CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2001–02 SECOND EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Thursday, March 14, 2002

SIXTY-NINTH SESSION DAY

THREE HUNDRED FIFTH CALENDAR DAY

AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



(Please Direct Any Inquiries and Report Any Omissions or Errors to Minute Clerk: Phone 319-2360)

PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, March 14, 2002

The Assembly met at 8:38 a.m.

Hon. Christine Kehoe, Assistant Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk. Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

ROLL CALL

The roll was called, and the following answered to their names—74:

Aanestad	Cox	La Suer	Richman
Alquist	Daucher	Leach	Runner
Aroner	Diaz	Leonard	Salinas
Ashburn	Dickerson	Leslie	Simitian
Bates	Dutra	Liu	Steinberg
Bogh	Firebaugh	Longville	Strickland
Campbell, Bill	Florez	Lowenthal	Strom-Martin
Campbell, John	Frommer	Maddox	Thomson
Canciamilla	Goldberg	Maldonado	Vargas
Cardenas	Harman	Matthews	Washington
Cardoza	Havice	Nakano	Wayne
Cedillo	Hertzberg	Nation	Wiggins
Chan	Hollingsworth	Negrete McLeod	Wright
Chavez	Horton	Oropeza	Wyland
Chu	Jackson	Pacheco, Robert	Wyman
Cogdill	Keeley	Pacheco, Rod	Zettel
Cohn	Kehoe	Pavley	Mr. Speaker
Corbett	Kelley	Pescetti	•
Correa	Koretz	Reyes	

Quorum present.

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Briggs, Calderon, Mountjoy, Papan, and Shelley.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Migden.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Briggs, Calderon, Mountjoy, and Shelley on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day; for letter explaining the absence of Assembly Member Papan on this day on legislative business pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see Assembly Daily Journal for March 11, 2002.)

COMMUNICATIONS

The following communication was presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

March 11, 2002

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have made the following changes to Assembly Standing Committees in the Second Extraordinary Session, effective today, March 11, 2002:

Appropriations

I have appointed Assemblymember Darrell Steinberg to replace Assemblymember Carole Migden as Chair of the Appropriations Committee. I have also appointed Assemblymembers Rebecca Cohn, Manny Diaz and Marco Firebaugh to replace Assemblymembers Gil Cedillo, Helen Thomson and Herb Wesson.

Additionally, I have appointed Assemblymembers Gloria Negrete McLeod, Kevin Shelley and Carl Washington as members of the Committee, increasing the membership from 21 to 24 members.

Business and Professions

I have appointed Assemblymembers Marco Firebaugh and Helen Thomson to replace Assemblymembers Ed Chavez and Barbara Matthews to the committee. I have also removed myself from the committee, reducing the committee from 12 to 11.

Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials

I have appointed Assemblymember Dean Florez to replace Assemblymember Rebecca Cohn and Assemblymember Fran Pavley to fill the vacancy on the committee.

Governmental Organization

I have appointed Assemblymembers Wilma Chan, Rebecca Cohn, Jay La Suer and Ken Maddox to replace Assemblymembers Tony Cardenas, Herb Wesson, Abel Maldonado and Charlene Zettel. I have also appointed Assemblymembers Ellen Corbett, Carol Liu and Jenny Oropeza to the committee, expanding the membership from 20 to 23 members.

Health

I have appointed Assemblymembers Rebecca Cohn, Jackie Goldberg and Virginia Strom-Martin to replace Assemblymembers Judy Chu, Darrell Steinberg and Herb Wesson.

Housing and Community Development

I have appointed Assemblymember Darrell Steinberg to replace Assemblymember Rebecca Cohn.

Jobs, Economic Development and the Economy

I have removed Assemblymember Carol Liu from the committee, reducing the committee from 12 to 11.

Judiciary

I have appointed Assemblymember Ellen Corbett to replace Assemblymember Darrell Steinberg as Chair and Assemblymember Tom Harman to replace Assemblymember Robert Pacheco as Vice Chair. Assemblymembers Steinberg and Pacheco remain on the committee as members. I have also appointed Assemblymembers Rod Pacheco and Juan Vargas as members and have increased the membership of the committee from 10 to 13 members, leaving one vacancy.

Revenue and Taxation

I have appointed Assemblymember Ed Chavez to replace Assemblymember Ellen Corbett as Chair and have appointed Assemblymember Mark Wyland to replace Assemblymember Tom Harman as Vice Chair. Assemblymember Harman remains as a member of the committee. I have removed Assemblymember Paul Koretz from the committee, reducing the membership from 8 to 7; the membership to be consistent with the Regular Session.

Rules

The Committee remains the same.

Transportation

I have appointed Assemblymember Simon Salinas to replace Assemblymember Marco Firebaugh.

Water, Parks and Wildlife

I have appointed Assemblymember Joe Canciamilla to replace Assemblymember Dean Florez as Chair, Mr. Florez remains on the committee as a member. I have also appointed Assemblymembers Ellen Corbett, Lynn Daucher and Barbara Matthews as members, expanding the membership of the committee from 15 to 19 members.

Sincerely,

HERB J. WESSON, JR. Speaker of the California Assembly

ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

HERB J. WESSON, JR., Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk

446