## CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2005–06 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

# ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

# Thursday, June 1, 2006 SIXTY-SECOND SESSION DAY FIVE HUNDRED TWELFTH CALENDAR DAY

## AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

### PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

#### IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, June 1, 2006

The Assembly met at 6 a.m.

Hon. Sam Blakeslee, Assembly Member, 33rd District, presiding. Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk. Assistant Clerk Elizabeth Potter reading.

#### ROLL CALL

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—72:

Aghazarian	DeVore	La Malfa	Niello
Arambula	Dymally	La Suer	Parra
Baca	Emmerson	Laird	Pavley
Bass	Evans	Leno	Plescia
Benoit	Frommer	Leslie	Richman
Berg	Garcia	Levine	Ridley-Thomas
Bermúdez	Goldberg	Lieber	Ruskin
Blakeslee	Hancock	Lieu	Saldaña
Bogh	Harman	Liu	Salinas
Calderon	Haynes	Matthews	Spitzer
Canciamilla	Horton, Jerome	Maze	Strickland
Chan	Horton, Shirley	McCarthy	Torrico
Chavez	Houston	Montañez	Tran
Chu	Huff	Mountjoy	Umberg
Cohn	Jones	Mullin	Vargas
Coto	Karnette	Nakanishi	Walters
Daucher	Keene	Nava	Wyland
De La Torre	Klehs	Negrete McLeod	Mr. Speaker

Quorum present.

#### At 10:28 a.m., Hon. Ira Ruskin, 21st District, presiding

#### **REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH**

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

#### LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Cogdill, Koretz, Nation, Runner, Villines, and Yee.

On legislative business, per diem waived for the 2005–2006 Session (See Assembly Journal, page 63): Assembly Member Wolk.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Oropeza.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Cogdill, Koretz, Nation, Runner, Villines, Wolk, and Yee on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 4:35 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

FABIAN NUÑEZ, Speaker

SUE PARKER, Minute Clerk

Ο