CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2007–08 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Friday, March 28, 2008

FIFTEENTH SESSION DAY

TWO HUNDREDTH CALENDAR DAY

AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Friday, March 28, 2008

The Assembly met at 6 a.m.

Hon. Jim Beall, Jr., Assembly Member, 24th District, presiding. Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Elizabeth Potter reading.

ROLL CALL

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—53: ghazarian Dymally Huffman Plescia

Aghazarian	Dymally	Huffman	Plescia
Anderson	Eng	Jeffries	Portantino
Arambula	Feuer	Karnette	Price
Beall	Fuentes	Keene	Runner
Berg	Fuller	La Malfa	Ruskin
Berryhill	Furutani	Laird	Salas
Brownley	Gaines	Leno	Silva
Caballero	Galgiani	Levine	Spitzer
Calderon	Garcia	Mendoza	Swanson
Cook	Garrick	Mullin	Torrico
Coto	Hayashi	Nakanishi	Tran
Davis	Hernandez	Nava	
DeVore	Horton	Niello	
Duvall	Huff	Parra	

Quorum present.

At 11:27 a.m., Hon. Doug La Malfa, 2nd District, presiding

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Adams, Bass, Benoit, Blakeslee, Carter, De La Torre, De León, Emmerson, Evans, Hancock, Houston, Krekorian, Lieber, Lieu, Núñez, Saldaña, Smyth, Solorio, Strickland, Villines, and Walters.

On legislative business, per diem waived for the 2007–2008 Session (See Assembly Journal, page 63): Assembly Member Jones.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Members DeSaulnier, Ma, and Wolk.

Because of illness: Assembly Members Maze and Soto.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Adams, Bass, Benoit, Blakeslee, Carter, De La Torre, De León, Emmerson, Evans, Hancock, Houston, Krekorian, Lieber, Lieu, Núñez, Saldaña, Smyth, Solorio, Strickland, Villines, and Walters on this day on legislative business pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day; for explanation of absence of Assembly Member Jones on this day, on legislative business, and waiving per diem, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

MARY HAYASHI, Assistant Majority Whip

SUE PARKER, Minute Clerk