CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2005–06 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Thursday, April 27, 2006

FIFTY-SEVENTH SESSION DAY FOUR HUNDRED SEVENTY-SEVENTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, April 27, 2006

The Assembly met at 9:26 a.m.

Hon. Sally J. Lieber, Assistant Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk. Assistant Clerk Elizabeth Potter reading.

ROLL CALL

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—73:

Aghazarian	Dymally	Laird	Richman
Arambula	Emmerson	Leno	Ridley-Thomas
Baca	Evans	Levine	Ruskin
Bass	Frommer	Lieber	Saldaña
Benoit	Garcia	Lieu	Salinas
Berg	Goldberg	Liu	Strickland
Bermúdez	Hancock	Matthews	Torrico
Blakeslee	Harman	Maze	Tran
Bogh	Haynes	Montañez	Umberg
Calderon	Horton, Jerome	Mountjoy	Vargas
Canciamilla	Horton, Shirley	Mullin	Villines
Chan	Houston	Nakanishi	Walters
Chavez	Huff	Nation	Wolk
Chu	Karnette	Nava	Wyland
Cogdill	Keene	Negrete McLeod	Yee
Coto	Klehs	Niello	Mr. Speaker
Daucher	Koretz	Parra	•
De La Torre	La Malfa	Pavley	
DeVore	La Suer	Plescia	

Quorum present.

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Leslie, McCarthy, Oropeza, and Runner.

On legislative business, per diem waived for the 2005–2006 Session (See Assembly Journal, page 4089): Assembly Member Jones.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Cohn. On paternity leave: Assembly Member Spitzer.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Jones, McCarthy, Oropeza, and Runner on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day; for explanation of absence of Assembly Member Leslie, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for April 24, 2006.)

COMMUNICATIONS

The following communication was presented by the Chief Clerk, and ordered printed in the Journal:

April 26, 2006

E. Dotson Wilson, Chief Clerk California State Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Assemblywoman Mimi Walters

Assemblyman Mike Villines

Assemblyman Van Tran

Dear Mr. Wilson: This letter is to officially announce that as of Monday, April 24, 2006, the new Assembly Republican Leadership Team consists of the following members:

Assemblyman Greg Aghazarian 2nd Ranking Republican

Leader/Caucus Chair Assemblyman Rick Keene Assembly Budget Committee

Vice-Chair and Assistant

Republican Leader

Assemblywoman Sharon Runner Assembly Appropriations

Committee Vice-Chair and Assistant Republican Leader Assistant Republican Leader Assistant Republican Leader Assistant Republican Leader Chief Republican Whip

Assemblyman Bill Emmerson Assemblyman Doug La Malfa Chief Republican Whip Assemblyman John J. Benoit Republican Whip Assemblyman Bob Huff Republican Whip Assemblyman Roger Niello Republican Whip Assemblyman Todd Spitzer Republican Whip

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Shaun Flanigan at 319-2075.

It is an honor working with you in the California State Assembly. Sincerely,

> GEORGE A. PLESCIA Assembly Republican Leader

ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

FABIAN NUÑEZ, Speaker

SUE PARKER, Minute Clerk