## CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2005–06 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

# ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

## Thursday, April 20, 2006

## FIFTY-SIXTH SESSION DAY FOUR HUNDRED SEVENTIETH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

> (Please Direct Any Inquiries and Report Any Omissions or Errors to Sue Parker, Minute Clerk: Phone 319-2360)

### PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

#### **IN ASSEMBLY**

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, April 20, 2006

The Assembly met at 9:38 a.m.

Hon. Leland Y. Yee, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Elizabeth Potter reading.

#### **ROLL CALL**

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—75:

Aghazarian	Emmerson	Leno	Plescia
Arambula	Evans	Leslie	Richman
Baca	Frommer	Levine	Ridley-Thomas
Benoit	Garcia	Lieber	Runner
Berg	Goldberg	Lieu	Ruskin
Bermúdez	Hancock	Liu	Saldaña
Blakeslee	Harman	Matthews	Spitzer
Bogh	Horton, Jerome	McCarthy	Strickland
Canciamilla	Horton, Shirley	Montañez	Torrico
Chan	Houston	Mountjoy	Tran
Chavez	Huff	Mullin	Umberg
Chu	Jones	Nakanishi	Vargas
Cogdill	Karnette	Nation	Villines
Cohn	Keene	Nava	Walters
Coto	Klehs	Negrete McLeod	Wolk
Daucher	Koretz	Niello	Wyland
De La Torre	La Malfa	Oropeza	Yee
DeVore	La Suer	Parra	Mr. Speaker
Dymally	Laird	Pavley	-

Quorum present.

#### **REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH**

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

#### LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Bass, Calderon, and Haynes.

To attend a funeral in the district: Assembly Member Maze.

Due to a death in his family: Assembly Member Salinas.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Bass, Calderon, and Haynes on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

#### COMMUNICATIONS

The following communications were presented by the Chief Clerk, and ordered printed in the Journal:

April 5, 2006

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk, California State Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Mr. Wilson,

I am writing to inform you that I have been elected Assembly Republican Leader and will assume the position on April 17, 2006.

If you should have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact my office.

Sincerely,

# GEORGE A. PLESCIA, Assembly Member Seventy-fifth District

April 12, 2006

E. Dotson Wilson, Chief Clerk California State Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Mr. Wilson: This letter is to officially announce that as of Monday, April 17, 2006, the new 2nd Ranking Republican Leader/ Caucus Chair is Assemblyman Greg Aghazarian.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Shaun Flanigan at 319-2075.

It is an honor working with you in the California State Assembly. Sincerely,

GEORGE PLESCIA

Assembly Republican Leader

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

FABIAN NUÑEZ, Speaker

SUE PARKER, Minute Clerk