CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE 2001–02 FIRST EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

ASSEMBLY DAILY JOURNAL

Monday, January 8, 2001 THIRD SESSION DAY SIXTH CALENDAR DAY AT SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA



PROCEEDINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY

IN ASSEMBLY

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Monday, January 8, 2001

The Assembly met at 4:45 p.m. Hon. Robert M. Hertzberg, Speaker of the Assembly, presiding. Chief Clerk E. Dotson Wilson at the Desk.

Assistant Clerk Sue Parker reading.

16

ROLL CALL

The roll was called, and the following answered to their names—79:

Daucher Leslie Romero Aanestad Alquist Diaz Liu Runner Salinas Aroner Dickerson Longville Lowenthal Shelley Ashburn Dutra Bates Firebaugh Maddox Simitian Briggs Maldonado Florez Steinberg Strickland Calderon Frommer Matthews Campbell, Bill Goldberg Migden Strom-Martin Campbell, John Mountjoy Thomson Harman Canciamilla Havice Nakano Vargas Cardenas Hollingsworth Nation Washington Cardoza Negrete McLeod Wayne Horton Cedillo Jackson Oropeza Wesson Chan Keeley Pacheco, Robert Wiggins Chavez Kehoe Pacheco, Rod Wright Cogdill Kelley Papan Wyland Cohn Wyman Koretz Pavley Corbett La Suer Pescetti Zettel Correa Leach Reves Mr. Speaker Cox Leonard Richman

PRAYER

Upon invitation of Speaker Hertzberg, the following prayer was offered by Assembly Chaplain Rabbi Mona Alfi:

This august body has been entrusted with the important task of determining what can and shall be done for the people of California, so that our needs and dreams can be transformed into reality.

In a time much more challenging than our own, Abraham Lincoln spoke about how the political process is best used to enact change. He said: Determine that the thing *can* and *shall* be done. And *then* we shall find the way.

Before we can determine the best approach for a particular goal, we must first commit ourselves to the goal itself. Once that is done, we can then open ourselves up to the wealth of internal, creative, and collective resources that are within our grasp.

May the Holy One of Blessing grant us the ability to discern the needs of the people as well as the patience and fortitude to see our work come to a successful end. May this be God's will.—AMEN.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

Upon request of Speaker Hertzberg, Assembly Member Romero then led the Assembly in the pledge of allegiance to the Flag.

MOTION TO DISPENSE WITH READING OF THE JOURNAL

Further reading of the Journal of the previous legislative day was dispensed with on motion of Assembly Member Shelley, seconded by Assembly Member Campbell.

COMMUNICATIONS

The following communication was presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

January 8, 2001

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Assembly Rules Committee for the 2001–02 First Extraordinary Session, consistent with the 2001–02 Regular Session:

Assemblymember Dennis Cardoza, Chair

Assemblymember Bill Leonard, Vice Chair

Assemblymember Jerome Horton

Assemblymember Tim Leslie

Assemblymember Carol Liu

Assemblymember George Nakano

Assemblymember Joe Nation

Assemblymember Charlene Zettel

Assemblymember San Aanestad (alternate)

Assemblymember Dario Frommer (alternate)

Sincerely,

ROBERT M. HERTZBERG Speaker of the Assembly

RESOLUTIONS

The following resolution was offered:

House Resolution No. 1 Introduced by Assembly Member Hertzberg.

Relative to the Standing Rules of the Assembly for the 2001–02 First Extraordinary Session.

Resolved by the Assembly of the State of California, That Rule 11 of the Standing Rules for the 2001–02 First Extraordinary Session is amended to read as follows:

11. Twenty-seven Twenty-eight standing committees of the Assembly are hereby created, upon the several subjects, and titled respectively, as follows:

Aging and Long-Term Care

Agriculture

Appropriations

Banking and Finance

Budget

Business and Professions

Education

Elections, Reapportionment and Constitutional Amendments

Energy Costs and Availability

Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials

Governmental Organization

Health

Higher Education

Housing and Community Development

Human Services

Insurance

Jobs, Economic Development, and the Economy

Judiciary

Labor and Employment

Local Government

Natural Resources

Public Employees, Retirement and Social Security

Public Safety

Revenue and Taxation

Rules

Transportation

Utilities and Commerce

Water, Parks and Wildlife

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 1 TAKEN UP BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT

Assembly Member Shelley was granted unanimous consent to take up House Resolution No. 1, without reference to committee, print, or file.

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 1—Relative to the Standing Rules of the Assembly for the 2001–02 First Extraordinary Session.

Resolution read, and adopted by the following vote:

AYES-73

Aanestad	Daucher	Leslie	Salinas
Alquist	Diaz	Liu	Shelley
Aroner	Dickerson	Longville	Simitian
Ashburn	Dutra	Lowenthal	Steinberg
Bates	Florez	Maddox	Strickland
Briggs	Frommer	Matthews	Strom-Martin
Calderon	Goldberg	Migden	Thomson
Campbell, Bill	Harman	Mountjoy	Vargas
Campbell, John	Havice	Nakano	Washington
Canciamilla	Hollingsworth	Nation	Wayne
Cardenas	Horton	Negrete McLeod	Wesson
Cardoza	Jackson	Oropeza	Wiggins
Cedillo	Keeley	Pacheco, Robert	Wright
Chan	Kehoe	Pacheco, Rod	Wyland
Chavez	Kelley	Pavley	Zettel
Cohn	Koretz	Pescetti	Mr. Speaker
Corbett	La Suer	Reyes	_
Correa	Leach	Richman	
Cox	Leonard	Romero	

NOES—None

COMMUNICATIONS

The following communication was presented by the Speaker, and ordered printed in the Journal:

January 8, 2001

E. Dotson Wilson

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California

Dear Dotson: This is to advise you that I have appointed the following members to the Committee on Energy Costs and Availability in the 2001–02 First Extraordinary Session:

Assemblymember Roderick Wright, Chair

Assemblymember Anthony Pescetti, Vice Chair

Assemblymember Mike Briggs

Assemblymember John Campbell

Assemblymember Joseph Canciamilla

Assemblymember Manny Diaz

Assemblymember Richard Dickerson

Assemblymember John Dutra

Assemblymember Hannah-Beth Jackson

Assemblymember Fred Keeley

Assemblymember Bill Leonard

Assemblymember Carole Migden

Assemblymember Jenny Oropeza

Assemblymember Sarah Reyes

Assemblymember Keith Richman

Assemblymember Darrell Steinberg

Assemblymember Juan Vargas

Assemblymember Charlene Zettel

Sincerely,

ROBERT M. HERTZBERG Speaker of the Assembly

VOTE ADDS

The following Assembly Members were granted unanimous consent to record their votes on the following item:

House Resolution No. 1: Assembly Members Lowenthal and Zettel—Aye.

RECESS

By unanimous consent, at 4:47 p.m., Speaker Hertzberg declared the Assembly recessed.

ADJOURNMENT

At 5:48 p.m., the Assembly adjourned until Tuesday, January 9, 2001, or upon Call of the Speaker.

ROBERT M. HERTZBERG, Speaker

PAM CAVILEER, Minute Clerk