CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2001–02 SECOND EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Friday, June 29, 2001

TWENTY-NINTH SESSION DAY FORTY-SEVENTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Friday, June 29, 2001

The Assembly met at 5:57 p.m. Hon. Fred Keeley, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

ROLL CALL

The roll was called, and the following answered to their names—77:

Aanestad	Cox	Leonard	Runner
Alquist	Daucher	Leslie	Salinas
Aroner	Diaz	Liu	Shelley
Ashburn	Dickerson	Longville	Simitian
Bates	Dutra	Lowenthal	Steinberg
Bogh	Firebaugh	Maddox	Strickland
Briggs	Florez	Maldonado	Strom-Martin
Calderon	Frommer	Matthews	Thomson
Campbell, John	Goldberg	Migden	Vargas
Canciamilla	Harman	Mountjoy	Washington
Cardenas	Havice	Nakano	Wayne
Cardoza	Hollingsworth	Nation	Wesson
Cedillo	Horton	Negrete McLeod	Wiggins
Chan	Jackson	Oropeza	Wright
Chavez	Keeley	Pacheco, Robert	Wyland
Chu	Kehoe	Pacheco, Rod	Zettel
Cogdill	Kelley	Pavley	Mr. Speaker
Cohn	Koretz	Pescetti	•
Corbett	La Suer	Reyes	
Correa	Leach	Richman	

Quorum present.

PRAYER

Upon invitation of Speaker pro Tempore Keeley, the following prayer was offered by Assembly Member Ken Maddox of the 68th Assembly District:

Eternal Are Your Mercies, O Lord, Your grace sustains us throughout every difficulty and supplies our needy hearts with encouragement. Give us wisdom for the work that is before us. Calm our attitudes; bless us with strength to do the work of this new day.—AMEN.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

Upon request of Speaker pro Tempore Keeley, Assembly Member Chu then led the Assembly in the pledge of allegiance to the Flag.

MOTION TO DISPENSE WITH READING OF THE JOURNAL

Further reading of the Journal of the previous legislative day was dispensed with on motion of Assembly Member Chan, seconded by Assembly Member Cox.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

The following Assembly Members were excused for the day, and their per diem was waived: Bill Campbell, Papan, and Wyman.

COMMUNICATIONS

The following communications were presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

June 29, 2001

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Re: Assembly Governmental Organization Committee

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Governmental Organization Committee for the 2001–02 Second Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Herb Wesson, Chair

Assemblymember Tony Strickland, Vice Chair

Assemblymember Mike Briggs

Assemblymember Tom Calderon

Assemblymember Joe Canciamilla

Assemblymember Tony Cardenas

Assemblymember Dennis Cardoza

Assemblymember Ed Chavez

Assemblymember Dick Dickerson

Assemblymember Marco Firebaugh

Assemblymember Tom Harman

Assemblymember Jerome Horton

Assemblymember John Longville

Assemblymember Abel Maldonado

Assemblymember Joe Nation

Assemblymember Sarah Reyes

Assemblymember Patricia Wiggins Assemblymember Roderick Wright Assemblymember Mark Wyland Assemblymember Charlene Zettel Sincerely.

> ROBERT M. HERTZBERG Speaker of the Assembly

> > June 29, 2001

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Re: Assembly Health Committee

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Health Committee in the 2001–02 Second Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Helen Thomson, Chair Assemblymember Sam Aanestad, Vice Chair Assemblymember Patricia Bates Assemblymember Wilma Chan Assemblymember Ed Chavez Assemblymember Judy Chu Assemblymember Dario Frommer Assemblymember Paul Koretz Assemblymember Gloria Negrete McLeod Assemblymember Robert Pacheco Assemblymember Keith Richman Assemblymember George Runner Assemblymember Simon Salinas Assemblymember Darrell Steinberg Assemblymember Howard Wayne Assemblymember Herb Wesson Assemblymember Charlene Zettel Sincerely,

> ROBERT M. HERTZBERG Speaker of the Assembly

ENGROSSMENT AND ENROLLMENT REPORTS

Assembly Chamber, June 29, 2001

Mr. Speaker: Pursuant to your instructions, the Chief Clerk has examined:

Assembly Bill No. 5 Assembly Bill No. 46

And reports the same correctly engrossed.

E. DOTSON WILSON, Chief Clerk

Above bills re-referred to committee.

CONSIDERATION OF DAILY FILE THIRD READING OF ASSEMBLY BILLS

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 14 (Canciamilla)—An act to amend Sections 216, 222, and 228 of the Public Utilities Code, relating to public utilities.

Bill read third time, and passed by the following vote:

AYES-76

Aanestad	Cox	Leach	Reyes
Alquist	Daucher	Leonard	Richman
Aroner	Diaz	Leslie	Runner
Ashburn	Dickerson	Liu	Salinas
Bates	Dutra	Longville	Shelley
Bogh	Firebaugh	Lowenthal	Simitian
Calderon	Florez	Maddox	Steinberg
Campbell, John	Frommer	Maldonado	Strickland
Canciamilla	Goldberg	Matthews	Strom-Martin
Cardenas	Harman	Migden	Thomson
Cardoza	Havice	Mountjoy	Vargas
Cedillo	Hollingsworth	Nakano	Washington
Chan	Horton	Nation	Wayne
Chavez	Jackson	Negrete McLeod	Wesson
Chu	Keeley	Oropeza	Wiggins
Cogdill	Kehoe	Pacĥeco, Robert	Wright
Cohn	Kelley	Pacheco, Rod	Wyland
Corbett	Koretz	Pavley	Zettel
Correa	La Suer	Pescetti	Mr. Speaker

NOES—None

Bill ordered transmitted to the Senate.

VOTE ADDS

The following Assembly Member was granted unanimous consent to record his vote on the following item:

Assembly Bill No. 14: Wyland—Aye.

RECESS

By unanimous consent, at 6:03 p.m., Speaker pro Tempore Keeley declared the Assembly recessed.

ADJOURNMENT

At 7:48 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

ROBERT M. HERTZBERG, Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk