CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2005–06 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Thursday, January 13, 2005 SECOND SESSION DAY EIGHTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



NOTE: Official record of roll call votes; all amendments considered by the Assembly on this day are on file with the Chief Clerk of the Assembly and available on request. A list of all measures amended and on which amendments were offered is shown on the final page of this day's Assembly Journal.

PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Thursday, January 13, 2005

The Assembly met at 7 a.m.

10

Hon. Lynn Daucher, Assembly Member, 72nd District, presiding. Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Brian Ebbert reading.

ROLL CALL

The following were placed upon the morning roll call—65:

Agnazarian	Emmerson	Laird	Parra
Arambula	Evans	Leno	Pavley
Baca	Garcia	Leslie	Plescia
Bass	Goldberg	Levine	Richman
Benoit	Hancock	Liu	Runner
Berg	Haynes	Matthews	Ruskin
Bermúdez	Horton, Jerome	Maze	Saldaña
Blakeslee	Horton, Shirley	McCarthy	Salinas
Bogh	Houston	Montañez	Spitzer
Canciamilla	Huff	Mountjoy	Umberg
Chavez	Jones	Mullin	Villines
Cohn	Karnette	Nakanishi	Walters
Coto	Keene	Nation	Wolk
Daucher	Klehs	Nava	Mr. Speaker
De La Torre	Koretz	Negrete McLeod	_
DeVore	La Malfa	Niello	
Dymally	La Suer	Oropeza	

Quorum present.

At 1:05 p.m., Hon. Paul Koretz, 42nd District, presiding

REGULAR BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

By unanimous consent, the regular order of business of the Assembly was dispensed with for this legislative day.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

By unanimous consent, the following Assembly Members were granted leaves of absence for the day:

On legislative business: Assembly Members Calderon, Chan, Chu, Cogdill, Frommer, Gordon, Harman, Ridley-Thomas, Torrico, Vargas, Wyland, and Yee.

On personal business, and waiving per diem: Assembly Members Lieber and Strickland.

Because of a death in his family: Assembly Member Tran.

(NOTE: For explanations of absences of Assembly Members Calderon, Chan, Chu, Cogdill, Frommer, Gordon, Harman, Ridley-Thomas, Torrico, Wyland, and Yee on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for this day; for explanation of absence of Assembly Member Vargas on this day, on legislative business, pursuant to the Assembly Rules, see the Assembly Daily Journal for the Regular Session for January 12, 2005.)

COMMUNICATIONS

The following communications were presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

January 10, 2005

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Democratic Leadership for the 2005–06 First Extraordinary Session, consistent with the Regular Session:

Speaker pro Tempore

Assistant Speaker pro Tempore

Majority Floor Leader

Assistant Majority Floor Leader

Majority Whip Assistant Whip

Democratic Caucus Chair Rules Committee Chair

Sincerely,

Hon. Leland Yee Hon. Sally Lieber

Hon. Dario Frommer

Hon. Rebecca Cohn Hon. Karen Bass

Hon. Lori Saldaña

Hon. Mark Ridley-Thomas Hon. Cindy Montañez

> FABIAN NUÑEZ Speaker of the Assembly

> > January 10, 2005

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Rules Committee for the 2005–06 First Extraordinary Session, consistent with the Regular Session:

Assemblymember Cindy Montañez, Chair

Assemblymember Dave Cogdill, Vice Chair

Assemblymember Joe Baca Jr. Assemblymember John Benoit

Assemblymember Joe Coto

Assemblymember Mervyn Dymally

Assemblymember Betty Karnette

Assemblymember Michael Villines

Sincerely,

FABIAN NUÑEZ Speaker of the Assembly

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST READING OF ASSEMBLY BILLS

The following resolution was introduced and read the first time:

ASSEMBLY CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT NO. 3—McCarthy and Runner (Principal coauthors: Bogh and La Malfa) (Coauthors: Aghazarian, Benoit, Blakeslee, Cogdill, Daucher, DeVore, Harman, Haynes, Houston, Huff, Leslie, Maze, Plescia, Spitzer, Villines, and Wyland) (Coauthors: Senators Margett, Poochigian, and Runner). A resolution to propose the people of the State of California an amendment to the Constitution of the State, by amending Section 1 of, and adding Sections 2, 3, and 4 to, Article XXI thereof, relating to elections.

ADJOURNMENT

At 4 p.m., the Assembly adjourned to reconvene upon Call of the Speaker.

FABIAN NUÑEZ, Speaker

SUE PARKER, Minute Clerk