## CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2009–10 EIGHTH EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

43

## ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

# Tuesday, February 2, 2010 NINTH SESSION DAY TWENTY-FOURTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

(Please Direct Any Inquiries and Report Any Omissions or Errors to Minute Clerk: Phone 319-2360)

8

#### PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

#### IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Tuesday, February 2, 2010

The Assembly met at 7:37 a.m.

Hon. Martin Garrick, Assembly Member, 74th District, presiding. Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk. Assistant Clerk Timothy Morland reading.

#### **ROLL CALL**

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—76:

Adams	De La Torre	Hayashi	Pérez, John
Ammiano	De León	Hernandez	Pérez, V. Manuel
Anderson	DeVore	Hill	Portantino
Arambula	Emmerson	Huber	Ruskin
Beall	Eng	Huffman	Salas
Berryhill, Bill	Evans	Jeffries	Saldaña
Blakeslee	Feuer	Knight	Silva
Block	Fletcher	Lieu	Skinner
Blumenfield	Fong	Logue	Smyth
Bradford	Fuentes	Lowenthal	Solorio
Brownley	Fuller	Ma	Strickland
Buchanan	Furutani	Mendoza	Swanson
Caballero	Gaines	Miller	Torlakson
Calderon	Galgiani	Monning	Torres
Chesbro	Garrick	Nava	Torrico
Conway	Gilmore	Nestande	Tran
Cook	Hagman	Niello	Villines
Coto	Hall	Nielsen	Yamada
Davis	Harkey	Norby	Mme. Speaker

Quorum present.

### At 2:14 p.m., Hon. Danny D. Gilmore, 30th District, presiding REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

#### LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Member Tom Berryhill.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Jones.

Because of illness: Assembly Member Carter.

(NOTE: For explanation of absence of Assembly Member Tom Berryhill on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

#### **ENGROSSMENT AND ENROLLMENT REPORTS**

Assembly Chamber, February 2, 2010

Mme. Speaker: Pursuant to your instructions, the Chief Clerk has examined:

Assembly Bill No. 1 Assembly Bill No. 2 Assembly Bill No. 3 Assembly Bill No. 4 Assembly Bill No. 5 Assembly Bill No. 6 Assembly Bill No. 7 Assembly Bill No. 7 Assembly Bill No. 9
Assembly Bill No. 10
Assembly Bill No. 11
Assembly Bill No. 12
Assembly Bill No. 13
Assembly Bill No. 14
Assembly Bill No. 14
Assembly Bill No. 16 Assembly Bill No. 16

And reports the same correctly engrossed.

E. DOTSON WILSON, Chief Clerk

Above bills ordered to third reading file.

Assembly Chamber, February 2, 2010

Mme. Speaker: Pursuant to your instructions, the Chief Clerk has examined:

Assembly Bill No. 17 Assembly Bill No. 19 Assembly Bill No. 18 Assembly Bill No. 20

And reports the same correctly engrossed.

E. DOTSON WILSON, Chief Clerk

Above bills ordered to third reading file.

#### COMMUNICATIONS

The following communication was presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

February 2, 2010

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following membership to the Assembly Budget Subcommittees for the 2009–2010 Eighth Extraordinary Session:

Budget Subcommittee No. 1 on Health and Human Services

Assemblymember Jerry Hill, Chair

Assemblymember Jim Beall

Assemblymember Julia Brownley

Assemblymember Hector De La Torre

Assemblymember Bill Emmerson

Assemblymember Ed Hernandez

Assemblymember Brian Nestande

Assemblymember Noreen Evans, Democratic Alternate Assemblymember Jim Nielsen, Republican Alternate

Budget Subcommittee No. 2 on Education Finance

Assemblymember Wilmer Carter, Chair

Assemblymember Bill Berryhill

Assemblymember Julia Brownley

Assemblymember Wesley Chesbro

Assemblymember Jean Fuller

Assemblymember Sandré Swanson

Assemblymember Noreen Evans, Democratic Alternate

Assemblymember Jim Nielsen, Republican Alternate

Budget Subcommittee No. 3 on Resources Assemblymember Ira Ruskin, Chair

Assemblymember Anna Caballero

Assemblymember Danny Gilmore

Assemblymember Jared Huffman

Assemblymember Jim Silva

Assemblymember Noreen Evans, Democratic Alternate

Assemblymember Jim Nielsen, Republican Alternate

#### Budget Subcommittee No. 4 on State Administration

Assemblymember Juan Arambula, Chair

Assemblymember Wesley Chesbro

Assemblymember Paul Cook

Assemblymember Hector De La Torre

Assemblymember Kevin Jeffries

Assemblymember Noreen Evans, Democratic Alternate

Assemblymember Jim Nielsen, Republican Alternate

#### Budget Subcommittee No. 5 on Information Technology/Transportation

Assemblymember Bob Blumenfield, Chair

Assemblymember Anthony Adams

Assemblymember Mike Feuer

Assemblymember Diane Harkey

Assemblymember Bill Monning

Assemblymember Noreen Evans, Democratic Alternate

Assemblymember Jim Nielsen, Republican Alternate Sincerely,

> KAREN BASS Speaker of the Assembly

#### **SPECIAL COMMITTEE MEETINGS**

By unanimous consent, the following committees were permitted to meet:

Budget Subcommittee No. 1 on Health and Human Services, Thursday, February 11, 2010, at 1 p.m., in Room 4202;

All Budget Subcommittees, Monday, February 8, 2010 through Thursday, February 11, 2010, at their regularly scheduled meeting time and place.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

KAREN BASS, Speaker

AMY LEACH, Minute Clerk

O