CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2001–02 THIRD EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Thursday, February 7, 2002 TENTH SESSION DAY TWENTY-NINTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, February 7, 2002

The Assembly met at 8:36 a.m.

Hon. Fred Keeley, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

ROLL CALL

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—71:

Aanestad	Dickerson	Leonard	Reyes
Alquist	Dutra	Liu	Richman
Aroner	Firebaugh	Longville	Runner
Ashburn	Florez	Lowenthal	Salinas
Bogh	Frommer	Maddox	Steinberg
Calderon	Goldberg	Maldonado	Strickland
Campbell, Bill	Harman	Matthews	Strom-Martin
Canciamilla	Havice	Migden	Thomson
Cardenas	Hertzberg	Mountjoy	Vargas
Cardoza	Hollingsworth	Nakano	Washington
Cedillo	Horton	Nation	Wayne
Chan	Jackson	Negrete McLeod	Wiggins
Chavez	Keeley	Oropeza	Wright
Chu	Kehoe	Pacheco, Robert	Wyland
Cogdill	Kelley	Pacheco, Rod	Wyman
Cohn	Koretz	Papan	Zettel
Cox	La Suer	Pavley	Mr. Speaker
Daucher	Leach	Pescetti	_

Quorum present.

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Bates, Briggs, John Campbell, Correa, Diaz, and Shelley.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Leslie.

Because of illness: Assembly Members Corbett and Simitian.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Bates, Briggs, John Campbell, Correa, Diaz, and Shelley on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

COMMUNICATIONS

The following communications were presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

February 6, 2002

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Re: Assembly Budget Committee

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed Assemblymember Manny Diaz to the Assembly Budget Committee, increasing the committee from 28 to 29 members.

Sincerely,

HERB J. WESSON, JR. Speaker of the California Assembly

February 6, 2002

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Re: Assembly Rules Committee for 2001–02 Regular, Second Extraordinary and

Third Extraordinary Session

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed Assemblymember Judy Chu to replace Assemblymember Jerome Horton on the Assembly Rules Committee for the 2001–02 Regular, Second Extraordinary and Third Extraordinary Sessions.

Sincerely,

HERB J. WESSON, JR. Speaker of the California Assembly

OATH OF OFFICE ADMINISTERED

On Wednesday, February 6, 2002, Speaker-elect Herb J. Wesson, Jr. appeared at the bar of the Assembly and took subscribed to the following oath of office administered by Hon. Yvonne Brathwaite Burke, Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors, Second District, accompanied by Hon. Nate Holden and Mrs. Betty Dixon, wife of the late Congressman Julian Dixon.

OATH

for the Office of Speaker of the Assembly

I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of California against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of California; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties upon which I am about to enter.

HERB J. WESSON, JR.

Subscribed and sworn to before me, This 6th day of February A.D. 2002

The Honorable Yvonne Brathwaite Burke Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors, Second District (NOTE: See Assembly Journal for the Regular Session, p. 4721.)

ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

HERB J. WESSON, JR., Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk