco, and Pavley.

COMMUNICATIONS

The following communication was presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

July 3, 2001

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Re: Assembly Business and Professions Committee

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Business and Professions Committee for the 2001–02 Second Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Lou Correa, Chair Assemblymember John Campbell, Vice Chair Assemblymember Russ Bogh Assemblymember Gilbert Cedillo Assemblymember Ed Chavez Assemblymember Ellen Corbett Assemblymember Dave Kelley Assemblymember Paul Koretz Assemblymember Lynne Leach Assemblymember Barbara Matthews Assemblymember Joe Nation Assemblymember Herb Wesson

Sincerely,

ROBERT M. HERTZBERG Speaker of the Assembly

ENGROSSMENT AND ENROLLMENT REPORTS

Assembly Chamber, July 3, 2001

Mr. Speaker: Pursuant to your instructions, the Chief Clerk has examined:

Assembly Bill No. 12 Assembly Bill No. 52

And reports the same correctly engrossed.

E. DOTSON WILSON, Chief Clerk

Above bills re-referred to committee.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST READING OF ASSEMBLY BILLS

The following bill was introduced and read the first time:

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 79—La Suer (Principal coauthor: Bogh) (Coauthors: Ashburn, Bates, Briggs, Bill Campbell, John Campbell, Cogdill, Cox, Daucher, Dickerson, Hollingsworth, Kelley, Leach, Leonard, Leslie, Maddox, Mountjoy, Robert Pacheco, Rod Pacheco, Pescetti, Richman, Runner, Strickland, Wyland, Wyman, and Zettel). An act to amend Sections 65922, 65928, 65930, and 65943.5 of the Government Code, to amend Section 42301.14 of the Health and Safety Code, and to amend Sections 21080, 25506, 25541.5, 25550, and 25552 of, and to add Sections 25135.5, 25214.5, 25513.5, and 25519.5 to, the Public Resources Code, relating to energy resources, and declaring the urgency thereof, to take effect immediately.

ADJOURNMENT

At 5:30~p.m., the Assembly adjourned until 11~a.m., Thursday, July $5,\,2001,$ or upon Call of the Speaker.

ROBERT M. HERTZBERG, Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk

O