CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2001–02 THIRD EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Friday, January 18, 2002

THIRD SESSION DAY

NINTH CALENDAR DAY

AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Friday, January 18, 2002

The Assembly met at 8:52 a.m.

Hon. Fred Keeley, Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

ROLL CALL

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—66:

	, F F		
Aanestad	Daucher	La Suer	Pescetti
Alquist	Diaz	Leach	Reyes
Aroner	Dickerson	Leonard	Richman
Ashburn	Dutra	Liu	Runner
Bates	Firebaugh	Longville	Salinas
Bogh	Florez	Lowenthal	Steinberg
Campbell, Bill	Frommer	Matthews	Strom-Martin
Campbell, John	Goldberg	Migden	Thomson
Canciamilla	Harman	Mountjoy	Vargas
Cardoza	Havice	Nakano	Washington
Chan	Hollingsworth	Nation	Wayne
Chavez	Horton	Negrete McLeod	Wright
Chu	Jackson	Oropeza	Wyman
Cogdill	Keeley	Pacheco, Robert	Zettel
Cohn	Kehoe	Pacheco, Rod	Mr. Speaker
Correa	Kelley	Papan	=
Cox	Koretz	Pavley	

Quorum present.

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Briggs, Calderon, Corbett, Leslie, Maddox, Maldonado, Simitian, Strickland, and Wesson.

On legislative business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Cardenas.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Wyland.

Because of illness: Assembly Members Shelley and Wiggins.

Because of illness in his family: Assembly Member Cedillo.

(NOTE: For letters explaining the absences of Assembly Members Cardenas, Corbett, Leslie, Maddox, Maldonado, Simitian, and Wesson on this day on legislative business pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day; for letters explaining the absences of Assembly Members Briggs, Calderon, and Strickland on this day on legislative business pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see Assembly Daily Journal for January 17, 2002.)

COMMUNICATIONS

The following communication was presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

January 15, 2002

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol Sacramento, California

Dear Mr. Wilson.

At the request of Speaker-elect Herb Wesson, and in furtherance of a smooth transition in the Assembly leadership, I am hereby designating Assemblymember Marco Firebaugh as Majority Floor Leader effective February 6, 2002. Assemblymember Kevin Shelley will continue to serve as Majority Leader.

Very truly yours,

January 18, 2002

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Budget Committee for the 2001–02 Third Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Jenny Oropeza, Chair Assemblymember John Campbell, Vice Chair Assemblymember Sam Aanestad Assemblymember Dion Aroner Assemblymember Tony Cardenas Assemblymember Dennis Cardoza Assemblymember Gilbert Cedillo Assemblymember Lynn Daucher Assemblymember Dick Dickerson Assemblymember John Dutra Assemblymember Marco Firebaugh Assemblymember Dean Florez Assemblymember Jerome Horton Assemblymember Fred Keelev Assemblymember Dave Kelley Assemblymember Bill Leonard Assemblymember Abel Maldonado Assemblymember George Nakano Assemblymember Rod Pacheco Assemblymember Lou Papan Assemblymember Fran Pavley Assemblymember Keith Richman Assemblymember George Runner Assemblymember Joe Simitian Assemblymember Darrell Steinberg Assemblymember Juan Vargas Assemblymember Roderick Wright Assemblymember Mark Wyland Sincerely,

January 18, 2002

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Re: Assembly Budget Subcommittee #1

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Budget Subcommittee #1—Health and Human Services for the 2001–02 Third Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Gilbert Cedillo, Chair Assemblymember Sam Aanestad Assemblymember Dion Aroner Assemblymember Keith Richman Assemblymember Darrell Steinberg Assemblymember Fred Keeley, Alternate Assemblymember Jenny Oropeza, Alternate Assemblymember John Campbell, Alternate Sincerely,

ROBERT M. HERTZBERG Speaker of the Assembly

January 18, 2002

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Re: Assembly Budget Subcommittee #2

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Budget Subcommittee #2—Education Finance for the 2001–02 Third Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Joe Simitian, Chair Assemblymember Dennis Cardoza Assemblymember Lynn Daucher Assemblymember Jerome Horton Assemblymember Bill Leonard Assemblymember Fred Keeley, Alternate Assemblymember Jenny Oropeza, Alternate Assemblymember John Campbell, Alternate Sincerely,

January 18, 2002

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Re: Assembly Budget Subcommittee #3

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Budget Subcommittee #3—Resources and Transportation for the 2001–02 Third Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Fran Pavley, Chair
Assemblymember Tony Cardenas
Assemblymember Dick Dickerson
Assemblymember John Dutra
Assemblymember Marco Firebaugh
Assemblymember Dean Florez
Assemblymember Fred Keeley
Assemblymember Dave Kelley
Assemblymember Abel Maldonado
Assemblymember Juan Vargas
Assemblymember Mark Wyland
Assemblymember Jenny Oropeza, Alternate
Assemblymember John Campbell, Alternate
Sincerely,

ROBERT M. HERTZBERG Speaker of the Assembly

January 18, 2002

E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Re: Assembly Budget Subcommittee #4

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Budget Subcommittee #4—State Administration for the 2001–02 Third Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember George Nakano, Chair Assemblymember Rod Pacheco Assemblymember George Runner Assemblymember Lou Papan Assemblymember Roderick Wright Assemblymember Jenny Oropeza, Alternate Assemblymember Fred Keeley, Alternate Assemblymember John Campbell, Alternate Sincerely,

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST READING OF ASSEMBLY BILLS

The following bill was introduced and read the first time:

ASSEMBLY BILL NO. 1—Oropeza. An act to amend Items 1111-011-0582, 2240-115-3006, 3960-011-1003, 5180-153-0001, 6110-102-0001, 6110-123-0001, 6110-133-0001, 6110-134-0001, 6110-184-0001, 6110-191-0001, 6110-193-0001, 6110-195-0001, 6110-196-0001, 6110-200-0001, 6110-232-0001, 6110-485, 6110-495, 6870-485, and 9670-015-0942 of Section 2.00 of, to add Items 0505-495, 0552-495, 0690-495, 0971-495, 2240-115-0929, 2240-495, 2260-302-0042, 2660-497, 2920-495, 2920-011-8100, 3125-495, 3340-495, 3360-496, 3480-495, 3600-495, 3790-495, 3860-011-0942, 3860-495, 4120-495, 4170-495, 4200-495, 4280-495, 4440-495, 4700-495, 5175-495, 5180-495, 5240-496, 5460-497, 6110-496, 6120-495, 6440-496, 6610-496, 8100-495, 8260-495, 8350-495, 8600-495, 8940-495, 9908-495, 9909-495, 9911-495, and 9914-495 to, and to repeal Item 6110-210-0001 of, Section 2.00 of the Budget Act of 2001 (Chapter 106 of the Statutes of 2001), and to add Sections 3.20, 3.30, 3.40, and 3.70 to the Budget Act of 2001, relating to the support of state government, and declaring the urgency thereof, to take effect immediately.

ADJOURNMENT

At 3 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

ROBERT M. HERTZBERG, Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk