## CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2005–06 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

### ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

# Monday, February 7, 2005 SIXTH SESSION DAY THIRTY-THIRD CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

#### PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

#### IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Monday, February 7, 2005

The Assembly met at 12:04 p.m.

Hon. Leland Y. Yee, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Neva Parker reading.

#### **ROLL CALL**

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—77:

The following	were praced apor	i the morning ron	can //.
Aghazarian	Dymally	Laird	Ridley-Thomas
Arambula	Emmerson	Leno	Runner
Baca	Evans	Leslie	Ruskin
Bass	Frommer	Levine	Saldaña
Benoit	Garcia	Lieber	Salinas
Berg	Goldberg	Liu	Spitzer
Bermúdez	Gordon	Matthews	Strickland
Blakeslee	Hancock	Maze	Torrico
Bogh	Harman	McCarthy	Tran
Calderon	Haynes	Montañez	Umberg
Canciamilla	Horton, Shirley	Mountjoy	Vargas
Chan	Houston	Mullin	Villines
Chavez	Huff	Nakanishi	Walters
Chu	Jones	Nava	Wolk
Cogdill	Karnette	Negrete McLeod	Wyland
Cohn	Keene	Niello	Yee
Coto	Klehs	Oropeza	Mr. Speaker
Daucher	Koretz	Parra	•
De La Torre	La Malfa	Pavley	
DeVore	La Suer	Plescia	

Quorum present.

#### **REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH**

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

#### LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Nation and Richman.

Because of illness: Assembly Member Jerome E. Horton.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Nation and Richman on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

#### COMMUNICATIONS

The following communication was presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

February 7, 2005

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196

Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have created the following committees, in addition to the Rules Committee which was created previously, for the 1st Extraordinary Session for 2005–06:

#### **Budget Process**

Assemblymember John Laird, Chair Assemblymember Patty Berg Assemblymember Joe Coto Assemblymember Noreen Evans Assemblymember Johan Klehs Assemblymember Jenny Oropeza

#### **Education Finance and the Teaching Profession**

Assemblymember Jackie Goldberg, Chair Assemblymember Juan Arambula Assemblymember Loni Hancock Assemblymember Carol Liu Assemblymember Gene Mullin

#### **Public Sector**

Assemblymember Alberto Torrico, Chair Assemblymember Rebecca Cohn Assemblymember Mike Gordon Assemblymember Paul Koretz Assemblymember Cindy Montañez

#### **District Representation**

Assemblymember Tom Umberg, Chair Assemblymember Karen Bass Assemblymember Wilma Chan Assemblymember Mark Leno Assemblymember Gloria Negrete McLeod

#### Ways and Means

28

Assemblymember Judy Chu, Chair Assemblymember Ron Calderon Assemblymember Dave Jones Assemblymember Betty Karnette Assemblymember Lori Saldaña Assemblymember Lois Wolk Assemblymember Leland Yee

#### **Constitutional Amendments**

Assemblymember Dario Frommer, Chair Assemblymember Sally Lieber Assemblymember Joe Nation Assemblymember Mark Ridley-Thomas Assemblymember Juan Vargas

The Republican membership to these committees to follow. Sincerely,

FABIAN NUÑEZ Speaker of the Assembly

The following communication was presented by the Chief Clerk, and ordered printed in the Journal:

February 3, 2005

E. Dotson Wilson, Chief Clerk California State Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Mr. Wilson: This letter is to officially announce that as of Thursday, January 6, 2005, the new Assembly Republican Leadership team for the First Extraordinary Session is as follows:

Kevin McCarthy—Assembly Republican Leader

Russ Bogh—2nd Ranking Republican Leader/Caucus Chair

Assistant Leader—Rick Keene

Assistant Leader—Sharon Runner

Assistant Leader—Ray Haynes

Assistant Leader—Greg Aghazarian

Assistant Leader—George Plescia

Rules Vice Chair—Dave Cogdill

Whips:

Mike Villines John Benoit Doug La Malfa Todd Spitzer Mimi Walters Mark Wyland

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Julie Sauls at 319-2032.

It is an honor working with you in the California State Assembly.

Sincerely,

KEVIN McCARTHY Assembly Republican Leader

#### **RESOLUTIONS**

The following resolution was offered:

ASSEMBLY CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 1—Dymally. Relative to the Public Employees' Retirement System.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

FABIAN NUÑEZ, Speaker

SUE PARKER, Minute Clerk