CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2007–08 THIRD EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Thursday, June 19, 2008

THIRTY-FOURTH SESSION DAY ONE HUNDRED FIFTY-EIGHTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

(Please Direct Any Inquiries and Report Any Omissions or Errors to Sue Parker, Minute Clerk: Phone 319-2360)

PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, June 19, 2008

The Assembly met at 9:50 a.m.

Hon. Sally \check{J} . Lieber, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk. Assistant Clerk Elizabeth Potter reading.

ROLL CALL

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—76:

Aghazarian Anderson Emmerson Karnette Price Arambula Eng Keene Runner Beall Feuer Krekorian Benoit Fuentes La Malfa Salas Berg Fuller Laird Saldaña Berryhill Furutani Leno Silva Blakeslee Gaines Levine Smyth Brownley Galgiani Calderon Garcia Lieu Spitzer Carter Garrick Ma Strickland Cook Hancock Maze Swanson Coto Davis Hernandez Mullin Tran De La Torre Horton Nava Walters De Sestability Nielle Mendoza Willin Wells Wells	Adams	Duvall	Jeffries	Plescia
Arambula Eng Keene Runner Beall Feuer Krekorian Ruskin Benoit Fuentes La Malfa Salas Berg Fuller Laird Saldaña Berryhill Furutani Leno Silva Blakeslee Gaines Levine Smyth Brownley Galgiani Lieber Solorio Calderon Garcia Lieu Spitzer Carter Garrick Ma Strickland Cook Hancock Maze Swanson Coto Hayashi Mendoza Torrico Davis Hernandez Mullin Tran De La Torre Horton Nakanishi Villines De León Houston Nava Walters	Aghazarian	Dymally	Jones	Portantino
Beall Feuer Krekorian Ruskin Benoit Fuentes La Malfa Salas Berg Fuller Laird Saldaña Berryhill Furutani Leno Silva Blakeslee Gaines Levine Smyth Brownley Galgiani Lieber Solorio Calderon Garcia Lieu Spitzer Carter Garrick Ma Strickland Cook Hancock Maze Swanson Coto Hayashi Mendoza Torrico Davis Hernandez Mullin Tran De La Torre Horton Nakanishi Villines De León Houston Nava Walters	Anderson	Emmerson	Karnette	Price
Benoit Fuentes La Malfa Salas Berg Fuller Laird Saldaña Berryhill Furutani Leno Silva Blakeslee Gaines Levine Smyth Brownley Galgiani Lieber Solorio Calderon Garcia Lieu Spitzer Carter Garrick Ma Strickland Cook Hancock Maze Swanson Coto Hayashi Mendoza Torrico Davis Hernandez Mullin Tran De La Torre Horton Nakanishi Villines De León Houston Nava Walters	Arambula	Eng	Keene	Runner
Berg Fuller Laird Saldaña Berryhill Furutani Leno Silva Blakeslee Gaines Levine Smyth Brownley Galgiani Lieber Solorio Calderon Garcia Lieu Spitzer Carter Garrick Ma Strickland Cook Hancock Maze Swanson Coto Hayashi Mendoza Torrico Davis Hernandez Mullin Tran De La Torre Horton Nakanishi Villines De León Houston Nava Walters	Beall	Feuer	Krekorian	Ruskin
Berryhill Furutani Leno Silva Blakeslee Gaines Levine Smyth Brownley Galgiani Lieber Solorio Calderon Garcia Lieu Spitzer Carter Garrick Ma Strickland Cook Hancock Maze Swanson Coto Hayashi Mendoza Torrico Davis Hernandez Mullin Tran De La Torre Horton Nakanishi Villines De León Houston Nava Walters	Benoit	Fuentes	La Malfa	Salas
Blakeslee Gaines Levine Smyth Brownley Galgiani Lieber Solorio Calderon Garcia Lieu Spitzer Carter Garrick Ma Strickland Cook Hancock Maze Swanson Coto Hayashi Mendoza Torrico Davis Hernandez Mullin Tran De La Torre Horton Nakanishi Villines De León Houston Nava Walters	Berg	Fuller	Laird	Saldaña
Brownley Galgiani Lieber Solorio Calderon Garcia Lieu Spitzer Carter Garrick Ma Strickland Cook Hancock Maze Swanson Coto Hayashi Mendoza Torrico Davis Hernandez Mullin Tran De La Torre Horton Nakanishi Villines De León Houston Nava Walters	Berryhill	Furutani	Leno	Silva
CalderonGarciaLieuSpitzerCarterGarrickMaStricklandCookHancockMazeSwansonCotoHayashiMendozaTorricoDavisHernandezMullinTranDe La TorreHortonNakanishiVillinesDe LeónHoustonNavaWalters	Blakeslee	Gaines	Levine	Smyth
Carter Garrick Ma Strickland Cook Hancock Maze Swanson Coto Hayashi Mendoza Torrico Davis Hernandez Mullin Tran De La Torre Horton Nakanishi Villines De León Houston Nava Walters	Brownley	Galgiani	Lieber	Solorio
CookHancockMazeSwansonCotoHayashiMendozaTorricoDavisHernandezMullinTranDe La TorreHortonNakanishiVillinesDe LeónHoustonNavaWalters	Calderon	Garcia	Lieu	Spitzer
CotoHayashiMendozaTorricoDavisHernandezMullinTranDe La TorreHortonNakanishiVillinesDe LeónHoustonNavaWalters	Carter	Garrick	Ma	Strickland
Davis Hernandez Mullin Tran De La Torre Horton Nakanishi Villines De León Houston Nava Walters	Cook	Hancock	Maze	Swanson
De La Torre Horton Nakanishi Villines De León Houston Nava Walters	Coto	Hayashi	Mendoza	Torrico
De León Houston Nava Walters	Davis	Hernandez	Mullin	Tran
	De La Torre	Horton	Nakanishi	Villines
DeCouleies Huff Walls Walls	De León	Houston	Nava	Walters
Desaumer num Nieno work	DeSaulnier	Huff	Niello	Wolk
DeVore Huffman Parra Mme. Speaker	DeVore	Huffman	Parra	Mme. Speaker

Quorum present.

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Caballero and Núñez.

Because of illness: Assembly Members Evans and Soto.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Caballero and Núñez on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

KAREN BASS, Speaker

SUE PARKER, Minute Clerk

(NOTE: The proclamation by the Governor convening the Legislature in extraordinary session was printed Monday, January 14, 2008. See Assembly Journal, pages 3–4.)

O