CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2003-04 THIRD EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Thursday, January 15, 2004 FIFTH SESSION DAY FIFTY-NINTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, January 15, 2004

The Assembly met at 9:18 a.m.

Hon. Leland Y. Yee, Assistant Speaker pro Tempore of the Assembly, presiding.

Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

ROLL CALL

The roll was called, and the following answered to their names—70:

Aghazarian Dutra Leno Parra Bates Dutton Leslie Pavley Levine Plescia Benoit Dymally Firebaugh Lieber Reyes Berg Bermudez Frommer Liu Runner Bogh Garcia Longville Salinas Calderon Goldberg Lowenthal Samuelian Campbell Hancock Maldonado Spitzer Canciamilla Matthews Steinberg Harman Chan Haynes McCarthy Strickland Mountjoy Chu Horton, Jerome Vargas Wiggins Cogdill Horton, Shirley Mullin Wolk Houston Nakanishi Cohn Corbett Jackson Nakano Wyland Negrete McLeod Correa Keene Yee Cox La Malfa Nunez Mr. Speaker Daucher La Suer Oropeza Diaz Laird Pacheco

Quorum present.

PRAYER

Upon invitation of Assistant Speaker pro Tempore Yee, the following prayer was offered by Assembly Chaplain Rev. Constantine C. Pappademos:

Lord, Everything starts from prayer. Without asking You for love, we cannot possess love, and still less are we able to give it to others. We may be exhausted with work, but unless our work is interwoven with love, it is useless. Help us to love more completely, Lord, this day and always.—AMEN.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

Upon request of Assistant Speaker pro Tempore Yee, Assembly Member Laird then led the Assembly in the pledge of allegiance to the Flag.

MOTION TO DISPENSE WITH READING OF THE JOURNAL

Further reading of the Journal of the previous legislative day was dispensed with on motion of Assembly Member Chan, seconded by Assembly Member Cogdill.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Chavez, Kehoe, Koretz, Maddox, Maze, and Ridley-Thomas.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Member Simitian.

Because of illness: Assembly Member Montanez.

Because of illness in their families: Assembly Members Nation and Richman.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Chavez, Kehoe, Koretz, Maddox, and Ridley-Thomas on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day; for explanation of absence of Assembly Member Maze on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Journal for January 13, 2004.)

Cox

Daucher

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 2 TAKEN UP BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT

Assembly Member Firebaugh was granted unanimous consent to take up Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 2, without reference to committee or file.

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 2—Relative to final adjournment of the 2003–04 Third Extraordinary Session of the Legislature.

Resolution read, presented by Assembly Member Firebaugh, and adopted by the following vote:

A1E3—03			
Aghazarian	Diaz	Laird	Parra
Bates	Dutra	Leno	Pavley
Benoit	Dutton	Leslie	Plescia
Bermudez	Dymally	Lieber	Reyes
Bogh	Firebaugh	Liu	Runner
Calderon	Frommer	Longville	Salinas
Campbell	Garcia	Lowenthal	Samuelian
Canciamilla	Goldberg	Maldonado	Spitzer
Chan	Hancock	Matthews	Steinberg
Chu	Harman	McCarthy	Strickland
Cogdill	Haynes	Mountjoy	Vargas
Cohn	Horton, Jerome	Mullin	Wolk
Corbett	Houston	Nakanishi	Wyland
Correa	Jackson	Nakano	Yee

NOES-None

Nunez

Resolution ordered transmitted to the Senate.

Keene

La Malfa

VOTE ADDS

The following Assembly Members were granted unanimous consent to record their votes on the following item:

Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 2: Bermudez, Bogh, Campbell, Canciamilla, Corbett, Correa, Daucher, Diaz, Garcia, Houston, Keene, La Malfa, Leslie, Maldonado, Mountjoy, Nunez, Parra, Pavley, Reyes, Samuelian, Spitzer, and Vargas—Aye.

MEASURES WHICH DIED AT DESK

Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 1.

ADJOURNMENT

At 9:19 a.m., pursuant to the provisions of Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 2, the 2003–04 Third Extraordinary Session of the Legislature adjourned *sine die*.

HERB J. WESSON, JR., Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk

Negrete McLeod Mr. Speaker