# CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2001–02 THIRD EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

# ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Tuesday, January 22, 2002

FOURTH SESSION DAY

THIRTEENTH CALENDAR DAY

AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



## PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

#### IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Tuesday, January 22, 2002

The Assembly met at 11:09 a.m.

Hon. Fred Keeley, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

#### **ROLL CALL**

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—75:

Aanestad	Cox	Leslie	Runner
Alquist	Daucher	Liu	Salinas
Aroner	Diaz	Longville	Shelley
Ashburn	Dickerson	Lowenthal	Simitian
Bogh	Dutra	Maddox	Steinberg
Briggs	Firebaugh	Maldonado	Strickland
Calderon	Florez	Matthews	Strom-Martin
Campbell, Bill	Frommer	Migden	Thomson
Campbell, John	Goldberg	Mountjoy	Vargas
Canciamilla	Havice	Nakano	Washington
Cardenas	Hollingsworth	Nation	Wayne
Cardoza	Jackson	Negrete McLeod	Wesson
Cedillo	Keeley	Oropeza	Wiggins
Chan	Kehoe	Pacheco, Robert	Wright
Chavez	Kelley	Pacheco, Rod	Wyland
Chu	Koretz	Papan	Wyman
Cogdill	La Suer	Pavley	Zettel
Corbett	Leach	Pescetti	Mr. Speaker
Correa	Leonard	Reyes	=

Quorum present.

### **REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH**

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

#### LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Bates, Harman, and Richman.

Because of illness: Assembly Members Cohn and Horton.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Bates, Harman, and Richman on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day.)

#### COMMUNICATIONS

The following communication was presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

January 22, 2002

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Rules Committee for the 2001–02 Third Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Dennis Cardoza, Chair Assemblymember David Cogdill, Vice Chair Assemblymember Jerome Horton Assemblymember Bill Leonard Assemblymember Tim Leslie

Assemblymember Carol Liu

Assemblymember George Nakano

Assemblymember Joe Nation

Assemblymember Lynn Daucher (Republican alternate)

Assemblymember Dario Frommer (Democratic alternate) Sincerely,

ROBERT M. HERTZBERG Speaker of the Assembly

# **ADJOURNMENT**

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

ROBERT M. HERTZBERG, Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk