## CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2003–04 FIFTH EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

# ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

# Thursday, February 12, 2004 NINTH SESSION DAY EIGHTY-SEVENTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

(Please Direct Any Inquiries and Report Any Omissions or Errors to Minute Clerk: Phone 319-2360)

(5)

### **PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY**

#### IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, February 12, 2004

The Assembly met at 9:17 a.m. Hon. Fabian Nunez, Speaker of the Assembly, presiding. Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk. Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

#### ROLL CALL

The roll was called, and the following answered to their names—73:

Aghazarian Bates Benoit Berg Bermudez Bogh Calderon Canciamilla Chan Chavez Chu Cogdill Cohn Corbett Correa Cox Diaz Dutra	Dymally Firebaugh Frommer Garcia Goldberg Hancock Harman Haynes Horton, Jerome Horton, Shirley Houston Jackson Keene Koretz La Malfa La Suer Laird Leno	Levine Lieber Liu Lowenthal Maldonado Matthews Maze McCarthy Montanez Mountjoy Mullin Nakanishi Nakano Nation Negrete McLeod Oropeza Pacheco Parra	Plescia Reyes Ridley-Thomas Runner Salinas Samuelian Simitian Spitzer Steinberg Strickland Vargas Wesson Wiggins Wolk Yee Mr. Speaker
Dutra	Leno	Parra	

Quorum present.

#### PRAYER

Upon invitation of Speaker Nunez, the following prayer was offered by Assembly Chaplain Rev. Constantine C. Pappademos:

*Lord God*, We cannot place ourselves directly in Your presence unless we impose upon ourselves, interior and exterior silence. Help us to accustom ourselves to stillness of the soul, stillness of the eyes and stillness of the tongue. For there is no life of prayer without silence. Everything good that happens in our life begins with prayer to You, and that prayer is born in the silence of our hearts.—AMEN.

#### PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

Upon request of Speaker Nunez, Assembly Member Chan then led the Assembly in the pledge of allegiance to the Flag.

#### MOTION TO DISPENSE WITH READING OF THE JOURNAL

Further reading of the Journal of the previous legislative day was dispensed with on motion of Assembly Member Frommer, seconded by Assembly Member McCarthy.

#### LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Daucher, Kehoe, Longville, Maddox, and Richman.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Campbell.

#### Because of illness: Assembly Member Wyland.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Daucher, Kehoe, Longville, Maddox, and Richman on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

#### **ELECTION OF SPEAKER**

Assembly Member Frommer was granted unanimous consent that the unanimous consent vote on January 8, 2004 (Assembly Journal, page 4172), electing Assembly Member Fabian Nunez to the Office of Speaker of the Assembly for the 2003–04 Regular Session, and the Oath of Office administered on February 9, 2004 (Assembly Journal, page 4502) by Hon. Ronald M. George, Chief Justice of California, be substituted in the 2003–04 Fifth Extraordinary Session.

#### OATH

#### for the Office of Speaker of the Assembly

I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of California against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of California; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties upon which I am about to enter.

#### RECESS

By unanimous consent, at 9:18 a.m., Speaker Nunez declared the Assembly recessed.

#### COMMUNICATIONS

The following communications were presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

February 12, 2004

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have made the following changes to the Democratic Leadership for the 2003–04 Fifth Extraordinary Session, consistent with the Regular Session:

Speaker pro Tempore
Assistant Speaker pro Tempore
Majority Floor Leader/Majority Leader
Assistant Majority Leader
Majority Whip
Democratic Caucus Chair
Rules Committee Chair

Sincerely,

Hon. Leland Yee Hon. Sally Lieber Hon. Dario Frommer Hon. Ron Calderon Hon. Lloyd Levine Hon. George Nakano Hon. Cindy Montanez

FABIAN NUÑEZ Speaker of the Assembly

February 12, 2004

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I am reappointing the Democratic membership of the Assembly Rules Committee for the 2003–04 Fifth Extraordinary Session as follows:

Assemblymember Cindy Montanez, Chair Assemblymember Marco Firebaugh Assemblymember Loni Hancock Assemblymember Christine Kehoe Assemblymember Gene Mullin Assemblymember Ron Calderon, Democratic Alternate

Sincerely,

FABIAN NUÑEZ Speaker of the Assembly

February 12, 2004

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Elections, Redistricting and Constitutional Amendments Committee for the 2003–04 Fifth Extraordinary Session, consistent with the Regular Session:

Assemblymember John Longville, Chair Assemblymember Steven Samuelian, Vice Chair Assemblymember Jerome Horton Assemblymember Lloyd Levine Assemblymember Tony Strickland Two Democratic vacancies

Sincerely,

FABIAN NUÑEZ Speaker of the Assembly

February 12, 2004

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Budget Committee for the 2003–04 Fifth Extraordinary Session, consistent with the Regular Session:

Assemblymember Darrell Steinberg, Chair Assemblymember Rick Keene, Vice Chair Assemblymember Patricia Bates Assemblymember John Benoit Assemblymember Rudy Bermudez Assemblymember John Campbell Assemblymember Joe Canciamilla Assemblymember Wilma Chan Assemblymember Dave Cogdill Assemblymember Lynn Daucher Assemblymember Manny Diaz Assemblymember John Dutra Assemblymember Mervyn Dymally Assemblymember Jackie Goldberg Assemblymember Loni Hancock Assemblymember Tom Harman Assemblymember Ray Haynes Assemblymember Hannah-Beth Jackson Assemblymember Lloyd Levine Assemblymember Carol Liu Assemblymember Bill Maze Assemblymember Cindy Montanez

Assemblymember George Nakano Assemblymember Robert Pacheco Assemblymember Fran Pavley Assemblymember George Plescia Assemblymember Sarah Reyes Assemblymember Sharon Runner Assemblymember Joe Simitian Assemblymember Lois Wolk One Democratic vacancy

Sincerely,

FABIAN NUÑEZ Speaker of the Assembly

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

FABIAN NUÑEZ, Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk

Ο