CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2015–16 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

THIRD SESSION DAY

SIXTH CALENDAR DAY

AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of rollcall votes. All amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. All Senate amendments to Assembly measures considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Secretary of the Senate and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered in the Assembly is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Wednesday, June 24, 2015

The Assembly met at 7 a.m.

Hon. Catharine B. Baker, Assembly Member, 16th District, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Reading Clerk Kathleen M. Lewis reading.

ROLLCALL

The following were placed upon the morning rollcall—78:

Achadjian	Dababneh	Irwin	Perea
Alejo	Dahle	Jones	Quirk
Allen	Daly	Jones-Sawyer	Rendon
Baker	Dodd	Kim	Ridley-Thomas
Bigelow	Frazier	Lackey	Rodriguez
Bloom	Gaines	Levine	Salas
Bonilla	Gallagher	Linder	Santiago
Bonta	Garcia, C.	Lopez	Steinorth
Brough	Garcia, E.	Low	Stone
Brown	Gatto	Maienschein	Thurmond
Burke	Gipson	Mathis	Ting
Calderon	Gomez	Mayes	Wagner
Campos	Gonzalez	McCarty	Waldron
Chang	Gordon	Medina	Weber
Chau	Gray	Mullin	Wilk
Chávez	Grove	Nazarian	Williams
Chiu	Hadley	Obernolte	Wood
Chu	Harper	O'Donnell	Mme. Speaker
Cooley	Hernández	Olsen	1
Cooper	Holden	Patterson	

Quorum present.

At 10:53 a.m., Hon. Mark Stone, 29th District, presiding

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business, per diem waived for the 2015–16 Session (Assembly Journal, page 63): Assembly Member Eggman.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Melendez.

June 24, 2015

ASSEMBLY JOURNAL

EXPLANATIONS OF ABSENCE

Pursuant to the Assembly Rules, the following explanation of absence was ordered printed in the Journal:

June 24, 2015

The Honorable Toni G. Atkins Speaker of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 219 Sacramento, California

Dear Speaker Atkins: I would like to request permission to be excused from Check-in Session for legislative business on June 24, 2015. Thank you for your attention to this matter. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at (916) 319-2013.

Sincerely,

SUSAN TALAMANTES EGGMAN, Assembly Member Thirteenth District

COMMUNICATIONS

The following communication was presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

June 24, 2015

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: Please be advised that I have made committee appointments for the 2015–16 First Extraordinary Session:

Finance

Assemblymember Jimmy Gomez, Chair Assemblymember Frank Bigelow, Vice Chair Assemblymember Richard Bloom Assemblymember Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr. Assemblymember Kevin McCarty Assemblymember Melissa A. Melendez Assemblymember Jay Obernolte Assemblymember Philip Y. Ting Assemblymember Shirley N. Weber Rules

Assemblymember Richard S. Gordon, Chair Assemblymember Ling Ling Chang, Vice Chair Assemblymember Autumn R. Burke Assemblymember Nora Campos Assemblymember Ken Cooley Assemblymember Bill Dodd Assemblymember Brian W. Jones Assemblymember Chad Mayes Assemblymember Freddie Rodriguez Assemblymember Marie Waldron Assemblymember Jim Wood Assemblymember Patty Lopez, Democratic Alternate Assemblymember Jay Obernolte, Republican Alternate Transportation and Infrastructure Development Assemblymember Jim Frazier, Chair Assemblymember Katcho Achadjian, Vice Chair Assemblymember Luis A. Alejo Assemblymember Autumn R. Burke Assemblymember David Chiu Assemblymember Bill Dodd Assemblymember Susan Talamantes Eggman Assemblymember Mike Gatto Assemblymember David Hadley Assemblymember Young O. Kim Assemblymember Eric Linder

Assemblymember Adrin Nazarian

Assemblymember Patrick O'Donnell

Sincerely,

TONI G. ATKINS Speaker of the Assembly

ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon call of the Speaker.

TONI G. ATKINS, Speaker

TAMMY CARO, Assistant Minute Clerk