CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2005–06 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Thursday, June 8, 2006

SIXTY-THIRD SESSION DAY FIVE HUNDRED NINETEENTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

> (Please Direct Any Inquiries and Report Any Omissions or Errors to Sue Parker, Minute Clerk: Phone 319-2360)

PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, June 8, 2006

The Assembly met at 9:54 a.m.

Hon. Leland Y. Yee, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Elizabeth Potter reading.

ROLL CALL

The roll was called, and the following answered to their names—68:

Aghazarian	Emmerson	Laird	Plescia
Arambula	Evans	Leno	Runner
Baca	Frommer	Leslie	Ruskin
Benoit	Garcia	Levine	Saldaña
Berg	Goldberg	Lieber	Salinas
Bermúdez	Harman	Liu	Spitzer
Blakeslee	Horton, Jerome	Matthews	Strickland
Bogh	Horton, Shirley	Maze	Torrico
Canciamilla	Houston	McCarthy	Tran
Chan	Huff	Montañez	Umberg
Chavez	Jones	Mountjoy	Vargas
Chu	Karnette	Mullin	Villines
Cogdill	Keene	Nakanishi	Walters
Cohn	Klehs	Nation	Wolk
Daucher	Koretz	Nava	Wyland
DeVore	La Malfa	Negrete McLeod	Yee
Dymally	La Suer	Niello	Mr. Speaker

Quorum present.

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Bass, De La Torre, Hancock, Oropeza, Parra, Pavley, Richman, and Ridley-Thomas.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Members Calderon, Coto, and Lieu.

Because of illness: Assembly Member Haynes.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Bass, De La Torre, Hancock, Oropeza, Parra, Pavley, Richman, and Ridley-Thomas on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

FABIAN NUÑEZ, Speaker

SUE PARKER, Minute Clerk

Ο