CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2005–06 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Thursday, June 22, 2006 SIXTY-FIFTH SESSION DAY FIVE HUNDRED THIRTY-THIRD CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, June 22, 2006

The Assembly met at 6 a.m.

Hon. Chuck DeVore, Assembly Member, 70th District, presiding. Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Elizabeth Potter reading.

ROLL CALL

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—69:

Aghazarian	Hancock	Liu	Runner
Baca	Haynes	Matthews	Saldaña
Bass	Horton, Jerome	Maze	Salinas
Berg	Horton, Shirley	McCarthy	Spitzer
Blakeslee	Houston	Montañez	Strickland
Calderon	Huff	Mountjoy	Torrico
Canciamilla	Karnette	Mullin	Tran
Chavez	Keene	Nakanishi	Umberg
Chu	Klehs	Nation	Vargas
Cohn	Koretz	Nava	Villines
Coto	La Malfa	Negrete McLeod	Walters
Daucher	La Suer	Niello	Wolk
De La Torre	Laird	Oropeza	Wyland
DeVore	Leno	Parra	Yee
Dymally	Leslie	Pavley	Mr. Speaker
Emmerson	Levine	Plescia	•
Garcia	Lieber	Richman	
Goldberg	Lieu	Ridley-Thomas	

Quorum present.

At 9:42 a.m., Hon. Bill Emmerson, 63rd District, presiding

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Arambula, Benoit, Bermúdez, Bogh, Chan, Cogdill, Frommer, and Ruskin.

On legislative business, per diem waived for the 2005–2006 Session (See Assembly Journal, page 4089): Assembly Member Jones.

Because of illness: Assembly Member Evans.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Arambula, Benoit, Bermúdez, Bogh, Chan, Cogdill, Frommer, Jones and Ruskin on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

FABIAN NUÑEZ, Speaker

SUE PARKER, Minute Clerk