CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2001–02 THIRD EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Thursday, May 2, 2002

TWENTY-SEVENTH SESSION DAY ONE HUNDRED THIRTEENTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, May 2, 2002

The Assembly met at 9:17 a.m.

Hon. Christine Kehoe, Assistant Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Assistant Chief Clerk Lawrence A. Murman at the Desk. Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

ROLL CALL

The roll was called, and the following answered to their names—72:

Aanestad	Cox	La Suer	Pescetti
Alquist	Daucher	Leach	Reyes
Aroner	Diaz	Leonard	Richman
Bates	Dickerson	Leslie	Salinas
Bogh	Dutra	Liu	Shelley
Calderon	Firebaugh	Longville	Simitian
Campbell, Bill	Florez	Lowenthal	Steinberg
Campbell, John	Frommer	Maddox	Strom-Martin
Canciamilla	Goldberg	Maldonado	Thomson
Cardenas	Harman	Matthews	Vargas
Cardoza	Havice	Migden	Washington
Chan	Hertzberg	Mountjoy	Wayne
Chavez	Hollingsworth	Nakano	Wiggins
Chu	Horton	Nation	Wright
Cogdill	Jackson	Negrete McLeod	Wyland
Cohn	Kehoe	Oropeza	Wyman
Corbett	Kelley	Pacheco, Rod	Zettel
Correa	Koretz	Papan	Mr. Speaker

Quorum present.

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Briggs, Keeley, Pavley, Runner, and Strickland.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Members Ashburn and Robert Pacheco.

Because of illness in his family: Assembly Member Cedillo.

(NOTE: For letter explaining the absence of Assembly Member Pavley on this day on legislative business pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for April 30, 2002; for explanations of absences of Assembly Members Briggs, Keeley, Runner, and Strickland on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

REQUEST FOR UNANIMOUS CONSENT TO TEMPORARILY SUSPEND THE RULES

Assembly Member Firebaugh requested unanimous consent that the Rules be temporarily suspended for the purpose of permitting consideration of Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 2, without reference to file.

Assembly Member Cogdill withheld unanimous consent.

Motion to Temporarily Suspend the Rules

Assembly Member Firebaugh moved that the Rules be temporarily suspended for the purpose of permitting consideration of Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 2, without reference to file.

Assembly Member Chan seconded the motion.

Rules temporarily suspended by the following vote:

AYES-46

Alquist	Diaz	Liu	Simitian
Aroner	Dutra	Longville	Steinberg
Calderon	Firebaugh	Lowenthal	Strom-Martin
Canciamilla	Florez	Matthews	Thomson
Cardenas	Frommer	Migden	Vargas
Cardoza	Goldberg	Nakano	Washington
Chan	Havice	Nation	Wayne
Chavez	Hertzberg	Negrete McLeod	Wiggins
Chu	Horton	Oropeza	Wright
Cohn	Jackson	Papan	Mr. Speaker
Corbett	Kehoe	Reyes	•
Correa	Koretz	Salinas	

NOES-23

Aanestad	Cox	La Suer	Pescetti
Bates	Daucher	Leach	Richman
Bogh	Dickerson	Leonard	Wyland
Campbell, Bill	Harman	Leslie	Wyman
Campbell, John	Hollingsworth	Maddox	Zettel
Cogdill	Kellev	Pacheco, Rod	

CONSIDERATION OF SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 2 WITHOUT REFERENCE TO FILE

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 2 (Burton)—Relative to final adjournment of the 2001–02 Third Extraordinary Session of the Legislature.

Resolution read, and presented by Assembly Member Oropeza.

Request to Read Paper on Floor

Assembly Member Cox was granted unanimous consent to read a paper on the Floor of the Assembly.

The question being on the adoption of the resolution.

Resolution adopted by the following vote:

AYES-48

Alquist	Diaz	Koretz	Salinas
Aroner	Dickerson	Liu	Shelley
Calderon	Dutra	Longville	Simitian
Canciamilla	Firebaugh	Lowenthal	Steinberg
Cardenas	Florez	Matthews	Strom-Martin
Cardoza	Frommer	Migden	Thomson
Chan	Goldberg	Nakano	Vargas
Chavez	Havice	Nation	Washington
Chu	Hertzberg	Negrete McLeod	Wayne
Cohn	Horton	Oropeza	Wiggins
Corbett	Jackson	Papan	Wright
Correa	Kehoe	Reyes	Mr. Speaker

NOES-23

Aanestad	Cox	Leach	Pescetti
Bates	Daucher	Leonard	Richman
Bogh	Harman	Leslie	Wyland
Campbell, Bill	Hollingsworth	Maddox	Wyman
Campbell, John	Kelley	Mountjoy	Zettel
Cogdill	La Suer	Pacheco, Rod	

Resolution ordered transmitted to the Senate immediately.

VOTE ADDS

The following Assembly Members were granted unanimous consent to record their votes on the following items:

Firebaugh Motion to Suspend Rules: Canciamilla and Havice—Aye; Aanestad, Bates, and Leslie—No.

Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 2: Leslie and Maddox—No.

ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., pursuant to the provisions of Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 2, the 2001–02 Third Extraordinary Session of the Legislature adjourned *sine die*.

HERB J. WESSON, JR., Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk