# CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2003–04 FOURTH EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

# ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

## Thursday, April 29, 2004

# TWENTY-FIFTH SESSION DAY ONE HUNDRED SIXTY-FOURTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

(Please Direct Any Inquiries and Report Any Omissions or Errors to Minute Clerk: Phone 319-2360)

## **PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY**

#### IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, April 29, 2004

The Assembly met at 11:34 a.m.

Hon. Leland Y. Yee, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk. Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

#### **ROLL CALL**

The roll was called, and the following answered to their names—72:

Aghazarian	Diaz	La Suer	Negrete McLeod
Bates	Dutra	Laird	Oropeza
Benoit	Dutton	Leno	Parra
Berg	Dymally	Levine	Reyes
Bermudez	Firebaugh	Lieber	Richman
Bogh	Frommer	Liu	Ridley-Thomas
Calderon	Garcia	Longville	Runner
Campbell	Goldberg	Lowenthal	Salinas
Canciamilla	Hancock	Maddox	Samuelian
Chan	Harman	Matthews	Simitian
Chavez	Horton, Jerome	Maze	Spitzer
Chu	Horton, Shirley	McCarthy	Steinberg
Cogdill	Houston	Montanez	Strickland
Cohn	Jackson	Mountjoy	Wesson
Corbett	Keene	Mullin	Wolk
Correa	Kehoe	Nakanishi	Wyland
Cox	Koretz	Nakano	Yee
Daucher	La Malfa	Nation	Mr. Speaker

#### PRAYER

Upon invitation of Speaker pro Tempore Yee, the following prayer was offered by Assembly Chaplain Rev. Constantine C. Pappademos:

*Lord,* You have performed countless miracles and have said, "Let it be done to you according to your faith." You have shown us that faith is something that each of us possesses on our own, just as we have our own power of decision. Lord, we thank You for the freedom You have given us, not only in our actions, but also in faith. For You have justified all people, not through their own wisdom, or understanding, or piety, but through faith.—AMEN.

#### PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

Upon request of Speaker pro Tempore Yee, Assembly Member Cogdill then led the Assembly in the pledge of allegiance to the Flag.

#### MOTION TO DISPENSE WITH READING OF THE JOURNAL

Further reading of the Journal of the previous legislative day was dispensed with on motion of Assembly Member Frommer, seconded by Assembly Member Cogdill.

#### LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Leslie, Pacheco, Pavley, Vargas, and Wiggins.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Plescia.

To attend a funeral in the District: Assembly Member Maldonado. Because of illness: Assembly Member Haynes.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Leslie, Pacheco, Pavley, Vargas, and Wiggins on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

#### COMMUNICATIONS

The following communication was presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

April 28, 2004

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed Assemblymember John Laird to replace Assemblymember Marco Firebaugh on the Assembly Appropriations Committee for today's hearing.

Sincerely,

FABIAN NUÑEZ Speaker of the Assembly

#### CONSIDERATION OF CONSENT CALENDAR

The Speaker pro Tempore announced that the next roll call would be on the Consent Calendar.

#### Consent Calendar—Assembly Bill

**ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 13 (Firebaugh)**—An act to amend Section 1877.1 of the Insurance Code, relating to workers' compensation.

Bill read third time, and passed by the following vote:

### AYES—72

Aghazarian	Diaz	La Suer	Negrete McLeod
Bates	Dutra	Laird	Oropeza
Benoit	Dutton	Leno	Parra
Berg	Dymally	Levine	Reyes
Bermudez	Firebaugh	Lieber	Richman
Bogh	Frommer	Liu	Ridley-Thomas
Calderon	Garcia	Longville	Runner
Campbell	Goldberg	Lowenthal	Salinas
Canciamilla	Hancock	Maddox	Samuelian
Chan	Harman	Matthews	Simitian
Chavez	Horton, Jerome	Maze	Spitzer
Chu	Horton, Shirley	McCarthy	Steinberg
Cogdill	Houston	Montanez	Strickland
Cohn	Jackson	Mountjoy	Wesson
Corbett	Keene	Mullin	Wolk
Correa	Kehoe	Nakanishi	Wyland
Cox	Koretz	Nakano	Yee
Daucher	La Malfa	Nation	Mr. Speaker

#### NOES—None

Bill ordered transmitted to the Senate.

#### RECESS

By unanimous consent, at 11:40 a.m., Speaker pro Tempore Yee declared the Assembly recessed.

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

FABIAN NUÑEZ, Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk