CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2001–02 THIRD EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Thursday, March 14, 2002

FIFTEENTH SESSION DAY

SIXTY-FOURTH CALENDAR DAY

AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, March 14, 2002

The Assembly met at 8:38 a.m.

Hon. Christine Kehoe, Assistant Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

ROLL CALL

The roll was called, and the following answered to their names—74:

Aanestad	Cox	La Suer	Richman
Alquist	Daucher	Leach	Runner
Aroner	Diaz	Leonard	Salinas
Ashburn	Dickerson	Leslie	Simitian
Bates	Dutra	Liu	Steinberg
Bogh	Firebaugh	Longville	Strickland
Campbell, Bill	Florez	Lowenthal	Strom-Martin
Campbell, John	Frommer	Maddox	Thomson
Canciamilla	Goldberg	Maldonado	Vargas
Cardenas	Harman	Matthews	Washington
Cardoza	Havice	Nakano	Wayne
Cedillo	Hertzberg	Nation	Wiggins
Chan	Hollingsworth	Negrete McLeod	Wright
Chavez	Horton	Oropeza	Wyland
Chu	Jackson	Pacheco, Robert	Wyman
Cogdill	Keeley	Pacheco, Rod	Zettel
Cohn	Kehoe	Pavley	Mr. Speaker
Corbett	Kelley	Pescetti	_
Correa	Koretz	Reyes	

Quorum present.

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Briggs, Calderon, Mountjoy, Papan, and Shelley.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Migden.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Briggs, Calderon, Mountjoy, and Shelley on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day; for letter explaining the absence of Assembly Member Papan on this day on legislative business pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see Assembly Daily Journal for March 11, 2002.)

COMMUNICATIONS

The following communication was presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

March 11, 2002

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have made the following changes to Assembly Standing and Subcommittees in the Third Extraordinary Session, effective today, March 11, 2002:

Budget

I have appointed Assemblymembers Tom Harman, Joe Canciamilla, Wilma Chan, Judy Chu, Dario Frommer, Jackie Goldberg, Patricia Bates and Dave Cogdill to replace Assemblymembers Sam Aanestad, Dennis Cardoza, Marco Firebaugh, Jerome Horton, Darrell Steinberg, Juan Vargas, Dick Dickerson and Mark Wyland.

I have also appointed Assemblymembers Christine Kehoe and Jay La Suer as members of the Committee, increasing the membership from 29 to 31 members.

Budget Subcommittee #1—Health and Human Services

I have appointed Assemblymembers Judy Chu and Jay La Suer to replace Assemblymembers Darrell Steinberg and Sam Aanestad as members of the Committee. I have also appointed Assemblymembers Jenny Oropeza and John Campbell to replace Assemblymembers Tony Cardenas and George Runner as alternatives; and, have removed Assemblymember Fred Keeley as second Democratic Alternate.

Budget Subcommittee #2—Education Finance

I have appointed Assemblymembers Wilma Chan and Jackie Goldberg to replace Assemblymembers Dennis Cardoza and Jerome Horton. I have also appointed Assemblymembers Jenny Oropeza and John Campbell to replace Assemblymembers Tony Cardenas and George Runner as alternates; and, have removed Assemblymember Fred Keeley as second Democratic Alternate.

Budget Subcommittee #3—Resources

I have appointed Assemblymembers Joe Canciamilla, Patricia Bates and Tom Harman to replace Assemblymembers Juan Vargas, Dick Dickerson and Mark Wyland. I have also appointed Assemblymember Dario Frommer as a member. Additionally, I have appointed Assemblymembers Jenny Oropeza and John Campbell to replace Assemblymembers Tony Cardenas and George Runner as alternates.

Budget Subcommittee #4—State Administration

I have appointed Assemblymember Dave Cogdill to replace Assemblymember John Campbell as a member of the committee. I have also appointed Assemblymembers Jenny Oropeza and John Campbell to replace Assemblymembers Tony Cardenas and George Runner as alternates; and, have removed Assemblymember Fred Keeley as second Democratic Alternate.

Budget Subcommittee #5—Information Technology/Transportation

I have appointed Assemblymembers Manny Diaz, Tony Cardenas, John Dutra, Christine Kehoe, Dave Kelley, and Abel Maldonado as members. I have appointed Assemblymembers Jenny Oropeza and John Campbell as alternates, and Assemblymember Dean Florez as second Democratic Alternate.

Rules

The Committee remains the same.

Sincerely,

HERB J. WESSON, JR. Speaker of the California Assembly

MESSAGES FROM THE SENATE

Senate Chamber, March 11, 2002

Mr. Speaker: I am directed to inform your honorable body that the Senate on this day passed:

Senate Bill No. 2

GREGORY P. SCHMIDT, Secretary of the Senate By John W. Rovane, Assistant Secretary

FIRST READING OF SENATE BILLS

The following bill was read the first time:

SENATE BILL NO. 2—An act to amend Section 1280 of the Unemployment Insurance Code, relating to unemployment insurance, making an appropriation therefor.

REFERENCE OF BILLS TO COMMITTEE

Pursuant to the Assembly Rules, the following bill was referred to committee:

Senate	
Bill No.	Committee
2	Ins.

ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

HERB J. WESSON, JR., Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk