## CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2005–06 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

### ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

# Tuesday, February 15, 2005 NINTH SESSION DAY FORTY-FIRST CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

#### PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

#### IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Tuesday, February 15, 2005

The Assembly met at 12:04 p.m.

Hon. Leland Y. Yee, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Brian Ebbert reading.

#### **ROLL CALL**

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—68:

Arambula	Dymally	Laird	Richman
Baca	Evans	Leno	Ridley-Thomas
Bass	Frommer	Leslie	Runner
Benoit	Garcia	Levine	Ruskin
Berg	Goldberg	Lieber	Saldaña
Bermúdez	Gordon	Liu	Salinas
Blakeslee	Hancock	Matthews	Spitzer
Calderon	Harman	Maze	Strickland
Canciamilla	Horton, Jerome	Montañez	Torrico
Chan	Houston	Mullin	Umberg
Chavez	Huff	Nakanishi	Vargas
Chu	Jones	Nation	Villines
Cohn	Karnette	Nava	Walters
Coto	Klehs	Negrete McLeod	Wolk
Daucher	Koretz	Niello	Wyland
De La Torre	La Malfa	Parra	Yee
DeVore	La Suer	Pavley	Mr. Speaker

Quorum present.

#### REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

#### LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Aghazarian, Bogh, Emmerson, Haynes, Keene, Mountjoy, Plescia, and Tran.

On legislative business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Cogdill.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member McCarthy.

Because of illness: Assembly Members Shirley Horton and Oropeza.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Aghazarian, Bogh, Emmerson, Haynes, Keene, Mountjoy, Plescia, and Tran on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day; for explanation of absence of Assembly Member Cogdill on this day, on legislative business, and waiving per diem, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

#### REFERENCE OF BILLS TO COMMITTEE

Pursuant to the Assembly Rules, the following resolutions were referred to committee:

Assembly Constitutional	
Amendment No.	Committee
1	Pub. Sector, C.A., and W. & M.
2	E.F. & T.P., C.A., and W. & M.
3	Dist. Rep., C.A., and W. & M.
4	

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

FABIAN NUÑEZ, Speaker

SUE PARKER, Minute Clerk