## CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2009–10 SIXTH EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

### ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

# Thursday, March 18, 2010 SIXTEENTH SESSION DAY ONE HUNDRED FORTY-FOURTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

#### PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

#### IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, March 18, 2010

The Assembly met at 9:48 a.m.

Hon. Lori Šaldaña, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk. Assistant Clerk Timothy Morland reading.

#### **ROLL CALL**

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—72:

Adams	Cook	Harkey	Norby
Ammiano	Coto	Hayashi	Portantino
Anderson	Davis	Hernandez	Ruskin
Arambula	De La Torre	Hill	Salas
Beall	De León	Huber	Saldaña
Berryhill, Bill	Emmerson	Huffman	Silva
Berryhill, Tom	Eng	Jeffries	Skinner
Blakeslee	Evans	Jones	Smyth
Block	Feuer	Knight	Solorio
Blumenfield	Fong	Lieu	Strickland
Bradford	Fuentes	Logue	Swanson
Brownley	Fuller	Lowenthal	Torlakson
Buchanan	Furutani	Ma	Torres
Caballero	Gaines	Mendoza	Torrico
Calderon	Galgiani	Monning	Tran
Carter	Gilmore	Nava	Villines
Chesbro	Hagman	Nestande	Yamada
Conway	Hall	Nielsen	Mr. Speaker

Quorum present.

#### **REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH**

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

#### LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Bass, Miller, and V. Manuel Pérez.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Members DeVore and Fletcher.

Because of illness: Assembly Members Garrick and Niello.

(NOTE: For explanations of absence of Assembly Members Bass, Miller, and V. Manuel Pérez on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

#### COMMUNICATIONS

The following communications were presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

March 18, 2010

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: Please be advised that I have appointed the following Democratic Leadership for the remainder of the 2009–10 Sixth Extraordinary Session, effective immediately:

Speaker pro Tempore Assistant Speaker pro Tempore Majority Floor Leader Assistant Majority Floor Leader Majority Policy Leader Majority Whip Assistant Whip Democratic Caucus Chair Rules Committee Chair

Sincerely,

Hon. Fiona Ma
Hon. Isadore Hall
Hon. Charles Calderon
Hon. Kevin de León
Hon. Mike Feuer
Hon. Noreen Evans
Hon. Lori Saldaña
Hon. Jerry Hill
Hon. Nancy Skinner

JOHN A. PÉREZ Speaker of the Assembly

March 18, 2010

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: Please be advised that I have appointed membership to the following committees for the remainder 2009–10 Sixth Extraordinary Session, effective immediately:

#### **Appropriations**

Assemblymember Felipe Fuentes, Chair Assemblymember Connie Conway, Vice Chair Assemblymember Tom Ammiano Assemblymember Steven Bradford Assemblymember Charles Calderon Assemblymember Joe Coto Assemblymember Mike Davis Assemblymember Kevin de León Assemblymember Isadore Hall Assemblymember Diane Harkey Assemblymember Jeff Miller Assemblymember Jim Nielsen Assemblymember Chris Norby Assemblymember Nancy Skinner Assemblymember Jose Solorio Assemblymember Tom Torlakson

Assemblymember Alberto Torrico

#### Rules

Assemblymember Nancy Skinner, Chair Assemblymember Ted Gaines, Vice Chair Assemblymember Anthony Adams Assemblymember Anna Caballero Assemblymember Curt Hagman Assemblymember Isadore Hall Assemblymember Ted Lieu Assemblymember Tony Mendoza Assemblymember Lori Saldaña Assemblymember Jim Silva Assemblymember Tom Torlakson Assemblymember Mike Davis, Democratic Alternate Assemblymember Jim Nielsen, Republican Alternate

Sincerely,

JOHN A. PÉREZ Speaker of the Assembly

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

JOHN A. PÉREZ, Speaker

AMY LEACH, Minute Clerk