CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2001–02 SECOND EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Thursday, March 7, 2002

SIXTY-EIGHTH SESSION DAY

TWO HUNDRED NINETY-EIGHTH CALENDAR DAY

AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, March 7, 2002

The Assembly met at 11:06 a.m.

Hon. Fred Keeley, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

ROLL CALL

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—71:

Aanestad	Correa	La Suer	Pavley
Alquist	Cox	Leach	Pescetti
Aroner	Daucher	Leonard	Richman
Ashburn	Diaz	Leslie	Runner
Bates	Dickerson	Longville	Salinas
Bogh	Dutra	Lowenthal	Steinberg
Briggs	Firebaugh	Maddox	Strickland
Campbell, Bill	Florez	Maldonado	Strom-Martin
Campbell, John	Frommer	Matthews	Thomson
Canciamilla	Goldberg	Migden	Vargas
Cardenas	Harman	Mountjoy	Washington
Cardoza	Hertzberg	Nakano	Wayne
Chan	Hollingsworth	Nation	Wiggins
Chavez	Horton	Negrete McLeod	Wright
Chu	Jackson	Oropeza	Wyland
Cogdill	Keeley	Pacĥeco, Robert	Wyman
Cohn	Kehoe	Pacheco, Rod	Mr. Speaker
Corbett	Kelley	Papan	_

Quorum present.

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Calderon, Koretz, Reyes, Shelley, and Simitian.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Zettel.

Because of illness: Assembly Member Havice.

Because of illness in their families: Assembly Members Cedillo and Liu.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Calderon, Koretz, Reyes, Shelley, and Simitian on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

HERB J. WESSON, JR., Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk