CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE

2025-26 REGULAR SESSION

ASSEMBLY JOURNAL

RECESS JOURNAL NO. 14

ORGANIZATIONAL RECESS

Assembly Chamber, Sacramento Friday, January 3, 2025

Pursuant to the provisions of Joint Rule 59, the following Assembly Journal for the 2025–26 Regular Session was printed while the Assembly was in Organizational Recess.

COMMUNICATIONS

The following communications were presented by the Chief Clerk and ordered printed in the Journal:

December 31, 2024

Sue Parker Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 319 Sacramento, California

RE: Appointment of James Wood to the Cannabis Control Appeals Board

Dear Ms. Parker: Please be advised that I have appointed Mr. James Wood to the Cannabis Control Appeals Board for a pleasure appointment effective December 31, 2024. Mr. Wood will be replacing Mr. Calderon.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact my office. Sincerely,

ROBERT RIVAS Speaker of the Assembly

January 2, 2025

Sue Parker

Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 319 Sacramento, California

Dear Ms. Parker: Please be advised that I have made the following committee appointments for the 2025–26 Regular Session:

Aging and Long-Term Care

Assemblymember James Gallagher, Vice Chair

Agriculture

Assemblymember Juan Alanis, Vice Chair

Appropriations

Assemblymember Kate A. Sanchez, Vice Chair

Arts, Entertainment, Sports, and Tourism

Assemblymember Tom Lackey, Vice Chair

Banking and Finance

Assemblymember Phillip Chen, Vice Chair

Budget

Assemblymember Heath Flora, Vice Chair

Business and Professions

Assemblymember Heath Flora, Vice Chair

Communications and Conveyance

Assemblymember Josh Hoover, Vice Chair

Economic Development, Growth, and Household Impact Assemblymember Leticia Castillo, Vice Chair

Education

Assemblymember Josh Hoover, Vice Chair

Elections

Assemblymember Bill Essayli, Vice Chair

Emergency Management

Assemblymember Heather Hadwick, Vice Chair

Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials

Assemblymember Heather Hadwick, Vice Chair

Governmental Organization

Assemblymember Alexandra M. Macedo, Vice Chair

Health

Assemblymember Joe Patterson, Vice Chair

Higher Education

Assemblymember Carl DeMaio, Vice Chair

Housing and Community Development

Assemblymember Joe Patterson, Vice Chair

Human Services

Assemblymember Leticia Castillo, Vice Chair

Insurance

Assemblymember David J. Tangipa, Vice Chair

Judiciary

Assemblymember Diane B. Dixon, Vice Chair

Labor and Employment

Assemblymember Heath Flora, Vice Chair

Local Government

Assemblymember Tri Ta, Vice Chair

Military and Veterans Affairs

Assemblymember Laurie Davies, Vice Chair

Natural Resources

Assemblymember Alexandra M. Macedo, Vice Chair

Privacy and Consumer Protection

Assemblymember Diane B. Dixon, Vice Chair

Public Employment and Retirement

Assemblymember Tom Lackey, Vice Chair

Public Safety

Assemblymember Juan Alanis, Vice Chair

Revenue and Taxation

Assemblymember Tri Ta, Vice Chair

Rules

Assemblymember Tom Lackey, Vice Chair

Transportation

Assemblymember Laurie Davies, Vice Chair

Utilities and Energy

Assemblymember Joe Patterson, Vice Chair

Water, Parks, and Wildlife

Assemblymember Jeff Gonzalez, Vice Chair

Legislative Ethics

Assemblymember Phillip Chen, Co-Chair

Sincerely,

ROBERT RIVAS Speaker of the Assembly

ROBERT RIVAS, Speaker

RUSSELL C. TOMAS, Minute Clerk